Advertisement

Why ads?
Popular at KBB.com
  • Midsize SUV Buyer's Guide
  • 10 Most Fuel-Efficient SUVs
  • Compact SUV Buyer's Guide
  • 15 Best Family Cars of 2015
Go

2004 Ford Escape

Style:

Consumer Reviews & Ratings

Overall Rating
8.4
Out of 10

Based on 1208 Ratings for the 2001 - 2007 models.

Review this car
more rating details
  • Value
    8.7/10
    Quality
    8.6/10
  • Reliability
    8.9/10
    Performance
    8.7/10
  • Comfort
    8.6/10
    Styling
    8.7/10
Sort Reviews by: 
Per Page:  5 | 10 | 25
Previous | 1 2 3 ... 121 | Next

Dependable Vehicle

By on Tuesday, February 17, 2015

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 90,000

10 9.0
overall rating 9 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
9/10
Value
7/10
Reliability
8/10
Quality
8/10
Performance
7/10
Styling
7/10
Comfort
7/10

Pros: "Awd, roomy"

Cons: "Thirsty"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 8

"This vehicle is very dependable"

Great Vehicle!

By on Tuesday, February 17, 2015

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 90,000

10 9.0
overall rating 9 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
9/10
Value
9/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
9/10
Styling
9/10
Comfort
10/10

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"Reliable, Safe, Easy to Drive. Perfect in every way."

hate to get rid of car but wife wants new

By on Sunday, February 15, 2015

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 112,000

10 9.0
overall rating 9 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
9/10
Value
9/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
Not Rated
Performance
10/10
Styling
Not Rated
Comfort
Not Rated

Pros: "looks great and easy to drive"

Cons: "none"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"Just had 6 new coils plugs transmission backed flushed and 10.5 quarts meroon5 fluid done"

ONE OF THE BEST VEHICLES I'VE OWNED

By on Wednesday, February 11, 2015

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 141,900

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

Pros: "GOOD VALUE FOR THE PRICE"

Cons: "HAS TIRE NOISE ALWAYS HAS"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"OWNED VEHICLE SINCE 10,000 MILES HAVE ONLY PUT 2 SETS OF TIRES 2 SETS OF FRONT BRAKES 1 REAR SEAT ALWAYS SERVICED OIL EVERY 5000 AND ROTATE. HAS BEEN A GREAT VEHICLE.EASY TO DRIVE REASONABLE ON GAS AVERAGE 18/21 MPG. WE OWN ITS COUNTER PARTS 2010 MARINER WITH 80K ON II"

3 people out of 5 found this review helpful

Reliable vehicle for average budget

By on Tuesday, February 10, 2015

I owned and sold this car
Reason: I wanted a german car

10 8.0
overall rating 8 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
8/10
Value
8/10
Reliability
8/10
Quality
7/10
Performance
8/10
Styling
8/10
Comfort
7/10

Pros: "Reliable, spacious, pretty fast"

Cons: "Noisy, rear seats should have A/C"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 7

"I had a 2007 Ford Escape manual transmission. I like driving manual but needed a car with more space. I got the Escape at 120k miles and sold it around 150k miles. The car is reliable. It can get you to long distances without any troubles. I never had to fix mine except the rear left window which wasn't working. It cost me less than $100 to repair. I'd recommend this car to those looking for spacious small SUV with a low budget. The mpg is alright, feels like 18mpg"

5 people out of 5 found this review helpful

Excellent car for the money, got for my daughter

By on Friday, February 06, 2015

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 113,000

10 9.0
overall rating 9 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
9/10
Value
9/10
Reliability
8/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
8/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

Pros: "Good for kids, , affordable V-6 strong, dependable"

Cons: "Storage, styling"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"Got this car new for my daughter, had a lot of zip for a small car. Liked it because it was dependable, just made sure to change the oil on a regular basis. My daughter will sell it now because she now has a Prius which gets much better MPG. The new Escape Titanium has much more in the way of extras. Technology!"

Great vehicle for price

By on Thursday, January 29, 2015

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 95,000

10 9.0
overall rating 9 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
9/10
Value
8/10
Reliability
9/10
Quality
9/10
Performance
7/10
Styling
8/10
Comfort
9/10

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 9

"Bought Escape in May of 2004 right after mid year updates. It has been reliable given it is approx 11 years old. I would recommend Ford products to anyone."

6 people out of 11 found this review helpful

Great vehicle, milage 23-25 mpg. Hauls everything

By on Wednesday, January 28, 2015

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 105,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
9/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
9/10
Comfort
10/10

Pros: "Realiabilty, good milage, great ride and interior"

Cons: "None"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"Great SUV, good milage, great power, towing pkg. hauls everything without drag on engine. Good Medium size SUV, even hauled a refrigerator. Seats fold easily. Paint holds up very well. Only needs regular maintenance like oil change tires and lube, battery. Only one major repair in 10 yrs! Fuel pump. 105,000 miles- same preformance as when purchased. Excellent year for Ford Escape! So good I hate to think about selling and may keep for 2nd vehicle!"

2 people out of 2 found this review helpful

Very reliable, I wish they still made these!

By on Tuesday, January 27, 2015

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 184,550

10 9.0
overall rating 9 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
9/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
9/10
Performance
6/10
Styling
7/10
Comfort
8/10

Pros: "Great mileage with 4-cylinder 5-speed manual"

Cons: "Wish manual tranny available with more options"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"The last of the truck-like compact SUVs, the older Escapes have a lot of utility and capability. I have near 200,000 miles of trouble-free driving with this one. I wish someone still made a true compact utility (boxy, good rear visibility, opening rear glass), especially with a manual transmission."

2 people out of 2 found this review helpful

most reliable car ever bought

By on Friday, January 23, 2015

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 92,000

10 9.0
overall rating 9 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
9/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
9/10
Styling
9/10
Comfort
9/10

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"Only replaced battery in 10 years. Great to drive. FWD models, however, has traction trouble in snow."

5 people out of 7 found this review helpful

Sort Reviews by: 
Per Page:  5 | 10 | 25
Previous | 1 2 3 ... 121 | Next
Find Deals Near You vehicles for sale matching Ford Escape near Honolulu. See local deals