Advertisement

Popular at KBB.com
  • 12 Best Family Cars of 2014
  • 10 Best Midsize SUVs
  • 10 Best SUVs Under $25,000
  • 10 Best AWD Cars & SUVs Under $25,000
To save a ZIP code, allow your browser to accept cookies.

Enter Your ZIP Code

ZIP Code:
Save
ZIP Code Lookup

Why do we need your ZIP code?

Kelley Blue Book provides values and other information specific to your location.

Advertisement

Why ads?

2013 Dodge Grand Caravan Passenger Consumer Reviews

The Fair Market Range for this car in your area is $27,897 - $28,824.

look up another car

Look Up Another Car

See this week's price for a:
Go

e.g. Honda e.g. Accord

Price Advisor
What Others Paid
Alert: Your internet browser is out of date Upgrade to the latest version to get the most out of KBB.com
MSRP $30,990

Fair Purchase Price $28,265
Fair Market Range ($27,897 - $28,824)

Invoice $29,540
"What Others Paid" is based on the last 90 days within the U.S.

Upgrade your browser for free to get the most out of KBB.com

Looks like your Internet Explorer (IE) is out of date. For better performance, stability and security, we recommend upgrading to a newer version of IE or trying out a new browser.

Click on an icon below to access that browser’s download page.

  • Internet Explorer

  • Firefox

  • Google Chrome

Advertisement

Why ads?

Advertisement

Why ads?

KBB Expert Rating 6.9 of 10

10/6.9

Buyer's Resources

Apply with our preferred lender now
Calculate your monthly payment

Advertisement

Why ads?

Advertisement

Why ads?

Consumer Reviews & Ratings

Overall Rating
6.7
Out of 10

Based on 242 Ratings for the 2008 - 2014 models.

Review this car
more rating details
  • Value
    7.3/10
    Quality
    6.9/10
  • Reliability
    7.3/10
    Performance
    7.2/10
  • Comfort
    7.7/10
    Styling
    7.7/10
Sort Reviews by: 
Reviews Displayed:  5 | 10 | 25
Previous | 1 2 3 ... 10 | Next

Worst vehicle ever

By on Tuesday, April 15, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 182,000

10 1.0
overall rating 1 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
1/10
Value
Not Rated
Reliability
Not Rated
Quality
Not Rated
Performance
1/10
Styling
2/10
Comfort
2/10

Pros: "Looks nice"

Cons: "Pile of junk"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 1

"This van has given us nothing but trouble all we have done is put money into it because it has needed constant repairs! Will never buy one again!"

Worst vehicle ever

By on Tuesday, April 15, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 182,000

10 1.0
overall rating 1 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
1/10
Value
Not Rated
Reliability
Not Rated
Quality
Not Rated
Performance
1/10
Styling
2/10
Comfort
2/10

Pros: "Looks nice"

Cons: "Pile of junk"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 1

"This van has given us nothing but trouble all we have done is put money into it because it has needed constant repairs! Will never buy one again!"

Worst vehicle ever

By on Tuesday, April 15, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 182,000

10 1.0
overall rating 1 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
1/10
Value
Not Rated
Reliability
Not Rated
Quality
Not Rated
Performance
1/10
Styling
2/10
Comfort
2/10

Pros: "Looks nice"

Cons: "Pile of junk"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 1

"This van has given us nothing but trouble all we have done is put money into it because it has needed constant repairs! Will never buy one again!"

Good choice.

By on Thursday, April 10, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 36,000

10 9.0
overall rating 9 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
9/10
Value
8/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
9/10
Styling
9/10
Comfort
8/10

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 9

"Rides great. Fuel economy generally better than rated. Handles well. Lacks some features that I assumed were standard in almost every car today. You must turn the headlights on manually. No reading lights for middle or back row. Small details, but, overall the car meets every need and makes highway trips a relaxing way of life. Put 36,000 miles on in less than 2 years -- nary a problem."

Best vehicle ever.

By on Thursday, April 03, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 17,778

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

Pros: "Pretty expensive"

Cons: "need running boards wife is handy-cap."

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"This mini-van is really under rated hwy mileage at 65 mph is about 28- 30 mpg, but this crew model is loaded with a lot of options, like heated steering wheel, front and back seats shades in the windows his and her ac and heat control it has the 3.6 engine which delivers a lot of power, The only thing i have to do is change oil, The dealership I bought it from tales care of this mini-van. and they have all of the records."

1 person out of 2 found this review helpful

Disapointed overall with vehicle

By on Friday, March 28, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 48,000

10 5.0
overall rating 5 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
5/10
Value
8/10
Reliability
3/10
Quality
3/10
Performance
5/10
Styling
5/10
Comfort
5/10

Pros: "Good mileage, price"

Cons: "Road noise, cheap radio, early repairs"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 3

"Bought vehicle with 28,000 miles on it. It had some electical/computer issues. Also one or both of the rear shocks needed to be replaced. It was taken back to dealer 2-3 times for warranty repairs before 36,000 miles. Has been OK since. Prior to buying this vehicle I owned a 2005 Grand Caravan SXT. The 2005 was much quieter on the road and had better accessories, radio/temp guages etc. I had new van undercoated and it is still noisy. The gas mileage is better on the 2012.I've had number of Grand Caravans over the years, don't know if I'll get another one."

Great reliable vehicle

By on Sunday, March 16, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 41,000

10 9.0
overall rating 9 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
9/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
8/10

Pros: "Nice ride, handles great."

Cons: "No service light under hood."

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"Bought our 2009 Caravan new and in 5 years have had absolutely no issues with it. We also pull a 3500 lb trailer and sometimes almost forget about the trailer because it pulls it so effortlessly. Only money spent on it in 5 years have been oil changes, tires rotated, and car washes. Will replace with another Caravan when time comes."

5 people out of 8 found this review helpful

I will never buy a Dodge again

By on Monday, March 10, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 70,000

10 3.0
overall rating 3 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
3/10
Value
2/10
Reliability
2/10
Quality
2/10
Performance
5/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

Pros: "Interior conveniences are great"

Cons: "Terrible design - too costly to upkeep"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 1

"This is the worst car I have ever purchased. I had to replace all the rotors within the first 6 months and it went downhill from there. I've spent $1500-$2000 a year replacing parts on this car due to faulty design. I spent 6 months taking the car back to the shop repeatedly due to a faulty wiring problem that the dealership couldn't fix. My car has 70,000 miles on it and I just found out that it needs a new transmission!! I am trading this awful car in for a Honda."

2 people out of 3 found this review helpful

great van for the price

By on Friday, March 07, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 51,000

10 9.0
overall rating 9 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
9/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

Pros: "good gas milage"

Cons: "notthing bad to say about the van"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"Iam a chevy man at heart but my wife and i have had notthing but goodluck with our dodge vans this is the 4th van we have owned.My wife and I realy like and enjoy the van"

2 people out of 4 found this review helpful

Comfortable, Roomy....

By on Friday, February 21, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 45,500

10 9.0
overall rating 9 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
9/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
9/10
Quality
8/10
Performance
8/10
Styling
8/10
Comfort
9/10

Pros: "Comfortable, Roomy and you sit up high."

Cons: "Not the best fuel mileage."

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 9

"This has been one of the most reliable vehicles I've ever owned and I've owned a vehicle since 1958. It is very comfortable and very practical. Despite it being in its 5th year, it still gets about 20mpg, which isn't super but it is steady and it is a large vehicle."

4 people out of 4 found this review helpful

Great vehicle, excellent on the road.

By on Thursday, February 20, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 34,531

10 9.0
overall rating 9 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
9/10
Value
9/10
Reliability
9/10
Quality
9/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
8/10
Comfort
10/10

Pros: "I love the vehicle."

Cons: "This is petty stuff!"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 9

"Very good vehicle for daly use & road trips. excellent ride, comfortable seating and good fuel economy. Really don't have any critizism of the vehicle."

1 person out of 1 found this review helpful

my third dodge caravan and I love it

By on Saturday, October 12, 2013

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 39,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
8/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
9/10
Performance
9/10
Styling
9/10
Comfort
8/10

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 9

"This is my 3rd caravan and the best yet.Love the stow and go seats.Rides like a livingroom on wheels"

7 people out of 7 found this review helpful

My 3rd Dodge Caravan. Can't stop going back.

By on Friday, October 04, 2013

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 28,000

10 9.0
overall rating 9 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
9/10
Value
8/10
Reliability
9/10
Quality
8/10
Performance
7/10
Styling
8/10
Comfort
9/10

Pros: "Comfortable seating, cargo room, versatile"

Cons: "Stow-n-go seats are difficult, should be automatic"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 9

"Easy to maintain. Very comfortable seating and visibility. This one has a remote starter in it, as did all my others. Am afraid to think about trading down again but this is too much vehicle for one person."

3 people out of 3 found this review helpful

very nice car

By on Friday, September 27, 2013

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 54,000

10 9.0
overall rating 9 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
9/10
Value
8/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
9/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

Pros: "drives nice"

Cons: "n/a"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"very dependable car"

1 person out of 1 found this review helpful

At went out at 49000 miles, very unhappy

By on Saturday, September 21, 2013

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 49,000

10 2.0
overall rating 2 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
2/10
Value
8/10
Reliability
1/10
Quality
1/10
Performance
6/10
Styling
7/10
Comfort
Not Rated

Pros: "Handling"

Cons: "Quality"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 5

"3000+ for the repair"

3 people out of 4 found this review helpful

The quality of the grand caravan has gone down

By on Sunday, August 25, 2013

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 16,000

10 3.0
overall rating 3 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
3/10
Value
5/10
Reliability
5/10
Quality
1/10
Performance
4/10
Styling
8/10
Comfort
4/10

Pros: "good price but has issues"

Cons: "engine noise on start up and annoying rattles"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 1

"The Grand Caravan is probably the best priced minivan out there but the overall quality has gone down. I own a 2012 and the engine is noisy when it starts and there are numerous rattles and noises when you go over bumps. I had it in the shop about 5 times in less than 2 months and they still couldn't fix the rattles. I've owned Dodge minivans since 1994 (had 1994, 1998, 2005, and 2008 models) and have driven them all over 160K miles with no issues. I have been very happy with the Grand Caravan until I purchased the 2012. Based on my 2012 model I would not buy another Dodge vehicle."

17 people out of 22 found this review helpful

Great family vehicle

By on Wednesday, May 29, 2013

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 47,000

10 8.0
overall rating 8 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
8/10
Value
9/10
Reliability
8/10
Quality
8/10
Performance
8/10
Styling
9/10
Comfort
9/10

Pros: "Functionality and price"

Cons: "almost none."

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 9

"We have a 4 year old and twins age 5 months. We have grown into this van, as we bought it new 3 years ago... very convenient getting kids in and out, including car seats, stroller, etc. The electric sliding doors on both sides are priceless as well as the electric hatch/gate. The stow and go seats provide flexibility for the occasionally needed extra space. We got ours on sale for $23000. What a bargain. Very few problems - remote keys wear out too soon, but under warranty for the first 3 years. mileage good for the size. We took it camping a couple times, loaded down and up steep grades. Plenty of power. Ive owned at least 20 cars in my life. This one has got to be one of the best buys I ever made."

16 people out of 17 found this review helpful

Never Again!

By on Friday, May 03, 2013

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 60,000

10 4.0
overall rating 4 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
4/10
Value
4/10
Reliability
8/10
Quality
4/10
Performance
4/10
Styling
8/10
Comfort
8/10

Pros: "entertainment package"

Cons: "electrical, leg room, etc...."

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 1

"I have a 2008 fully loaded, power everything. Spent $40,000 on the vehicle. It is in the shop ALL of the time. The electrical in this is terrible! Over the past 5 years I have had a rental, due to repairs, approx. 1 1/2 months. Sometimes for the same issues(ie. electric seats). We bought the swivel n' go, more fun for the kids. Not a lot of leg room in the back. I have 4 boys and as they have grown their legs are tangled up back there. This is not a car I will ever buy again. I should have bought a Suburban instead."

10 people out of 19 found this review helpful

OUTSTANDING MINIVAN IS THIS THE FUTCER OF MINIVANS

By on Friday, April 26, 2013

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 316,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
9/10
Styling
8/10
Comfort
9/10

Pros: "everything"

Cons: "non"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"AMAZING wow love it 6 years not one problom everyone should have one in there garage"

5 people out of 6 found this review helpful

Stow and go seats are a dream.

By on Monday, April 01, 2013

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 60,100

10 9.0
overall rating 9 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
9/10
Value
9/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

Pros: "Great value for the money"

Cons: "19 mpg average ,16mpg city,24mpg hiway"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"SE version has just enough accessories to make it usable.Stow and go seats convert to a cargo van in 5 minutes or less.Horse power is just enough for quick acceleration and blending into freeway traffic."

12 people out of 17 found this review helpful

love this vehicle

By on Wednesday, March 27, 2013

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 53,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
9/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"We love our 2008 Dodge Caravan. It is reliable and comfortable. We got pretty good mileage 23-26 mpg on the road, and this is fully loaded with all our things for a two month vacation. It is a little bit noisy inside on the highway, but not intolerable. We can still hear our music. We love sitting up higher and being able to see out of all the windows. We did add a blind spot mirror on the driver's side view mirror.It handles well on curves in the mountains. We would buy another Dodge Caravan."

8 people out of 11 found this review helpful

Not Your Average Minivan

By on Tuesday, March 26, 2013

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 18,000

10 9.0
overall rating 9 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
9/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
9/10
Quality
9/10
Performance
9/10
Styling
8/10
Comfort
7/10

Pros: "Loads of power, good price point, kid friendly"

Cons: "DVD mid mounted screen, 3rd row seats, cheap tires"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"Many of us middle aged guys hate the prospect of buying a minivan; those large square boxes that lumber down the road, blocking lanes of traffic for miles. I always hated the idea of having to own a minivan, constantly looking at large SUVs and crossovers as the alternative. My wife and I were in total agreement; avoid the minivan at all costs. As we shopped, we looked at many vehicles from Toyota, Subaru, Ford, Chevy, VW, Nissan, Kia, and Dodge. We avoided looking at minivans, focusing on the crossovers and SUVs. We kept test driving them, and almost fully settled on the Ford Excursion, but we kept looking at the upfront price, then the years of gas tanks that would drain our pockets. ------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------- We then decided to look at minivans. We test drove several, but just did not like how they felt. We went back and test drove our primary alternative to the minivan, the Dodge Journey, but it just didn't seem roomy enough for our two little ones. Finally, we broke down and test drove a Dodge Grand Caravan. The handling was crisp, the power was impressive to say the least, and it had the roomy features we needed. For the features we were looking for, it had what we needed below the cost point we were looking at. The third row seating is a bit hard to get into, and are not as comfortable as the other seats in the van. It should also be noted that the third row seats have a rather steep slope to them, so getting out of them can also be a challenge. -------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------- Once we got our new Grand Caravan, we were hooked. Both my wife and I are drivers, as in we like power and agility over anything else. Being fans of the UK TopGear, we decided to run the van through test after test to see how it performed. Hands down, it was a jewel. Then there was a surprise, the whine and sudden whoosh from a waste gate dump as the van shifted under heavy acceleration. Could it be? More checking and a vin ID that indicated it was a "Sport Van" and not a minivan. This little minivan came equipped with a turbo charger! The lag on it was barely noticeable at first, until we began feeling for it. When the turbo kicks in, the power will nearly rip the steering wheel from your hands. This thing requires 2 hands to keep it under control under hard acceleration. This was a driver's minivan, not a soccer mom/dad minivan. Corvettes and sports cars were our new prey. We laughed at the bewildered looks of Corvette owners as we both launched off the stop light and we held neck-to-neck as both vehicles rapidly accelerated. A twin turbo charged Nissan Z owner, complete with racing modifications, hung their head in shame as a minivan held up against their tuner performance. We now loved this minivan on performance alone. --------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------- Now with the performance solidified, we looked at the other features that came packed in. The DVD entertainment system, with a single screen midline, was good for the kids, but hinders a little of the view through the rearview mirror. The backup camera is a definite must, and is very handy. We absolutely love the stow-n-go seating, which is proprietary to Dodge/Chrysler minivans. One of the first things we did was haul a couch in the back of the van, and it did it with the hatch closed! That leads into the excellent cargo capacity. With all seats folded down, you have a very nice and cavernous space to haul your goods in. Because of the proprietary stow-n-go seating, there is no need to physically remove and store the seats somewhere else. The audio system is very clean and clear, with a solid thump to the bass and crisp mids and highs. We did notice that the tires that are installed standard were not the best, as we had to replace the front tires at less than 16000 miles from all of the hard cornering and tire ripping performance. --------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------- There are very few items I would even consider a negative on this van. It has the pavement chewing performance that drivers want, and the utility and versatility that families need as they grow. There is no doubt, we are not the typical minivan owners, but as much as we hate them, we love this minivan!"

26 people out of 33 found this review helpful

Good vehicle but with some issues

By on Saturday, March 23, 2013

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 91,000

10 7.0
overall rating 7 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
7/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
7/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
9/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
7/10

Pros: "good price and comfortable"

Cons: "motor noise, A/c and wiring"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 8

"What I have read on reviews from this vehicle and have had to deal with is the vans motor sounds and the air conditioning unit. My van sounds strong but some slight knocking with the engine, nothing is wrong with it from what the auto mechanic said but the noise isn't the quitest. Also this van is known to have A/c issues in which they are inexpensive except if its a wiring issue. This wan does not have a Chilton manual yet since its not the end of its line so you either have to look up your issues via google or pay $195 for the dealership service manual. Blower motor resistor ($25 from dealership or online) or the blower motor ($120-$175) are usually the issues in which if you repair it yourself its inexpensive. The wiring may be difficult to fix but if your tech savy you should be able to find the wires to the blower motor and replace or repair the ( wire stripping and reconnect redo connection areas). Remember to always disconnect the negative ( black) to the battery before you do any repairs on your vehicle to prevent shock or shorting out other things on your vehicle. Besides these issues I would say that the van is comfortable and I love it. If you want something that wont have issues for awhile I recommend getting a brand new vehicle."

2 people out of 4 found this review helpful

It is a great family car.

By on Thursday, March 07, 2013

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 33,500

10 6.0
overall rating 6 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
6/10
Value
6/10
Reliability
5/10
Quality
6/10
Performance
7/10
Styling
8/10
Comfort
3/10

Pros: "Lots of room love the stow and go"

Cons: "Driver seat middle chairs stowed"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 5

"I was one of the .5of 1% that had the bad head on the new motor that Dodge put in it. I have had several little things break, but were fixed under warranty. Having some trim pieces starting to wrinkle and waiting to see what Dodge wants to do with it. Over all it has lots of power.I find the driver seat is very uncomfortable for long trips.I have the power seat."

3 people out of 4 found this review helpful

Worst caravan i have ever owned.

By on Wednesday, February 27, 2013

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 50,800

10 1.0
overall rating 1 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
1/10
Value
8/10
Reliability
Not Rated
Quality
Not Rated
Performance
1/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 1

"This car needed brakes, rotors , or calibers or all three every six months. I did turn it into the lemon law and received my money back."

5 people out of 10 found this review helpful

Sort Reviews by: 
Reviews Displayed:  5 | 10 | 25
Previous | 1 2 3 ... 10 | Next

Advertisement

Why ads?
 
Have comments about the Fair Purchase Price? Give us your feedback.