Advertisement

Why ads?
Popular at KBB.com
  • 10 Best SUVs Under $25,000
  • 10 Best Midsize SUVs
  • 10 Best AWD Cars & SUVs Under $25,000
  • 2014 Compact SUV Buyer's Guide
Go

2011 Ford Escape

Style:

Consumer Reviews & Ratings

Overall Rating
8.2
Out of 10

Based on 485 Ratings for the 2008 - 2012 models.

Review this car
more rating details
  • Value
    8.4/10
    Quality
    8.4/10
  • Reliability
    8.7/10
    Performance
    8.5/10
  • Comfort
    8.6/10
    Styling
    8.6/10
Sort Reviews by: 
Per Page:  5 | 10 | 25
Previous | 1 2 3 ... 20 | Next

Best SUV ever

By on Monday, August 25, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 98,000

10 9.0
overall rating 9 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
9/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
9/10
Performance
9/10
Styling
9/10
Comfort
9/10

Pros: "Great value, Roomy. Cute"

Cons: "SYNC, No dash compass/outside temperature display"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"The 2009 Escape was my first Ford product, after owning several Chevy Suburbans and Blazers. My Escape has needed only basic maintenance, with no repairs or mechanical problems in almost 100,000 miles of driving. The only issue I've had has been with the SYNC, which doesn't want to communicate with my cell phone. My Escape is cute, roomy and fun to drive."

Great, reliable, fun to drive car!

By on Friday, August 15, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 64,000

10 9.0
overall rating 9 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
9/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
9/10
Performance
9/10
Styling
9/10
Comfort
8/10

Pros: "great price, good mileage, love keypad on door"

Cons: "none"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"Great gas mileage, handles well, love the keypad on the door!"

3 people out of 5 found this review helpful

Best handling vehicle in snow I have ever had.

By on Wednesday, August 13, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 80,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
9/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
9/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
9/10
Comfort
10/10

Pros: "Good mileage and comfortable."

Cons: "Tailgate window molding leaked after 6 years."

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"Best handling vehicle in snow that I have ever owned. Has heated leather seats, will never buy another vehicle without them. Previously owned 2 Explorers. Like Escape better. Although updated styling makes this 2009 Escape feel larger than my old 1996 Explorer. But driving feel and comfort are much better than the Explorers and 25 mpg in the Escape is great! Horsepower from 4 cylinder engine isn't great, but will go down the freeway at 80 all day long and is easier on the pocketbook. My Dealership is providing free oil changes and guarantees the engine for as long as I own the car. However, it would not make a repair on a tire with nail in tire. I like the 17 inch wheels but replacing all 4 of them will set me back almost a grand. We recently have had a lot of rain and the tailgate window molding leaked; my only complaint."

2 people out of 2 found this review helpful

Constant Problems

By on Wednesday, August 06, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 60,600

10 3.0
overall rating 3 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
3/10
Value
7/10
Reliability
4/10
Quality
3/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
9/10

Pros: "Nice interior, Good speakers, looks sharp outside"

Cons: "unreliable, constant check engine lights"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 3

"I have had this car for almost four years and so far I have had three recalls on it. The brakes keep coming lose and recently the throttle body assembly broke causing the car to randomly lose power and to stall. It seems to be one problem after another."

2 people out of 6 found this review helpful

Last of the great Escapes.......

By on Thursday, July 31, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 32,000

10 9.0
overall rating 9 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
9/10
Value
9/10
Reliability
9/10
Quality
9/10
Performance
9/10
Styling
8/10
Comfort
9/10

Pros: "All-around A-1. MPG on highway is 30-32, intown 25"

Cons: "none"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"I have enjoyed this SUV immensely......bought it with 25k on it.......been through all the New England messes and came out a winner."

3 people out of 4 found this review helpful

GOOD 8.3 score kelly book excellent Ford Escape, I

By on Tuesday, July 22, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 20,136

10 1.0
overall rating 1 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
1/10
Value
Not Rated
Reliability
Not Rated
Quality
Not Rated
Performance
Not Rated
Styling
Not Rated
Comfort
Not Rated

Pros: "Everything"

Cons: "could use more space in back trunk area"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"Ilove this car drives like a new Ford suv Escape see milage ---its true. Bought at Texas Motors with 10000 and I have put only 10136 on it maitance is kept up at all times. This is great SUV!"

4 people out of 7 found this review helpful

Never left me stranded, ever!

By on Sunday, July 20, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 106,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
9/10
Comfort
10/10

Pros: "Reliable, responsive, great value and gas mileage."

Cons: "I haven't found any yet."

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"This car is so reliable! Any problems have been minor with the security/ignition system and a water pump issue. Incredible pick up for passing on the highway, especially for a 4cyl. Rugged, compact, fun to drive. I just paid it off and hope to drive it another 200K!!"

4 people out of 4 found this review helpful

SMALL SUV

By on Saturday, July 19, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 113,000

10 5.0
overall rating 5 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
5/10
Value
5/10
Reliability
3/10
Quality
5/10
Performance
8/10
Styling
1/10
Comfort
4/10

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 1

"It looks like it should have plenty of room but it does not. The backseat is tight to fit a Graco SnugRide carseat, and the rear compartment is a squeeze for a full size stroller. Good if you don't want to carry much with you. I would recommend a full size sedan over this."

2 people out of 3 found this review helpful

Great Little SUV

By on Monday, June 30, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 85,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
8/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
9/10
Styling
4/10
Comfort
5/10

Cons: "Body style Change after 2010"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 9

"This has been a great little SUV...only complaints are some interior design flaws, such as: Cup holders(ribs in bottom) hard to clean, Digital dash time/temp is IMPOSSIBLE to read on bright sunny days Space under steering wheel.. is close (I have bumped my shin a zillion times)getting in or out! I would get another Escape except I hate the new body style!!!!!"

15 people out of 23 found this review helpful

Love the car

By on Friday, June 27, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 55,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
9/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
9/10
Comfort
9/10

Pros: "Very reliable. Gets advertised mileage"

Cons: "No luggage hold downs"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"Have never had to use the warranty."

1 person out of 1 found this review helpful

I love it

By on Wednesday, June 25, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 44,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

Pros: "Dependable, worth the money"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"I bought this car two 1/2 years ago with 37 miles on it. I love it! I would recommend anyone wanting this car to buy it."

2 people out of 3 found this review helpful

Never had a problem!

By on Saturday, June 21, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 53,000

10 9.0
overall rating 9 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
9/10
Value
9/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
9/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

Pros: "good price for features, split fold down rear seat"

Cons: "fast depreciation"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 9

"This is my 2nd Escape. Both have had no problems. I do hear they have issues with the transmission, still haven't had any issues. Biggest issue is the depreciation of the vehicle. Most of the miles are highway miles on my vehicle in a warm climate-Florida. I do travel to Indiana and it did great on snow/ice during December/January. Drove through a blizzard on my way back to Florida. Good traction in all climates. I have the 6 cylinder with the Flex fuel option. E-85 is a waste of time - I usually get 27-30mpg on the highway, w/E-85 it's 20-23. Not the vehicles fault, as this is common with E-85 in any vehicle. I was told to make sure to get your transmission fluid changed at the 30/60/90/120k mile"

7 people out of 8 found this review helpful

Love it!

By on Monday, June 16, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 90,000

10 9.0
overall rating 9 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
9/10
Value
Not Rated
Reliability
Not Rated
Quality
Not Rated
Performance
Not Rated
Styling
Not Rated
Comfort
Not Rated

Pros: "Sits up high, Drives great"

Cons: "Can't really think of any"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"I love this car! I have no complaints about the handling and it has enough get up and go for me. I haul 500 pounds of horse feed on a weekly bases and I would never know it's back there. I wish it got a little better MPG but, it's not horrible either. Overall great vehicle."

4 people out of 6 found this review helpful

well taken care of - high miles, but all highway

By on Monday, June 16, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 147,000

10 9.0
overall rating 9 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
9/10
Value
9/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
8/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
9/10
Comfort
10/10

Pros: "economical, trading for same model"

Cons: "everything in tact"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"serviced every 5,000 miles or when needed. Well taken care of."

Sensational

By on Monday, June 16, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 137,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
8/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"Of the 50 or more cars I have owned, this is the most reliable, most economical, most practical and most fun to drive car."

2 people out of 2 found this review helpful

Only had one REAL problem to do with this car.

By on Friday, June 13, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 25,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
8/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
8/10
Comfort
8/10

Pros: "good speed, power, economy, service intervals +"

Cons: "Not real comfortable, good is how to say it."

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"The one problem was the following: The sales person told me that the navigation system was kept updated by Satellite, WRONG! I had a hard time finding out where I could get an update for the Clarion system. It turned out that I had to get the updates from NavaTech, which I have done about three times at a cost of just under TWO HUNDRED DOLLARS, about one hundred and eighty, I think, don't remember right now. Other than that the car has done better than I would have expected, and don't let anyone tell you they don't have any power, WRONG, they have plenty. Milage in the city is between 28 and 31 miles per gallon, on the highway, it has gotten up to 34, but usually it stays close to thirty. I get it serviced every six months. Without a doubt the best car I have every owned."

5 people out of 7 found this review helpful

Nice dependable car.

By on Wednesday, June 11, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 36,000

10 8.0
overall rating 8 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
8/10
Value
9/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
9/10

Pros: "Love the car. Has all the options I need."

Cons: "No cons"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"I`m ready to trade for another New Ford Escape. I`m a Ford retiree, and can use the "A" plan."

2 people out of 3 found this review helpful

always gets me where I need to go!

By on Saturday, June 07, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 24,000

10 9.0
overall rating 9 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
9/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
9/10
Quality
9/10
Performance
9/10
Styling
9/10
Comfort
9/10

Pros: "reliable, clean, beautiful vehicle!"

Cons: "eats gas like crazy!"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"A neat and reliable car!"

THIS CAR IS IN SUPER EXCELLENT CONDITION, LIKE BRA

By on Saturday, June 07, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 18,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
9/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
8/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

Pros: "EASY, CONVENIENT DRIVING"

Cons: "HAS 4 CUP HOLDERS"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"this car has only 19000 miles, hardly driven. gets 28mpg on freeway, and approximately 21 to 23 in town, has easy pull down seats for any person to put down and up again."

2 people out of 2 found this review helpful

satisfied

By on Friday, June 06, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 55,000

10 8.0
overall rating 8 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
8/10
Value
7/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
6/10
Styling
8/10
Comfort
9/10

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 8

"The 4 cy is a little underpowered. Handles nice but too much effort to steer(this is my complaint about most cars)"

2 people out of 3 found this review helpful

second best ford product i've owned

By on Monday, June 02, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 41,000

10 9.0
overall rating 9 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
9/10
Value
7/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
7/10
Performance
9/10
Styling
8/10
Comfort
9/10

Pros: "comfortable seats, good in snow and ice"

Cons: "center console always hard to open, inconvenient"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 9

"good reliable car, was a little high priced though"

3 people out of 5 found this review helpful

Best vehicle I ever owned!

By on Monday, May 19, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 60,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

Pros: "Gas mileage, SYNC"

Cons: "Can't think of one"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"I loved not pumping gas! Comfortable, easy to drive and the SYNC is the easiest automated system. Too bad Ford stopped making the hybrid SUV. I would keep buying this one!"

4 people out of 7 found this review helpful

Feature packed value in a small SUV

By on Thursday, May 15, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 84,000

10 8.0
overall rating 8 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
8/10
Value
9/10
Reliability
8/10
Quality
7/10
Performance
8/10
Styling
6/10
Comfort
7/10

Pros: "Value, V6 power, AWD capibilities, reliability"

Cons: "Cheap interior,poor seating, average build quality"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 9

"This is my 2nd Escape, my first being a 1st gen 2006. I came to the Escape after owning four Jeep Grand Cherokees. I no longer could justify the large thirsty Jeep. Even though I enjoy off-roading and the kind of adventure that the big 4X4 Jeep could bring me they weren't always a joy in the day to day grind that most of us face. I was doing a lot more traveling in my job and the big V8 with it's 13mpg was killing me. A friend of mine had an Escape and let me drive it. I knew right away that this was the compromise I was looking for. The Escape had the economy I needed (21-22mpg real world) without sacrificing power (240hp V6). It's off-road capabilities were surprising with it's AWD and it's prowess in snow is amazing. The Escape can be loaded up with the latest tech and comfort options so not much sacrifice there. The sacrifice comes in it's cheap plasticy interior and hard low comfort seating. The style (2nd gen) is old time boxy SUV which I kind of like, some may not. If you're looking for a cheap used crossover/SUV you can't beat the Escape, they're considerably less then others in the segment. I've heard of problems with some Escapes, but the 250K miles I've driven between the two I've had have been problem-free and a pleasurable experience"

15 people out of 18 found this review helpful

Great little SUV!

By on Saturday, May 10, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 61,000

10 9.0
overall rating 9 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
9/10
Value
9/10
Reliability
9/10
Quality
9/10
Performance
9/10
Styling
9/10
Comfort
9/10

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"Had it for about 14 months. Very happy with it."

2 people out of 2 found this review helpful

First Ford I have owned in 40 years -- outstanding

By on Sunday, May 04, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 21,167

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
9/10

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"Good looking, great visibility, excellent acceleration, handling is superb. No shortfalls when compared to similar SUVs - the only vehicle I have owned in the last 20 years that I heartily recommend without reservation."

5 people out of 8 found this review helpful

Sort Reviews by: 
Per Page:  5 | 10 | 25
Previous | 1 2 3 ... 20 | Next
Find Deals Near You vehicles for sale matching Ford Escape near Honolulu. See local deals