Advertisement

Popular at KBB.com
  • Midsize SUV Buyer's Guide
  • 10 Most Fuel-Efficient SUVs
  • Compact SUV Buyer's Guide
  • 15 Best Family Cars of 2015
To save a ZIP code, allow your browser to accept cookies.

Enter Your ZIP Code

ZIP Code:
Save
ZIP Code Lookup

Why do we need your ZIP code?

Kelley Blue Book provides values and other information specific to your location.

Advertisement

Why ads?

2014 Ford Escape Consumer Reviews

The Fair Market Range for this car in your area is $24,657 - $25,322.

look up another car

Look Up Another Car

See this week's price for a:
Go

e.g. Honda e.g. Accord

Price Advisor
What Others Paid
Alert: Your internet browser is out of date Upgrade to the latest version to get the most out of KBB.com
MSRP $26,445

Fair Purchase Price $24,990
Fair Market Range ($24,657 - $25,322)

Invoice $24,721
"What Others Paid" is based on the last 90 days within the U.S.

Upgrade your browser for free to get the most out of KBB.com

Looks like your Internet Explorer (IE) is out of date. For better performance, stability and security, we recommend upgrading to a newer version of IE or trying out a new browser.

Click on an icon below to access that browser’s download page.

  • Internet Explorer

  • Firefox

  • Google Chrome

Advertisement

Why ads?

Advertisement

Why ads?

KBB Expert Rating 7.8 of 10

10/7.8

Buyer's Resources

Calculate your monthly payment

Advertisement

Why ads?

Consumer Reviews & Ratings

Overall Rating
7.2
Out of 10

Based on 176 Ratings for the 2013 - 2015 models.

Review this car
more rating details
  • Value
    7.1/10
    Quality
    7.4/10
  • Reliability
    7.8/10
    Performance
    8.0/10
  • Comfort
    7.6/10
    Styling
    7.7/10
Sort Reviews by: 
Per Page:  5 | 10 | 25
Previous | 1 2 3 ... 8 | Next

looks sharp from side view...looks boxy from rear

By on Monday, May 04, 2015

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 2,265

10 6.0
overall rating 6 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
6/10
Value
6/10
Reliability
7/10
Quality
7/10
Performance
6/10
Styling
6/10
Comfort
7/10

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 1

"Headlights are too small to get good overall view in night driving. Blind spots in rear corners that can't be trusted regardless of backup camera and side vision convex mirrors. They only let you see what is immediately next to the vehicle, not anyone or anything that is on approach."

Great vehicle if you can afford it

By on Thursday, April 30, 2015

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 22,222

10 9.0
overall rating 9 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
9/10
Value
9/10
Reliability
9/10
Quality
9/10
Performance
9/10
Styling
8/10
Comfort
9/10

Pros: "fun to drive"

Cons: "see my review"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 9

"Tilt wheel clunky to operate glove compartment stupid, open door and everything falls out center console too deep to be convenient fog lights must just be there to pretty as they really don't give you any visibility I might be nitpicking but you ask mechanically no problems seems like too many recalls though other than that great vehicle no problem fun to drive and boy does it have pep will get another, just hope not so many re calls on the next one"

Love the car!

By on Sunday, April 26, 2015

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 19,000

10 9.0
overall rating 9 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
9/10
Value
9/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
9/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

Pros: "roof rack, ecoboost, 4WD"

Cons: "sel model didn't have navigation"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"I had a 2004 Escape and I traded for a 2013 four months ago. I love it. It's fun to drive with the ecoboost and I kayak so I love the roof rack. It get's much better gas millage than the 2004. The look of it has grown on me. I didn't like it a first, but now I do. It goes through the snow like a champ! I had no problems all winter. I wish my SEL model had navigation."

A very well built, confortable vehicle.

By on Monday, April 20, 2015

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 14,000

10 9.0
overall rating 9 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
9/10
Value
9/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
8/10
Performance
9/10
Styling
9/10
Comfort
9/10

Cons: "It is a truck, so the ride is a little stiff."

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 9

"This car is well designed and built. It has Ford's certified warranty. The Ford dealer paid for a large portion of the cost for a trailer hitch so my wife's wheel chair carrier could be used. I would say buy an Escape!!!"

5 people out of 7 found this review helpful

best handling and power

By on Tuesday, April 07, 2015

I owned and sold this car
Reason: new car

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
9/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
8/10
Comfort
8/10

Pros: "great car to drive, handling great on cruves"

Cons: "console arm rest to far back."

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 9

"This was my 3rd Escape 4/4. Great on highway. Loads of power when needed to enter the freeway."

17 people out of 22 found this review helpful

2014 Ford Escape Titanium Metallic

By on Monday, March 30, 2015

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 19,900

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
9/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
9/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

Pros: "Great drive"

Cons: "sluggish screen"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"Previous car was a Toyota Camry. Towards the end, it required a lot of repairs and was never fixed correctly, so admittedly, the difference was not hard to beat. Having stated that; I test drove a lot of vehicles. In the end, I knew I wanted a crossover type so I could sit higher off the road, tow if needed, and not have to go big to do so. Out of all the crossovers I drove, the Ford Escape (Titanium Model) became my favorite. One poster stated the touch screen is not sensitive enough and sluggish and I tend to agree. However; the drive is tight. The interior roomy, and the overall design is very pleasing to the eye. This is only a month old purchase, so time will tell, but so far, I absolutely love this vehicle!!"

22 people out of 30 found this review helpful

slow heat

By on Friday, March 13, 2015

I don't own this car

10 6.0
overall rating 6 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
6/10
Value
5/10
Reliability
9/10
Quality
7/10
Performance
9/10
Styling
6/10
Comfort
8/10

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 4

"although i like the vehicle for the most part when its cold out and you warm it up to defrost the ice 25 minutes go bye and its not even half way thawed so i brought it to amy ford dealer and they said everything was ok so I'm looking to go back to chevy i still have 20 months on my lease it may be worth the pain to get out of this car"

13 people out of 26 found this review helpful

Love the car.

By on Thursday, March 05, 2015

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 16,250

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

Pros: "Good value"

Cons: "Small but comfortable."

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"Fun to drive, good looking and good gas mileage. The titanium options are great. No problems or issues to this point."

9 people out of 12 found this review helpful

Innovation

By on Wednesday, March 04, 2015

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 10,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

Pros: "Design and Innovation"

Cons: "No sliding rear seat"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"I have been impressed at Ford's innovation in their new vehicles. We just bought a new Escape. Love the Ecoboost engines and the layout of the interior and technology package."

9 people out of 10 found this review helpful

best vehicle

By on Wednesday, February 25, 2015

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 8,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
9/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

Pros: "Top notch vehicle!"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

This car will move you!

"I'm 72 and owned a lot of vehicles in my life. This escape is the best I've owned and driven, thank you Ford for being superior to all the rest!"

8 people out of 16 found this review helpful

This car will move you!

Well made with great options package

By on Thursday, February 19, 2015

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 8,700

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
9/10
Comfort
10/10

Pros: "Great overall package"

Cons: "Expected a little better fuel mileage"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"Tows anything I need to tow, has plenty of power, great brakes, smooth & quiet engine, great heating & cooling system"

6 people out of 11 found this review helpful

Love this car

By on Saturday, January 31, 2015

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 4,768

10 9.0
overall rating 9 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
9/10
Value
Not Rated
Reliability
Not Rated
Quality
Not Rated
Performance
Not Rated
Styling
Not Rated
Comfort
Not Rated

Pros: "It's a Ford."

Cons: "Small screen for back-up camera"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"I had an '03 Escape and traded it. I liked the other one better for the way it drove but like this one for many other reasons.It drives well and has great power when needed with the 2.0 liter turbo. The mileage is pretty close to the sticker except in the winter when you warm it up. Handles really well."

16 people out of 36 found this review helpful

Runs great

By on Thursday, January 22, 2015

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 1,069

10 9.0
overall rating 9 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
9/10
Value
9/10
Reliability
9/10
Quality
9/10
Performance
9/10
Styling
6/10
Comfort
5/10

Pros: "Fun to drive and quiet"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 8

"Some electrical problems with interior lights and hatchback lift won't open and has no key to open. no power going to it."

28 people out of 48 found this review helpful

Cute little SUV

By on Tuesday, January 20, 2015

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 21,000

10 8.0
overall rating 8 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
8/10
Value
6/10
Reliability
9/10
Quality
9/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

Pros: "Good looking, handling, high feature content"

Cons: "Poor MPG for 2.4 L, priced close to bigger SUVs"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 9

"I have '13 Titanium, fully loaded. Besides few glitches with navigation, some ocasional rattles, intermitten function of hands-free tail gate operation it is a very nice vehicle. Small gas tank requires good planning for long trips. 20.2 MPG (computer readings) is not that great at all. But four people will be comfortable for 3-4 hours, enough space for luggage, good stereo, etc."

12 people out of 12 found this review helpful

Nice vehicle.

By on Saturday, January 17, 2015

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 21,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
9/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
9/10
Comfort
9/10

Pros: "Using screen to change and/or see things."

Cons: "Drives fine, good mileage, plenty of room"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"Could use some improvement on design of radio/screen and middle storage. But is a very good car to drive."

12 people out of 24 found this review helpful

Impressed by Ford and their Escape models

By on Wednesday, January 14, 2015

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 10,005

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
8/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
9/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
9/10
Comfort
10/10

Pros: "Great MPG, clear visability, 2.0L EcoBoost Engine"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"This vehicle is great for smaller families. My husband and I were able to tow our 2012 Ford Focus, with the Escape packed to the brim with luggage, from central TX to the Frederick MD area without any issues. The gas mileage through out the trip exceeded what I though we were even gonna get (17mpg). On average I get anywhere between 23-28mpg and I drive about an even amount of city and highway. I do have the 2.0L Eco Boost engine with the turbo in it, so when it needs to move quickly the Escape will get up there with ease. The agility on it is great too."

8 people out of 11 found this review helpful

worst vehicle ever...has significant design issues

By on Tuesday, January 06, 2015

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 800

10 1.0
overall rating 1 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
1/10
Value
1/10
Reliability
1/10
Quality
1/10
Performance
6/10
Styling
1/10
Comfort
1/10

Pros: "none"

Cons: "interior and exterior lights do not shut off"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 1

"1) interior and exterior lights do not shut off for 15 minutes after the car is turned off. expect to be lit up for long periods of time if you are sitting in the car with the engine turned off. forget tail gating or star gazing...the lights stay on for 15 minutes and if you make the mistake of touching one of the handles or opening a door, the 15 minutes starts all over again. 2) heater in auto mode comes mostly out of the upper registers and very little from the floor so your feet freeze; you have to switch to manual to adjust to the floor vents which are very small. 3) dashboard controls are hard to reach and visibility of the lower push button controls is blocked by the gear stick. 4) asked Ford about item 1 above and they said that the escape interior/exterior lights cannot be adjusted for safety reasons.....really??"

21 people out of 48 found this review helpful

Love it

By on Wednesday, December 31, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 18,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

Pros: "Comfort, fun to drive, nice looking"

Cons: "Smaller gas tank for a SUV"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"I love the Escape, inside and out. The only thing I would change is how small the gasoline tank is. And sometimes the InSync system doesn't recognize the voice commands which can get a bit annoying."

15 people out of 24 found this review helpful

Nice features, drives great, 2.0L is great

By on Friday, December 26, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 1,300

10 9.0
overall rating 9 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
9/10
Value
9/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
9/10
Comfort
10/10

Pros: "Great equipment, nice power with 2.0l ecoboost."

Cons: "smallish in back seat."

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"traded our 13 Honda cr-v ex-l in for a 14 ford escape titanium, both awd. the ford makes it feel like we were driving an antique in the Honda. Much better features and drivablity. The Honda seats were terribly uncomfortable. Great power with the turbo 2.0 ford ecoboost. Will check the mileage when we get about 2 or 3 thousand miles on it. sync is nice, power lift gate nice, towing capacity is good, Sony radio excellent, power memory driver seat, roof rack and so on for only a couple thousand more than our Honda. beautiful sunset paint."

26 people out of 42 found this review helpful

Wife's car that she loved.

By on Monday, December 22, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 12,500

10 9.0
overall rating 9 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
9/10
Value
9/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
9/10
Performance
9/10
Styling
9/10
Comfort
9/10

Pros: "Great driving vehicle with good utility for its si"

Cons: "Improve fuel economy."

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 9

"Great car to drive that was my wife's. Only complaint is wish fuel economy bit better. Typical 22-23 in town and 29 plus on highway. My wife loved the car until recently when while stopped to may a left turn her Escape was rear-ended by a 2009 Toyota. The driver of the Toyota was, according to police traveling between 40 and 50 mph. The driver made no effort to brake before impact. I drove the escape home. The front-end of the Toyota looked exploded with no recognizable body panel up to the windshield. It was towed away. My wife suffered minor injuries with some bruising."

16 people out of 31 found this review helpful

Very satisfied

By on Saturday, December 20, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 12,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
8/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
9/10
Comfort
10/10

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"Extremely comfortable, great visibility, nice responsive feel, good fuel economy, loaded with features and technology."

9 people out of 13 found this review helpful

Don't Buy a Ford

By on Wednesday, December 17, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 81,500

10 1.0
overall rating 1 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
1/10
Value
2/10
Reliability
Not Rated
Quality
Not Rated
Performance
4/10
Styling
5/10
Comfort
4/10

Pros: "None"

Cons: "Reliability"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 1

"After having an issues with the Turbo Waste gate at 5ooo miles and 4 Recalls the transmission went out at 81000 miles I am the only driver and they were mostly highway miles I was told since I didn't spend 2ooo dollars on the extended warranty I should be glad they offered to pay 40% of the bill. After disassembly they stated the forward clutch seal was bad. I asked how that can be as I had a 2006 Escape with 169,000 miles and no issues a 2009 that I gave to my daughter with 195,000 miles and no seal issues but my 2013 with 81,500 does? They said it just happens LOL. Thank you Ford for chasing away a loyal Ford customer for over 36 years to looking to buy a Honda!"

19 people out of 31 found this review helpful

my liftgate on my 2013 ford escape opens all the

By on Tuesday, December 16, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 22,800

10 5.0
overall rating 5 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
5/10
Value
6/10
Reliability
8/10
Quality
8/10
Performance
6/10
Styling
6/10
Comfort
5/10

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 4

"My litigate on my 2013 ford escape opens all the way then drops down 6 to 10 inches I have took back Ford two times already be careful it will close down on you."

4 people out of 11 found this review helpful

Last recall ruined my Escape

By on Sunday, December 14, 2014

I owned and sold this car
Reason: Recalls

10 2.0
overall rating 2 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
2/10
Value
3/10
Reliability
3/10
Quality
1/10
Performance
4/10
Styling
4/10
Comfort
4/10

Pros: "Eco Boost"

Cons: "Too many recalls!"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 1

"After the last recall for the 1.6, I do not recommend a Ford."

6 people out of 10 found this review helpful

I love this car!

By on Friday, December 12, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 11,500

10 8.0
overall rating 8 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
8/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
8/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

Pros: "Great car"

Cons: "none yet"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"So far, this is a great car. Much better than I anticipated before first driving it. It's very comfortable, handles well and has plenty of room. I gave it an 8 in reliability only because I just bought it 6 months ago, and need to drive it longer."

3 people out of 7 found this review helpful

Sort Reviews by: 
Per Page:  5 | 10 | 25
Previous | 1 2 3 ... 8 | Next

Advertisement

Why ads?
 
Have comments about the Fair Purchase Price? Give us your feedback.