Advertisement

Why ads?
Popular at KBB.com
  • 15 Best Family Cars of 2015
  • 10 Best Midsize SUVs
  • 10 Best SUVs Under $25,000
  • 10 Best AWD Cars & SUVs Under $25,000
Go

1999 Dodge Ram Wagon 1500

Style:

Consumer Reviews & Ratings

Overall Rating
7.9
Out of 10

Based on 34 Ratings for the 1993 - 2002 models.

Review this car
more rating details
  • Value
    8.3/10
    Quality
    7.9/10
  • Reliability
    8.4/10
    Performance
    8.4/10
  • Comfort
    8.3/10
    Styling
    8.0/10
Sort Reviews by: 
Per Page:  5 | 10 | 25
Previous | 1 2 3 ... 7 | Next

Driven 147,000 miles

By on Monday, February 25, 2008

10 9.0
overall rating 9 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
9/10
Value
9/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
9/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
9/10
Comfort
10/10

"Still driving it. Very reliable, no major problems. I installed a Tornado mileage booster that swirls the intake air and jumped my mileage from 14.5 to 17.5mpg. It paid for itself in no time. Only problem at this point in time is getting interior replaced as the company that did the package is no longer in business. Van is great mechanically. Have 4 Captians seats and one bench in back that folds down for sleeping. Tinted windows and shades included. Dodge does not stock interior parts so if cup holders brake or visors go you have to hope to find them at a junkyard."

5 people out of 5 found this review helpful

Excellent family van

By on Thursday, May 29, 2008

10 7.0
overall rating 7 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
7/10
Value
9/10
Reliability
8/10
Quality
8/10
Performance
8/10
Styling
7/10
Comfort
8/10

"We bought this used van (with 110k miles) to replace our 1987 8 passenger Ram Wagon (318 V-8 with over 250k miles) when child number 7 was born. It has served us well for about 6 years and we have nearly doubled the miles on this engine (360 V-8) with many local and long distance trips. Taking out the rear bench seat gave us amble room for groceries, gear, and dogs. During a recent trip to TX we got 15 mpg on regular gas, which isn't bad for a vehicle of this size and weight."

4 people out of 4 found this review helpful

Family Swiss Army Knife

By on Friday, November 18, 2011

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 165,000

10 8.0
overall rating 8 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
8/10
Value
9/10
Reliability
9/10
Quality
8/10
Performance
9/10
Styling
8/10
Comfort
9/10

Pros: "Room, comfort, versatility, easy tow vehicle. HD!"

Cons: "Wind noise on highway, MPG, back barn door."

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"This is my second full size Dodge 3/4 ton van, Dodge calls it a "wagon" as it has seating and windows all around. Both based on a 12 pass setup, 127" wheelbase, the suspension package is head and shoulders better than the half ton version that sways and "wallows". The first one was a 1981, powered by a slant six and HD Torqueflite trans, it was bulletproof, had great gas mileage, but was fairly plain with a rubber floor and heavy vinyl seating. The paint quality was poor, the body needed work after 300,000 miles, but it was the family car, truck, and RV for more than 15 years. The 1996 was luxury by comparison, SLT package means power windows, locks, key-less entry, dark window tint all around, and attractive heavy cloth upholstery, chrome wheels, best of all front and back ice cold A/C. This van has the 5.2 L Magnum V8, lots of power, but averages 15 MPG, with the 4 speed OD transmission and tow package. Like it's predecessor this van at 165,000 miles has never broken down or been unreliable. We often took it to Florida for family vacations, approx. 1500 miles in 26 hours (each way). It always had regular maintenance. Now that the family is grown it doesn't get the use or the miles it used to. Rust has not been a problem in spite of New England salty winter roads and a home near the ocean. Worst problem is wind noise on the highway. Considering it's estimated value, I can't find a reason to sell it, or what vehicle could offer the versatility to replace it."

3 people out of 3 found this review helpful

Great Van, But...

By on Thursday, May 13, 2010

10 7.0
overall rating 7 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
7/10
Value
8/10
Reliability
9/10
Quality
5/10
Performance
8/10
Styling
8/10
Comfort
9/10

"1998 1 ton. Has been a great van for our large family. The only issue I have with it is the front frame/unibody area in front of both front wheels is almost rusted out! So far, I have had difficulty finding someone who can repair it. I was also surprised to find that no recall had been issued for such a major problem. Only has 125K. This is reason for 2 stars on quality. Other then this, it has been very reliable and a wonderful workhorse as well as a family transporter."

2 people out of 2 found this review helpful

AWSOME

By on Wednesday, January 07, 2009

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

"NO other 15-passenger van can compare. Ours has 206,000miles and counting. Most reliable vehicle we've ever owned. We have eight children and drive over 350 miles nearly every week."

2 people out of 2 found this review helpful

Sort Reviews by: 
Per Page:  5 | 10 | 25
Previous | 1 2 3 ... 7 | Next
Find Deals Near You vehicles for sale matching Dodge Ram Wagon 1500 near Honolulu. See local deals