Advertisement

Why ads?
Popular at KBB.com
  • 10 Best SUVs Under $25,000
  • 12 Best Family Cars of 2014
  • 10 Best Midsize SUVs
  • 10 Best AWD Cars & SUVs Under $25,000
Go

2003 Ford Excursion

Style:

Consumer Reviews & Ratings

Overall Rating
9.5
Out of 10

Based on 491 Ratings for the 2000 - 2005 models.

Review this car
more rating details
  • Value
    9.5/10
    Quality
    9.5/10
  • Reliability
    9.6/10
    Performance
    9.5/10
  • Comfort
    9.7/10
    Styling
    9.6/10
Sort Reviews by: 
Per Page:  5 | 10 | 25
Previous | 1 2 3 ... 99 | Next

My favorite vehicle since I started driving

By on Monday, January 19, 2015

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 188,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"This is my favorite vehicle ever. I'm not sure why Ford discontinued such a great SUV. I have done countless softball tournament trips in comfort with decent fuel mileage and plenty of room for friends and gear. I also use it regularly to pull my 4 horse trailer. Most recently did a 6,000 mile road trip taking my daughter to college. We had it loaded to the hilt, with dorm supplies and 5 people. It ran great and it was nice to be able to watch some movies along the way. Plenty of power, plenty of room, plenty comfortable."

2 people out of 2 found this review helpful

Best vehicle my wife and have owned.

By on Monday, December 15, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 101,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

Pros: "Well worth the price."

Cons: "Eight cup holders Four for driver ."

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"We have six children. we have a 31' Air-stream. We have traveled to Reno, Nevada, Columbia Missouri, Tempe Az, Jerome Arizona in snow, Denver Colorado area Thanks giving, Nainamo Canada, Mountains, desert. It drives very well. Interstate speeds best, We live in rural area with windy two lane roads. All service has been from dealership of purchase."

7 people out of 11 found this review helpful

Great truck 7.3 turbo Diesal is bulletproof.

By on Sunday, November 23, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 368,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
9/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

Pros: "They don't produce them anymore."

Cons: "They don't make them anymore"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"My only concern with this vehicle is , what to replace her with when the time comes. Purchased the excursion new in 2000 hoping to get 8 high mileage years out of it, so I'm pleased. Great safe family cruiser , excellent tow vehicle and all around road dog."

3 people out of 6 found this review helpful

Tough, Dependable, Strong Running & Cost Effective

By on Monday, November 03, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 236,000

10 9.0
overall rating 9 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
9/10
Value
8/10
Reliability
9/10
Quality
9/10
Performance
6/10
Styling
8/10
Comfort
9/10

Pros: "Bullet Proof, Hauls Anything-anywhere, Runs Great"

Cons: "On curvy roads it can be unstable"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 9

My Excursion

"I have owned this Ford Excursion for 11 years and have logged over 230,0000 miles on the vehicle. Early on it encountered computer problems & the transmission had to be replaced (both under Ford's extended warranty). Other than these issues maintenance has primarily consisted of regular service & brakes (which do seem to need replacing more frequently that on most vehicles), one glow plug & a set of shocks. I have only put on 2 sets of tires on the car in 230,000 miles & the ones on it now are about 20% worn. Even though it is very large the parking sonar makes it very easy to park. Virtually nothing has gone wrong with this vehicle Everything still works except for one sticky power lock which is intermittent. The 4 wheel drive is easy to operate with just a simple button. I have traveled in up to 17 inches of snow on highways & secondary roads with no problem. when owning one of these vehicles one does not expect great gas mileage. Loaded or empty it gets around 14 MPG."

7 people out of 10 found this review helpful

My Excursion

One big SUV!!

By on Wednesday, August 20, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 89,000

10 8.0
overall rating 8 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
8/10
Value
8/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
9/10
Performance
7/10
Styling
9/10
Comfort
8/10

Pros: "Powerful, roomy with a commanding view of the road"

Cons: "Hauling 7,000+ lbs kills economy"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"I purchased the Excursion in 2007 (used) predominantly for towing our 28 foot travel trailer. It exceeded my expectations by a mile. I couldn't even tell the trailer was behind me while towing it. The 6.8L V10 engine has more than enough power/torque to pull the 6,000 lb trailer. The vehicle is very spacious inside and quite comfortable for the long haul. Three row seating allows for up to 8 people to be taken along for the ride. The seating position is quite high which affords an excellent view of traffic all around. The only negative is, of course, the fuel mileage which is only 10 or 11 mpg around town and 14 on the highway. Towing the trailer reduces these numbers to 6 and 8 mpg respectively."

12 people out of 20 found this review helpful

Sort Reviews by: 
Per Page:  5 | 10 | 25
Previous | 1 2 3 ... 99 | Next
Find Deals Near You vehicles for sale matching Ford Excursion near Honolulu. See local deals