Advertisement

Why ads?
Popular at KBB.com
  • Midsize SUV Buyer's Guide
  • 10 Most Fuel-Efficient SUVs
  • Compact SUV Buyer's Guide
  • 15 Best Family Cars of 2015
Go

2009 Dodge Journey

Style:

Consumer Reviews & Ratings

Overall Rating
6.9
Out of 10

Based on 378 Ratings for the 2009 - 2015 models.

Review this car
more rating details
  • Value
    7.2/10
    Quality
    6.9/10
  • Reliability
    7.3/10
    Performance
    7.1/10
  • Comfort
    7.7/10
    Styling
    7.7/10
Sort Reviews by: 
Per Page:  5 | 10 | 25
Previous | 1 ... 13 14 15 16 | Next

I love driving this car.

By on Wednesday, January 18, 2012

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 46,000

10 9.0
overall rating 9 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
9/10
Value
8/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
9/10
Comfort
9/10

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"I love driving this car. Passengers report back seat is very comfortable. Third row seating is best for children. Only complaint is location of front drink holders. Too low to reach small beverages. I can't wait to buy another, newer Journey!"

Good family car

By on Monday, December 26, 2011

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 60,000

10 7.0
overall rating 7 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
7/10
Value
9/10
Reliability
8/10
Quality
8/10
Performance
8/10
Styling
7/10
Comfort
9/10

Pros: "Good price and style"

Cons: "Cannot fit three carseats in second row"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"Drives well, has been dependable other than having to replace brakes routinely even though I drive highway rather than city stop n go driving - that's been more expense than we planned."

Very good vehicle

By on Friday, December 09, 2011

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 38,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

Pros: "Great car for a great price"

Cons: "None"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"This is a great mid sized SUV for a great price. This vehicle has a lot of room and is very comfortable."

Great value - a lot of vehicle for the money

By on Sunday, December 04, 2011

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 44,000

10 9.0
overall rating 9 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
9/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
9/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
9/10
Comfort
10/10

Pros: "Good price, good performance"

Cons: "Brakes wore quickly (but comp'd by the company)"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"We love our Journey. The third row has become invaluable when we had our third baby before we planned. 5yr old, 2 1/2 yr old and new born all fit nicely with plenty of room for getting everything we need from point A to B. Really appreciate the satellite radio."

good vehicle

By on Wednesday, November 09, 2011

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 21,000

10 7.0
overall rating 7 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
7/10
Value
8/10
Reliability
8/10
Quality
8/10
Performance
8/10
Styling
8/10
Comfort
7/10

Pros: "good ride"

Cons: "leg room in rear"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"could use some more leg room in the rear but overall nothing is wrong with this vehicle"

I Love It :)

By on Saturday, November 05, 2011

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 23,500

10 8.0
overall rating 8 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
8/10
Value
8/10
Reliability
9/10
Quality
8/10
Performance
8/10
Styling
8/10
Comfort
8/10

Pros: "fun to drive, looks sporty, comfortable ride"

Cons: "3rd row seat is a little tight"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"Love everything about it, yeah the 3rd row seat is tight but it is smaller and sportier than a minivan. I didnt want another minivan and it suits my purpose. I can still carry alot of kids, but still have the feeling of a smaller car"

Pretty good buy

By on Wednesday, October 26, 2011

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 8,300

10 8.0
overall rating 8 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
8/10
Value
8/10
Reliability
9/10
Quality
8/10
Performance
9/10
Styling
8/10
Comfort
8/10

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"I know we just bought it, but we love it, plenty of space for three in second row. not really confy in thrid row, but you can sit two kids back there. gas is ok. runs super nice. and has some pop!"

Great redesign. WAY better than previous model yrs

By on Monday, October 24, 2011

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 10,000

10 7.0
overall rating 7 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
7/10
Value
8/10
Reliability
8/10
Quality
8/10
Performance
7/10
Styling
7/10
Comfort
9/10

Pros: "Price, Comfort, Controls"

Cons: "Bland extrerior design"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"Improved in every aspect. Just an average looking ride, but fun to drive, great for kids and easy to load up. Powertrain and suspension changes along with new interior has made all the difference."

Great for camping trips

By on Saturday, October 22, 2011

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 10,200

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

Pros: "Comfort, spacious, fun to drive, well-designed"

Cons: "SUV gas mileage"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"This SUV is so comfortable to drive, I love it! It has truly changed the way I drive. I used to hate driving. Now, I have no problem driving for longer trips because this SUV is so comfortable. It's easier to park than my Chrysler Cirrus was, too, even though it's bigger because I can see better out of it. Overall, great SUV for a great price! It gets about 25 mpg highway, which is good for an SUV, but not as good as my old car. Lots of storage space for long trip, camping adventures, Christmas presents, etc. It even has built in storage under the seats and in the floor."

Love it

By on Friday, October 21, 2011

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 25,000

10 8.0
overall rating 8 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
8/10
Value
8/10
Reliability
8/10
Quality
8/10
Performance
9/10
Styling
9/10
Comfort
9/10

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"It's a great little vehicle."

Assume car for the money - Acadia way more money!

By on Friday, October 14, 2011

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 22,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"Compared Dodge Journey, Saturn, GMC Acadia,"

2010 Journey

By on Thursday, October 13, 2011

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 31,000

10 7.0
overall rating 7 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
7/10
Value
8/10
Reliability
9/10
Quality
7/10
Performance
8/10
Styling
7/10
Comfort
8/10

Pros: "Looks, cargo space and fuel efficiency"

Cons: "Too much interior plastic and hard surfaces"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"Lots of interior room in my SXT model. Controls are well thought out and easy to reach. Radio and speakers are very nice. Too much plastic which I thought I'd get used to and really haven't. Not as nice as would be expected in a vehicle in this class and price range. Exterior can look deceptively small which it really isn't. Seems to have a very aerodynamic profile. Mechanically it is an excellent vehicle so far. 3.5 liter engine has lots of power. No major recalls."

Nice vehicle

By on Monday, April 11, 2011

10 8.0
overall rating 8 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
8/10
Value
9/10
Reliability
9/10
Quality
8/10
Performance
8/10
Styling
8/10
Comfort
9/10

"We have had the Journey for just over a year. We have put over 20 thousand miles on it. No problems, nice comfortable ride, decent gas mileage."

great vehicle

By on Thursday, April 07, 2011

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
9/10
Comfort
9/10

"you get alot for the price and comfort"

LOVE this Journey!

By on Sunday, April 03, 2011

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

"GREAT choice for families with kids... plenty of room & great amenities without a "minivan" look! The Journey is stylish & handles like a car... wonderful value!"

By on Wednesday, March 30, 2011

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

This customer did not provide a text review.

Worst Vehicle ever

By on Friday, March 11, 2011

10 2.0
overall rating 2 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
2/10
Value
1/10
Reliability
1/10
Quality
1/10
Performance
1/10
Styling
7/10
Comfort
5/10

"Our spent the first month of ownership at the dealership. The dealership tried to deny our rental car coverage when we had purchased the extended warranty. It requires new brakes every 10k miles. My Chevy truck requires new brakes every 150K. It makes noises and rattles all the time. Would never buy another."

By on Friday, February 25, 2011

10 8.0
overall rating 8 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
8/10
Value
9/10
Reliability
8/10
Quality
8/10
Performance
9/10
Styling
9/10
Comfort
9/10

This customer did not provide a text review.

family friendly

By on Monday, February 21, 2011

10 6.0
overall rating 6 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
6/10
Value
7/10
Reliability
7/10
Quality
8/10
Performance
8/10
Styling
8/10
Comfort
9/10

"I bought this vehicle new. so far it has been great. very family friendly. My wife loves it. It's ideal for someone not wanting to buy a van. It has plenty of storage and leg room. Very comfortable to ride in and rides smooth ride. Styling is sleek and pretty cool. Overall vehicle has been great and an excellent buy for me and my family. Keep in mind though it may not be for everyone."

Does Not Hold Value

By on Tuesday, January 25, 2011

10 5.0
overall rating 5 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
5/10
Value
3/10
Reliability
7/10
Quality
7/10
Performance
7/10
Styling
8/10
Comfort
7/10

"This has been a decent car for us, but it just does not hold its value at all. This is the first vehicle I've ever owned that was not a Toyota, and I was extremely disappointed with this aspect. Toyotas always seemed to hold their value much better than this Journey. I also felt like it was a little expensive for the kind of car. It's a little smaller than most crossovers and not quite as comfortable."

Exactly what I was looking 4

By on Sunday, January 23, 2011

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

"I was looking for a safe, reliable vehicle with all the amenities without the big price tag. The Journey has more than fulfilled my wants and is the best vehicle I have ever owned! Then I went on road trips from California to Utah and Oklahoma. I couldn't believe that I could fall even more head over heels for this vehicle...but I did! The comfort and family-friendliness of this vehicle is out of this world! Thank you, Dodge!"

By on Friday, January 21, 2011

10 4.0
overall rating 4 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
4/10
Value
6/10
Reliability
5/10
Quality
5/10
Performance
5/10
Styling
5/10
Comfort
5/10

This customer did not provide a text review.

Not a SNOW-mobile

By on Thursday, January 20, 2011

10 6.0
overall rating 6 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
6/10
Value
7/10
Reliability
7/10
Quality
8/10
Performance
4/10
Styling
9/10
Comfort
8/10

"The alternater whines. We have never owned a vehicle that got around so TERRIBLE in SNOW! Traction control is more of a hassle than a help. Owned it 3 months now and would trade it in a heartbeat if we could afford it! Comfortable ride. Third row is only for small children - no leg room! Heated seats, auto start, premium sound are great. Looks great!"

Journey to the Mechanics..

By on Sunday, January 16, 2011

10 3.0
overall rating 3 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
3/10
Value
5/10
Reliability
2/10
Quality
2/10
Performance
2/10
Styling
8/10
Comfort
6/10

"We bought this vehicle new. We loved the gas mileage and look of the car. With 4 kids the 3rd row seating is a must. Overall the first 6 months were great. I loved the roomy feel even in the 3rd row. The storage space is limited but with the roof rack we added a Yakima storage unit to the roof. After 6 months...then the problems started. First the dealership is to blame for many of our complaints. Tne car did not come with DVD or leather so we had those features added after purchase from the dealership. When adding the DVD, they ruined the cloth on the ceiling. After 2 times of trying to have them fix the glue stains, and marks we cant figure out what they were, we just gave up. The next thing was the seats. The backs of all the seats came off. So bad on one seat that the back just does not stay anymore and we have been driving with the metal exposed. The inside is made so cheaply that the vents fall out and even the sun visor fell off. The last and worst part of the car is the brakes. We have taken it to have all 4 brakes replaced 3 times. I have owned many cars before this one and have never had the problems this one has. Such a shame for a very nice looking SUV."

Disaster

By on Monday, January 10, 2011

10 3.0
overall rating 3 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
3/10
Value
5/10
Reliability
2/10
Quality
2/10
Performance
2/10
Styling
4/10
Comfort
5/10

"The car's check engine light consistently comes on. The car totally shut down in the middle of the street at 16,000 miles. This is our sixth dodge, but we will never own another."

Sort Reviews by: 
Per Page:  5 | 10 | 25
Previous | 1 ... 13 14 15 16 | Next
Find Deals Near You vehicles for sale matching Dodge Journey near Honolulu. See local deals