Advertisement

Why ads?
Popular at KBB.com
  • Pickup Truck Buyer's Guide
  • 15 Best Family Cars of 2015
  • Class of 2015: New Vehicles Ready to Roll
  • Kelley Blue Book Best Buys of 2015: Pickup Truck
Go

2008 Dodge Ram 1500 Regular Cab

Style:

Consumer Reviews & Ratings

Overall Rating
8.6
Out of 10

Based on 2059 Ratings for the 2002 - 2009 models.

Review this car
more rating details
  • Value
    8.8/10
    Quality
    8.7/10
  • Reliability
    9.0/10
    Performance
    9.0/10
  • Comfort
    8.8/10
    Styling
    8.9/10
Sort Reviews by: 
Per Page:  5 | 10 | 25

LOVE MY RAM, BOUGHT IT NEW BEST MONEY SPENT

By on Saturday, February 28, 2015

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 44,300

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
Not Rated

Pros: "LOVE IT"

Cons: "NONE"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

PITTSBURGH DAY

"LOVE MY RAM WILL HAVE IT FOR LIFE"

2 people out of 2 found this review helpful

PITTSBURGH DAY

It's been a rock...

By on Thursday, February 26, 2015

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 116,000

10 9.0
overall rating 9 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
9/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
8/10
Styling
9/10
Comfort
9/10

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 9

"Im about to trade this truck in on a new Tundra, I've owned it from new and it has never missed a beat. Kinda thirsty for sure and it eats rear tires but reliability has been perfect, no problems at all."

1 person out of 2 found this review helpful

agreat.truck

By on Wednesday, February 25, 2015

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 94,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
8/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

Pros: "dependable"

Cons: "none"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"good"

Lots of issues

By on Sunday, February 22, 2015

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 114,000

10 5.0
overall rating 5 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
5/10
Value
3/10
Reliability
5/10
Quality
5/10
Performance
4/10
Styling
7/10
Comfort
8/10

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 3

"I bought this truck used and I always wanted to own a Ram. I traded a 2006 Mustang for it and i wish I never traded. PROS: Great versatility and use of space Awesome power Looks good Aggressive Sound CONS: Fuel pump went out immediately Coils went out after Fuel pump Spark plugs right after that HEATER COIL went out and must remove Entire Dash Board to replace (cost of part: $85 Cost of Labor: $900) Headlamps aren't great, very dim even with replacing bulbs with bright ones steering is a bit shaky, tends to groan when turning"

1 person out of 2 found this review helpful

best truck i ever owned very well satisfied

By on Saturday, February 21, 2015

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 94,500

10 9.0
overall rating 9 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
9/10
Value
Not Rated
Reliability
Not Rated
Quality
Not Rated
Performance
9/10
Styling
9/10
Comfort
9/10

Pros: "very good power and fun to drive"

Cons: "none"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"best truck I ever owned very well satisfied lots of power and drives and rides very well"

aja

By on Saturday, February 21, 2015

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 94,000

10 9.0
overall rating 9 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
9/10
Value
7/10
Reliability
9/10
Quality
7/10
Performance
9/10
Styling
9/10
Comfort
10/10

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 9

"got towning package"

decent truck-disappointed in tipm

By on Sunday, February 08, 2015

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 40,000

10 3.0
overall rating 3 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
3/10
Value
5/10
Reliability
2/10
Quality
2/10
Performance
5/10
Styling
5/10
Comfort
6/10

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 2

"first 35000 miles-no problem. good motor.then nightmare started with TIPM . Headlights flicker constantly because of TIPM.Can not drive at night. Hoping Chrysler will issue recall.Many people have various electrical problems with many Dodge vehicles 07-14."

5 people out of 12 found this review helpful

Work truck meant for work does its job

By on Thursday, February 05, 2015

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 76,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
8/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

Pros: "Comfortable, spacious, powerful"

Cons: "Oil Pressure Sending Unit is bad, PO534 reflash"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 5

"even after being neglected for 20,000 miles be a previous owner it still runs good. Small issues that are foreseen at the mileage I'm at. Good for family AND work."

3 people out of 5 found this review helpful

How a 6 passenger pick-up became family

By on Saturday, January 31, 2015

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 116,678

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"Purchased Dec. 05 @ 41,680 MI for $16,500. KBB top value is 8189, almost half of what I paid nearly 10 years ago. On third Battery. 3rd set of tires,3rd steering rack, NOTE buy Mopar, have replaced power steering hose's, and radiator and related hoses, still have same serpentine belt, have never done anything to it. Have put Slick50 in engine. replaced rear e shoes and cables. Have Heavy duty premium DR/SL rotors F/R with ceramic pads Gibson cat back exhaust. Truck had been abused by 1st owner after 19K miles then cared for by navy Pilot, until I found her. She needed front forward shaft in 4wd assembly and transmission needed overhauling both done with reputable dealers. Have periodically changed transmission fluid, have had no issues in over 60K MI.average 15 mpg Have K&N air Filter Element in stock air box. and the Tornado in air inlet. Original plugs, wires, starter, everything under hood is as original save for battery and radiator and hoses."

4 people out of 8 found this review helpful

great MPG, great towing, lousy manual shifting

By on Friday, January 30, 2015

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 125,000

10 9.0
overall rating 9 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
9/10
Value
8/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
9/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
8/10

Pros: "sis a work horse"

Cons: "lousy manual shifting"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 9

"great MPG, great towing, lousy manual shifting. hydraulic clutch and flywheel replaced early. still a good value"

7 people out of 12 found this review helpful

Power to spare!

By on Thursday, January 29, 2015

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 112,000

10 9.0
overall rating 9 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
9/10
Value
9/10
Reliability
9/10
Quality
9/10
Performance
9/10
Styling
8/10
Comfort
8/10

Pros: "Handles great, very few mechanical problems."

Cons: "None that come to mind."

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"We have had this truck for about 3 years...only has depreciated about $4k. We tow a 35 ft 5th wheel. I love the power of the Turbo Diesel. I have put about 30k miles on it...mostly towing. We did have to replace a couple of injectors last summer, but now it runs as strong as ever. I have had Ford and Chevy trucks but have been sold on Dodge after owning this."

2 people out of 3 found this review helpful

love my truck

By on Wednesday, January 28, 2015

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 30,248

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
6/10

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 9

"only wish i had power windows and extending mirrors. other than that it drives like a sportscar in LA traffic. absolutely love my truck"

2 people out of 2 found this review helpful

very reliable, with quick accler, 1 owner

By on Tuesday, January 27, 2015

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 135,000

10 8.0
overall rating 8 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
8/10
Value
5/10
Reliability
9/10
Quality
9/10
Performance
9/10
Styling
9/10
Comfort
9/10

Pros: "9,500 plus taxes"

Cons: "seats six with tow package"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 9

"bought new, one owner never any troube,serves as a family car as well as p/u registered and smogged thru Nov 2015."

Have owned 11 years with minimal issues.

By on Tuesday, January 27, 2015

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 137,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

Pros: "dependability. Great traction with AWD."

Cons: "a little rust after 11 years."

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"Only service issues related to wheel bearings. Absolutely no engine problems in 11 years. A little rust here and there now...but not bad for Minnesota pickup. Mileage about 14mpg..what I expected. Laramie interior very comfortable."

3 people out of 8 found this review helpful

I was a ford guy till I drove this truck

By on Monday, January 26, 2015

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 133,000

10 9.0
overall rating 9 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
9/10
Value
8/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
9/10
Comfort
10/10

Pros: "Comfort towing"

Cons: "Gas"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"Overall amazing truck 132k miles no major issues. Very comfortable ride way better than my ford or my Chevy work truck same size. I put a cold air intake on it and it did improve my mpg"

1 person out of 3 found this review helpful

Very nice truck custom flat bed

By on Saturday, January 24, 2015

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 33,560

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
7/10

Pros: "yes"

Cons: "yes"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"I have serviced the truck well 3-4000 on oil changes, diff. changs a 15000, cv joint lubed every 6000. Flush fluids yearly"

1 person out of 2 found this review helpful

Outstanding truck

By on Tuesday, January 20, 2015

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 101,300

10 9.0
overall rating 9 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
9/10
Value
7/10
Reliability
8/10
Quality
8/10
Performance
9/10
Styling
8/10
Comfort
8/10

Pros: "Power, towing, 4x4, mileage, reliability, looks"

Cons: "steering issue, air damper controls, door locks"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"I have owned this truck for three years. I rated the overall value of this truck as a 7 because it is more expensive to buy the diesel option. In my opinion, it is the only reason to have this truck. It is comfortable to sit and ride in, but there are a few common issues with this year range. The air damper controls do not function anymore in mine, i.e. you cannot change between the defrost, floor, or dash vents. Also, the back door locks are now manual locks; the electric locks do not function on the back doors anymore. The steering had to be upgraded to prevent death wobble and I believe this was a recall from the company. Other than these issues, it is the best truck I have ever owned. The manual transmission is the way to go because of its reliability and ability to handle more abuse from towing. The manual transmission gets a lot better fuel mileage as well because you have better control over the RPM's while cruising through town. Some of my ratings above would have been higher if these issues were addressed from the factory and did not cost me time and/or money to fix. Towing is great, fourwheel drive works great in snow and offroad on my hunting or fishing trips, and gets great mileage compared to similar sized gas trucks."

4 people out of 8 found this review helpful

A Pulling Machine!

By on Saturday, January 17, 2015

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 65,000

10 9.0
overall rating 9 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
9/10
Value
8/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
9/10
Performance
8/10
Styling
9/10
Comfort
9/10

Pros: "Fun to drive; plenty of power; roomy interior"

Cons: "Fuel mileage"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 9

"We bought this truck a year ago to pull our 34 foot 5th wheel camper. It pulls it like a champ! Most times you cannot even tell that you are pulling anything. The fuel mileage is not great (about 10 mpg)but I knew that would not be great considering the size of camper that we have. There is plenty of room in the cab, and is a pretty nice ride considering that it is a heavy truck."

3 people out of 3 found this review helpful

has never been in snow or ice . rain yes.

By on Thursday, January 15, 2015

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 105,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
8/10
Reliability
9/10
Quality
8/10
Performance
9/10
Styling
9/10
Comfort
9/10

Pros: "your price is to low theres not a truck in this co"

Cons: "center console."

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 9

"myy truck was a lease had 34000 miles on it when I brought it has never been in 4 wheel drive this truck is like new except the dash the tront panel is cracked iam going to replace it . the ezust system also needs replaced . the rest of the truck is like new allways garge kept and has been waxed every 2 weeks."

1 person out of 5 found this review helpful

Best Truck I have Ever Owned

By on Tuesday, January 13, 2015

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 240,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
9/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
9/10
Comfort
10/10

Pros: "Dependable, looks great, safe"

Cons: "gas milage"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"This Dodge Ram is the best truck that I have ever owned. It is now 11 years old, and I have put 240,000 miles on it, and it is still a very dependable truck. I drive it every single day. It has never needed any repairs. I have only had to put a water pump, and a starter on it in 11 years. I'm a middle aged woman, and I feel safe driving my Dodge. I know I have a dependable vehicle. Well worth the money that I paid for it 11 years ago. And it still has a great value today."

3 people out of 3 found this review helpful

210k miles of trouble free driving

By on Saturday, January 10, 2015

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 210,000

10 9.0
overall rating 9 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
9/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
8/10
Styling
9/10
Comfort
9/10

Pros: "quality, comfort, great all around truck"

Cons: "Just hindsight - should have opted for the hemi."

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"I bought this truck new in June 2003. I have traveled the country with it for work. I have towed boat trailers and cargo trailers, been off-road and pushed through blizzards. I haven't abused it (much) but I have run it hard and always maintained it. It has never ever broken down. I can't say enough how good a truck this has been. The 4.7 liter engine has done everything I have asked it to do. It has never leaked or burned a drop of oil, even to this day. I don't want to suggest it has never needed work. I have put 2 starters, a water pump, an A/C condenser, and a power steering pump on it. But that's minor for a 15 yr. old truck with 210k miles on it. If I have a regret, it is that I didn't opt for the hemi. I get the same 15 mpg as the same year hemi, I just have 100 less horsepower. I travel all over doing crash investigations, and I carry a lot of gear and sometimes people. So, as good a truck as it is, sound judgment tells me it is time to upgrade. If I could buy an exact 2003 model brand new, I would do it today. To the people at Dodge: Very good job on this one - thanks."

8 people out of 13 found this review helpful

Cummins Diesel Truck Review Only

By on Monday, December 29, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 163,000

10 9.0
overall rating 9 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
9/10
Value
9/10
Reliability
9/10
Quality
8/10
Performance
8/10
Styling
4/10
Comfort
7/10

Pros: "Very powerful."

Cons: "Everything but engine is low quality"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 9

"Please understand, this review is for the Dodge Ram 2500 with the Cummins diesel engine only. This truck is great for pulling, off-road, drag strips, whatever your duty calls for. It is a mans truck offering the best in its class. I would not recommend another truck, especially not the Dodge Ram gas engine series. If your looking for good fuel mileage or tight handling though, you might want to keep looking. With an Edge Evo programmer on economy mode, I get 13 miles per gallon, 11.5 to 12 mpg without the programmer."

10 people out of 20 found this review helpful

I Love Driving My Truck

By on Sunday, December 28, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 174,288

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
9/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
7/10
Comfort
9/10

Pros: "great gas milage"

Cons: "tire senor light stays on"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"I waited three years to get MY Dodge Ram truck and it was worth the wait. Being a woman driving and owning it, I receive so many head turning by men and women. It drives really smooth and has enough room for my growing boys. My oldest son drove my truck so much everyone thought it was his. I love taking care of it and I will be keeping it even though all the guys always want to buy it from me. Thanks Dodge for doing a quality job on this truck."

Good truck, would just to trade up

By on Thursday, December 18, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 70,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
9/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
9/10
Performance
9/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"I have three 1500 Dodges and one 2500, so I think there pretty good."

4 people out of 10 found this review helpful

excellent vehicle. I want to buy another.

By on Monday, December 08, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 101,000

10 9.0
overall rating 9 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
9/10
Value
9/10
Reliability
9/10
Quality
8/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 9

"I wasn't sure about Dodge back in '09 when I bought it used from a car auction. Absolutely loved it then and still do now. Very comf. lumbar seat, cloth, great music sound, lightly tinted windows, used it on the road for going to work and off the road to haul wood and to move the kids everywhere. The four-wheel drive is soooo easy. Just dial 4wheel or 2wheel and you're off. I have had no prob. with this truck except to replace the tie rods twice, both under warranty at 35K and again at 98K. Just general maintenance. Great truck"

6 people out of 13 found this review helpful

Sort Reviews by: 
Per Page:  5 | 10 | 25
Find Deals Near You vehicles for sale matching Dodge Ram 1500 Regular Cab near Honolulu. See local deals