Advertisement

Why ads?
Popular at KBB.com
  • Midsize SUV Buyer's Guide
  • 10 Most Fuel-Efficient SUVs
  • Compact SUV Buyer's Guide
  • 15 Best Family Cars of 2015
Go

2001 Ford Escape

Style:

Consumer Reviews & Ratings

Overall Rating
8.4
Out of 10

Based on 1212 Ratings for the 2001 - 2007 models.

Review this car
more rating details
  • Value
    8.7/10
    Quality
    8.6/10
  • Reliability
    8.9/10
    Performance
    8.7/10
  • Comfort
    8.6/10
    Styling
    8.7/10
Sort Reviews by: 
Per Page:  5 | 10 | 25
Previous | 1 2 3 ... 122 | Next

Driven it for 9 years. Best car I've owned

By on Sunday, March 22, 2015

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 94,750

10 9.0
overall rating 9 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
9/10
Value
9/10
Reliability
9/10
Quality
8/10
Performance
8/10
Styling
8/10
Comfort
9/10

Pros: "Great fuel economy for an suv."

Cons: "Driver's seat belt is uncomfortable."

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 9

"Three things I have been unhappy with. The driver's seat belt cuts into my neck, there's no sync technology, and the instrument panel does not have an outside temperature reading. Otherwise, I love this car. I't's only had minor repairs in the nine years I've owned it."

1 person out of 2 found this review helpful

Great snow/first car.

By on Saturday, March 21, 2015

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 159,000

10 8.0
overall rating 8 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
8/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
8/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
8/10
Comfort
9/10

Pros: "price, 4WD, comfy, space."

Cons: "stereo."

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 9

"This ford escape was my first car and if you are looking to get a great first car for someone this is just a beautiful car, the only problem is there is too many of them on the road. The car also does beautifully in the snow."

sporty, very dependable, and cost-efficient

By on Saturday, March 07, 2015

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 220,000

10 9.0
overall rating 9 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
9/10
Value
9/10
Reliability
9/10
Quality
9/10
Performance
9/10
Styling
9/10
Comfort
9/10

Pros: "great car for the money"

Cons: "wish it got 25 mpg or more every fillup"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"I bought my Escape brand new in 2006 and it has 221,000 miles on it. I've had only routine maintenance and minimal at that. Very conscientious about oil changes and the car just keeps going and going like the Energizer Bunny. I average 23 mpg every fill-up but more if I'm on the highway on a trip. It has been a great car for the money - sporty looking and acting, roomy inside for gear, dogs, saddles, furniture... it feels like a best friend - comfortable and dependable."

4 people out of 6 found this review helpful

new engine, water pump ,thermostat, plugs,sway bar

By on Friday, March 06, 2015

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 117,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"brand new car serviced by dealer"

Dependable Vehicle

By on Tuesday, February 17, 2015

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 90,000

10 9.0
overall rating 9 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
9/10
Value
7/10
Reliability
8/10
Quality
8/10
Performance
7/10
Styling
7/10
Comfort
7/10

Pros: "Awd, roomy"

Cons: "Thirsty"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 8

"This vehicle is very dependable"

Great Vehicle!

By on Tuesday, February 17, 2015

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 90,000

10 9.0
overall rating 9 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
9/10
Value
9/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
9/10
Styling
9/10
Comfort
10/10

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"Reliable, Safe, Easy to Drive. Perfect in every way."

hate to get rid of car but wife wants new

By on Sunday, February 15, 2015

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 112,000

10 9.0
overall rating 9 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
9/10
Value
9/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
Not Rated
Performance
10/10
Styling
Not Rated
Comfort
Not Rated

Pros: "looks great and easy to drive"

Cons: "none"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"Just had 6 new coils plugs transmission backed flushed and 10.5 quarts meroon5 fluid done"

1 person out of 1 found this review helpful

ONE OF THE BEST VEHICLES I'VE OWNED

By on Wednesday, February 11, 2015

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 141,900

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

Pros: "GOOD VALUE FOR THE PRICE"

Cons: "HAS TIRE NOISE ALWAYS HAS"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"OWNED VEHICLE SINCE 10,000 MILES HAVE ONLY PUT 2 SETS OF TIRES 2 SETS OF FRONT BRAKES 1 REAR SEAT ALWAYS SERVICED OIL EVERY 5000 AND ROTATE. HAS BEEN A GREAT VEHICLE.EASY TO DRIVE REASONABLE ON GAS AVERAGE 18/21 MPG. WE OWN ITS COUNTER PARTS 2010 MARINER WITH 80K ON II"

4 people out of 8 found this review helpful

Reliable vehicle for average budget

By on Tuesday, February 10, 2015

I owned and sold this car
Reason: I wanted a german car

10 8.0
overall rating 8 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
8/10
Value
8/10
Reliability
8/10
Quality
7/10
Performance
8/10
Styling
8/10
Comfort
7/10

Pros: "Reliable, spacious, pretty fast"

Cons: "Noisy, rear seats should have A/C"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 7

"I had a 2007 Ford Escape manual transmission. I like driving manual but needed a car with more space. I got the Escape at 120k miles and sold it around 150k miles. The car is reliable. It can get you to long distances without any troubles. I never had to fix mine except the rear left window which wasn't working. It cost me less than $100 to repair. I'd recommend this car to those looking for spacious small SUV with a low budget. The mpg is alright, feels like 18mpg"

6 people out of 7 found this review helpful

Excellent car for the money, got for my daughter

By on Friday, February 06, 2015

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 113,000

10 9.0
overall rating 9 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
9/10
Value
9/10
Reliability
8/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
8/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

Pros: "Good for kids, , affordable V-6 strong, dependable"

Cons: "Storage, styling"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"Got this car new for my daughter, had a lot of zip for a small car. Liked it because it was dependable, just made sure to change the oil on a regular basis. My daughter will sell it now because she now has a Prius which gets much better MPG. The new Escape Titanium has much more in the way of extras. Technology!"

Sort Reviews by: 
Per Page:  5 | 10 | 25
Previous | 1 2 3 ... 122 | Next
Find Deals Near You vehicles for sale matching Ford Escape near Honolulu. See local deals