Advertisement

Why ads?
Popular at KBB.com
  • Midsize SUV Buyer's Guide
  • 15 Best Family Cars of 2015
  • Compact SUV Buyer's Guide
  • 10 Most Fuel-Efficient SUVs
Go

2003 Ford Expedition

Style:

Consumer Reviews & Ratings

Overall Rating
8.7
Out of 10

Based on 594 Ratings for the 2003 - 2006 models.

Review this car
more rating details
  • Value
    8.8/10
    Quality
    8.8/10
  • Reliability
    9.1/10
    Performance
    9.0/10
  • Comfort
    9.2/10
    Styling
    9.0/10
Sort Reviews by: 
Per Page:  5 | 10 | 25
Previous | 1 2 3 ... 24 | Next

Has been a great, reliable comfortable vehicle.

By on Saturday, February 21, 2015

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 165,000

10 8.0
overall rating 8 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
8/10
Value
9/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
9/10
Performance
8/10
Styling
7/10
Comfort
9/10

Pros: "Comfort and size"

Cons: "Gas mileage"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"I have never had a major negative issue with this car. It has been completely reliable and comfortable. I used it for traveling hundreds of miles for travel sports for my kids and thousands of miles on vacation trips."

Great Vehicle-Loaded

By on Friday, February 06, 2015

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 118,000

10 8.0
overall rating 8 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
8/10
Value
7/10
Reliability
9/10
Quality
8/10
Performance
8/10
Styling
7/10
Comfort
10/10

Pros: "Very comfortable and dependable"

Cons: "No four wheel drive"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"Also has heated seats, DVD player in back seat. Automatic 3rd seat rise & lower. All seats behind front lay down flat and second row removeable. Extra car chargers in front & back along with extra cup holders in back."

1 person out of 1 found this review helpful

!0 years of dependable driving.

By on Friday, February 06, 2015

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 91,000

10 9.0
overall rating 9 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
9/10
Value
8/10
Reliability
9/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
9/10
Styling
8/10
Comfort
9/10

Pros: "plenty of room for grand kids and their stuff"

Cons: "Hard to keep plastic parts black & good looking"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 9

"Bought new and We have driven this rig every day around the county for the past 10 years. The only problems has been window lift motors. I've replaced 3 in the past 10 years. Has had good care, we are not abusive drivers and always get the rig serviced when it is due."

an excellent vehicle to have

By on Monday, January 26, 2015

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 185,000

10 9.0
overall rating 9 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
9/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
9/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
9/10
Styling
9/10
Comfort
10/10

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"I have this truck since 2005, and when I bought it ,it only had 28,000. miles on it. which is fair to say that im the second owner. the only thing that I change on it was the battery and alternator. plus you know wear and tear tires oil changes ect.this truck is a MONSTER and very very reliable vehicle. have taken many trips to lake Charles in it , handle smooth on the road with cruise control. you can sit 8 people in it very comfortable."

4 people out of 6 found this review helpful

Very convent car, seat rows 2 & 3 fold flat.

By on Tuesday, December 30, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 64,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

Pros: "A very convient car to own. The 2 & 3 row seats of"

Cons: "13.8 MPG"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"Great car, and after a decade everything still works and works well. I am the original owner and its always been garaged."

6 people out of 10 found this review helpful

Ford cut corners

By on Friday, December 05, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 95,000

10 4.0
overall rating 4 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
4/10
Value
3/10
Reliability
5/10
Quality
3/10
Performance
8/10
Styling
6/10
Comfort
8/10

Pros: "The paint has held up"

Cons: "too expensive to operate"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 1

"Vehicle was priced like luxory SUV, but ford cut so many hidden corners that it is not until after the warranty you learn how often and how expensive each thing is. By example $450 to replace a mixing actuator, $3000 for struts, Indepedent rear suspension required it own alignment, oilfiter that is inaccessible for home mechanic, Continental tires that delaminate right at 30,000 miles - but Ford does nothing (on one tire, the tread flew off and the tire nevr went flat - when they claimed it was a road hazzard, I asked why the air pressure never went down - no answer), brakes that squeal 1000 miles after adjustment or replacement, seat belts that do not buckle in the rear seat. It goes on... vehicle is paid for, I have been able to learn auto mechanics and fix it myself so it does not makes sense to sell until the motor gives out - but why should I have to learn how to pull a dash board to replace a $40 plastic gear in the heater control - where the shop quotes $1100?"

8 people out of 16 found this review helpful

Best car I ever owned.

By on Tuesday, December 02, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 328,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
9/10
Comfort
8/10

Pros: "Very functional family vehicle."

Cons: "None really."

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 9

"328,000 miles and still rolling strong. No issues. Just put in oil and gas. At 328,000 miles and getting 17 mpg. Just keeps going."

8 people out of 10 found this review helpful

best family vehicle out there

By on Tuesday, December 02, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 130,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"Has been a great vehicle for me and my family"

1 person out of 1 found this review helpful

Great, but could be better!

By on Sunday, November 30, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 160,000

10 8.0
overall rating 8 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
8/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
7/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
7/10
Comfort
9/10

Pros: "Value, comfort, storage w/o 3rd row up, handling"

Cons: "Mileage, Storage with 3rd Row"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 8

"I have the 2004 Expedition XLT loaded, leather etc. Handles great for a large SUV, however there is not much weight in the rear when in bad conditions for traction. Auto 4x4 works great, Ford cut corners when making these though. Tailgate paint, quality of parts etc. Has a good amount of power, tows 6,500 with the 5.4 without any problems. I average between 10-13 MPG 15 max, to be expected. Bottom Line - Not enough storage when 3rd row is up, cant even fit a suitcase. Steering is tight, brakes great for a near 7,000 pound vehicle loaded. Reliable, never left me stranded. Take care of it and it will take care of you! Looking to upgrade to an Excursion"

8 people out of 12 found this review helpful

Best Vehicle I have ever owned

By on Saturday, November 22, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 123,182

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

Pros: "Everything is great on this vehicle"

Cons: "There is not one thing I do not like on this vehic"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"I have had many different makes of SUV's and trucks but my Expedition is my favorite all around. I love the look but driving it is the one thing that I really love. The ease of all the controls , the sound of the stereo , the comfort of the interior and the overall way it makes me feel when I get behind the wheel is the best ever."

8 people out of 18 found this review helpful

I Love my truck!

By on Monday, October 20, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 180,000

10 9.0
overall rating 9 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
9/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
9/10
Quality
9/10
Performance
9/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

Pros: "Very comfortabe for trips."

Cons: "The one and only, gas mileage."

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"I wish I didn't feel guilty about driving an 8 passenger vehicle all by myself! This SUV has been extremely reliable and contrary to any jokes about Fords and their transmissions mine is just fine. It's amazing what keeping it on the regular maintenance schedule will do for a vehicle! I would definitely buy one again."

7 people out of 17 found this review helpful

This is one nice vehicle. It's very reliable!!

By on Wednesday, October 15, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 103,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

Pros: "This vehicle seats 7 people. It's great 4 travel!"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"This is a well equipped vehicle and has been very reliable. It have never had any mechanical failures. Its a smooth cruising vehicle and the mileage is not bad either. The sound system is nice and the dual a/c units are a blessing for the area that I live in. I have enjoyed owning and driving this vehicle. Ford did a fantastic job with this vehicle !!!"

11 people out of 20 found this review helpful

very comfortable and dependable

By on Friday, October 10, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 70,000

10 9.0
overall rating 9 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
9/10
Value
9/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
9/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
Not Rated

Cons: "electronic parts that can be expensive to fix"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 9

"The car has for the most part been free of problems and hasd been a great driving machine..It has tons of room seats up to seven. I like the fact that the rear seats fold down to make a large cargo area The heated seats and air conditioning are very nice."

4 people out of 8 found this review helpful

Great vehicle

By on Friday, October 10, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 145,000

10 9.0
overall rating 9 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
9/10
Value
8/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

Pros: "Great used auto"

Cons: "Fully equipped"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"No problems except oil changes and tire"

1 person out of 1 found this review helpful

Great vehicle

By on Friday, September 26, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 87,000

10 9.0
overall rating 9 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
9/10
Value
9/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
9/10
Performance
8/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
9/10

Pros: "Lots of room comfortable ride"

Cons: "Ac rear temp control"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 8

"Great vehicle only problem is the air condition control in the back temp control keeps going out"

3 people out of 4 found this review helpful

twelve years great value,safety for my family.

By on Wednesday, September 17, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 151,650

10 9.0
overall rating 9 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
9/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
9/10
Performance
8/10
Styling
8/10
Comfort
8/10

Pros: "always felt safe, rested on long drives."

Cons: "bumper paint started to peel, noticed others too."

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"Four people on a camping trip, golf get away we never had to worry about having enough room or power. Ive kept my last two vehicels for over 12 years. Ready for a sedan again, car pool days are over. Thanks Ford!"

2 people out of 4 found this review helpful

reliable, comfortable, roomy, tows well, versatile

By on Tuesday, September 16, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 153,000

10 9.0
overall rating 9 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
9/10
Value
9/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
9/10
Performance
8/10
Styling
8/10
Comfort
9/10

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 9

"This car is great, lots of room, leg room, head room, fold flat seats for lots of storage options (dressers,dogs,multiple strollers, 100s of dollars in groceries etc), split seats two ways in the back and three ways in the middle, quiet, comfortable, reliable, stable, tows great, easy to drive, adjustable pedals and seat, holds 8 or seven comfortably."

3 people out of 4 found this review helpful

great car

By on Saturday, September 06, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 145,000

10 9.0
overall rating 9 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
9/10
Value
9/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
8/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

Pros: "great for family, ski trips, fishing, hunting."

Cons: "sun roof is tempermental"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"completely satisfied with this car"

1 person out of 1 found this review helpful

Solid car, runs good, body & paint good

By on Monday, August 25, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 228,000

10 5.0
overall rating 5 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
5/10
Value
5/10
Reliability
7/10
Quality
5/10
Performance
5/10
Styling
5/10
Comfort
5/10

Pros: "Runs good, paint / body good, driven daily, etc."

Cons: "Needs service, tires ok, interior needs detailing"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 6

"Car is driven daily with no major issues. Will be due for service soon. No body damage, paint good. Leather seats showing wear, but not ripped, interior a bit dirty, needs detailing, will clean if it makes a difference, etc."

2 people out of 6 found this review helpful

Cant stop driving my Expedition

By on Friday, August 22, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 224,546

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
9/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

Pros: "fun to drive, confortable, reliable, safe,"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"this is an 11yrs old vehicle and all I had to do to it is the regular oil change and tires, is still running awesome"

6 people out of 9 found this review helpful

great car

By on Wednesday, August 20, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 120,000

10 9.0
overall rating 9 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
9/10
Value
9/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
9/10
Performance
9/10
Styling
1/10
Comfort
10/10

Pros: "comfort reliable"

Cons: "gas mileage"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 9

"Love the look and the comfort. Purchased in 07...it's an 04...Gas mileage leaves something to be desired. Not good around towns but great on  highways. Air condition in back makes knocking sound. I have heard that in other expeditions too. Abs light on but still drives good. Minor fix. Had some sencors repaired and a battery put on since I've had it n it's still an excellent car after these fixes. Recently bought a smaller car because of gas issues.. and can't bring myself to patt with this spaceship because Of it's comfort n reliability. Love my hog! Lol"

3 people out of 3 found this review helpful

It's good for work

By on Friday, August 15, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 88,000

10 4.0
overall rating 4 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
4/10
Value
5/10
Reliability
5/10
Quality
3/10
Performance
3/10
Styling
3/10
Comfort
5/10

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 2

"I bought my '03 Expedition right before the big economic collapse. it is a rattle trap an falling apart at 88K miles. its good for work, aka hauling stuff around you don't want in a nice car, and that's it. It suck gas and leaks oil and is hail damaged. The good thing is that i feel safe when some A-hole tailgates me in a tiny car (which most are compared to this giant)."

1 person out of 2 found this review helpful

very reliable car for us over the last 10 years.

By on Tuesday, August 05, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 240,000

10 8.0
overall rating 8 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
8/10
Value
8/10
Reliability
8/10
Quality
7/10
Performance
7/10
Styling
6/10
Comfort
7/10

Pros: "great value"

Cons: "big car"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 8

"has been on regular maintenance service for over 10years. great car for the price."

1 person out of 2 found this review helpful

love my EB Expedition

By on Tuesday, August 05, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 118,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
8/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

Pros: "automatic 3rd row and DVD player"

Cons: "no pull down arm rest in 2nd row."

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"This truck has made our life so much easier! We have two dogs and one five hear old boy. We go on vacations frequently and having the room is great, the DVD player is perfect for our boy. The DVD never skips if road is rough. The drive is so comfortable and very much reliable in the winter. As a nurse, I am out in all kinds of weather and I always feel safe."

6 people out of 8 found this review helpful

Best Vehicle I have ever owned!

By on Friday, July 25, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 111,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

Pros: "Drives Smooth, Beautiful Interior, A lot of Power,"

Cons: "None, Low Gas mileage is to be expected"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"I owned a 2012 Ford Focus which I bought brand new and it was a very dependable car. Unfortunately, with having 3 teenagers they just couldnt fit comfortably anymore. I decided to trade it in and then purchased a 2006 Expedition. I absolutely love this SUV. My 3 teenagers have more than enough room even with my 14 year old son who is now 5'11". So fun and comfortable to drive not only with the comfort of the interior but the drivability as well. The AC is amazing. My ex-husband has had two expeditions as well. He was in an accident with the first one and decided to get another one exactly like it because of how much he enjoyed driving it. He currently owns a 2004 Expedition. He previously owned an Excursion but was more impressed with the Expedition. My current husband also owns one and loves it. He has a 2000 Expedition. I have gone through many vehicles and have never had one that I enjoyed to drive so much. I plan to drive this one until I cant drive it anymore. Even when I wont need as much room anymore when my kids grow up and move away I will still drive it."

2 people out of 2 found this review helpful

Sort Reviews by: 
Per Page:  5 | 10 | 25
Previous | 1 2 3 ... 24 | Next
Find Deals Near You vehicles for sale matching Ford Expedition near Honolulu. See local deals