Advertisement

Why ads?
Popular at KBB.com
  • 10 Best SUVs Under $25,000
  • 10 Best Midsize SUVs
  • 10 Best AWD Cars & SUVs Under $25,000
  • 2014 Compact SUV Buyer's Guide
Go

2009 Ford Edge

Style:

Consumer Reviews & Ratings

Overall Rating
8.7
Out of 10

Based on 571 Ratings for the 2007 - 2014 models.

Review this car
more rating details
  • Value
    8.7/10
    Quality
    8.9/10
  • Reliability
    9.0/10
    Performance
    8.9/10
  • Comfort
    9.0/10
    Styling
    9.1/10
Sort Reviews by: 
Per Page:  5 | 10 | 25
Previous | 1 2 3 ... 23 | Next

Outstanding vehicle. Dependable.

By on Monday, March 24, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 180,000

10 9.0
overall rating 9 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
9/10
Value
9/10
Reliability
9/10
Quality
9/10
Performance
9/10
Styling
9/10
Comfort
9/10

Pros: "Outsatanding first or second vehicle."

Cons: "No moonroof."

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"Lot's of interstate miles traveling to military bases in Florida and Louisiana. Car has had oil changes at the 5K interval and maintained by a Ford dealership. Interior and exterior are truly immaculate."

4 people out of 5 found this review helpful

Reliable mechanicals, disappointing cosmetics

By on Saturday, March 22, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 33,000

10 8.0
overall rating 8 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
8/10
Value
8/10
Reliability
9/10
Quality
7/10
Performance
8/10
Styling
8/10
Comfort
9/10

Pros: "Reliable driver, never left me stranded"

Cons: "All the rubber gaskets around the glass came loose"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 4

"The car has been reliable, but there have been so many problems with cosmetic issues. I've had to replace gaskets around both the windshield and the rear glass. Now the hatch gaskets are rotting away. The paint over the rear hatch roof is fading. The pinstripes along the side are all cracked. I also had defective valve stems from the factory, which triggered a recall from Ford. The car is dealer serviced regularly, every 5 months, but it seems to be falling apart on its wheels."

6 people out of 7 found this review helpful

Great Car

By on Saturday, March 22, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 230,000

10 9.0
overall rating 9 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
9/10
Value
9/10
Reliability
9/10
Quality
8/10
Performance
9/10
Styling
9/10
Comfort
9/10

Pros: "Fun, Comfortable, Reliable"

Cons: "None"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"I had a BMW 330I prior to getting this car. I drive a lot and needed more space so i decided on an crossover. I averaged 1500 miles a week. No break downs, just gas oil and tires. My daughter now drives this car in college. If I didn't have a company car I would own another."

1 person out of 2 found this review helpful

LOVE THIS CAR AND WANT ANOTHER ONE

By on Wednesday, March 19, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 68,500

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

Pros: "HANDLES GREAT. NOT TOO BIG. FUN TO DRIVE"

Cons: "WISH IT HAD A BIGGER GAS TANK"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"PERFECT CAR FOR SINGLE OR FAMILY"

5 people out of 6 found this review helpful

very nice car

By on Saturday, March 15, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 53,000

10 8.0
overall rating 8 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
8/10
Value
8/10
Reliability
9/10
Quality
8/10
Performance
8/10
Styling
9/10
Comfort
8/10

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 8

"This car met all my needs!"

2 people out of 3 found this review helpful

Lemon

By on Wednesday, March 12, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 94,371

10 5.0
overall rating 5 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
5/10
Value
1/10
Reliability
1/10
Quality
1/10
Performance
3/10
Styling
3/10
Comfort
3/10

Pros: "Look"

Cons: "Lemon Transmission keep going out."

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 1

"Lemon"

1 person out of 5 found this review helpful

abs sensors on the front freeze up

By on Sunday, March 09, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 82,000

10 8.0
overall rating 8 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
8/10
Value
5/10
Reliability
8/10
Quality
7/10
Performance
7/10
Styling
8/10
Comfort
9/10

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 4

"living in wisconsin i have AWD and the front abs sensors freeze up. I;ve had them replaced both winters i;ve had this vechile. about $275.00 every time X4 $$$$$ other than that i love this edge. would buy another soon maybe next year."

5 people out of 9 found this review helpful

comfortable and reliable

By on Wednesday, February 26, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 75,000

10 9.0
overall rating 9 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
9/10
Value
9/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
9/10
Performance
9/10
Styling
9/10
Comfort
10/10

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"Nice drive and good power with V6. Limited package is worth it."

5 people out of 5 found this review helpful

Styling is a bit dated

By on Friday, February 21, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 8,000

10 8.0
overall rating 8 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
8/10
Value
7/10
Reliability
9/10
Quality
9/10
Performance
8/10
Styling
7/10
Comfort
8/10

Pros: "Solid, secure feel"

Cons: "Larger size makes it a tight fit in the garage"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 5

"The Edge is a large, heavy vehicle and drives with a very solid feel. Nothing is wrong with the vehicle but wish there was something that made me like it more. The model and options made the list price over $42K and after driving it for 6 months, I'm just "OK" with this vehicle. Guess I expected a bit more from from a vehicle at this price point. Will do more research to make sure I know what options are available at this price point."

4 people out of 5 found this review helpful

We love this car

By on Thursday, February 20, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 11,287

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

Pros: "Driving position, comfort, noise level"

Cons: "none"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"Bought new, no problems. Test drove many and came back to the Ford. I am tall and it is hard to find a car that I fit in. Have taken two 2300 mile trips already and I never get sore or tired of driving. Great car. Love the AWD."

5 people out of 5 found this review helpful

best all around car, right size

By on Tuesday, February 18, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 27,000

10 9.0
overall rating 9 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
9/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
9/10
Performance
9/10
Styling
9/10
Comfort
9/10

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 9

"Most convenient vehicle I ever owned. Comfortable with smooth drive, easy to get in and out, plenty cargo space, just right size. One of the best all around vehicle with many available extra options"

5 people out of 5 found this review helpful

this car has been very good to me, no major proble

By on Monday, February 17, 2014

I don't own this car

10 8.0
overall rating 8 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
8/10
Value
7/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
8/10
Styling
6/10
Comfort
8/10

Pros: "I love my car I paid to much for it"

Cons: "I detail this car at least once a month myself"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"This is a great car, it has a new tires and battery, it is serviced when needed. Has a the best warranty, I feel I paid too much for it."

2 people out of 4 found this review helpful

Love it so much selling this to buy a new one!

By on Monday, February 17, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 109,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"My wife and I love our edge. Everything about it is top notch. Rides great, handles great, and is roomy. The engine has all the power you could need and want. Runs great! We love it so much that we are replacing it with a new version of the same car!"

4 people out of 4 found this review helpful

Love my edge

By on Sunday, February 16, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 20,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
9/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

Pros: "styling, handling, reliability, roominess, feature"

Cons: "the monthly payments"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"Love everything about it"

1 person out of 2 found this review helpful

Not bad

By on Thursday, February 06, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 44,000

10 7.0
overall rating 7 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
7/10
Value
7/10
Reliability
7/10
Quality
7/10
Performance
7/10
Styling
6/10
Comfort
9/10

Pros: "Nice looking exterior and interior."

Cons: "Transmission and rwd not good in the snow."

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 4

"I expected a little more out of my first New car purchase. My transmission locked up me around 25,000 miles. The car was fixed under warranty, but I do not feel safe keeping the car past the warranty now. I feel safe in the car and it drives good. I have door sensors go off all the time when the doors are shut. I recently got an oil change and after 500 miles the car told me I need an oil change again. With rwd I find myself getting stuck in the snow a lot that sedans can drive through."

4 people out of 10 found this review helpful

The Beast!

By on Tuesday, February 04, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 73,500

10 8.0
overall rating 8 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
8/10
Value
8/10
Reliability
9/10
Quality
9/10
Performance
Not Rated
Styling
8/10
Comfort
9/10

Pros: "Reliable! Competively priced, Solid and Safe"

Cons: "Plain interior (2008), More power"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"The sincerest form of compliment is when someone rides in your car and then, purchases one. With my Edge, it's happened on more than one occasion in the five years I've owned it. Mine is a first generation series and the interior is comfortable if not a little Spartan. Ride is controlled, but a little busy with moderate road noise. Wind noise, unless gale force is pretty much non-existent. Cabin is definitely spacious and by folding down the back seats, accommodates a bunch of stuff. Speaking of the seats, they are leather covered and comfortable. The driver, especially, has no reason to not find a comfortable long drive position. Controls are logical and intuitive. Interior storage is awesome: door storage is the best I've seen, big center console, three other flat areas within easy reach of the driver. Much better than new vehicles, which I'm currently test driving. I installed an after market hitch, mainly for a bicycle rack but it should be good for towing up to 3500 lbs. Maintenance history and approximate miles other than periodic checkups at Ford dealerships: set of tires (Michelin) at 50K, minor PTU seal leak at 72K, cylinder coil at 15K, battery at 60K. I like this car enough that my toughest current decision is whether to keep it for the long haul or buy a new one. What a dilemma!"

9 people out of 9 found this review helpful

Reliable Vehicle

By on Saturday, February 01, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 114,580

10 8.0
overall rating 8 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
8/10
Value
8/10
Reliability
8/10
Quality
8/10
Performance
9/10
Styling
8/10
Comfort
8/10

Pros: "Rides great, moderate on gas usage."

Cons: "Using FORD for repairs."

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"In my experiences with this vehicle I come to find that from other owners their problems range from the air conditioning to the transmission. I have had only one negative experience with my EDGE. If you encounter a clicking / knocking from the front end while turning , it's probably the CONTROL ARM(S) bushings. YES you have to replace the entire control arm. The bushing is not a separate piece. For some reason the dealer which exculvsive serviced my vehicle could NOT discover my issue. And after countless repairs( at cost) I did some detective work to correctly diagnose my issue, but that was after several hundred dollars spent at my local FORD dealership??"

2 people out of 2 found this review helpful

excellent vehicle

By on Monday, January 27, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 29,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
9/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

Pros: "fun features, easy to drive, great drivability"

Cons: "a bit pricier than other SUV's but worth it"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"I came from another crossover SUV and bought the Edge in the middle of winter. I can't even begin to describe the difference in driving ability from my previous car to this one. Complete night and day. Handles excellently in snow, slush, and ice. Incredibly quiet and comfortable ride. Lots of interior space making it comfortable for long distance driving. Lots of fun little features, too, like the customizable ambient lighting. I also use bluetooth quite frequently and I am impressed with how little outside noise you hear. Would recommend over and over again! LOVE LOVE LOVE"

4 people out of 4 found this review helpful

Good balance of comfort and economy

By on Saturday, January 18, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 22,500

10 9.0
overall rating 9 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
9/10
Value
9/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
9/10
Performance
8/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

Pros: "Comfortable interior, plenty of cargo space"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"I work on construction and there is plenty of room for my gear in the cargo area. I would not recommend the storage area accessory option, the cover is hard to use-it does not retract as in Explorer model and has to be unhooked and folded. I have been down muddy and rutted roads many times with no problem on the front wheel drive option. Comfortable as a family car as well."

3 people out of 3 found this review helpful

Great value, great ride, great all around vehicle.

By on Thursday, January 16, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 78,000

10 9.0
overall rating 9 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
9/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
9/10
Quality
9/10
Performance
9/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

Pros: "Rides like a car w/ the interior space of an SUV."

Cons: "Wiring for trailer is cumbersome."

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"I have driven my Edge on many long trips. It provides a comfortable ride, excellent view of the road, gets respectible gas mileage (22 mpg), and I love the Travel Link feature. It provides weather maps which are very helpful when driving during storms and fuel prices along my travel route.GPS is equally useful. I've only experienced one vehicle problem while on the road. Had the car towed to a Ford garage nearby where it was repaired under warranty and I was back on the road after a 2 hr. delay. The Pirelli tires that came with the car lasted 60,000 miles!!"

3 people out of 3 found this review helpful

Nice car, bad MPG

By on Tuesday, January 14, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 55,000

10 8.0
overall rating 8 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
8/10
Value
5/10
Reliability
8/10
Quality
9/10
Performance
9/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
8/10

Pros: "Look sleek, nice ammenities"

Cons: "Bad MPG"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 8

"I've had my 2008 Limited Edge for 2 years. I really like all of the features, especially the bluetooth and sync. The Panoramic sunroof gets lots of compliments! The heated leather seats are wonderful and a must have. I love have the numeric code entry on the outside of the door so I can never lock my keys in the car, and often, we don't even take the keys with us, but lock them inside. The engine is a bit louder than I am used to. The engine is powerful, but seems to hesitate when asked to perform. The MPG are not good, averaging about 17-19. The newer Edge's have better mileage. I love being able to use either my iPhone or a USB Flash drive loaded with music in the car (plus the 6-CD changer). Lots of options for music. Also, the Edge handles VERY well in the snow. I have the AWD series for this reason."

2 people out of 2 found this review helpful

as comfortable a road vehicle as any, improve mpg

By on Saturday, January 11, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 57,500

10 9.0
overall rating 9 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
9/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

Pros: "Lots to like and enjoy"

Cons: "improve V-6 MPG"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"This vehicle is as reliable and comfortable as any we've driven. all the latest automotive and electronic technology. ride, seating, climate, storage space, accessories and style all equal to most high end vehicles. Only improvement for the V-6 is MPG; Hwy and town."

Love this Car!

By on Saturday, January 04, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 1,100

10 9.0
overall rating 9 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
9/10
Value
9/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

Pros: "Comfort, Ride, Mileage and electronics systems"

Cons: "Price"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"We rented a 2013 Ford Edge for a 5000 mile driving vacation and we loved it so much that we bought one after we came home. Comfort, ride and mileage are excellent. My only con is that there was very little negotiation on price. Still a good value though. Would recommend to anyone."

4 people out of 4 found this review helpful

very reliable vehicle

By on Friday, December 20, 2013

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 100,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"Have owned this car for just over 100k miles now and its been great. very comfortable good on gas handles great. overall awesome car."

2 people out of 2 found this review helpful

first suv, but not the last

By on Saturday, December 14, 2013

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 25,400

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

Pros: "just the right size"

Cons: "could get a bit more mpg. I am getting 19mpg/24-25"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"I upgraded from a Pontiac grand prix. Needed a bigger car to carry more cargo. You can only get so much in the trunk and rear seat. I will buy the Edge again"

2 people out of 4 found this review helpful

Sort Reviews by: 
Per Page:  5 | 10 | 25
Previous | 1 2 3 ... 23 | Next
Find Deals Near You vehicles for sale matching Ford Edge near Honolulu. See local deals