Advertisement

Why ads?
Popular at KBB.com
  • 10 Best SUVs Under $25,000
  • 10 Best Midsize SUVs
  • 10 Best AWD Cars & SUVs Under $25,000
  • Compact SUV Buyer's Guide
Go

2009 Dodge Journey

Style:

Consumer Reviews & Ratings

Overall Rating
6.9
Out of 10

Based on 360 Ratings for the 2009 - 2015 models.

Review this car
more rating details
  • Value
    7.2/10
    Quality
    6.9/10
  • Reliability
    7.2/10
    Performance
    7.1/10
  • Comfort
    7.7/10
    Styling
    7.8/10
Sort Reviews by: 
Per Page:  5 | 10 | 25
Previous | 1 2 3 ... 15 | Next

Fantastic vehicle

By on Monday, March 31, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 3,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

Pros: "Great value for the money"

Cons: "Cost of tire replacement"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"This is my third Journey and this one is a Limited all wheel drive. That shows you how great I think this vehicle is. Best value on the market."

Worst Vehicle ever!

By on Monday, March 31, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 71,000

10 1.0
overall rating 1 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
1/10
Value
Not Rated
Reliability
Not Rated
Quality
Not Rated
Performance
3/10
Styling
7/10
Comfort
8/10

Pros: "comfortable in front seat, large area to haul item"

Cons: "can't adjust rear seats, so good leg room in rear"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 1

"Several issues with the trans axle. Very costly to maintain and repair. 19inch wheels are hard to find and expensive. I have had the vehicle in the shop three times in last year. Plastic components break easily, but are not easily repaired. An area between the back seat and the storage area allows items to fall through and are not easily accessible."

1 person out of 2 found this review helpful

Awesome vehicle have owned mine for a couple year

By on Thursday, March 13, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 75,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
8/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

Pros: "power comfort style fuel eco looks great"

Cons: "Price of tire replacement"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"Great vehicle for price. Comfort dependable awesome features and equipment..."

10 people out of 14 found this review helpful

Very well built

By on Monday, March 10, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 16,900

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
9/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
9/10
Comfort
10/10

Pros: "Great handling."

Cons: "Factory tires"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"I like everything about my Journey with the exception of the ties that came on the vehicle. It has gotten better gas mileage than estimated."

2 people out of 3 found this review helpful

Not the best family car

By on Wednesday, February 26, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 101,000

10 5.0
overall rating 5 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
5/10
Value
Not Rated
Reliability
5/10
Quality
Not Rated
Performance
Not Rated
Styling
Not Rated
Comfort
4/10

Pros: "fun to drive, sporty, hidden storage"

Cons: "No room for passengers or luggage"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 3

"Although the Journey seats 7, there really isn't much room for passengers, even my small children. My average- sized Kindergartner doesn't have enough leg room in the third row. The seats are narrow and do not provide enough room for child car seats or even booster seats. I have taken it on a number of roadtrips, and there just isn't room for passengers and luggage. When the third row is up the trunk space is minimal. I have to put the seats down to make room for my groceries. Additionally, the seats are not comfortable for long drives. Like many other reviewers, I frequently have had battery-related issues with this vehicle, even with new batteries. The blind spots are rather large as well. While it is fun to drive, this will be my last Journey. I'm upgrading to a real family car...a minivan"

3 people out of 3 found this review helpful

Very Nice Value

By on Friday, February 21, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 11,000

10 9.0
overall rating 9 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
9/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
9/10
Performance
8/10
Styling
8/10
Comfort
9/10

Pros: "Price, features, build quality, 3rd row"

Cons: "exterior look - more Caravan than Durango"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"The Dodge Journey is the best value in it's category. I shopped around, and the amount of features for the $$ was unbeatable with the Journey. The V6 is a phenomenal engine with great power coupled with a smooth 6 speed trans. We don't use the 3rd row often, but it is a fantastic option to have available. I was never a Dodge fan, but I have been impressed with the quality and feel of the Journey. This may seem insignificant, but I like it when i close my car door and the vehicle feels solid. We have had no reliability issues just at 1 year of owennership! I have recommended this vehicle to my friends and family and look forward to purchasing a Durango in the near future."

14 people out of 15 found this review helpful

great vehicle

By on Monday, February 17, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 300

10 9.0
overall rating 9 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
9/10
Value
9/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
9/10

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"only had it a few days have driven under 400 mi had no problems except rear visibility backing up. need a backup camera on it i guess . mileage is 23.5 highway."

5 people out of 7 found this review helpful

I'm in love with my car.

By on Sunday, February 09, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 200

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

Pros: "Great value. Sporty handling & acceleration. SAFE!"

Cons: "gas mileage, but better than my 01 Jeep Cherokee"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"I just bought my second Journey. The first one was totaled after just three months. I was t-boned (passenger side) by someone doing around 65mpg while texting. I corkscrewed and ended up passenger side down. Climbed out without a scratch! Was given a Ford Edge Limited as a rental and hated it. I love this car. SXT, V6, Blacktop package, and mostly loaded. I'm a big fan of the blacktop package. No "chrome" and a mean looking bumper. Will drive this until it falls apart."

9 people out of 12 found this review helpful

Very Good crossover SUV

By on Wednesday, January 22, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 12,000

10 8.0
overall rating 8 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
8/10
Value
8/10
Reliability
8/10
Quality
8/10
Performance
8/10
Styling
8/10
Comfort
8/10

Pros: "keyless entry; backup camera; large video display;"

Cons: "not too many so far!"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 8

"owned for about 16 months on lease; will keep for 3 years; at lease expiration likely will get a fresh Dodge Journey. I like keyless entry; backup camera; large video display; drives well; peppy engine and smooth transmission"

1 person out of 1 found this review helpful

Do Not Buy

By on Saturday, January 11, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 2,000

10 2.0
overall rating 2 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
2/10
Value
1/10
Reliability
1/10
Quality
1/10
Performance
2/10
Styling
2/10
Comfort
1/10

Pros: "Total Junk"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 1

"Journey is poor excuse for a car.Car does not start every day.Need to jump start it as battery will not hold a charge Dealer states that I do not drive it enough to keep battery charged.You pay over twenty thousand for a car that will not start.What a Joke. Owned Dodges all my life but will never buy another one."

5 people out of 13 found this review helpful

Very good car

By on Tuesday, January 07, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 47,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
Not Rated
Reliability
Not Rated
Quality
Not Rated
Performance
9/10
Styling
9/10
Comfort
9/10

Pros: "great price, good service and safe"

Cons: "none"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"Bought this car in January 2010 and was in an accident three months later to the tune of over $13,000. to repair. Side air bags deployed and in my opinion saved my life but did break 3 ribs. The only expense I've had was to replace tires at 40.000. Still have original battery. It has been a great vehicle. Excellent vehicle for the price."

7 people out of 8 found this review helpful

I Love this car so much, I don't want to part.

By on Saturday, December 28, 2013

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 60,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

Pros: "Safe reliable comfortable"

Cons: "mileage only con"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 9

"just concerned that if I wait too long she won't have much value for a trade in ON A NEWER model. Gas mileage is the only problem with this vehicle, but it's not just a car."

1 person out of 2 found this review helpful

2009 Journey SXT AWD

By on Friday, December 20, 2013

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 60,000

10 7.0
overall rating 7 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
7/10
Value
7/10
Reliability
7/10
Quality
6/10
Performance
8/10
Styling
7/10
Comfort
8/10

Pros: "SUV capabilities with low gas milage"

Cons: "not a true 7 seater"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 7

"I bought my 2009 Dodge Journey with 31k miles and have driven about 30k miles with this vehicle since its purchase. So far, this vehicle has been great for me! From the reviews i have read, most people who have problems with the Journey use the base SE model (V4 with 173 HP). Most reviews for the SXT AWD (V6 with 235HP)version are positive and i concur completely. I live in Chicago and AWD is a must. No problems in snow thus far but it doesnt compare to the Durango i owned before this Journey. The interior has ridiculous amounts of hidden storage (under the seats, in the floor boards, 2 dashboards). GAS MPG has been consistent at 17city, 22 HWY."

6 people out of 7 found this review helpful

Great road car with lots of room

By on Saturday, December 14, 2013

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 79,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

Pros: "Was great with all grand kids"

Cons: "Too big for us now"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"Great Car with road and comforble to drive on trips and quiet"

3 people out of 3 found this review helpful

Best value in 7 seater arena by far!

By on Friday, December 13, 2013

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 26,000

10 9.0
overall rating 9 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
9/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
7/10
Styling
9/10
Comfort
9/10

Pros: "Price, great highway mpg, 7 seats, cargo moving"

Cons: "Bad standard Kumho tires, mushy brakes, rear view"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"Great forward visibility, excellent power, great highway gas mileage, 17 in town as high as 32 on highway, Yes 32 MPG! Looks good, well constructed and safe. Got mine for $22,000 tax tag and title! With seats down massive cargo transport area. Kumho tires that came with it are already worn out, rear visibility is restricted. Could use a rear camera. Brakes are mushy at end of fast stops got to pump the brakes. 7 seats are amazing, kids love it, nothing even came close on price when we were shopping and sips gas on the interstates. Great car"

10 people out of 15 found this review helpful

LOVE this Journey!

By on Tuesday, December 10, 2013

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 85,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
9/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
8/10
Comfort
10/10

Pros: "Handles great, very comfortable to drive and ride"

Cons: "one major blind spot at the drivers side mirror"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"This car rides and drives like a dream! I've had it just over a year and have not had a single issue with it."

5 people out of 9 found this review helpful

Best vehicle ever

By on Tuesday, December 10, 2013

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 20,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

Pros: "great gas milage plenty of room quiet,smooth ride"

Cons: "wish mine had a compass"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"I love the handling and ride. It is so quiet you can hardly hear the other cars on the road. I get 32 mpg on the hiway and about 24 all around. I find it hard to believe the other reviews on poor milage. So far I would rate this the best vehicle I have owned plenty of room in second sest and ok in third. More room than most small suv's in first and second row. I highly recommend it. Drive it, you will like it."

3 people out of 7 found this review helpful

Great fit inside for tall people

By on Tuesday, November 05, 2013

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 56,000

10 1.0
overall rating 1 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
1/10
Value
1/10
Reliability
1/10
Quality
1/10
Performance
1/10
Styling
5/10
Comfort
2/10

Pros: "3yrs and it quit"

Cons: "inside comfortable"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 1

"A three year old car and they can't fix it it won't start intermitently and they can' figure out why. All I am getting is excuses no answers. i will never recommend this to anyone"

5 people out of 9 found this review helpful

2013 SXT

By on Monday, October 21, 2013

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 7,500

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
9/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

Pros: "excellent acceleration/handling"

Cons: "none"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"Not familiar with car when I first saw it on lot. Researched it and test drove it and felt it was a good vehicle to consider. Bought SXT Model. Really happy with city/freeway combined fuel milage of about 24 being typical. Really nice acceleration and handling with smooth shifting. Nice backseat comfort for passengers and i like the drivers front seat room and comfort. Plenty of storage space in rear with third row seats being adequate for grandkid. Would never consider the 4 cyl. engine. Great on highway, plenty of acceleration and great handling. Sound system is great. Uconnect is really nice feature for hands free, works like a champ. Would consider this model again when buying a new car."

6 people out of 7 found this review helpful

bad car to own

By on Saturday, October 19, 2013

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 64,000

10 2.0
overall rating 2 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
2/10
Value
1/10
Reliability
1/10
Quality
1/10
Performance
1/10
Styling
1/10
Comfort
1/10

Pros: "nothing good to say here"

Cons: "sucks gas can not fit 5 persons"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 1

"was told by dealer it got 30mpgs it gets 12 in city and 17 hwy can not get 5 persons in it no leg room battery went bad and found out to change the battery you have to take off the drivers front tire to get to it what a pain will not buy another one and are tradeing it in"

5 people out of 7 found this review helpful

worse car I ever owned

By on Friday, September 27, 2013

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 79,900

10 2.0
overall rating 2 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
2/10
Value
1/10
Reliability
1/10
Quality
1/10
Performance
4/10
Styling
4/10
Comfort
2/10

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 1

"not at all"

1 person out of 11 found this review helpful

worst purchase of my life!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

By on Friday, September 27, 2013

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 30,000

10 2.0
overall rating 2 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
2/10
Value
2/10
Reliability
7/10
Quality
1/10
Performance
Not Rated
Styling
5/10
Comfort
5/10

Pros: "good on gas"

Cons: "horrible car"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 1

"This car is the worst chrysler product i have ever purchased! Who ever thought to put a 4 speed with a 2.4 engine in this car was high or just stupid. Horrible acceleration, sounds like it is going to blow up on the x-press way. No wonder every one is buying foreign. cheap interior, controls hard to select.It could be a good vehicle if you keep it off the x-press way. Was told journey was good vehicle. Boy was they ever wrong. I also bought it new."

3 people out of 6 found this review helpful

Disgusted

By on Monday, September 16, 2013

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 23,000

10 6.0
overall rating 6 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
6/10
Value
6/10
Reliability
6/10
Quality
6/10
Performance
6/10
Styling
8/10
Comfort
8/10

Pros: "Spacious, UConnect, interior design"

Cons: "Transmission, window going out"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 1

"I have had more issues with this vehicle. If a tree fell on it and it was totaled out I would not be upset. The car shift very hard and jerks when going from reverse to drive. Doesn't seem to have much pickup."

2 people out of 3 found this review helpful

2011 DODGE JOURNEY

By on Friday, September 06, 2013

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 29,000

10 9.0
overall rating 9 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
9/10
Value
9/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
9/10
Performance
9/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
9/10

Pros: "reliability,mileage,ride and hauling"

Cons: "a little under-powered, but not a problem"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 9

"Owned approx 3 years with 29,000 mile. only thing I've done are oil changes still original brakes. no problems I have 4cyl auto. all around mileage approx 20mpg Highway approx 27-28mpg. Been a very reliable SUV. rides great and can carry a ton of gear."

2 people out of 2 found this review helpful

The gas Mileage rating is a joke

By on Sunday, August 25, 2013

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 900

10 6.0
overall rating 6 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
6/10
Value
8/10
Reliability
8/10
Quality
5/10
Performance
6/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

Pros: "Space, reclining seats, easy to use"

Cons: "Gas mileage"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 5

"I loved this car when I found it online and wlake don the lot, The reclining seats and floor coolers sold me. I thought this would be an amazing roadtrip car because I take alot of trips. Tho my family is small, I still wanted the space for friends so I upgraded form my 08 dodge caliber to this. So far the only things I am upset about is the gas mileage, it has only evenr gotten to about 20mpg, which is ridiculous considering the majority of my driving is highway and is suppose to get up to 26mpg. For comfort and a larger vehicle I would recommend this, but for gas mileage, def. look into something else if you can afford it, the price is what also sold me on this larger vehicle."

4 people out of 6 found this review helpful

Sort Reviews by: 
Per Page:  5 | 10 | 25
Previous | 1 2 3 ... 15 | Next
Find Deals Near You vehicles for sale matching Dodge Journey near Honolulu. See local deals