Go

2008 Dodge Ram 1500 Regular Cab

Style:

Consumer Reviews & Ratings

Overall Rating
8.6
Out of 10

Based on 2156 Ratings for the 2002 - 2008 models.

Review this car
more rating details
  • Value
    8.7/10
    Quality
    8.7/10
  • Reliability
    9.0/10
    Performance
    8.9/10
  • Comfort
    8.8/10
    Styling
    8.9/10
Sort Reviews by: 
Per Page:  5 | 10 | 25
Previous | 1 2 3 ... 87 | Next

overall, the best truck I've ever owned

By on Thursday, July 25, 2013

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 160,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
9/10

Pros: "stupendous power and agreeable economy"

Cons: "silly transmission shift points"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"in the last two years of ownership I've put almost 34,000 miles on my beautiful truck. I paid over book value when I bought it, being in such good condition, and I'd do it again for this truck in a heartbeat. It has been the single most reliable vehicle I've ever owned, the only thing outside of normal maintenance I've had to do was replace an EGR valve. otherwise this truck has been amazing. there's nowhere it wont go, and nothing I can't tow with it. I've always had a tendency towards dodge, and this truck personifies and justifies all my prejudice. it really is just the best truck. my only complaint with it ever has been the transmission. it doesn't know how to drive in tow/haul mode, and when you have a load behind it on a hill, it will wait til the last second to downshift, and usually ends up dropping two or three gears and roaring up the hill. this truck would be absolutely perfect if I had the sport shifter automatic like the new trucks, where I could just bump it down one gear at the bottom of the hill and pull up it nice and easy. gas mileage is great for a full size truck too. I have the 5.7L HEMI 4x4 and I still get 20+ on the highway with no load"

7 people out of 7 found this review helpful

i love this truck

By on Monday, May 12, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 91,000

10 9.0
overall rating 9 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
9/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

Pros: "every option imaginable-fun to drive"

Cons: "some interior parts are plastic"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"everybody loves my truck"

4 people out of 4 found this review helpful

Reliable truck for a great price

By on Wednesday, August 14, 2013

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 191,000

10 8.0
overall rating 8 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
8/10
Value
8/10
Reliability
9/10
Quality
8/10
Performance
8/10
Styling
8/10
Comfort
9/10

Pros: "Great price. Reliable. Very spacious!"

Cons: "Dash cracks after 10 years. Wheel bearings @ 170k"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"I have a 2003 Dodge Ram 1500 SLT Crew-Cab. Purchased at 70k miles and have had only one issue since it turned 191k miles. Wheel bearings needed replaced (70 bucks on ebay). 4WD works great with a decent weight proportion to go mudding and maintain traction in adverse conditions. It was the only truck on my block that could make it out of the snow last winter; so I gave all the kids in my neighborhood rides to school. Interior is decent with dodges 2002+ re-design. Great upgrades to the dash and space within the cab. I put 3 car seats in the back and dont get kicked anymore! Driving Dynamics: smooth over bumps and rough terrain. Mudding is cake. Standard highway driving is excellent. Power steering, power windows, power doors, power seats (dual), cant go wrong. No mechanical issues in almost 200k miles. Great truck."

4 people out of 4 found this review helpful

Great truck

By on Wednesday, October 30, 2013

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 82,500

10 9.0
overall rating 9 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
9/10
Value
9/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
9/10
Performance
8/10
Styling
8/10
Comfort
7/10

Pros: "Fantastic cab room. Great towing"

Cons: "Lack of rear cupholders."

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"Great truck. My ONLY complaint is the lack of drink holders in the back seat when the center rear seat is occupied."

3 people out of 3 found this review helpful

Big Truck for a Big Man

By on Monday, May 6, 2013

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 94,000

10 9.0
overall rating 9 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
9/10
Value
8/10
Reliability
9/10
Quality
9/10
Performance
8/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
9/10

Pros: "fun to drive, plenty of room for big/tall indiv.,"

Cons: "fuel milage"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 9

"I am 6`8`` and have 2 daughters that ride in the back. I can put my seat all the way back and be comfortable because of the rear room in the mega cab. I love the fact that they can`t kick my seat. Doesn`t get any better than that to me. Truck rides very smooth for a big heavy truck and of course the Hemi is Awesome!"

2 people out of 2 found this review helpful

The Cummins is Great..

By on Tuesday, February 26, 2013

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 86,000

10 9.0
overall rating 9 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
9/10
Value
8/10
Reliability
8/10
Quality
8/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 8

"The Cummins is Great engine The dodge is an overall good truck. Been reliable but it had many repairs under warranty. Get the extended Warranty and shop for the warranty on-line from all the Dodge dealers."

2 people out of 2 found this review helpful

Darn good Truck

By on Saturday, January 26, 2013

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 260,000

10 9.0
overall rating 9 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
9/10
Value
8/10
Reliability
9/10
Quality
7/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
4/10
Comfort
8/10

Pros: "Reliable, great power, soild vehicle"

Cons: "flemsy dash, faulty front bearings, poor mileage"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 8

"I bought mine new and it was the first year the Hemi was offered. Unfortunately, gas prices skyrocketed two months after my purchase and this truck was designed for cheap gas. It has great acceleration and more than a few times, I've popped the neck of my passengers. I kept up with regular maintenance for the most part and it has always been very reliable. It still starts immediately with one key turn after 260k miles (mostly highway.) I have had problems with the dash cracking up and a few small issues with the interior but with the miles, I would expect that. However, the dash did start to deteriorate a bit sooner than what should be expected (around 60k miles) Small pain is the front bearings needed to be changed out at every 100k and they are sealed; so you can't maintain them by greasing them up. Overall, it's a great truck but it is expensive to drive today. If you live near work or don't have a lot of driving to do I'd recommend it. If you have a long commute like me, better consider one without the Hemi."

2 people out of 2 found this review helpful

Most comfortable vehicle I have ever owned.

By on Tuesday, January 1, 2013

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 50,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"Love this truck. Bought brand new. I'll probably go to my grave with this truck. Best vehicle I have ever owned."

2 people out of 2 found this review helpful

dependable and a pleasure to own and drive

By on Saturday, December 29, 2012

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 106,000

10 9.0
overall rating 9 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
9/10
Value
9/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
9/10
Performance
9/10
Styling
9/10
Comfort
9/10

Pros: "Room for everybody and everything. Dependable"

Cons: "Can pass everything but a gas pump (13-16mpg)"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"i enjoy driving my Dodge as much today as when i drove it off the lot brand new. It's well appointed, easy to drive, plenty of power, and squeak/rattle free even with the odometer over 100K. Has held up extremely well. It has been from California, to Florida, to New Hampshire and it is always up to the task at hand. Gallops down the interstate all day long with ease. Was planning to give it to my son in a couple years, but maybe I'll find him something else!"

2 people out of 2 found this review helpful

Bought this truck to tow. Does a wonderful job

By on Saturday, September 29, 2012

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 51,000

10 9.0
overall rating 9 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
9/10
Value
9/10
Reliability
9/10
Quality
8/10
Performance
9/10
Styling
9/10
Comfort
8/10

Pros: "pulls well, fuel mileage is not bad at all,"

Cons: "ride can be a bit rough at time,"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 9

"I bought this truck to tow and it does a wonder full job. I have added running boards and air lift bags to the rear axle. I have had no problems with the truck other than a water pump that failed and Cummins fixed it under warranty. All I do with this truck is pull a fifth wheel travel trailer and gooseneck horse trailer. The truck is more than ready for both chores. The travel trailer weighs in at around 12,000 loaded and the truck pulls it with no problems. Stay away from the re-programers. This truck has plenty of power. I do not think that it will break any speed records but it sure will pull."

2 people out of 2 found this review helpful

Great Truck

By on Tuesday, August 7, 2012

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 178,000

10 8.0
overall rating 8 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
8/10
Value
9/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
8/10
Performance
9/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
9/10

Pros: "roomy, powerful, looks great"

Cons: "does not handle well in winter with stock tires"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 9

My Truck!

"Have never had any problems outside of normal routine maintenance. Bought the truck at 2yrs old with 22K miles on it and have yet to have any problems to keep the truck on the road. Used to get around 23-25 MPG average per tank with mostly country 'highway' driving. Very reliable great truck!"

2 people out of 2 found this review helpful

My Truck!

This is my baby!

By on Wednesday, August 1, 2012

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 45,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
9/10
Comfort
10/10

Pros: "Passes anything on the highway!"

Cons: "Slight blind spot from windshield pillar."

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"I purchased this new and it has been my pride and joy since day one! It has never given me a problem and has tons of power! The best thing I've owned since my "68" 383 Dart."

2 people out of 2 found this review helpful

Great vehicle all around

By on Saturday, July 28, 2012

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 91,000

10 8.0
overall rating 8 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
8/10
Value
8/10
Reliability
8/10
Quality
8/10
Performance
8/10
Styling
9/10
Comfort
9/10

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 9

"Towing is awsome with this truck some minor glitches through the years I have owned since it had 19 miles stepped up from dodge 2500 5.9L gas what a difference 16mpg towing 18 mpg in town 23+ on road"

2 people out of 2 found this review helpful

great ride & comfort. up to 25 mpg

By on Saturday, July 28, 2012

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 109,000

10 9.0
overall rating 9 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
9/10
Value
9/10
Reliability
9/10
Quality
9/10
Performance
9/10
Styling
7/10
Comfort
10/10

Pros: "comfortable,do anything ride."

Cons: "weak factory ac design"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"except for ac issues, which cost about $2000.oo to repair (in all 3 of my previous dodge 3500's) it it a great truck that is up to the challenge of anything you throw at it. empty and on cruise it gets up to 25.6 mpg. it's avg is always over 20! long wheel base gives a smooth comfy ride. mine is used for a grocery getter to a long haul toy hauler. it will be a hard truck to replace."

2 people out of 2 found this review helpful

Pulling machine!!

By on Tuesday, July 10, 2012

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 62,000

10 9.0
overall rating 9 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
9/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
8/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
5/10
Comfort
10/10

Pros: "Reliable, great price, tremendous HP."

Cons: "Poor interior"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 9

"Have yet to have a single issue of any kind with this vehicle. The 5.9 liter Cummins is a beast when it comes to pulling my RV trailer. Amazingly smooth ride when pulling the RV or not. Has been a VERY reliable vehicle. This is my second Dodge diesel. Interior for this model SLT is nothing fancy and lacks any of the creature comforts of todays vehicles. All electric but very basic. I wished I had purchased the Laramie edition. Well worth the extra money."

2 people out of 2 found this review helpful

Best auto I have ever owned .

By on Wednesday, April 18, 2012

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 26,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

Pros: "Comfort and towing capacity"

Cons: "None...."

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"I always buy new cars or trucks and this Ram is the best Auto I have ever owned."

2 people out of 2 found this review helpful

A man's truck

By on Wednesday, April 4, 2012

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 90,000

10 9.0
overall rating 9 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
9/10
Value
9/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
9/10
Performance
8/10
Styling
9/10
Comfort
8/10

Pros: "Fuel efficient for a truck"

Cons: "OEM tires = not enough grip in weather"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"Great truck, a little more maintenance then some vehicles but a strong running truck. OEM tires tend to slip when wet but put some new shoes on and off you go."

2 people out of 2 found this review helpful

High maintenance. Drives nice. Powerful.

By on Tuesday, April 3, 2012

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 140,000

10 5.0
overall rating 5 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
5/10
Value
6/10
Reliability
2/10
Quality
5/10
Performance
7/10
Styling
7/10
Comfort
9/10

Pros: "Powerful, nice ride."

Cons: "Maintenance."

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 2

"This truck required a lot of maintenance beyond normal. Rear axle rebuilt twice - at 34K and again at 136K miles. Replaced both front hubs, Power steering cooler, both rear O2 sensors, tie rods, ball joints, u-joints, the list is extensive. Replaced 7 tires due to tread separation, side wall splits - I would not recommend the 20" wheels."

2 people out of 2 found this review helpful

Mine had a persistent valve tick in the motor.

By on Wednesday, March 28, 2012

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 164,000

10 7.0
overall rating 7 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
7/10
Value
7/10
Reliability
7/10
Quality
6/10
Performance
9/10
Styling
9/10
Comfort
10/10

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 4

"i kept up with maintenance well. After 140000 miles things starting going wrong and had to start on repairs. Had to take to dealer before warranty ran out to try to fix tick in motor before Extended warranty ran out at 100,000 miles. Never did get rid of it. Now has 160000 miles and it is dying out at stops. And had to have constant front end alignments. I am now looking for a new vehicle. Due to the future costs of repairs."

2 people out of 2 found this review helpful

dont buy a used 2004, not worth it

By on Monday, March 19, 2012

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 90,000

10 1.0
overall rating 1 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
1/10
Value
2/10
Reliability
1/10
Quality
1/10
Performance
1/10
Styling
8/10
Comfort
8/10

Pros: "strong with ATS trans"

Cons: "trans, brakes, rotors, hubs, ball joints"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 1

"general tires wont last beyond 36k miles. hard on brakes, trans is weakest point, wait till you have the infamous death wobble in 3 lanes of bumper to bumper traffic, dont forget to keep replacing hubs, rotors, u joints and brakes, did I mention trans wont last. hard to get dodge to stand behind their product w/o a fight, remember you owe them for buying thier vehicle! on my 4th set of tires at 90k miles"

2 people out of 2 found this review helpful

Money pit!

By on Monday, March 19, 2012

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 140,000

10 2.0
overall rating 2 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
2/10
Value
1/10
Reliability
1/10
Quality
1/10
Performance
6/10
Styling
8/10
Comfort
8/10

Pros: "towing, power"

Cons: "mechanical problems"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 1

"To many mechanical problems. Bought it with 102,000 miles on it for $9,000 and in 3 yrs put a new heater core, Radiator, power steering pump, coolent pump, rear seal, upper control arm, ft bearing in it and now the steering rack leakes and the rear end chatters when taking off from a stop. So far its set me back aprox $4,000and im looking at another $2000."

2 people out of 2 found this review helpful

Great Truck

By on Monday, December 12, 2011

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 125,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

Pros: "Great Price, Reliable Performance"

Cons: "Cant think of any."

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"I had never owned a dodge truck and had not driven a dodge in years. I drove this dodge and was sold. I traded in my 2000 chevy truck. This is the best truck I have ever owned, it rides and drives so much better than my chevy did. It was a great price also. Comparable used chevys were many thousands more in price. I got a HEMI. I average 17.5 mpg w/ mostly hwy driving. My chevy averaged 16 mpg. I bought my 2005 Quad Cab Dodge 1500 Big Horn Edition in March 2010 it had 85000 mile on it. It now has 126000 miles, with ho problems at all. Just had to install new brake pads about 10000 miles ago. Lots of storage areas in cab is a big plus."

2 people out of 2 found this review helpful

I luv my DODGE!!!!

By on Monday, November 21, 2011

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 91,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
9/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

Pros: "NO other truck will do!"

Cons: "none"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"Best truck ever. Will never go back to chevy. I feel safe driving 50 miles daily for work. handles great in bad wyoming weather too."

2 people out of 2 found this review helpful

great truck

By on Thursday, November 17, 2011

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 55,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

Pros: "great value for money"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"Best truck I have ever owned Tried a chevy but poor visability. Extremely poor mpg keeps me from buying a ford"

2 people out of 2 found this review helpful

2002 dodge 1/2 ton truck quad cab

By on Thursday, November 10, 2011

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 140,235

10 9.0
overall rating 9 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
9/10
Value
8/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

Pros: "great price long lasting"

Cons: "low trade in, no recovery of cost when paid for"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"this has been a great truck for me 149,236 miles and going strong my second one my 98 has 259,623 miles and still going strong and i drive the heck out of them but i also maintain them!No complaints"

2 people out of 2 found this review helpful

Sort Reviews by: 
Per Page:  5 | 10 | 25
Previous | 1 2 3 ... 87 | Next
Find Deals Near You vehicles for sale matching Dodge Ram 1500 Regular Cab near Honolulu. See local deals
Advertisement