Advertisement

Why ads?
Popular at KBB.com
  • 15 Best Family Cars of 2015
  • 10 Best Midsize SUVs
  • 10 Best SUVs Under $25,000
  • 10 Best AWD Cars & SUVs Under $25,000
Go

2009 Dodge Grand Caravan Passenger

Style:

Consumer Reviews & Ratings

Overall Rating
6.9
Out of 10

Based on 288 Ratings for the 2008 - 2015 models.

Review this car
more rating details
  • Value
    7.4/10
    Quality
    7.0/10
  • Reliability
    7.4/10
    Performance
    7.3/10
  • Comfort
    7.8/10
    Styling
    7.7/10
Sort Reviews by: 
Per Page:  5 | 10 | 25

LOVE OUR 2010 GRAND CARAVAN SE

By on Tuesday, August 14, 2012

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 19,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

Pros: "Price, comfort, dependability, safety"

Cons: "Zero"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"We love our van. bought new almost 2 years ago and use mostly for road trips. Grand kids love going places in the van. Has been used by 2 of our daughters for their trips also. Have had absolutely "no" problems with this vehicle. Love the stow n go and all the room. Have traveled with 7 passengers and luggage comfortably. Roomy, comfortable, reliable. Only service was our regular oil changes and get 28mpg highway. Not sure of city mpg since we don't use for a lot of city driving and have never really noticed (if mileage was very low, I would have noticed). We are very pleased with this car. We purchased the base model with only a few options. Saw where someone had problems with keys and cost $900 but when we purchased this van I had extra key made for our daughter and only cost $45. Have the sliding doors, not power, and my 3 year old grand daughter can easily open doors. Great protection with side curtain air bags in all rows."

12 people out of 12 found this review helpful

Bad transmissions

By on Saturday, February 11, 2012

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 88,000

10 3.0
overall rating 3 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
3/10
Value
5/10
Reliability
2/10
Quality
2/10
Performance
4/10
Styling
8/10
Comfort
8/10

Pros: "a lot of room, easy to drive"

Cons: "transmissions, wheel bearings, gear shifter"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 6

"Have put in a new transmission every 30,000 miles, have had 3 set of wheel bearings put on, have had to have the dash removed and a new gear shifter put on. I have 88,000 miles on it. Unless I got the 1 lemon not my choice of a good vehicle. I do like the room and the fact that the seats fold down into the floor. Great for family if only not a lemon."

8 people out of 8 found this review helpful

My 3rd Dodge Caravan. Can't stop going back.

By on Friday, October 04, 2013

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 28,000

10 9.0
overall rating 9 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
9/10
Value
8/10
Reliability
9/10
Quality
8/10
Performance
7/10
Styling
8/10
Comfort
9/10

Pros: "Comfortable seating, cargo room, versatile"

Cons: "Stow-n-go seats are difficult, should be automatic"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 9

"Easy to maintain. Very comfortable seating and visibility. This one has a remote starter in it, as did all my others. Am afraid to think about trading down again but this is too much vehicle for one person."

7 people out of 7 found this review helpful

Perfect vehicle for travel or just around town.

By on Monday, January 23, 2012

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 55,000

10 9.0
overall rating 9 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
9/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
9/10
Quality
9/10
Performance
9/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

Pros: "Great value, versatile and functional"

Cons: "Haven't found any !"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"I gave up driving vans after I turned 30. I returned at age 55 and had forgotten how nice it is to have the versatility and functionality of a van. After purchasing this one, I found out why GM and others gave up on mini-vans. Hands down, Dodge has thought of everything regarding comfort and functionality. Excellent vehicle for this retiree !! Stow the rear seats and you really can fit a 4' x 8' sheet of plywood/drywall in back !! Amazing."

4 people out of 4 found this review helpful

Nice, easy to handle vehicle

By on Thursday, October 20, 2011

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 45,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
9/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
9/10

Pros: "Stow-N-Go seats, good acceleration, dependable"

Cons: "Seat comfort, heat vents"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"Good, dependable vehicle. Just replaced brakes, no other maintenance needed other than 3,0000-4,0000 oil changes. I did replace the windshield wipers last spring. Very roomy for all seven of us. Decent gas mileage. LOVE the stow-n-Go seat flexibility. Cons: Stow-n-Go seats are not as comfortable as non-Stow-n-Go seats. The heat will not turn all the way off at times. But in winter, not enough heat on drivers left foot."

4 people out of 4 found this review helpful

have had so many problems with this van

By on Thursday, November 11, 2010

10 2.0
overall rating 2 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
2/10
Value
5/10
Reliability
3/10
Quality
1/10
Performance
3/10
Styling
6/10
Comfort
6/10

"Do not buy.. especially if 2008!"

4 people out of 4 found this review helpful

Regrets

By on Friday, October 08, 2010

10 4.0
overall rating 4 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
4/10
Value
5/10
Reliability
6/10
Quality
5/10
Performance
6/10
Styling
7/10
Comfort
6/10

"I bought this new off the floor in 2008. It had all the bells and whistles, and most of the have either broken off or had to be fixed. Items replaced or fixed: carpet, seat handle x3, tailgate trim(needs it again), computer recalibrated x5, left sliding door opens unexpectedly, brakes 1st year, back seat has folded down 3x with my grandsons in their carseats..hmmm..that's all I can remember, for now. I love the comfort & heat of the front and middle seats, DVD player, and the sound system. Will I get another one?????? NO!!!!!!!!! That's not even counting the lousy service at the Dealership. Opps! I forgot, 4 adults seat comfortably, don't try to put them in the backseat. You'll need a crane to get them out! maybe the jaws of life."

4 people out of 4 found this review helpful

not bad, but could hope for better gas mileage

By on Wednesday, May 09, 2012

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 32,000

10 8.0
overall rating 8 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
8/10
Value
6/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
8/10
Performance
5/10
Styling
9/10
Comfort
8/10

Pros: "comfortable"

Cons: "nothing bad to say, lol"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 7

"no real complaints, enjoyable ride, for me anyway and i'm a pretty large guy"

3 people out of 3 found this review helpful

love the looks

By on Wednesday, April 04, 2012

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 76,000

10 4.0
overall rating 4 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
4/10
Value
4/10
Reliability
4/10
Quality
4/10
Performance
4/10
Styling
5/10
Comfort
5/10

Pros: "roomy, stow"

Cons: "Powertrain probs, computer probs"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 3

"have owned for less than 1 year. Have had PCM replaced twice. Headlight computer replaced. All new brakes and rotors. Been in garage 5 times now. Oil runs low constantly even though I am getting changed every 3 months. Not reliable. I love the interior and exterior and sliding doors! Love the stow and go. Kids love the back windows that roll all the way down. Roomy van and comfortable. Drives noisy and not smooth but normal for vans. I really hope we just got a lemon and not all are like this bc it really is a sharp looking van that I love to drive when it is problem free. We are looking into a new vehicle now."

3 people out of 3 found this review helpful

Good vehicle for family with children

By on Thursday, February 16, 2012

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 37,000

10 8.0
overall rating 8 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
8/10
Value
8/10
Reliability
9/10
Quality
8/10
Performance
8/10
Styling
8/10
Comfort
9/10

Pros: "Good price comfortable to drive"

Cons: "Minimal bells and whistles but has necessities"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"Reliable vehicle that is comfortable to drive long distances. Decent gas mileage. Overall ideal vehicle for family with children."

3 people out of 3 found this review helpful

Sort Reviews by: 
Per Page:  5 | 10 | 25
Find Deals Near You vehicles for sale matching Dodge Grand Caravan Passenger near Honolulu. See local deals