Advertisement

Why ads?
Popular at KBB.com
  • Midsize Sedan Buyer's Guide
  • 10 Best Sedans Under $25,000
  • Compact Car Buyer's Guide
  • 10 Best Luxury Cars Under $35,000
Go

2000 Dodge Stratus

Style:

Consumer Reviews & Ratings

Overall Rating
6.9
Out of 10

Based on 317 Ratings for the 1995 - 2000 models.

Review this car
more rating details
  • Value
    7.5/10
    Quality
    7.3/10
  • Reliability
    7.7/10
    Performance
    7.5/10
  • Comfort
    7.7/10
    Styling
    7.4/10
Sort Reviews by: 
Per Page:  5 | 10 | 25
Previous | 1 2 3 ... 64 | Next

Reliable

By on Thursday, March 26, 2015

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 141,600

10 7.0
overall rating 7 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
7/10
Value
7/10
Reliability
8/10
Quality
8/10
Performance
6/10
Styling
8/10
Comfort
8/10

Pros: "Great Price, Reliable"

Cons: "Low Riding, Rusts Easily, Small Cup Holders"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 6

"This was my first car, and as a stepping stone to bigger and better cars, it is a solid choice. Relatively cheap, small tank to fill, costs are pretty low. Because of it's age, dealers have to work with it well in order to get it to sell at all. (Preferably a "B" Dealer.) A convenient bridge from one car to the next, but not much more. Dealing with the winter, it depends on the tires. But the car's front is low to the ground regardless. So if your winters are as bad as Michigan's, don't expect it to last through many of those."

3 people out of 5 found this review helpful

Good reliable sedan

By on Wednesday, March 11, 2015

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 90,000

10 8.0
overall rating 8 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
8/10
Value
9/10
Reliability
9/10
Quality
8/10
Performance
9/10
Styling
9/10
Comfort
9/10

Pros: "Inexpensive and reasonably sporty, reliable"

Cons: "No ABS, ESC, or other modern safety equipment"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 9

"I bought this almost new in 2000 for just over $10,000 and 15 years later it now has about 90,000 miles. It's been a good reliable car, relatively few repairs, starts in the coldest weather, comfortable, good mileage, and pretty fun to drive. Peppy engine and decent handling. Selling it now because the family needs something bigger, but otherwise I'd keep it until it falls apart. I still think it's a pretty nice and distinctive looking car compared to most from that era."

Dependable Little car

By on Wednesday, May 07, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 190,000

10 5.0
overall rating 5 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
5/10
Value
4/10
Reliability
8/10
Quality
5/10
Performance
6/10
Styling
3/10
Comfort
4/10

Pros: "strong engine"

Cons: "gas mileage is bad, horrible underbody"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 5

"Had it for two years and have put fifty thousand miles on it roughly. Haven't had to do any real work to it besides common maintenance."

13 people out of 23 found this review helpful

My Experience

By on Wednesday, March 26, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 235,000

10 5.0
overall rating 5 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
5/10
Value
9/10
Reliability
5/10
Quality
6/10
Performance
8/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

Pros: "great price, nice looking car with sleek lines."

Cons: "expensive repairs"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 3

"This was a very good car for years until repairs were needed. If this car needs repair, even a tune-up, it will cost you more because of the inassessiblity of key components. The engine is crowded to make room for all six cylinders. Four on top and two beneath the manifold. Also most places won't even replace the battery because it is in the wall of the fender.You will be charged extra for the extra work involved with repairs and maintenence. So-so on gas. Drives well. Turning radius kind of limited in very tight places."

6 people out of 13 found this review helpful

This has been a very good car.

By on Wednesday, March 12, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 283,550

10 9.0
overall rating 9 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
9/10
Value
9/10
Reliability
9/10
Quality
9/10
Performance
8/10
Styling
9/10
Comfort
8/10

Pros: "Room, mileage, sporty beyond its price."

Cons: "Head gaskets, transmission glitches."

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 9

"On the whole, this little Dodge gave me everything I asked for. It was fun to drive, it looked great, it got good gas mileage, and held up a lot longer than most folks would have believed. We purchased it new in June of 1997 with 7 miles on the oddo. Now, at 283,550 miles, we are actually considering replacing her, with the new Dodge Dart - the first new Dodge in 10 years I actually think looks as good (or better) than the Stratus. We will still miss this car."

8 people out of 14 found this review helpful

Sort Reviews by: 
Per Page:  5 | 10 | 25
Previous | 1 2 3 ... 64 | Next
Find Deals Near You vehicles for sale matching Dodge Stratus near Honolulu. See local deals