Advertisement

Why ads?
Popular at KBB.com
  • 10 Best SUVs Under $25,000
  • 10 Best Midsize SUVs
  • 10 Best AWD Cars & SUVs Under $25,000
  • Compact SUV Buyer's Guide
Go

2008 Ford Escape

Style:

Consumer Reviews & Ratings

Overall Rating
8.3
Out of 10

Based on 516 Ratings for the 2008 - 2012 models.

Review this car
more rating details
  • Value
    8.5/10
    Quality
    8.4/10
  • Reliability
    8.8/10
    Performance
    8.5/10
  • Comfort
    8.6/10
    Styling
    8.6/10
Sort Reviews by: 
Per Page:  5 | 10 | 25
Previous | 1 2 3 ... 21 | Next

Love This Vehicle

By on Friday, December 19, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 48,500

10 9.0
overall rating 9 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
9/10
Value
9/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
9/10
Styling
9/10
Comfort
10/10

Pros: "Good mileage; great room; sits high"

Cons: "None for me."

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"I purchased this vehicle in February 2011 and have been very happy with it since the first day. I like the way it looks; the boxy look. The interior works well for me. I have a dog so I often put the back seats up and down, and it's a quick and easy task to do. The seats are very comfortable, at least the driver's seat. I've never ridden in any other seat. Overall, it is a more sound vehicle when compared to other SUVs of the same size. The doors are heavier and close with a good sound, including the cargo door. The vehicle is a 4 cylinder and it has a lot of power. There is no problem accelerating when passing as long as one isn't afraid to give it gas. I get 28+ MPG on the open highway and 25+ in the city/suburb. It is almost 4 years old and has 48,000 miles on it. I intend to keep it at least another 4 years and another 48,000 miles."

1 person out of 3 found this review helpful

Nice 4WD

By on Sunday, December 14, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 48,000

10 9.0
overall rating 9 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
9/10
Value
9/10
Reliability
9/10
Quality
9/10
Performance
9/10
Styling
8/10
Comfort
9/10

Pros: "good room inside for car seats, drives nice"

Cons: "rides a little stiff."

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 9

"we bought this car used, for the 4WD ,as my other 2 are very low slung and deep snow would tear off some of the air deflectors, and more room for two car seats for my grand kids. It is a very good car, but the mileage isn't as good as the two PHEVs that I have. it does get around 18-22 MPG, but that is far away from the others. 48,000 miles and no problems. good car. I have owned 4 other Escapes."

4 people out of 7 found this review helpful

one owner in perfect conidition

By on Friday, December 12, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 44,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
9/10
Reliability
9/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
9/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"I feel to receive maximum trade in value the time is now."

Outstanding Buy

By on Wednesday, December 03, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 92,000

10 8.0
overall rating 8 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
8/10
Value
8/10
Reliability
8/10
Quality
8/10
Performance
8/10
Styling
8/10
Comfort
8/10

Pros: "Great price"

Cons: "Cloth interior vs leather"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"This automobile comes with four snow tires. It has just had a brand new transmission installed with warranty. Most of the miles are highway miles. It has been maintained on a "map" every 5,ooo miles. No children, strictly a company car until I purchased for myself. Never been involved in an accident. In very good shape."

11 people out of 15 found this review helpful

Basic Comforts

By on Friday, November 07, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 125,000

10 8.0
overall rating 8 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
8/10
Value
8/10
Reliability
9/10
Quality
7/10
Performance
8/10
Styling
5/10
Comfort
5/10

Pros: "Great car for driving local or long distance!!"

Cons: "Interior is not comfy & it's noisy!"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 4

"My 2002 Escape was totaled in an accident. I considered other vehicles, but figured I really loved my "Old-scape". My 2009 "New-scape" is NOT nearly as much fun or have as much character. Much of the "updated" interior design features were far less satisfactory, leaving me longing for the "Old-scape". First of all, I prefer a manual transmissions, which meant a more basic car and upgrades were not an option due to this preference. 1) Emergency Brake Location (Thumbs Down) -I didn't like that the E-Brake is a "step on" rather than center pull, where you can control the "uphill" driving. 2) Handles (Thumbs Down) - They removed all but ONE "hang on" handle. 3) Nooks & Tucks. Not a lot of "storage" space for all the little things that I liked to tuck away, like my phone, chargers, note pads, glasses, etc.. 4) The vinyl covering of the center box (Thumbs Down!!!) There is nothing so uncomfortable and "wears you out" as quickly as the 'grip' covering they have on the handles and center seat/box. Just "NO"! Good Stuff: It's been a good little car overall. It has hauled a 10x20 trailer up outta the LA region's I5 Grapevine without issues. We've put over 8K miles on it in one trip across country! It's an energizer... just keeps going, and going, and going. Easy to drive, turns and parking are just like driving a car."

16 people out of 21 found this review helpful

Very Versatile

By on Thursday, November 06, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 86,500

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

Pros: "cavernous! reliable surefooted"

Cons: "wish it had power recline and power passenger seat"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"AWD, 4 cylinder, Limited with every option except NAV. I can squeeze 28 mpg on a road trip, load it up and go! Great little SUV the 4 banger is a little noisy but not bad, The SYNC has some quirks but you just have to reprogram every six months or so."

8 people out of 14 found this review helpful

3yrs old and body is rusting . Do not buy a Escape

By on Saturday, November 01, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 52,000

10 1.0
overall rating 1 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
1/10
Value
8/10
Reliability
9/10
Quality
1/10
Performance
8/10
Styling
8/10
Comfort
9/10

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 1

"Junk"

2 people out of 4 found this review helpful

Nice, simple vehicle

By on Tuesday, October 28, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 24,000

10 9.0
overall rating 9 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
9/10
Value
9/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
8/10
Performance
9/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

Pros: "Space, efficiency, looks, very economical."

Cons: "Weak engine."

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"I love my Escape. It sits up a little higher than cars, there's plenty of room. Very flexible seating for fitting in large or oddly shaped items. Some complain about the cheap plastic materials on the doors and dash, but I like it. It's durable and cleans easily, something you want in a vehicle like this, especially if you carry dogs with you. The 4 cylinder engine works pretty hard, the 6 is the clear winner for performance, without much reduction in gas mileage. But my unit works just fine for me. It looks great, doesn't cost a lot of money to fill. Reliable and not pretentious."

9 people out of 16 found this review helpful

Excelent, family vehicle

By on Saturday, October 25, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 30,000

10 9.0
overall rating 9 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
9/10
Value
9/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
9/10
Comfort
8/10

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"4 cylinder engine needs a little more power for driving in hilly terrain or mountains. Otherwise its a great little car that Ford has ruined with the newer model Escapes on smaller platforms that did away with the roominess of the vehicle."

22 people out of 32 found this review helpful

do you wont depended car? do you wont good price?

By on Tuesday, October 21, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 145,000

10 9.0
overall rating 9 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
9/10
Value
9/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
9/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
9/10
Comfort
10/10

Pros: "pleanty of room ,enjoy driveing it, good priced"

Cons: "no cig. lighter, no ash tray"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"had this car for 3 years, have never had any trouble with it. then this is car for you. would tell anyone that this car is a very good car. very comfort, and handles very good , and i am a short person and i love it because it puts me up high enouth that i can see out very good!!! for this i will say perfeck for short people"

2 people out of 5 found this review helpful

Love this Vehicle

By on Thursday, October 09, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 47,500

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
Not Rated
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

Pros: "Lots of room, easy to maintain."

Cons: "Gas mileage."

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"I bought my Escape new, and have had no problems at all. I keep up with the maintenance religiously, and this SUV has been very dependable. If, and when, I trade, more than likely I will buy another Escape."

6 people out of 11 found this review helpful

Love my Escape

By on Wednesday, October 08, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 38,000

10 9.0
overall rating 9 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
9/10
Value
9/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
9/10
Performance
9/10
Styling
9/10
Comfort
9/10

Pros: "Handles well, good cargo space, dependable"

Cons: "Newer models may get better gas milage"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"I have a hard time thinking of anything negative, for anyone like me looking for a smaller SUV this is a good choice. It handles well in all conditions, I like the way the back seats fold completely down for cargo, and the heated seats..divine. Newer models may get better gas mileage, I average 21 - 22 with mostly in town driving with the occasional 100 mile round trip to Denver. I've had not trouble at all with this SUV, other than other people backing into it in parking lots,and plan on keeping it forever as I'm an older driver who wants to retire soon. I deliberately chose the Escape as I knew this would probably be my last car purchase, and I needed something for all weather, that is dependable, and that handles well. I prefer the tighter Ford suspension over a comparable Blazer I owned before. My Escape has plenty of pick up and accelerates well, I'm an older driver but not necessarily a slower driver! LOL! The Escape does not handle quite as well as my Outlander did, I notice a tiney bit more sway on corners but not much, and the Escape has had less trouble than my Outlander did. (Although I liked the Outlander a lot too, I ended up selling it because it was starting to have electrical issues, and the warrantee work would have had to have been serviced by a Mitsubishi dealer, and the only one within hundreds of miles is not a dealer I would take my car to for anything, much less service.)"

4 people out of 6 found this review helpful

Love this vehicle a lot of $$$ savings in gas.

By on Sunday, October 05, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 60,000

10 9.0
overall rating 9 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
9/10
Value
9/10
Reliability
9/10
Quality
9/10
Performance
9/10
Styling
9/10
Comfort
9/10

Pros: "That is a value for your money."

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 9

"After a little invest in maintenance at factory authorized dealer it is works fantastic never have a issue with engine or tansm I did has a lot of driving with my family and works perfectly."

3 people out of 4 found this review helpful

4 years of trouble free driving

By on Saturday, October 04, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 50,000

10 9.0
overall rating 9 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
9/10
Value
9/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
7/10
Styling
7/10
Comfort
8/10

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"This was our main vehicle until this summer and has never given us any problems. One recent recall was no big deal and easily taken care of. The handling is like an SUV and not the greatest but adequate. New tires this year seemed to help the steering. All in all I've been very satisfied with this Escape. We had previously owned 5 Ford Explorers so this was a downsize for us. Very similar but like the little brother to the Explorer."

4 people out of 4 found this review helpful

We own two of them.

By on Saturday, October 04, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 26,000

10 9.0
overall rating 9 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
9/10
Value
9/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
9/10
Performance
9/10
Styling
8/10
Comfort
8/10

Pros: "Decent price"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 9

"Have fun driving it. Also fits 4 sets of golf clubs in the back, ( first thing I check for ) ."

1 person out of 1 found this review helpful

excellent condition

By on Friday, October 03, 2014

I don't own this car

10 9.0
overall rating 9 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
9/10
Value
9/10
Reliability
9/10
Quality
9/10
Performance
8/10
Styling
8/10
Comfort
7/10

Pros: "low mileage"

Cons: "noisy tires"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 9

"the car is like new"

Adequate and dependable

By on Sunday, September 28, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 37,500

10 8.0
overall rating 8 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
8/10
Value
9/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
8/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
8/10
Comfort
8/10

Pros: "Nothing special but a good value"

Cons: "Upolstery is rough, awful"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"The only thing awful about this auto is the upholstery. It has been very dependable, one very minor recall, no actual repairs required to date. Lots of "GO" in this 4 cylinder unit. Here in flat Delaware, gas mileage has been above average. Interior appointments are nothing special but then, it's not a Lincoln."

4 people out of 5 found this review helpful

Awesome car ever

By on Saturday, September 27, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 53,500

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

Pros: "Great to drive, superb for family, superb mileage"

Cons: "wish I had 3rd row seats"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"I love this one...cant compare with anything"

Love my new car!

By on Saturday, September 27, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 87,225

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
9/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
9/10
Styling
9/10
Comfort
9/10

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"I love everything about my car! The only thing I would change is the front bucket seat headrest is tilted forward a bit and you can't adjust the angle of it. The height is adjustable but that doesn't seem to help. I always feel my head is pushed forward a bit and when wearing a ponytail it is especially uncomfortable."

4 people out of 5 found this review helpful

Fun to drive; very dependable

By on Thursday, September 25, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 41,000

10 9.0
overall rating 9 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
9/10
Value
9/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
9/10

Cons: "Not a smooth ride; can feel small bumps in road"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"No mechanical problems in six years. Very economical; good mpg."

2 people out of 3 found this review helpful

Amazing, Reliable Car!!

By on Wednesday, September 24, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 49,127

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
9/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
9/10
Comfort
10/10

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"My Ford Escape has proven all the critiques right. Over the last two years I have NEVER had an issue whatsoever! My husband and I are getting moved overseas with the military, which is the ONLY reason I am parting with this car. It has 49,200 miles on it. Has travelled across the US without hesitation. Gets good gas mileage, especially since it is considered an SUV. Is light, easily maneuverable with lots of room. Seats go down in the back for additional space. Is well taken care of and loved by owner."

5 people out of 7 found this review helpful

one of the best vehicles that i have owned

By on Sunday, September 21, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 145,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
6/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

Pros: "i enjoy driving it!! and a great price ,"

Cons: "every one wonts to borrow it!! i dont lend it, !!!"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"s a very dependable car, i have never had any trou ble with , it. has pleanty of room in it.drives very good, takes courves very good , has very good pickup and go,I get 18miles a gal. on 2lane and 25 on 4 lane. just a good all round car."

7 people out of 10 found this review helpful

I love it

By on Saturday, September 20, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 34,500

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
8/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
9/10
Styling
9/10
Comfort
10/10

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"Been driving it for going on 3 years - drives like a breeze and great on gas, I have never had any issues with it."

love it more than you know

By on Thursday, September 18, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 58,000

10 9.0
overall rating 9 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
9/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
8/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

Pros: "comfort runs good has aolt of pep"

Cons: "no place to put purse in frunt unless no pasengers"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"I bought this car first thing my family and I did was road trip we went through 11 states ks,co,ut,nv,ca,az,nm,tx,ok,ak,mo,,and loved all of it. it was hard with a stick and hills with so much road work being done but I only spent 500.00 on gas got an avg. mileage was 31 per gal so very happy with this car"

3 people out of 5 found this review helpful

Best Economy SUV I ever had

By on Tuesday, September 16, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 78,500

10 9.0
overall rating 9 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
9/10
Value
9/10
Reliability
9/10
Quality
9/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
9/10
Comfort
10/10

Pros: "Comfort, mileage and just plain enjoyable to drive"

Cons: "4cyl slow to accelerate , but holds speeds well."

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"My 4cyl Escape is by far the best SUV I've ever had. Comfortable(I have a short frame and a disability) even in long distance. Economical and easy on maintenance budget. Will DEFINITELY buy another."

6 people out of 13 found this review helpful

Sort Reviews by: 
Per Page:  5 | 10 | 25
Previous | 1 2 3 ... 21 | Next
Find Deals Near You vehicles for sale matching Ford Escape near Honolulu. See local deals