Advertisement

Why ads?
Popular at KBB.com
  • 10 Best SUVs Under $25,000
  • 12 Best Family Cars of 2014
  • 10 Best Midsize SUVs
  • 10 Best AWD Cars & SUVs Under $25,000
Go

1997 Ford Expedition

Style:

Consumer Reviews & Ratings

Overall Rating
8.8
Out of 10

Based on 766 Ratings for the 1997 - 2002 models.

Review this car
more rating details
  • Value
    8.8/10
    Quality
    9.0/10
  • Reliability
    9.1/10
    Performance
    9.0/10
  • Comfort
    9.3/10
    Styling
    9.1/10
Sort Reviews by: 
Per Page:  5 | 10 | 25
Previous | 1 2 3 ... 31 | Next

My baby - I've driven it for 15 years!

By on Tuesday, December 16, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 225,000

10 9.0
overall rating 9 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
9/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
9/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
9/10

Pros: "Big Red - I can always find it in the parking lot"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"Reliable, always enough room to load in one more thing...you can pack half a house in there, if you're moving your kids to college! I call it Big Red...it shows up good on the highway or in the Walmart parking lot! And will plow through whatever gets in it's way."

This has been an awesome vehicle, normal repairs

By on Monday, November 10, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 285,000

10 9.0
overall rating 9 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
9/10
Value
9/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
9/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
9/10
Comfort
9/10

Pros: "Awesome room, always been reliable."

Cons: "lifting tracks on left windows have come unglued"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"Has new battery, alternator, fuel pump, plugs and coils all replaced within last year. My son-in-law has a 150 model for the same year and experienced similar results and is now on 425000 miles, still runs great."

6 people out of 8 found this review helpful

One owner, No accidents, 4wheel drive, Towing pkg.

By on Saturday, October 11, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 115,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
9/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
9/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
9/10
Comfort
8/10

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"It was purchased 3 mos before I retired and has been a great vehicle and still is. Sun roof, entertainment pkg."

8 people out of 16 found this review helpful

Geat vehicle

By on Wednesday, October 08, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 115,000

10 9.0
overall rating 9 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
9/10
Value
8/10
Reliability
9/10
Quality
8/10
Performance
9/10
Styling
8/10
Comfort
10/10

Pros: "great ride. Looks great Great for handyman"

Cons: "gas mileage not so good"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 9

"I have owned this vehicle since retirement in 2001. It is a one owner vehicle. It has never let me down. It is comfortable and has a entertainment system which my have 6 to 10 hours on it, has a towing pkg which has never been used. Has load leveling syst. I recently got married and another car came along with my wife. I would not be selling it if I hadn't got married. Could be a great family car or work vehicle"

5 people out of 9 found this review helpful

good conditions exterior and interior

By on Tuesday, September 23, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 141,469

10 7.0
overall rating 7 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
7/10
Value
8/10
Reliability
8/10
Quality
6/10
Performance
7/10
Styling
7/10
Comfort
9/10

Pros: "good price and convinient to family"

Cons: "it needs allignment"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 8

"the truck is well tooken care of and drivable. recently renewed registration and recently made the tune up"

2 people out of 5 found this review helpful

220K and no major problems

By on Sunday, September 21, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 220,000

10 9.0
overall rating 9 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
9/10
Value
9/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
9/10
Styling
9/10
Comfort
9/10

Pros: "smooth, safe, comfortable"

Cons: "gas, wet braking"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 9

"Been driving this for 12 years. Great, ride, quiet, comfortable. Dual AC is a must in this large truck. The only things I've had to fix (that were not my own fault) waerea/c compressor, upper /lower ball joints, idle air valve, starter. I failed to maintain the coolant, that cost me a mint - but my fault for running it too long with water and no rust preventative. It's been a great car. The only negative is that the ABS kicks in hard and the thing takes a long time to panic stop on wet / gravel road."

10 people out of 16 found this review helpful

I'm not planning on selling it. Keeping it.

By on Friday, September 19, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 198,000

10 8.0
overall rating 8 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
8/10
Value
Not Rated
Reliability
Not Rated
Quality
Not Rated
Performance
Not Rated
Styling
Not Rated
Comfort
Not Rated

Pros: "Still good lookin even by the new ones."

Cons: "Could always get better milage. Has fuel injection"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"I'm male,76 & alone. Dad was with Ford forever, (came with the model A). Don't go much anymore. Have owned lots of Fords, (mostly customized). Just had it inspected at Ford dealer. New Army plates. New tires & battery. I'm pretty particular. It came with a minor bent rear bumper, but previous owned didn't charge me for it. Retired now. Sold my 3 customized Ford Welding trucks. Had trucks since I was 20. Only going to have one vehicle now. It's a FORD & a keeper. I'm happy with it. P.S. all 3 adult kids have Ford trucks."

2 people out of 3 found this review helpful

Best Truck I've ever had!

By on Monday, September 15, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 133,000

10 8.0
overall rating 8 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
8/10
Value
8/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
8/10
Performance
8/10
Styling
7/10
Comfort
10/10

Pros: "The price I paid for was worth it..."

Cons: "it has no dvd's component but the space for one."

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 9

"This truck has gotten me through the worse snow storm and it climbs hills excellent. I have had this car for some years now and I hate to give it away because it is my dream truck. Having minor work done and no cosmetic work needed has made many people want my truck because I try and keep it up and running. If you need a big family truck and a nice truck to travel in the Expedition, Ford is perfect."

3 people out of 6 found this review helpful

Most reliable SuV ever!

By on Monday, September 08, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 239,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

Pros: "Holds everybody and everthing, very durable"

Cons: "gas mileage averages only 13-20 mpg"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"I bought my Expedition new in 1998... I have put all the 239K miles on it to date and its going strong. Runs like new! Very durable inside and out... no broken dials, knobs, or switches. unlike my BMW which is 2 years newer and 100k less in miles and has broken and cracked everything... Very minor repairs throughout except blown spark plug hole... otherwise just routine maintenance..."

3 people out of 5 found this review helpful

vehicle is in mint condition new tires and battery

By on Saturday, September 06, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 150,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
Not Rated
Reliability
Not Rated
Quality
Not Rated
Performance
10/10
Styling
9/10
Comfort
10/10

Pros: "it is in mint condition, tires and battery NEW"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"vehicle is in mint condition"

1 person out of 1 found this review helpful

Ford Makes Good Car

By on Wednesday, September 03, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 190,000

10 9.0
overall rating 9 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
9/10
Value
9/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
8/10
Performance
7/10
Styling
7/10
Comfort
7/10

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 9

"Have close to 200,000 miles on this big ride. No mechaical problems, did replace shocks about 5 years ago. Still going strong."

1 person out of 2 found this review helpful

nice ride

By on Friday, August 22, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 199,300

10 9.0
overall rating 9 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
9/10
Value
7/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
8/10
Performance
7/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
8/10

Pros: "nice interior, tall, bulky, spacious"

Cons: "gas hog, sometimes hard to park since its big"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 9

"Own this vehicle currently. Im a dodge man used to hate ford, that was until I bought this one. Has rust on it but its been more reliable than any other vehicles ive had. Its roomy with good options amd interior, with a bulky manly exterior. I give this a 9 out of 10!"

4 people out of 6 found this review helpful

This is possibly the very best vehicle ever owned

By on Tuesday, August 19, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 244,314

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

Pros: "Tough, yet comfortable"

Cons: "so little ,it doesn't matter"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"I LOVE THIS EXPEDITION!!!!"

1 person out of 2 found this review helpful

70K miles, 13 years, Wonderful Experience!

By on Tuesday, August 12, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 70,000

10 9.0
overall rating 9 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
9/10
Value
9/10
Reliability
9/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
9/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

Pros: "Reliability, good ride, interior/exterior quality"

Cons: "Gas mileage as expected, 5500 lb truck"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 9

"Except for gas mileage (13/17) this has been a wonderful truck. Two relatively minor repairs (fuel pump, rear axle outer seal) were required in the past 2 years... nothing before that. Tires lasted 65000 miles, just changed the brakes at 67000 miles. Did the required maintenance and used Mobil 1 oil at 5K mile intervals. Body / paint is perfect (New Mexico weather helped there). Very comfortable interior, cloth seats wear like iron. Pulls a trailer well with factory hitch/cooling system. Couldn't ask for a better truck or driving experience."

2 people out of 4 found this review helpful

Reliable, Dependable, Fun to drive

By on Friday, August 08, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 150,000

10 9.0
overall rating 9 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
9/10
Value
9/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
9/10
Performance
8/10
Styling
9/10
Comfort
10/10

Pros: "Very comfortable, safe, reliable, and luxurious"

Cons: "Low fuel economy"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

My 2001 Ford Expedition

"I bought this truck two years ago after learning how to drive in my dad's because I loved them so much. Mine has been very good to me the only major job I had to invest in was a revamp of the suspension because Ford's air ride is garbage to begin with. Converted it to standard shocks and coil spring suspension and it rides much better and sits higher too! Besides that it has only requires minor repairs and maintenance. The Eddie Bauer edition is very luxurious and I enjoy driving it everyday. 150k miles and going strong!"

2 people out of 3 found this review helpful

My 2001 Ford Expedition

Has been a great reliable vehicle.

By on Monday, August 04, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 230,000

10 8.0
overall rating 8 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
8/10
Value
9/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
9/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
9/10
Comfort
8/10

Pros: "Power, room, comfort, built like a tank."

Cons: "none"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 9

"Bought this vehicle used 6 years ago. Has been very dependable and only needing minor repairs like replacing the radiator. Inside is very large with plenty of cargo space and seating of 9 people comfortably. It has power when driving and easy steering. Have used it to haul teenagers as well as transport tons of things. Love the power driver's seat. Third seat is very easy to remove and re-install when needed. Easy access to third seat by folding down one second seat and love the choice of folding double middle seat down when needed also. Have been in one crash when Mustang rear ended us and very little damage to my vehicle but totaled Mustang. Easy to drive and maneuver. Lots of fun to drive."

2 people out of 2 found this review helpful

A good family vehicle.

By on Thursday, July 03, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 189,000

10 9.0
overall rating 9 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
9/10
Value
7/10
Reliability
9/10
Quality
9/10
Performance
8/10
Styling
9/10
Comfort
8/10

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 9

"I have owned this vehicle for 11 years. The only reason we are thinking of trading is to get a smaller vehicle with better mileage as my wife has started a new job and is driving an additional half hour every day."

6 people out of 7 found this review helpful

Most Reliable Car Ever Owned

By on Wednesday, July 02, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 235,000

10 9.0
overall rating 9 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
9/10
Value
7/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
7/10
Styling
8/10
Comfort
8/10

Pros: "Reliable, roomy."

Cons: "It's a large SUV so it uses more gas."

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 9

"I can't even count how many cars I've owned through the years. I do know I've owned this one longer than any other. It has been absolutely reliable and has required only basic maintenance and upkeep."

3 people out of 3 found this review helpful

I would buy another but it uses too much gas

By on Saturday, June 28, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 185,000

10 8.0
overall rating 8 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
8/10
Value
8/10
Reliability
9/10
Quality
9/10
Performance
9/10
Styling
8/10
Comfort
9/10

Pros: "Easy to drive, good visibility"

Cons: "GAS HOG"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 8

"I have 3 other cars, so I do not need it, but I can't bear to part with it. Strong engine never needed work until over 100,000 miles needed plug coils,and new head gasket at 175,000 miles. It did need frequent front end work - struts, shocks, stabilizers, swaybars, etc."

3 people out of 7 found this review helpful

Love it!

By on Monday, May 26, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 130,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"Awesome vehicle!"

3 people out of 6 found this review helpful

Spacey, comfortable and in good condition

By on Sunday, May 18, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 115,615

10 8.0
overall rating 8 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
8/10
Value
8/10
Reliability
8/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
7/10
Styling
6/10
Comfort
10/10

Pros: "Great SUV for a large family"

Cons: "Several cup holders in the front and back"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 8

"This suv is in good condition. Ideal for a large family and traveling with long legs or short roomy and very comfortable. am/fm radio and cassette tape player......cd cases available but,needs repairing. some personal painted areas...ok Ac/heating, engine, windows, doors, seats and sun roof in good condition...."

1 person out of 1 found this review helpful

98 Ford Expedition 4x4, Eddie Baur, solid vehicle

By on Sunday, May 11, 2014

I owned and sold this car
Reason: Trade

10 9.0
overall rating 9 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
9/10
Value
9/10
Reliability
9/10
Quality
9/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
8/10
Comfort
9/10

Pros: "Comfortable to drive, reliable"

Cons: "Gas mileage"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 8

"I purchased this vehicle with aprox 45k miles and I traded it in with 267k. During the 12 to 13 yrs I owned this vehicle I only had two major issues, transmission and a brakes. The transmission rebuild happened about 180k miles. The brake issue, which happened during routine brake maintenance at a local Ford dealer, no problems going in just pads and rotors, it took the dealer almost 6 weeks to figure out what was causing intermittent brake pedal travel, I attribute to incompetence. Other than these two issues this vehicle was fantastic. I made sure to have routine maintenance performed, especially oil changes, and I had no problems It averaged 14-18mpg, handled great on and off road and in the snow. I always put decent tires on it, usually the higher $$ All season/AT. It would handle 6 adults comfortably, 5 adults with ample luggage space. My biggest complaint would be the lack of an integrated(power fold) third row, and they didn't put a diesel 'em. I liked this vehicle so much I bought another. The new expedition is not nearly as comfortable to drive.....but it has all the bells and whistles. This vehicle looked good when I traded it in, had very little rust. Most rust was under the doors...."

4 people out of 5 found this review helpful

Used for 14 years. Family trips. Towing trailer.pu

By on Sunday, April 27, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 130,000

10 6.0
overall rating 6 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
6/10
Value
5/10
Reliability
8/10
Quality
4/10
Performance
8/10
Styling
7/10
Comfort
7/10

Pros: "power, stability,utility, price"

Cons: "rust, engine intermitently misfires"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 8

"Purchased in 2000. Used for family trips and for towing 8,000 pound travel trailer. Hauled lumber, sheetrock etc. Green with gray, cloth interior. Front doors have rust, otherwise looks good. No major mechanical problems."

5 people out of 6 found this review helpful

305K miles on orig engine & transm, best car ever

By on Tuesday, April 15, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 305,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
7/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

Pros: "Reliable, functional, good looks"

Cons: "None really."

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"Bought this in 2001 with 50K on it for $8,000, now at 305K and time to sell for $1,000, but still starts, drives, and runs great on original engine and transmission. The absolute best car Ive ever owned. Talk about value... 250K miles for $7,000 depreciation over 13 years."

2 people out of 2 found this review helpful

305K miles on orig engine & transm, best car ever

By on Tuesday, April 15, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 305,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
7/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

Pros: "Reliable, functional, good looks"

Cons: "None really."

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"Bought this in 2001 with 50K on it for $8,000, now at 305K and time to sell for $1,000, but still starts, drives, and runs great on original engine and transmission. The absolute best car Ive ever owned. Talk about value... 250K miles for $7,000 depreciation over 13 years."

2 people out of 3 found this review helpful

Sort Reviews by: 
Per Page:  5 | 10 | 25
Previous | 1 2 3 ... 31 | Next
Find Deals Near You vehicles for sale matching Ford Expedition near Honolulu. See local deals