Advertisement

Why ads?
Popular at KBB.com
  • 10 Best Sedans Under $25,000
  • 12 Best Family Cars of 2014
  • 10 Most Affordable Cars of 2014
  • 10 Best Luxury Cars Under $40,000
Go

2000 Ford Escort

Style:

Consumer Reviews & Ratings

Overall Rating
7.7
Out of 10

Based on 805 Ratings for the 1997 - 2002 models.

Review this car
more rating details
  • Value
    8.4/10
    Quality
    8.0/10
  • Reliability
    8.4/10
    Performance
    8.0/10
  • Comfort
    7.7/10
    Styling
    7.8/10
Sort Reviews by: 
Per Page:  5 | 10 | 25
Previous | 1 2 3 ... 161 | Next

Dependable

By on Tuesday, November 11, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 123,858

10 8.0
overall rating 8 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
8/10
Value
6/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
6/10
Performance
8/10
Styling
7/10
Comfort
7/10

Pros: "Quick, reliable, cheap, dependable."

Cons: "Disposable car, not much aftermarket/performance"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"People need to understand a throw away car. These cars are excellent for the, respectfully said(like myself), less then fortunate. They are cheap around 100k and easily maintainable. Timing belts should be changed/checked every 50k-70k miles. Maintain your oil changes, spark plugs, and tires and you'll see how cheap they truely are. Ive owned 3 now, rebuilt 2, and getting another one soon. The Manual is exceptionally stronger on the throttle. Parts are cheap if your a DIY or an actual mechanic like me, work is cheap maintaining these. That can take abuse. Listen for noises get them fixed before it becomes more costly."

6 people out of 12 found this review helpful

Quite literally the best car ever.

By on Thursday, November 06, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 210,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
9/10
Comfort
10/10

Pros: "Reliability in a big way."

Cons: "It might not be a looker... but it's a keeper."

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"I love my station wagon. In fact I love it so much that I refuse to sell it. This car has gotten me through tornado like winds, college, a blizzard, hitting a deer, road trips... everything. This car has been the most reliable vehicle my entire family has come to know. My 'little-Debbie" has kept me safe since the day I got her as my first car in high school, and we all know new drivers need every last bit of safety they can get their hands on. Now that she needs some work I think it's only fitting that I restore her to "like-new" condition so someday (soon...) when she's an antique we can all look at her and hum the song "Forever Young.""

first car

By on Wednesday, October 22, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 109,000

10 7.0
overall rating 7 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
7/10
Value
7/10
Reliability
9/10
Quality
7/10
Performance
5/10
Styling
8/10
Comfort
7/10

Pros: "runs great"

Cons: "gas goes quick"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 6

"This car runs well, only had it for like three weeks, so far so good bought it for a great low price. the gas kinda goes quick though. but to fill up is cheap only like 30 bucks"

1 person out of 7 found this review helpful

1997 Ford Escort Wagon

By on Sunday, October 19, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 154,600

10 9.0
overall rating 9 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
9/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
8/10
Quality
8/10
Performance
9/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

Pros: "great price"

Cons: "small, older"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 9

"Bought this wagon around a year ago now, and so far, it has been a reliable little car. It consistently averages 30+ MPG on primarily highway driving. The only problem with it is that sometimes at idle it will rough idle. Hard to pinpoint when it will happen, though. The seats are comfortable and since I have the LX Model , the locks and windows are power, which is a plus. For around $2,000 , this car has been worth the money so far. If you are looking for an economy car for $2,000 or less, I highly recommend the 1997 ford escort wagon."

7 people out of 13 found this review helpful

Great gas mileage (City & HiWay)

By on Tuesday, October 14, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 124,000

10 9.0
overall rating 9 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
9/10
Value
9/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

Cons: "windshield needs replaced (many small "star chips"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"Very clean, dependable car. Senior owned & driven since new. Is a Escort ZX2 Coupe (2 door) Only thing needs replaced is the windshield (many small "star" chips), & new battery installed. Is a 5 spd manual, A/C serviced this summer new timing belt installed also."

2 people out of 5 found this review helpful

Sort Reviews by: 
Per Page:  5 | 10 | 25
Previous | 1 2 3 ... 161 | Next
Find Deals Near You vehicles for sale matching Ford Escort near Honolulu. See local deals