Advertisement

Why ads?
Popular at KBB.com
  • 10 Best SUVs Under $25,000
  • 12 Best Family Cars of 2014
  • 10 Best Midsize SUVs
  • 10 Best AWD Cars & SUVs Under $25,000
Go

1998 Ford Expedition

Style:

Consumer Reviews & Ratings

Overall Rating
8.8
Out of 10

Based on 750 Ratings for the 1997 - 2002 models.

Review this car
more rating details
  • Value
    8.8/10
    Quality
    9.0/10
  • Reliability
    9.1/10
    Performance
    9.0/10
  • Comfort
    9.3/10
    Styling
    9.1/10
Sort Reviews by: 
Per Page:  5 | 10 | 25
Previous | 1 2 3 ... 30 | Next

A good family vehicle.

By on Thursday, July 03, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 189,000

10 9.0
overall rating 9 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
9/10
Value
7/10
Reliability
9/10
Quality
9/10
Performance
8/10
Styling
9/10
Comfort
8/10

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 9

"I have owned this vehicle for 11 years. The only reason we are thinking of trading is to get a smaller vehicle with better mileage as my wife has started a new job and is driving an additional half hour every day."

3 people out of 4 found this review helpful

Most Reliable Car Ever Owned

By on Wednesday, July 02, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 235,000

10 9.0
overall rating 9 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
9/10
Value
7/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
7/10
Styling
8/10
Comfort
8/10

Pros: "Reliable, roomy."

Cons: "It's a large SUV so it uses more gas."

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 9

"I can't even count how many cars I've owned through the years. I do know I've owned this one longer than any other. It has been absolutely reliable and has required only basic maintenance and upkeep."

2 people out of 2 found this review helpful

I would buy another but it uses too much gas

By on Saturday, June 28, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 185,000

10 8.0
overall rating 8 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
8/10
Value
8/10
Reliability
9/10
Quality
9/10
Performance
9/10
Styling
8/10
Comfort
9/10

Pros: "Easy to drive, good visibility"

Cons: "GAS HOG"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 8

"I have 3 other cars, so I do not need it, but I can't bear to part with it. Strong engine never needed work until over 100,000 miles needed plug coils,and new head gasket at 175,000 miles. It did need frequent front end work - struts, shocks, stabilizers, swaybars, etc."

2 people out of 5 found this review helpful

Love it!

By on Monday, May 26, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 130,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"Awesome vehicle!"

3 people out of 5 found this review helpful

Spacey, comfortable and in good condition

By on Sunday, May 18, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 115,615

10 8.0
overall rating 8 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
8/10
Value
8/10
Reliability
8/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
7/10
Styling
6/10
Comfort
10/10

Pros: "Great SUV for a large family"

Cons: "Several cup holders in the front and back"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 8

"This suv is in good condition. Ideal for a large family and traveling with long legs or short roomy and very comfortable. am/fm radio and cassette tape player......cd cases available but,needs repairing. some personal painted areas...ok Ac/heating, engine, windows, doors, seats and sun roof in good condition...."

1 person out of 1 found this review helpful

98 Ford Expedition 4x4, Eddie Baur, solid vehicle

By on Sunday, May 11, 2014

I owned and sold this car
Reason: Trade

10 9.0
overall rating 9 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
9/10
Value
9/10
Reliability
9/10
Quality
9/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
8/10
Comfort
9/10

Pros: "Comfortable to drive, reliable"

Cons: "Gas mileage"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 8

"I purchased this vehicle with aprox 45k miles and I traded it in with 267k. During the 12 to 13 yrs I owned this vehicle I only had two major issues, transmission and a brakes. The transmission rebuild happened about 180k miles. The brake issue, which happened during routine brake maintenance at a local Ford dealer, no problems going in just pads and rotors, it took the dealer almost 6 weeks to figure out what was causing intermittent brake pedal travel, I attribute to incompetence. Other than these two issues this vehicle was fantastic. I made sure to have routine maintenance performed, especially oil changes, and I had no problems It averaged 14-18mpg, handled great on and off road and in the snow. I always put decent tires on it, usually the higher $$ All season/AT. It would handle 6 adults comfortably, 5 adults with ample luggage space. My biggest complaint would be the lack of an integrated(power fold) third row, and they didn't put a diesel 'em. I liked this vehicle so much I bought another. The new expedition is not nearly as comfortable to drive.....but it has all the bells and whistles. This vehicle looked good when I traded it in, had very little rust. Most rust was under the doors...."

4 people out of 5 found this review helpful

Used for 14 years. Family trips. Towing trailer.pu

By on Sunday, April 27, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 130,000

10 6.0
overall rating 6 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
6/10
Value
5/10
Reliability
8/10
Quality
4/10
Performance
8/10
Styling
7/10
Comfort
7/10

Pros: "power, stability,utility, price"

Cons: "rust, engine intermitently misfires"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 8

"Purchased in 2000. Used for family trips and for towing 8,000 pound travel trailer. Hauled lumber, sheetrock etc. Green with gray, cloth interior. Front doors have rust, otherwise looks good. No major mechanical problems."

5 people out of 6 found this review helpful

305K miles on orig engine & transm, best car ever

By on Tuesday, April 15, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 305,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
7/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

Pros: "Reliable, functional, good looks"

Cons: "None really."

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"Bought this in 2001 with 50K on it for $8,000, now at 305K and time to sell for $1,000, but still starts, drives, and runs great on original engine and transmission. The absolute best car Ive ever owned. Talk about value... 250K miles for $7,000 depreciation over 13 years."

2 people out of 2 found this review helpful

305K miles on orig engine & transm, best car ever

By on Tuesday, April 15, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 305,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
7/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

Pros: "Reliable, functional, good looks"

Cons: "None really."

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"Bought this in 2001 with 50K on it for $8,000, now at 305K and time to sell for $1,000, but still starts, drives, and runs great on original engine and transmission. The absolute best car Ive ever owned. Talk about value... 250K miles for $7,000 depreciation over 13 years."

1 person out of 2 found this review helpful

Very reliable vehicle

By on Sunday, April 06, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 154,000

10 7.0
overall rating 7 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
7/10
Value
7/10
Reliability
8/10
Quality
8/10
Performance
8/10
Styling
7/10
Comfort
8/10

Pros: "Easy to drive. Drives alot smaller."

Cons: "Hard to find suitable parking spots sometimes."

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 7

"Have owned car for 11 years. Don't need this big of a vehicle any longer. Gets decent gas mileage on freeway,65-70 mph,about 18-20 mpg. That is pretty good considering how big,and heavy the expedition is."

4 people out of 4 found this review helpful

1998 Ford Expedition Eddie Bauer new tires,trans

By on Saturday, March 29, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 169,000

10 8.0
overall rating 8 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
8/10
Value
9/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
8/10
Performance
8/10
Styling
8/10
Comfort
9/10

Pros: "very dependable,good condition inside and out"

Cons: "16 yrs old ,18 mpg hwy, 13 mpg city"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"1998 FORD EXPEDITION EDDIE BAUER. Runs and drives good,new tires,new transmission,new pioneer stereo system,cold A/C front and rear,full size spare,power everything,tow package,aluminum rims,new windshield.$3800.00 OBO"

3 people out of 3 found this review helpful

best vehicle i have had

By on Tuesday, March 25, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 200,000

10 9.0
overall rating 9 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
9/10
Value
9/10
Reliability
9/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
9/10
Comfort
10/10

Pros: "worth the money"

Cons: "cassette player"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 9

"This has been the most comfortable ride i have ever owned! I love the way it drives! next vehicle has some big shoes to fill."

1 person out of 1 found this review helpful

My wife and I love this vehicle!

By on Thursday, February 27, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 221,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
9/10
Comfort
10/10

Pros: "Fun to drive, low maintenance cost!"

Cons: "I do not have the rear quarter windows that open."

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"We bought this 2001 5.4L used in 2003 with 23,000 mi on it. At the first oil change interval I put Mobile 1 5W-20 in it. Change every 6-7K intervals. At 30K I changed the tranny filter and fluid to full synthetic Mobil 1 ATF. Change Tranny fluid and filter every 60K. I now have 221,000 mi! I also replace fuel,air, and coolant every 30K. I've only had to replace the altenator at 126,000mi, re-seat 1 spark plug well for 400.00. at 146,000 mi and just now need to replace the upper ball joints. someone said they had to replace several spark plug well seats, but that is usually due to improper torquing of the spark plugs! The one I had to replace is a known design flaw. I also changed spark plugs at 100,000 intervals with Autolite double platinum plugs. I also changed differential oils at 100,000 mi with synthetic Mobile 1 75W-140 gear oil. Need to do again. I have pulled 24ft travel trailers over the mountain passes, pulled a boat over the mountain passes in 2nd gear at 70mph! In other words I don't just putt around! The door lock and window switches need to be taken apart and clean the contacts off once in a while when they quit working. All my electrical and power switches still work with some routine cleaning. It's usually the master switch by the drivers side that needs cleaning. Oh! the front windshield had to be resealed once. The window leaked water into the dash and caused the gauges to freak out at about 90K mi. Once they dried out they worked fine ever since! I also replaced shocks at 160,000 mi with KYB's best, I could not get myself to swing for the Bilstiens. If you think the Expo. handles good, try the KYB's they are even better than stock! I used to get 15-17mpg but now with the 10% ethanol I only get 13-15mpg. Wow really saving the environment! 10% less petroleum but I need 15% more fuel to get where I'm going!"

4 people out of 5 found this review helpful

a great heavy duty family tank!

By on Monday, February 24, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 145,000

10 8.0
overall rating 8 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
8/10
Value
9/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

Pros: "roomy stylish ride"

Cons: "Gas guzzler"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 9

"not cheap on gas but you will always get where you are going in a comfortable stylish ride!"

ONE OF THE BEST USED VEHICLES I'VE OWNED!

By on Sunday, January 19, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 128,000

10 9.0
overall rating 9 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
9/10
Value
8/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
9/10
Performance
9/10
Styling
8/10
Comfort
9/10

Pros: "MY EXPERIANCE WITH THIS VEHICLE HAS BEEN GREAT."

Cons: "SORRY...NO CON'S."

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"I WOULDN'T LET IT GO IF I WERE NOT RETIRED AND DON'T NEED IT ANY LONGER."

Been a great reliable and comfortable ride

By on Monday, January 13, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 135,000

10 9.0
overall rating 9 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
9/10
Value
8/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
9/10
Styling
8/10
Comfort
8/10

Cons: "Gas mileage. 3rd row seat comes out of vehicle"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 9

"Only con is gas mileage-could be much better"

1 person out of 1 found this review helpful

Good but not great

By on Monday, January 06, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 150,000

10 6.0
overall rating 6 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
6/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
6/10
Quality
6/10
Performance
4/10
Styling
7/10
Comfort
6/10

Pros: "Cost of used car, comfort, size"

Cons: "Door locks, storage room, suspension,"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 5

"For the price these cars are a steal. We have had our car for 8 + years. Had to replace a few spark plug seats which are about $800 a pop. Replaced the intake manifold (which is common when you pass 130k because they are plastic and will crack. Power is sluggish but acceptable. Comfort inside is great. We have 6 kids and they fit fine. Just can't put any other stuff in the car, Not much room in the back. Gas mileage is around 14 to 17 mpg. Power locks in the back doors stop working around the 120k mark."

7 people out of 9 found this review helpful

new tires 240.00 each

By on Saturday, January 04, 2014

I don't own this car

10 9.0
overall rating 9 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
9/10
Value
9/10
Reliability
9/10
Quality
9/10
Performance
9/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

Pros: "new tires new transmission, very clean interior"

Cons: "face plate on cd player needs to be purchased"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"removed and replaced transmission and serviced transfer case.total price of repairs 3150.00 2/13/13 at odometer reading at 109413 miles.i drove this vehicle back from san luis Obispo ca to carson city nv it was a very cnfortable trip"

1 person out of 3 found this review helpful

BEST SUV EVER!!! MUST OWN! FANTASTIC!

By on Sunday, December 29, 2013

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 100,364

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

Pros: "Amazingly well built rock of an SUV. Fast too."

Cons: "slerps gas faster than a bullet."

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"I have owned my Ford Expedition Eddie Bauer 2001 Cruiser for 4 years and this amazing Ford Built tank fortress is a dream vehicle for taking the road by storm. The heavy frame and tons this thing hauls around does nothing to slow it down. The 5.4 liter monster V8 tears the road apart, It handles mountains like a dream and if it is allowed to go as fast as it can i have hit 120 MPH in this thing!!! crazy right? but there is more. The luxury elements in this SUV are splendid, comfy heated seats perfect for a long drive , super clear sound system with amazing bass for a 2001 vehicle , and a backup sensor for safety and precision parking. Handles all weather such as snow , rain and ice like a champ (3 winters in Spokane WA and this thing has never failed me once) It will get you where you need to go without question. with scheduled oil changes, new tires/brakes when needed and the occasional light replacement maintenance is never an issue with this SUV. So if you're not already scrambling to find one near you i recommend you do so quickly because they sell like hot cakes and very few people get rid of them. What can i say the world's perfect SUV is the wonderful Ford Expedition Eddie Bauer!!!"

2 people out of 5 found this review helpful

going to buy a newer car-had this car for 10 years

By on Tuesday, December 10, 2013

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 187,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
Not Rated
Reliability
Not Rated
Quality
Not Rated
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

Pros: "no dents no scatchs- tires all new- paint very goo"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"would rec this car to my son"

I love my Expedition!

By on Monday, October 28, 2013

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 134,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

Pros: "Fun to drive, handles well"

Cons: "No cons"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"I could not ask for a more dependable vehicle. I take care of it and it takes care of my family and I. I take frequent trips and my vehicle has never broke down during the entire 8 years that I have owned my vehicle. It is a pleasure to drive and it delivers power on demand. It is equipped with a nice factory sound system to help with long drives. My family likes to be able to stretch out while traveling without giving up luggage space. Ford has really excelled with this vehicle."

6 people out of 6 found this review helpful

LLOOVVEE

By on Thursday, October 10, 2013

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 118,000

10 8.0
overall rating 8 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
8/10
Value
7/10
Reliability
9/10
Quality
6/10
Performance
6/10
Styling
6/10
Comfort
9/10

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 9

"I love my truck so much. End of story"

1 person out of 1 found this review helpful

well the vehcile still looks great and runs great

By on Wednesday, October 09, 2013

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 209,000

10 9.0
overall rating 9 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
9/10
Value
5/10
Reliability
9/10
Quality
9/10
Performance
9/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

Pros: "it is ford tuff with and it runns and drives smoth"

Cons: "it has sum lock problems with the doors bad on ful"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 7

looks good for 209.000 miles

"the vehicle looks and runs great for having over 200.000 miles on it but it is hard on gas gets like 12 miles to the gallon has problems with the door looks my over drive lite keeps flashing my 4x4 switch don't work and my abs lite is on but it still runs like a top great fore famly outings and fishing trips can fit all my gear in it and 4 guys with boat in toe all in all it is better than any GMC by far"

6 people out of 7 found this review helpful

looks good for 209.000 miles

Great in rain/snow. 4X4h & L. Good visibility

By on Wednesday, October 02, 2013

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 164,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

Pros: "Excellent handling. Smooth riding 4X4"

Cons: "Side view mirrors not power."

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"Heavy duty towing pkg, Air suspension pkg, Fold flat second row seats, Driver & passenger arm rests, Center fold down arm rest/cup holders in second row seating, Separate rear heat/air conditioning/sound controls, overhead console with compass/instant & avg MPG indicator; map lights; rear side window power controls, floor mats."

WON'T EVER SELL IT!!!!!!!

By on Wednesday, September 11, 2013

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 999,999

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
9/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
9/10
Comfort
10/10

Pros: "everything but the mpg"

Cons: "mpg"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"Even after a million miles (about 1,200,500 miles on it) it still runs stronger than anything else I have driven. only problems i have had are paint fading (from the florida sun), light surface rust on the roof (salty air doesn't help, I live near the beach), and the alternator going out at 400,000 miles and locking me in my truck with the windows up and the air conditioning off."

1 person out of 1 found this review helpful

Sort Reviews by: 
Per Page:  5 | 10 | 25
Previous | 1 2 3 ... 30 | Next
Find Deals Near You vehicles for sale matching Ford Expedition near Honolulu. See local deals
See if you qualify for
up
to
Cash Back
on a new
Details