Advertisement

Why ads?
Popular at KBB.com
  • Midsize SUV Buyer's Guide
  • 10 Most Fuel-Efficient SUVs
  • Compact SUV Buyer's Guide
  • 15 Best Family Cars of 2015
Go

2009 Ford Escape

Style:

Consumer Reviews & Ratings

Overall Rating
8.3
Out of 10

Based on 539 Ratings for the 2008 - 2012 models.

Review this car
more rating details
  • Value
    8.5/10
    Quality
    8.4/10
  • Reliability
    8.8/10
    Performance
    8.5/10
  • Comfort
    8.6/10
    Styling
    8.7/10
Sort Reviews by: 
Per Page:  5 | 10 | 25

nice and comfortable ride

By on Sunday, April 12, 2015

I don't own this car

10 8.0
overall rating 8 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
8/10
Value
8/10
Reliability
7/10
Quality
8/10
Performance
6/10
Styling
6/10
Comfort
9/10

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 8

"Its a nice car,however this was not my personal choice."

GREAT Vehicle!

By on Wednesday, April 08, 2015

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 63,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
9/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
9/10

Pros: "ease of access, performance, reliability, economy"

Cons: "small seat, wind noise above 50 mph"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"I have owned my 2010 Ford Escape Limited, V6, for 16 months. Being 64 with some arthritis, I find my Escape very easy to get in and out of(leather seats). The V6 240 hsp engine allows you to get on the expressway at the speed limit - ie, 30 to 60 mph on the ramp NO problem! Passing slow old farts is a breeze too, LOL. I wish the seat was bigger(like a Navigator), and there is some wind noise above 50 mph. Oh, and I get around 21 mpg in city driving(no A/C)!"

1 person out of 2 found this review helpful

Love the car!

By on Tuesday, April 07, 2015

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 131,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
8/10
Comfort
10/10

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"All I have done is routine maintenance until 100,000. I then changed out all the fluids and the belts. Not one minutes trouble with this vehicle! Very important for a single woman. The only thing I don't like is the upholstery. Even water stains it and it won't clean up satisfactorily."

2 people out of 5 found this review helpful

AC brakes should have had recall

By on Tuesday, April 07, 2015

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 107,000

10 7.0
overall rating 7 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
7/10
Value
8/10
Reliability
8/10
Quality
5/10
Performance
5/10
Styling
8/10
Comfort
8/10

Pros: "Nice driving, good pickup comfortable interior"

Cons: "Brakes And especially AC"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 5

"Very rough braking from the beginning. told that is the way it is!? Have spent 3K over the last 2 years and it still does'nt work"

This car rocks

By on Friday, April 03, 2015

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 51,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
8/10
Performance
8/10
Styling
9/10
Comfort
10/10

Pros: "Keyless entry and has great traction"

Cons: "Can't think of any"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"This car rocks in the snow and icy conditions! I can get my kayak on top without any problems and I love keyless entry!"

2 people out of 4 found this review helpful

Great Car

By on Monday, March 30, 2015

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 60,000

10 8.0
overall rating 8 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
8/10
Value
9/10
Reliability
9/10
Quality
8/10
Performance
7/10
Styling
8/10
Comfort
8/10

Pros: "Great quality, great driver, good MPG"

Cons: "Front speaker started going out after 4 years"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 9

"Have had this car for a little over two years. Bought this after owning a string of minivans from Dodge and Chevy, and was my first ford. Although i did sacrifice on the space to go to a SUV I love this car. It gets good gas mileage 24-26 depending on the season, handles fairly well for an SUV and has a decent amount of power. It is very comfortable for long trips, i take it 4 hours one way every other weekend during the winter and it is a breeze in this vehicle. The only complaint is that the driver side front speaker has started to go out but the vehicle is now four years old and was pre-owned so I cant say for how it was used in the past. If I were to buy this vehicle again i would sacrifice the MPG to go for the 4 wheel drive model because I live in a snowy region but for a Front wheel drive it doesn't do bad. Highly recommend this vehicle."

3 people out of 4 found this review helpful

5 yr extended warranty bumper to bumper

By on Wednesday, March 25, 2015

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 30,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
9/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
9/10
Comfort
9/10

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"very reliable"

1 person out of 1 found this review helpful

Awesome!!!!!!

By on Monday, March 23, 2015

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 130,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
9/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
8/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
Not Rated

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"I was a first time Escape customer last May 2014. I'm buying another one this May. What does that yell you?"

2 people out of 4 found this review helpful

Too many mechanical breakdowns.

By on Saturday, March 21, 2015

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 173,500

10 4.0
overall rating 4 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
4/10
Value
4/10
Reliability
2/10
Quality
2/10
Performance
6/10
Styling
8/10
Comfort
8/10

Pros: "Good V6 engine, Sync system, cargo space."

Cons: "Way too many non-engine mechanical breakdowns."

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 3

"I bought this 2009 Escape XLT new. It fit the exact profile I was looking for in a vehicle which would work for business purposes, yet would still work for my outdoors activities. I still like the design a lot. The newer models have removed the SUV look and have replaced it with a minivan/crossover look. I love the Ford SYNC system. It works great. This vehicle was one of Ford's first to be equipped with a USB port. I really wanted to like this vehicle. The problem is I have had way too many mechanical breakdowns. Here is a list of the major ones: 1)Transmission went out after a month of ownership. Yes it was covered by warranty, but it took six weeks to get repaired due to a lack of replacement parts (what does that say?). Then it needed reprogramming a month later. 2)One of the front disc brakes failed. Covered by warranty. 3)The electronic power steering failed. $1300. 4)The air conditioning condenser unit failed. $1000. Then it failed again a year later. 5)Something called a half axle support bearing failed. $400. 5)Electronic lift gate actuator failed. The one thing that has actually works great on the Escape has been the V6 engine. No issues there at all. Overall however this vehicle has just had too many mechanical breakdowns in a 5 year period. I'm also not happy with the number of recalls that Ford is still experiencing with many of their vehicles. Its too bad because I really loved a lot of things on this Escape. It fit me perfectly, but the mechanical issues are just too much and Ford has too many recalls. I'll go elsewhere."

7 people out of 10 found this review helpful

My second most favorite vehicle ever.

By on Friday, March 20, 2015

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 38,000

10 9.0
overall rating 9 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
9/10
Value
9/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
9/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

Pros: "great gas mileage and roomy"

Cons: "seat belts are crazy sometimes"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"I really love this car! The only reason I am thinking of trading it in is that I want the 2015 Titanium. I am retired so it has plenty of room for everything that comes up. It wouldn't be good for a large family but it is so perfect for me."

2 people out of 4 found this review helpful

Fit our needs

By on Thursday, March 12, 2015

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 53,000

10 9.0
overall rating 9 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
9/10
Value
8/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
8/10
Performance
7/10
Styling
8/10
Comfort
8/10

Cons: "I wish it was a little bigger"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 8

"Good mileage. Comfortable on road trips and locally. Reliable. All I could ask for in its price range. Would recommend this vehicle"

1 person out of 4 found this review helpful

Traded 07 Rav 4 in for it.Great decision.

By on Tuesday, February 24, 2015

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 42,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

Pros: "great price,fun to drive"

Cons: "emergency brake release hard to reach"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"This is a great suv. It still rides,looks & handles like it did when I bought it new. There were a couple of recall problems & dealer took care of them. Glad I bought the 6cyl. avg. 22.6 mpg with plenty of power."

5 people out of 6 found this review helpful

I love this car. Best car in the snow.

By on Wednesday, February 18, 2015

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 60,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

Pros: "Great price, very good mileage."

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"This car is just the right size. Very manueverable, great gas mileage. I love all the features of my Limited edition. It is the best car I have ever driven in the snow. I used to be concerned about the weather and roads, now I don't even check it. Great peace of mind. I have told many people, if I am having trouble, no one should be out on the roads. We should all be home."

3 people out of 3 found this review helpful

Very good experience

By on Tuesday, February 10, 2015

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 43,889

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
9/10

Pros: "Price"

Cons: "Bigger cup holder"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"I've driven this vehicle for about four years. Now and have nothing negative to say...."

1 person out of 1 found this review helpful

Vehicle is wonderful!

By on Wednesday, January 28, 2015

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 80,500

10 9.0
overall rating 9 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
9/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
9/10
Styling
8/10
Comfort
10/10

Pros: "fun to drive; wonderful gas mileage"

Cons: "need a bigger cargo & separate cooling control"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"The only reason I'm considering selling/trading this vehicle in is I want a bigger vehicle for my dogs. I'm looking at a minivan which will accommodate 2 dog crates as well as 4 people (or more dog "stuff"). The gas mileage is awesome (averaging 30.4); it's comfortable; and I adore the back-up camera."

7 people out of 13 found this review helpful

Great truck for Michigan winters! Handles GREAT!

By on Sunday, January 25, 2015

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 73,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

Pros: "Looks, handleing, fuel milage."

Cons: "Gas tank could be larger."

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"Nice sized for me. We have had three of these vehicles so far, all have been VERY reliable and for the MOST part trouble free. Ford and our dealer have taken care of any troubles at no cost. They put in a new tranny at 18K after they tried to fix it...has been trouble free ever since. Fantastic in the snow. Great handleing on rain slicked expressways, snowy roads in the country, on down the line. I recommend these to anyone and everyone."

6 people out of 9 found this review helpful

Great Vehicle

By on Sunday, January 18, 2015

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 28,000

10 9.0
overall rating 9 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
9/10
Value
9/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
9/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

Pros: "Great all around vehicle to drive -"

Cons: "None that I am concerned about"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"Bought this vehicle at the beginning of 2014 with 18,235 miles on it. Since then have driven it quite a bit. For a new car it is dependable - no issues - use the sync - doesn't have the gps screen nor the backup camera - I know how to turn around to look behind me. However it does have GPS directions using services - which is a subscribed to provider free for a year. The best I have done over the road on the highway was around 24 MPG. However on a trip to upstate NY I did manage to average 28 MPG for awhile. The V-6 is the way to go - plenty of power - automatic lighting system - headlights come on by light sensor. Great Great visibility all around - the side view mirrors have a small magnafied lense for blind spot view. Heated leather seats along with heated side mirrors when you turn on the rear window defroster. The vehicle has been great easy to park - and the price of tires won't kill you - 16" can be bought for under $100 ea. The front bumper is plastic but all new vehicles are doing that so even though it's an issue for some people that's the way it is. Great car and got it for a great price"

10 people out of 16 found this review helpful

use focus more due to gas mileage

By on Sunday, January 18, 2015

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 32,000

10 9.0
overall rating 9 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
9/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

Pros: "hitch-drive our focus more so low mileage"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"want to trade in for 2015 escape feel safe for large trips and wife loves the escape"

2 people out of 4 found this review helpful

Dependable,drives well,storage capacity is perfect

By on Tuesday, January 06, 2015

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 40,000

10 9.0
overall rating 9 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
9/10
Value
9/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
9/10
Performance
9/10
Styling
9/10
Comfort
10/10

Pros: "Priced right and dependable"

Cons: "Changed model looks in 2013. Now a hybrid."

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 9

"Use this vehicle for my business deliveries and pick ups. Cargo space is more than adequate easy to lower seats and return to regular position. Comfortable driving seat, AC/Heat is exceptional. Regular Maintenance will keep this vehicle running a long time. Use it for personal us, recreational use."

16 people out of 21 found this review helpful

Great truck

By on Saturday, January 03, 2015

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 39,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

Pros: "Handling, comfort, gas mileage"

Cons: "None"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"Traded in my 2013 Outback (crummy A/C and guzzled oil) for a 2012 Escape. Best decision I ever made. Great vehicle!"

9 people out of 18 found this review helpful

Very good vehicle

By on Saturday, January 03, 2015

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 30,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
9/10
Styling
9/10
Comfort
9/10

Pros: "Great price, easy to drive and plenty of power."

Cons: "Rear leg room."

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 9

"I love everything about this vehicle except leg room in the rear seats. Maybe I should have went to a dealer that had some explorers in stock when we purchased this one. Our grandchildren`s feet dug into our backs as they grew taller in their car seats."

2 people out of 8 found this review helpful

Perfect car

By on Friday, January 02, 2015

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 85,200

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
9/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

Pros: "Just about everything"

Cons: "Cup holders are in odd location"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"Absolutely love this suv. I'm 5'5 and don't have to reach or lean to put items in the backseat or back of it. Also, I can get into and out of it without climbing or straining; no skirt problems. I have had zero issues with this vehicle. For the life of the vehicle I've gotten 25 mpg, which is great for SUVs from 2011. It is easy to drive and the auto functions make it very easy to keep eyes on the road. Love the leather seats;even kids can clean this car up. With the moonroof I never feel closed in."

4 people out of 4 found this review helpful

Love This Vehicle

By on Friday, December 19, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 48,500

10 9.0
overall rating 9 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
9/10
Value
9/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
9/10
Styling
9/10
Comfort
10/10

Pros: "Good mileage; great room; sits high"

Cons: "None for me."

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"I purchased this vehicle in February 2011 and have been very happy with it since the first day. I like the way it looks; the boxy look. The interior works well for me. I have a dog so I often put the back seats up and down, and it's a quick and easy task to do. The seats are very comfortable, at least the driver's seat. I've never ridden in any other seat. Overall, it is a more sound vehicle when compared to other SUVs of the same size. The doors are heavier and close with a good sound, including the cargo door. The vehicle is a 4 cylinder and it has a lot of power. There is no problem accelerating when passing as long as one isn't afraid to give it gas. I get 28+ MPG on the open highway and 25+ in the city/suburb. It is almost 4 years old and has 48,000 miles on it. I intend to keep it at least another 4 years and another 48,000 miles."

8 people out of 14 found this review helpful

Nice 4WD

By on Sunday, December 14, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 48,000

10 9.0
overall rating 9 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
9/10
Value
9/10
Reliability
9/10
Quality
9/10
Performance
9/10
Styling
8/10
Comfort
9/10

Pros: "good room inside for car seats, drives nice"

Cons: "rides a little stiff."

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 9

"we bought this car used, for the 4WD ,as my other 2 are very low slung and deep snow would tear off some of the air deflectors, and more room for two car seats for my grand kids. It is a very good car, but the mileage isn't as good as the two PHEVs that I have. it does get around 18-22 MPG, but that is far away from the others. 48,000 miles and no problems. good car. I have owned 4 other Escapes."

5 people out of 8 found this review helpful

one owner in perfect conidition

By on Friday, December 12, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 44,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
9/10
Reliability
9/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
9/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"I feel to receive maximum trade in value the time is now."

Sort Reviews by: 
Per Page:  5 | 10 | 25
Find Deals Near You vehicles for sale matching Ford Escape near Honolulu. See local deals