Advertisement

Why ads?
Popular at KBB.com
  • 10 Best SUVs Under $25,000
  • 10 Best Midsize SUVs
  • 10 Best AWD Cars & SUVs Under $25,000
  • 2014 Compact SUV Buyer's Guide
Go

2002 Ford Escape

Style:

Consumer Reviews & Ratings

Overall Rating
8.4
Out of 10

Based on 1161 Ratings for the 2001 - 2007 models.

Review this car
more rating details
  • Value
    8.7/10
    Quality
    8.6/10
  • Reliability
    8.9/10
    Performance
    8.7/10
  • Comfort
    8.6/10
    Styling
    8.7/10
Sort Reviews by: 
Per Page:  5 | 10 | 25
Previous | 1 2 3 ... 117 | Next

Just the right size for me.

By on Wednesday, August 13, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 89,000

10 9.0
overall rating 9 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
9/10
Value
6/10
Reliability
8/10
Quality
9/10
Performance
8/10
Styling
8/10
Comfort
6/10

Pros: "fair price, fun to drive, easy to park"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 9

"Have really enjoyed this car. It's very reliable."

2 people out of 2 found this review helpful

I love this vehicle

By on Saturday, August 02, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 170,771

10 9.0
overall rating 9 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
9/10
Value
9/10
Reliability
9/10
Quality
9/10
Performance
9/10
Styling
8/10
Comfort
9/10

Pros: "gas mileage, comfort, dependable"

Cons: "no remote start"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"I bought this vehicle brand new in 2004. Though I love it so much, I have really beat it to death and it is time to retire it. It is burning through approximately one quart of oil every week and a half. I am hoping to get another vehicle that I enjoyed as much. The gas mileage was awesome for this type of vehicle. The automatic switch to four wheel drive allowed me to continue to observe the changing weather conditions and I didn't have to switch it manually into 4x4. The vehicle was built on a car frame, which makes the maneuvering much easier. The vehicle is very comfortable. I really don't require much with my taste, so I bought one that had limited extras and that worked well for me. I did have some recent problems with brake lines dry rotting and connections rusting, but otherwise no major complaints. The remote has recently started not opening the drivers side door at times."

11 people out of 14 found this review helpful

I this is a very good it is very on gas mileage,

By on Monday, July 21, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 140,000

10 8.0
overall rating 8 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
8/10
Value
9/10
Reliability
9/10
Quality
9/10
Performance
9/10
Styling
8/10
Comfort
10/10

Pros: "fits very well in parking spaces"

Cons: "running boards need replaced"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"this car would fit on many roads both in the US and other countries. I would look for this same type of car in another country"

5 people out of 7 found this review helpful

Reliable & Great Gas Mileage

By on Thursday, July 17, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 118,750

10 8.0
overall rating 8 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
8/10
Value
7/10
Reliability
8/10
Quality
8/10
Performance
7/10
Styling
8/10
Comfort
8/10

Pros: "Great MPG, Good Visibility, Good GPS System"

Cons: "Weak AC."

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 8

"We've owned this car since purchasing it new in 2006. It still gets great gas mileage, around 30MPG average with a city/highway mix. It's been very reliable, still using the original brakes (that regenerative braking and drive line electrical generation takes it easy on the brakes). All I've had to repair/replace: The Front driver's side axle; who knows why; it gave lots of warning and was around $500. The windshield, but that's from rock damage, can't really fault Ford there; however, the passenger window exploded on me; I though someone shot something, but the UHP told me sometimes that just happens. In 2014, I put a hitch on it to tow a jet ski, and you'd never know it was there, pulls fine (under 1000 lbs) and I can't even see an affect on the gas mileage. One downfall, the AC has always worked, but it's always been weak, even compared to other Fords (I've owned many), and yes, I am still accounting for when the AC kicks off when the engine shuts down in electric only mode. She is nice and quiet in electric mode. Really, this has been a better car than I thought it would be; my wife wanted the SUV, I wanted something sportier, but she's a real keeper now, hope to get 200K out of her. Did replace the plugs at 80K."

1 person out of 1 found this review helpful

2001 RED FORD ESCAPE. COLD AIR AND HOT HEATER

By on Thursday, July 17, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 100,000

10 7.0
overall rating 7 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
7/10
Value
9/10
Reliability
5/10
Quality
8/10
Performance
8/10
Styling
5/10
Comfort
8/10

Pros: "Great price $2,200 and just turned to 100,000 mile"

Cons: "Catalytic converter may need attention."

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 8

"COLD AIR CONDITIONING IN THE SUMMER AND HOT HEAT IN THE WINTER. GOOD EXTERIOR WITH NO NICKS AND PINGS.THIS CAR STAYS IN THE GARAGE WHEN NOT IN USE. INTERIOR IS GOOD ALSO. CATALYTIC CONVERTER NEEDS ATTENTION. NEW BRAKE PADS.POWER LOCKS AND WINDOWS. BACK WINDOW WINDSHIELD WIPER. ONLY 1 OWNER."

2 people out of 2 found this review helpful

Great car!

By on Wednesday, July 16, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 144,000

10 9.0
overall rating 9 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
9/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
9/10
Performance
9/10
Styling
9/10
Comfort
8/10

Pros: "Great buy! Handles well. Dependable."

Cons: "Nylon seat covers stain--no big deal."

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"I bought the car used 5 years ago and have put 75,000 miles on it. It has been very dependable with no major work done on it--just routine maintenance. I get about 24 mpg. The car is comfortable and has plenty of room for luggage, etc. I paid less than $8000 and so it has been a great car at a great price."

3 people out of 3 found this review helpful

Most reliable vehicle I've owned

By on Monday, July 14, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 126,000

10 9.0
overall rating 9 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
9/10
Value
8/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
9/10
Performance
8/10
Styling
8/10
Comfort
8/10

Pros: "Easy to park, great in snow, very reliable"

Cons: "A bit noisy on certain roads, mileage"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"Very reliable SUV, fun 4X4 to drive in the snow. I am considering getting a 2013 Ford Escape with Eco-boost to cut down on gas and driving costs. I have been very happy with my Ford Escape and I have owned it many years now. No complaints. Yes, I recommend the Ford Escape!"

2 people out of 2 found this review helpful

Dependable, stylish and fun to drive!

By on Friday, July 11, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 150,000

10 8.0
overall rating 8 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
8/10
Value
8/10
Reliability
9/10
Quality
8/10
Performance
8/10
Styling
8/10
Comfort
9/10

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"I have had my Escape for 10 years and I love it! I am giving it to my daughter and buying a new one."

3 people out of 4 found this review helpful

I love this vehicle. Been great to drive and haul

By on Thursday, July 10, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 177,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

Pros: "safe, easy to handle, great in snow"

Cons: "can't think of any except larger cup holders"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"It's the best vehicle I've ever had and have had it for 12 years. Transmission had to be replaced at 175,000 $2200.00 for used transmission with 85,000 miles on the used one. So far, it runs like a new one. My grandkids love to drive it because it's easy to park, handle and gets you where you want to go. I bought a new used Escape with 12,500 miles and hope to drive it for 12 years. I'm giving the old one to someone in my family and hope it continues to run!"

3 people out of 4 found this review helpful

I have taken very good care of this vehicle

By on Friday, July 04, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 48,250

10 5.0
overall rating 5 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
5/10
Value
5/10
Reliability
6/10
Quality
6/10
Performance
6/10
Styling
6/10
Comfort
6/10

Pros: "Excellent condition, looks like it is brand new."

Cons: "It has all the features needed for the mid-west."

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 9

"I have met all service dates on time. IO have had no major problems with this car. I plan to keep it at least another three years."

2 people out of 2 found this review helpful

Sort Reviews by: 
Per Page:  5 | 10 | 25
Previous | 1 2 3 ... 117 | Next
Find Deals Near You vehicles for sale matching Ford Escape near Honolulu. See local deals