Advertisement

Why ads?
Popular at KBB.com
  • 10 Best SUVs Under $25,000
  • 10 Best Midsize SUVs
  • 10 Best AWD Cars & SUVs Under $25,000
  • 2014 Compact SUV Buyer's Guide
Go

2001 Ford Escape

Style:

Consumer Reviews & Ratings

Overall Rating
8.4
Out of 10

Based on 1152 Ratings for the 2001 - 2007 models.

Review this car
more rating details
  • Value
    8.7/10
    Quality
    8.6/10
  • Reliability
    8.9/10
    Performance
    8.7/10
  • Comfort
    8.6/10
    Styling
    8.7/10
Sort Reviews by: 
Per Page:  5 | 10 | 25
Previous | 1 2 3 ... 47 | Next

I have taken very good care of this vehicle

By on Friday, July 04, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 48,250

10 5.0
overall rating 5 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
5/10
Value
5/10
Reliability
6/10
Quality
6/10
Performance
6/10
Styling
6/10
Comfort
6/10

Pros: "Excellent condition, looks like it is brand new."

Cons: "It has all the features needed for the mid-west."

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 9

"I have met all service dates on time. IO have had no major problems with this car. I plan to keep it at least another three years."

I have taken very good care of this vehicle

By on Friday, July 04, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 50,118

10 5.0
overall rating 5 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
5/10
Value
5/10
Reliability
6/10
Quality
6/10
Performance
6/10
Styling
6/10
Comfort
6/10

Pros: "Excellent condition, looks like it is brand new."

Cons: "It has all the features needed for the mid-west."

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 9

"I have met all service dates on time. IO have had no major problems with this car. I plan to keep it at least another three years."

Its nice having a SUV that is a HYBIRD

By on Thursday, July 03, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 72,000

10 7.0
overall rating 7 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
7/10
Value
7/10
Reliability
8/10
Quality
7/10
Performance
8/10
Styling
8/10
Comfort
8/10

Cons: "HYBRID & A/C $3500 compressor not worth it"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 5

"However compared to our prius HYBRID we previously drove there is a major difference while driving in the state of South Dakota a person usually is exceeding 30mph so I don't get the benefits of the HYBRID very often maybe at some red lights here and there. I really think that FORD could do some improving on making the MPH around 40 to 45 for the HYBRID battery still to work which would be perfect. Otherwise its a very reliably vehicle I've decided that I will be purchasing SUV's from here on out they make good cars for South Dakota weather but I'm not for sure buying another ESCAPE. I'll be buying a new one within the next year or two I always look for gas mileage first and as usual I'll check with the FORD dealership first but as I've learned the hard way on this purchase just because it says HYBRID doesn't mean your going to save gas its just going to cost you more to fix things that break like the A/C compressor on a 7 year old car $3500 that's a 1/3 of the value of my car is it worth it when in South Dakota there's really only maybe 2-3 months you even use the A/C?"

is a very good vehicle. i have been impressed

By on Wednesday, June 25, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 114,000

10 9.0
overall rating 9 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
9/10
Value
8/10
Reliability
8/10
Quality
8/10
Performance
9/10
Styling
7/10
Comfort
7/10

Pros: "good vehicle, extremely dependable"

Cons: "a bit cramped for 5 people"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 9

"Bought new, driven every mile, would highly recommend as it has been just a super vehicle."

4 people out of 8 found this review helpful

So Disappointed in Ford!

By on Saturday, June 21, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 184,000

10 1.0
overall rating 1 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
1/10
Value
1/10
Reliability
1/10
Quality
1/10
Performance
6/10
Styling
8/10
Comfort
4/10

Pros: "radio and CD work"

Cons: "poor value for your money!"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 1

"This is my third Ford vehicle and my last one had 255,000 miles when I traded it for the 2006 Ford Escape. I am a school teacher and single Mom of three. I planned on this vehicle being just as reliable as my last two but was I wrong. I just learned that I need a new transmission! I have never owned a vehicle that I had to replace the transmission in and after reading all the complaints from other Ford customers about the same issue with the transmission, I am not purchasing any more Ford vehicles. Ford needs to do the right thing and recall these vehicles and reimburse their customers for the expense of having the transmission replaced."

8 people out of 11 found this review helpful

Good reliable all weather car

By on Friday, June 20, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 114,000

10 9.0
overall rating 9 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
9/10
Value
8/10
Reliability
9/10
Quality
8/10
Performance
7/10
Styling
7/10
Comfort
7/10

Pros: "reliable and affordable"

Cons: "road noise, no bells and whistles"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"Bought the XLT used from a dealer in 2008. Wanted a reliable but affordable AWD vehicle. Researched vehicles in my price range and for the value and ratings I went with the Escape. I have had the car for 6 years now currently have 114K on it and knock on wood, no major issues. Live on the East Coast and have not had an issue when driving in the snow. Obviously I don't go out during a blizzard, but the 'normal' New England snow storms have not been a problem. Only recently have I had a minor rust issue in one wheel well. Otherwise the car is clean, inside and out. The car is garaged at night and I keep it clean and up to date with regular service needs so I know that helps. I guess my only real complaint is road noise, but its an SUV, not a car or a luxury vehicle and honestly its a minor issue for me. I am finally looking to sell it while it is still in overall great condition. Because I have been so satisfied with my Escape I plan on purchasing a 2 year old Escape Limited. For me the Escape has been a solid, reliable and affordable SUV."

3 people out of 3 found this review helpful

Best car I have ever owned and I have had many.

By on Wednesday, June 18, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 31,256

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
9/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
9/10
Comfort
9/10

Pros: "The size is great for tight places and parking."

Cons: "No exterior temp gauge."

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"From day one there has been zero problems with this vehicle - zip,zada,nothing. It has a slightly stiff ride but I like that and I knew that before I bought it. You sit higher than a car and you can see down the road better. I bought the v6 engine and have never been sorry. It has plenty of power for getting onto the freeway quickly. My mileage on the highway is 25 - 26 Mpg and in town 20 - 21 mpg. My neighbor bought a 2006 hybrid and gets 28 - 30 highway and 32 - 33 in town. He just had to pay $6,800. for a battery replacement. You do the math."

3 people out of 3 found this review helpful

dont buy one

By on Friday, June 06, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 80,000

10 2.0
overall rating 2 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
2/10
Value
5/10
Reliability
Not Rated
Quality
Not Rated
Performance
9/10
Styling
9/10
Comfort
9/10

Pros: "comfortable, great for road trips"

Cons: "ford should recalled/fixed, value dropped to fast"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 1

"this would be a great vehicle if ford didn't mess it up when they put it together. now i know it has several problems that are really inexcuseable. shortly after the warranty runs out (before if you are lucky) the spark plugs fry the coils and they fry the computer. this is a $3000 dollar fix if it fixes it, which it did not in our car. bought it used from a dealership, drove it for about a year, it died, we tried to fix it, spent to much money on it, now it sits on a trailer, not running, while we still have to pay the note on it and the insurance. was a diehard ford fan until this."

9 people out of 14 found this review helpful

Like a Toaster...

By on Tuesday, June 03, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 155,000

10 9.0
overall rating 9 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
9/10
Value
9/10
Reliability
9/10
Quality
8/10
Performance
7/10
Styling
8/10
Comfort
6/10

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 9

"I bought my hybrid Escape new. I had a 35 mile commute everyday and at almost $5/gal back then it was killing me with the car I was driving. Yet , I still had the need to haul "stuff;" dogs, kids things, band equipment, etc... In my research I found that one pays a premium to get into a hybrid vehicle. So, how long would it be until that premium paid for itself in gas savings? So I did the calculations... For a Toyota Highlander Hybrid that premium was about $4,000. That means at $4.80/gal saving approx 4 gal per tank full it would take about 4 years to reconcile that premium. For the Escape it was the lowest of the bunch... about $1800, and would only take a little over a year to re-coup It's really the best of both worlds—good mileage and plenty of room for stuff. And it has yet to have any major issues. The engine did start to cut out at one point, but the dealership took care of it at no charge. Just normal maintenance has kept it running like an appliance. Very happy with the vehicle."

1 person out of 1 found this review helpful

Best economical car ever owned

By on Thursday, May 29, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 101,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

Pros: "I have owned this car for last 11 yrs."

Cons: "No cons"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"I love my Escape but am needing something just a bit bigger, maybe a 3rd seat."

3 people out of 4 found this review helpful

PRACTICAL AND EASY TO USE FEATURES

By on Thursday, May 29, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 50,000

10 9.0
overall rating 9 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
9/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
9/10
Performance
9/10
Styling
8/10
Comfort
9/10

Pros: "the constant velocity transmission is a dream!"

Cons: "the 4WD makes it harder on gas than our FWD"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 9

"From the dual zone front ventilation system to the convenient fold down rear seats, this vehicle has made travel very enjoyable. The incorporation of the rooftop luggage rack provides more than adequate space to transport anything you need. fully loaded, the engine displays no holdback when it comes to the neccessity of additional power."

3 people out of 4 found this review helpful

Worst Car Ever!!!! Would never recommend to anyone

By on Wednesday, May 28, 2014

I owned and sold this car
Reason: horrible engine

10 1.0
overall rating 1 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
1/10
Value
Not Rated
Reliability
1/10
Quality
1/10
Performance
1/10
Styling
1/10
Comfort
1/10

Pros: "suv"

Cons: "transmission, engine, alternator, and interior"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 1

"I hate this car! It has been nothing but a money guzzler since the moment I got it! We got this car to take me to college and I have had to put three engines in it (my mistake not selling it after the first one), two alternators, countless spark plugs, one transmission and so many other minor things (ac went out, broken nobs, torn seats). I can not fully describe the hate I have for this car! It is a true Lemon! Never ever will get another ford ever again! I am on my way to get me a Honda right now!"

1 person out of 2 found this review helpful

Love this vehicle!!!

By on Friday, May 16, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 117,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

Pros: "GREAT PRICE and GREAT MILEAGE!"

Cons: "The 6 slot CD player sometimes gets stuck."

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"If I ever buy another vehicle it will be another Ford Escape!"

3 people out of 6 found this review helpful

garage kept runs great, buying new car

By on Tuesday, May 13, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 90,000

10 9.0
overall rating 9 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
9/10
Value
9/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
9/10
Performance
9/10
Styling
9/10
Comfort
9/10

Pros: "a very dependable car serviced regularly"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"body is in very good condition. No accidents. goodyear tires.every thing works well. never smoked in."

3 people out of 3 found this review helpful

fabulous mid size SUV hybrid

By on Monday, May 12, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 45,588

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
9/10

Pros: "drives great and looks great"

Cons: "not sure if it is bluetooth capable"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"This SUV is a great ride. low mileage hybrid with a stupendous sound system for a Ford, can hold 6 cd's, great navigational systsem. Good cargo space and rear seats collapse to allow even more space. Color is great as it doesn't show dirt, " sand dune " color which is a goldish beige. I have been the sole owner and driver. No accidents ever and I have all maintenance records. Extremely reliable vehicle. This baby has only been serviced by Ford Dealerships. Really a sweet deal. Will post photo tomorrow."

2 people out of 2 found this review helpful

Good vehicle - great value

By on Saturday, May 10, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 158,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
Not Rated
Reliability
8/10
Quality
8/10
Performance
9/10
Styling
9/10
Comfort
10/10

Pros: "great price, super car; holds lots"

Cons: "No ownership manual. Can print on-line."

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 8

"Love car, great interstate mileage. Color blue/gray. Last owned and cared for by husband - auto mechanic for over 40 years! Trading due to care of an elderly with need for lower entry."

2 people out of 2 found this review helpful

Reliable, comfortable, zippy car!

By on Wednesday, April 30, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 130,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
9/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
9/10
Styling
8/10
Comfort
8/10

Pros: "Reliable, affordable, fun to drive"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"This car has never given my family any problems. It has been reliable and comfortable in every situation--from being packed to the brim on long road trips, to zipping around town, to towing boats and tent trailers through the mountains. Love this car!"

5 people out of 6 found this review helpful

This is a great SUV!

By on Sunday, April 27, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 116,000

10 8.0
overall rating 8 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
8/10
Value
8/10
Reliability
8/10
Quality
9/10
Performance
8/10
Styling
9/10
Comfort
8/10

Pros: "Great price, great car!"

Cons: "None at this time."

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 9

"This 2003 Escape is a great SUV! Its comfortable, reliable and has plenty of room for a family. Nice large trunk! I like the privacy windows. They help keep the sun down. I really like that this XLT has front and side air bags."

3 people out of 4 found this review helpful

OK but disappointed

By on Sunday, April 27, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 80,000

10 6.0
overall rating 6 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
6/10
Value
6/10
Reliability
3/10
Quality
4/10
Performance
7/10
Styling
7/10
Comfort
7/10

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 1

"Bought the car new, after 2 years ABS and AWD lights come on, driver side tone ring cracked, we were within our warranty time frame but Ford said this was not covered under drivetrain. So, I had the dealer replace it, $325, 2 years later, passenger side tone ring cracks, had to have it replaced, $325, again. That's 2 rings, $650 in 4 years....1 month ago both lights came on again. I have decided to sell this car, I can't see paying this every 2 to 3 years, just goggle escape tone ring and see how many other people have the same story."

3 people out of 3 found this review helpful

I have been very content with this car.

By on Saturday, April 26, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 193,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
9/10
Reliability
9/10
Quality
9/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
9/10
Comfort
9/10

Pros: "Fun to drive, very safe"

Cons: "Found nothing wrong with it."

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 9

"For the most part, this vehicle has been at the top with me in performance and comfort. A few minor repairs I've had done to it and it still gives me the quality I like in a car. If I could, I'd keep it forever, but as it is, I will need to go with another of its kind or something larger. My goal is to get a newer F150...not brand new, but near it."

5 people out of 5 found this review helpful

Best Vehicle

By on Wednesday, April 16, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 159,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

Pros: "Everything is great about this car."

Cons: "I have no negative remarks."

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"Have had 2 new Escapes, bought this one used. Been driving it for 7 years & I have had ZERO need for repairs. Been the best car ever. I love it, hope it has 10 more years in it."

4 people out of 5 found this review helpful

great vehicle

By on Tuesday, April 15, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 115,300

10 9.0
overall rating 9 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
9/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
8/10
Quality
8/10
Performance
9/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

Pros: "comfortable"

Cons: "gas sucker"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 8

"great vehicle that always seems to work no matter what. Sucks gas a lot of the time but its a reliable vehicle."

2 people out of 2 found this review helpful

AMAZING!!!

By on Thursday, April 10, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 75,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

Pros: "Roomy and runs great!"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"I LOVE this car!! It gets good gas mileage, runs great and is super roomy! I have kids so it works great for their leg room and although i am kind of short, it fits my husband wonderfully because hes tall and still has room over his head! =) Now i want the newest model!!"

1 person out of 1 found this review helpful

Love my baby.

By on Tuesday, April 01, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 100,000

10 8.0
overall rating 8 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
8/10
Value
8/10
Reliability
8/10
Quality
8/10
Performance
8/10
Styling
7/10
Comfort
8/10

Pros: "Only if they fix up the appearance of the new ones"

Cons: "The grills on the new Escape are ... ugh!"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 4

"In 7 yrs, only needed one new battery, and new tires. A/c went out in Vegas 121 degrees. Got it fixed for 250.00 but dealer wanted 400!"

2 people out of 3 found this review helpful

favorite car ever

By on Friday, March 28, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 148,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"would highly recommend this car to anyone."

2 people out of 3 found this review helpful

Sort Reviews by: 
Per Page:  5 | 10 | 25
Previous | 1 2 3 ... 47 | Next
Find Deals Near You vehicles for sale matching Ford Escape near Honolulu. See local deals