Advertisement

Why ads?
Popular at KBB.com
  • 10 Best SUVs Under $25,000
  • 12 Best Family Cars of 2014
  • 10 Best Midsize SUVs
  • 10 Best AWD Cars & SUVs Under $25,000
Go

2002 Ford Expedition

Style:

Consumer Reviews & Ratings

Overall Rating
8.8
Out of 10

Based on 753 Ratings for the 1997 - 2002 models.

Review this car
more rating details
  • Value
    8.8/10
    Quality
    9.0/10
  • Reliability
    9.1/10
    Performance
    9.0/10
  • Comfort
    9.3/10
    Styling
    9.1/10
Sort Reviews by: 
Per Page:  5 | 10 | 25
Previous | 1 2 3 ... 76 | Next

70K miles, 13 years, Wonderful Experience!

By on Tuesday, August 12, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 70,000

10 9.0
overall rating 9 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
9/10
Value
9/10
Reliability
9/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
9/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

Pros: "Reliability, good ride, interior/exterior quality"

Cons: "Gas mileage as expected, 5500 lb truck"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 9

"Except for gas mileage (13/17) this has been a wonderful truck. Two relatively minor repairs (fuel pump, rear axle outer seal) were required in the past 2 years... nothing before that. Tires lasted 65000 miles, just changed the brakes at 67000 miles. Did the required maintenance and used Mobil 1 oil at 5K mile intervals. Body / paint is perfect (New Mexico weather helped there). Very comfortable interior, cloth seats wear like iron. Pulls a trailer well with factory hitch/cooling system. Couldn't ask for a better truck or driving experience."

2 people out of 2 found this review helpful

Reliable, Dependable, Fun to drive

By on Friday, August 08, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 150,000

10 9.0
overall rating 9 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
9/10
Value
9/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
9/10
Performance
8/10
Styling
9/10
Comfort
10/10

Pros: "Very comfortable, safe, reliable, and luxurious"

Cons: "Low fuel economy"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

My 2001 Ford Expedition

"I bought this truck two years ago after learning how to drive in my dad's because I loved them so much. Mine has been very good to me the only major job I had to invest in was a revamp of the suspension because Ford's air ride is garbage to begin with. Converted it to standard shocks and coil spring suspension and it rides much better and sits higher too! Besides that it has only requires minor repairs and maintenance. The Eddie Bauer edition is very luxurious and I enjoy driving it everyday. 150k miles and going strong!"

My 2001 Ford Expedition

Has been a great reliable vehicle.

By on Monday, August 04, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 230,000

10 8.0
overall rating 8 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
8/10
Value
9/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
9/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
9/10
Comfort
8/10

Pros: "Power, room, comfort, built like a tank."

Cons: "none"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 9

"Bought this vehicle used 6 years ago. Has been very dependable and only needing minor repairs like replacing the radiator. Inside is very large with plenty of cargo space and seating of 9 people comfortably. It has power when driving and easy steering. Have used it to haul teenagers as well as transport tons of things. Love the power driver's seat. Third seat is very easy to remove and re-install when needed. Easy access to third seat by folding down one second seat and love the choice of folding double middle seat down when needed also. Have been in one crash when Mustang rear ended us and very little damage to my vehicle but totaled Mustang. Easy to drive and maneuver. Lots of fun to drive."

A good family vehicle.

By on Thursday, July 03, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 189,000

10 9.0
overall rating 9 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
9/10
Value
7/10
Reliability
9/10
Quality
9/10
Performance
8/10
Styling
9/10
Comfort
8/10

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 9

"I have owned this vehicle for 11 years. The only reason we are thinking of trading is to get a smaller vehicle with better mileage as my wife has started a new job and is driving an additional half hour every day."

5 people out of 6 found this review helpful

Most Reliable Car Ever Owned

By on Wednesday, July 02, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 235,000

10 9.0
overall rating 9 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
9/10
Value
7/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
7/10
Styling
8/10
Comfort
8/10

Pros: "Reliable, roomy."

Cons: "It's a large SUV so it uses more gas."

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 9

"I can't even count how many cars I've owned through the years. I do know I've owned this one longer than any other. It has been absolutely reliable and has required only basic maintenance and upkeep."

3 people out of 3 found this review helpful

I would buy another but it uses too much gas

By on Saturday, June 28, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 185,000

10 8.0
overall rating 8 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
8/10
Value
8/10
Reliability
9/10
Quality
9/10
Performance
9/10
Styling
8/10
Comfort
9/10

Pros: "Easy to drive, good visibility"

Cons: "GAS HOG"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 8

"I have 3 other cars, so I do not need it, but I can't bear to part with it. Strong engine never needed work until over 100,000 miles needed plug coils,and new head gasket at 175,000 miles. It did need frequent front end work - struts, shocks, stabilizers, swaybars, etc."

3 people out of 7 found this review helpful

Love it!

By on Monday, May 26, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 130,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"Awesome vehicle!"

3 people out of 6 found this review helpful

Spacey, comfortable and in good condition

By on Sunday, May 18, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 115,615

10 8.0
overall rating 8 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
8/10
Value
8/10
Reliability
8/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
7/10
Styling
6/10
Comfort
10/10

Pros: "Great SUV for a large family"

Cons: "Several cup holders in the front and back"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 8

"This suv is in good condition. Ideal for a large family and traveling with long legs or short roomy and very comfortable. am/fm radio and cassette tape player......cd cases available but,needs repairing. some personal painted areas...ok Ac/heating, engine, windows, doors, seats and sun roof in good condition...."

1 person out of 1 found this review helpful

98 Ford Expedition 4x4, Eddie Baur, solid vehicle

By on Sunday, May 11, 2014

I owned and sold this car
Reason: Trade

10 9.0
overall rating 9 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
9/10
Value
9/10
Reliability
9/10
Quality
9/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
8/10
Comfort
9/10

Pros: "Comfortable to drive, reliable"

Cons: "Gas mileage"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 8

"I purchased this vehicle with aprox 45k miles and I traded it in with 267k. During the 12 to 13 yrs I owned this vehicle I only had two major issues, transmission and a brakes. The transmission rebuild happened about 180k miles. The brake issue, which happened during routine brake maintenance at a local Ford dealer, no problems going in just pads and rotors, it took the dealer almost 6 weeks to figure out what was causing intermittent brake pedal travel, I attribute to incompetence. Other than these two issues this vehicle was fantastic. I made sure to have routine maintenance performed, especially oil changes, and I had no problems It averaged 14-18mpg, handled great on and off road and in the snow. I always put decent tires on it, usually the higher $$ All season/AT. It would handle 6 adults comfortably, 5 adults with ample luggage space. My biggest complaint would be the lack of an integrated(power fold) third row, and they didn't put a diesel 'em. I liked this vehicle so much I bought another. The new expedition is not nearly as comfortable to drive.....but it has all the bells and whistles. This vehicle looked good when I traded it in, had very little rust. Most rust was under the doors...."

4 people out of 5 found this review helpful

Used for 14 years. Family trips. Towing trailer.pu

By on Sunday, April 27, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 130,000

10 6.0
overall rating 6 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
6/10
Value
5/10
Reliability
8/10
Quality
4/10
Performance
8/10
Styling
7/10
Comfort
7/10

Pros: "power, stability,utility, price"

Cons: "rust, engine intermitently misfires"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 8

"Purchased in 2000. Used for family trips and for towing 8,000 pound travel trailer. Hauled lumber, sheetrock etc. Green with gray, cloth interior. Front doors have rust, otherwise looks good. No major mechanical problems."

5 people out of 6 found this review helpful

Sort Reviews by: 
Per Page:  5 | 10 | 25
Previous | 1 2 3 ... 76 | Next
Find Deals Near You vehicles for sale matching Ford Expedition near Honolulu. See local deals