Go

2008 Dodge Grand Caravan Passenger

Style:

Consumer Reviews & Ratings

Overall Rating
7.0
Out of 10

Based on 314 Ratings for the 2008 - 2017 models.

Review this car
more rating details
  • Value
    7.4/10
    Quality
    7.0/10
  • Reliability
    7.5/10
    Performance
    7.4/10
  • Comfort
    7.8/10
    Styling
    7.8/10
Sort Reviews by: 
Per Page:  5 | 10 | 25
Previous | 1 ... 10 11 12 13 | Next

Squeak Squeak Squeak

By on Friday, December 3, 2010

10 5.0
overall rating 5 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
5/10
Value
7/10
Reliability
6/10
Quality
5/10
Performance
6/10
Styling
7/10
Comfort
6/10

"This vehicle has a ton of room. I can fit a 4 x 8 piece of plywood in it. 12 ' 2x4s fit corner to corner - and the lift gate shuts. It holds half a soccer team, or the whole family, plus luggage and the (large) family dog very comfortably. The stow and go seating is excellent and works easily. The problem with this 2008 vehicle is that the quality is worse than even any 1970s or 1980s vintage American car I have ever had. The shifter know keeps falling off. There is a squeak in the front end that Dodge can't seem to fix. The brakes were recalled. It chews up tires even with regular rotation. The dashboard rattles. Visibility due to the passenger A-piller is horrible. If on the highway with three passengers and I am running the A/C, passing acceleration is not there. You step on the gas, and it doesn't go (unless I remember to turn the A/C off first). I would hope that Chrysler can solve this model's problems, because this vehicle has a lot of potential with a better engine, transmission, design, quality . . . like a Ford."

1 person out of 2 found this review helpful

Good Vehicle

By on Wednesday, August 25, 2010

10 7.0
overall rating 7 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
7/10
Value
8/10
Reliability
8/10
Quality
8/10
Performance
8/10
Styling
8/10
Comfort
8/10

"I have owned Dodge vehicles since 1996 and have been very happy with them and the service. We still have our 1996 Intrepid that we bought new. This is our 4 th Dodge van and it's the best one. Lots of power with the 4.0 and gas milage is better than what my sister in law gets with her Honda van. We bought it certified pre-owned from the same dealer we bought all our Dodge vehicles from. My husband owns 2 Dodge trucks. 2005 2500 and a 2008 1500. He also bought the New 2008 Dodge Challenger limited edition. All our vehicles have been reliable and a joy to drive. The van is comfortable and very handy to have. The 2008 is the best riding van we have had. I plan to keep this one for a long time."

1 person out of 2 found this review helpful

i hate dodge

By on Thursday, May 6, 2010

10 7.0
overall rating 7 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
7/10
Value
8/10
Reliability
8/10
Quality
7/10
Performance
9/10
Styling
5/10
Comfort
5/10

"This van is a dodge thats all i can say. Very hard to sit in back seat. Had to replace back brakes at 23000 mi. Not fun to ride in, and if your cloths are on the carpet it will get thread form then and turn that color. We should of buyed flex."

1 person out of 2 found this review helpful

Dodge 2009 Grand Caravan

By on Wednesday, October 7, 2009

10 8.0
overall rating 8 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
8/10
Value
9/10
Reliability
9/10
Quality
8/10
Performance
9/10
Styling
7/10
Comfort
9/10

"Had the van for nearly six months and have no complaints. I have ony had one minor issue with a defective keyfob. This is the ultimate family vehicle. Lots of room and designed for comfort."

1 person out of 2 found this review helpful

By on Monday, December 1, 2008

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
9/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
9/10
Comfort
10/10

This customer did not provide a text review.

1 person out of 2 found this review helpful

best vehicle we have ever owned. Won't by anything

By on Friday, April 3, 2015

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 69,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

Pros: "easiest vehicle ever to drive,"

Cons: "gas mileage is soso"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"We have owned the Dodge Grand Caravan since 2005. Not only is it roomy to travel in with 2 big dogs and a cat, the ride is very comfortable. My husband falls asleep all the time because it is that comfortable. The Grand Caravan is the easiest vehicle I have ever driven. I would recommend the Dodge Grand Caravan in a heart beat."

12 people out of 25 found this review helpful

Does not stand behind vehicle

By on Wednesday, June 3, 2015

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 67,000

10 5.0
overall rating 5 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
5/10
Value
5/10
Reliability
6/10
Quality
4/10
Performance
5/10
Styling
6/10
Comfort
6/10

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 1

"We had some issues with our caravan that should have been covered by warranty. Dodge refused to cover this issue. Both rear doors rub the rear quarter panels. This is a very common problem with this model, yet they refused to fix it. We will never buy another dodge caravan."

9 people out of 20 found this review helpful

Dodge, what more can I say, Piece of junk!

By on Wednesday, October 26, 2011

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 32,000

10 1.0
overall rating 1 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
1/10
Value
3/10
Reliability
1/10
Quality
1/10
Performance
1/10
Styling
1/10
Comfort
1/10

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 1

"We baught this van 4 months ago. From day 1 had problems. We will never buy another dodge product. Problems with the air vents, sliding doors, van shutting off by itself etc. The worst vehicle we have ever owned. Dodge should just fold up and go out of business. Be warned stay away from dodge."

5 people out of 11 found this review helpful

Great Van

By on Sunday, June 28, 2015

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 76,000

10 9.0
overall rating 9 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
9/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

Pros: "good price, handles well"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"I really like our van. It is reliable, looks great."

8 people out of 19 found this review helpful

Don't buy this van

By on Monday, June 9, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 159,000

10 1.0
overall rating 1 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
1/10
Value
1/10
Reliability
2/10
Quality
1/10
Performance
2/10
Styling
1/10
Comfort
3/10

Pros: "None"

Cons: "Tons of problems, electrical, mechanical"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 1

"We have owned this van since January 2013. We bought is used at a dealership with 68,000 miles on it. Driving off of the lot, the seal on the windshield came off and was flapping against the window. Then within the first four months of owning it, we had to replace the front brake pads, rotors and calipers ($700). We had to replace two tires. Then we started having problems with the shifter. It would stick in and lock so that you can't remove the key. Then the ignition started malfunctioning so that the car doesn't always start. And, the A/C went out. This car is a joke. For a car that is marketed and designed for families, this is a huge disappointment and financial burden. Do not buy this car! Wish we hadn't!"

8 people out of 19 found this review helpful

Drives nice

By on Saturday, March 7, 2015

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 118,621

10 8.0
overall rating 8 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
8/10
Value
8/10
Reliability
8/10
Quality
7/10
Performance
8/10
Styling
7/10
Comfort
8/10

Pros: "inside only has 1 small (tiny) hole in drver's sea"

Cons: "CV joints clicking barely, right rotor not the bes"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 8

"Needs CV Joints they're clicking real quietly right now. Back passenger tail-light still works at least, but the light cover is glued, but at least still works. Small (tiny) dent on the right of the rear light.....I mean tiny."

2 people out of 5 found this review helpful

disappointing van to own

By on Saturday, June 28, 2014

I owned and sold this car
Reason: Poor quality,reliability

10 1.0
overall rating 1 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
1/10
Value
3/10
Reliability
1/10
Quality
1/10
Performance
3/10
Styling
2/10
Comfort
2/10

Pros: "none"

Cons: "Poor quality"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 1

"We bought our Caravan to replace our old Toyota Sienna.Our 02 Sienna gave us ten plus years of worry free driving.Only had to repair the breaks,struts,and one ball joint during that time. We bought our Caravan used for a fair price,and it seemed like a great car for the first 6 months. Then a transmission cooling line and a power steering line went bad fixed it for $700 and thought that should be it for a while.During the last six months check engine light came on and wont go away no one can figure it out.The passenger a/c stopped blowing cold air,the 3.8 engine is burning about 2 quarts of oil every 3000 miles now and the automatic sliding door broke!Today after about one year I traded it in on a newer Sienna. I lost some money on the deal,but I defiantly gained some peace of mind!A friend of mine owns a 2012 Caravan and he is having a lot of the same sort of issues . I think they are just a poorly made vehicle ."

2 people out of 5 found this review helpful

1st Dodge, last Dodge

By on Monday, April 27, 2009

10 3.0
overall rating 3 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
3/10
Value
4/10
Reliability
4/10
Quality
4/10
Performance
4/10
Styling
6/10
Comfort
6/10

"POOR quality vehicle-- nothing but problems. Buyer beware !!"

2 people out of 5 found this review helpful

Love my van. Alas! Someone rear ended me!

By on Tuesday, February 10, 2015

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 58,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"Drives great! The only negative I have is we had to add blue tooth. It was not stock."

7 people out of 18 found this review helpful

Very nice vehicle. Other than too much road noise

By on Friday, May 29, 2015

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 48,500

10 8.0
overall rating 8 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
8/10
Value
8/10
Reliability
9/10
Quality
7/10
Performance
9/10
Styling
7/10
Comfort
7/10

Pros: "good price, the 4.0 is great, fun for family/dog"

Cons: "too much road noise"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 9

"Stow and go is wonderful, mileage is ok, fit is good. Tires that come with the car are just fair, it makes sense to upgrade at the time of purchase."

3 people out of 9 found this review helpful

Price i paid was ok for private sale

By on Thursday, August 28, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 55,000

10 7.0
overall rating 7 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
7/10
Value
7/10
Reliability
5/10
Quality
8/10
Performance
9/10
Styling
8/10
Comfort
9/10

Pros: "great price, lots of utility, great warranty."

Cons: "Reliability concerns"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 6

"Vehicle had transmission work after noticing loud noise during shifting but this was covered under warranty as was the leaky intake manifold gasket. Has had repair for malfunctioning EVAP canister which cost 40 bucks. Van sat for 8 months before i purchased but price was right and frankly i did expect to put a little money into it because it sat so long. Rides well and is excellent family hauler. I would and am considering trading this van in for new one."

1 person out of 3 found this review helpful

Disapointed overall with vehicle

By on Friday, March 28, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 48,000

10 5.0
overall rating 5 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
5/10
Value
8/10
Reliability
3/10
Quality
3/10
Performance
5/10
Styling
5/10
Comfort
5/10

Pros: "Good mileage, price"

Cons: "Road noise, cheap radio, early repairs"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 3

"Bought vehicle with 28,000 miles on it. It had some electical/computer issues. Also one or both of the rear shocks needed to be replaced. It was taken back to dealer 2-3 times for warranty repairs before 36,000 miles. Has been OK since. Prior to buying this vehicle I owned a 2005 Grand Caravan SXT. The 2005 was much quieter on the road and had better accessories, radio/temp guages etc. I had new van undercoated and it is still noisy. The gas mileage is better on the 2012.I've had number of Grand Caravans over the years, don't know if I'll get another one."

1 person out of 3 found this review helpful

no bells/whistles

By on Tuesday, January 24, 2012

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 20,000

10 5.0
overall rating 5 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
5/10
Value
6/10
Reliability
6/10
Quality
6/10
Performance
5/10
Styling
6/10
Comfort
5/10

Pros: "outside temp"

Cons: "no rear wing windows to open. no speaker options."

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 6

"don't buy se - standard equipment"

1 person out of 3 found this review helpful

Bad Idea

By on Wednesday, November 30, 2011

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 20,000

10 5.0
overall rating 5 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
5/10
Value
7/10
Reliability
6/10
Quality
6/10
Performance
7/10
Styling
7/10
Comfort
7/10

Pros: "Plenty of room for 6 people. Swivel n go."

Cons: "Cheaply build, low mpg, poor preformance."

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 6

"We have owned 2 previous used Dodge minivans before and were very pleased, and sadly this has been the worst. A/C went out at 18,000 luckily it was in warranty, the electric sliding doors have a mind of their own at times and the same goes for the transmission. It same engine as our 97 and 05 but it feels underpowered, I understand this is no sports car, but I would think it should be better than our 97 3.8L that achieved nearly 28mpg on the hwy with 4 passengers. while our 2009 3.8L rarely gets above 21mpg @ 65mph. The only thing that seems to be decent is the suspension and ride comfort otherwise its a waste of 30k. My advice, stay away from the 2007-2010 models. Go older like 2003-2006 or the newest 2011 with the better engine."

1 person out of 3 found this review helpful

Great family van has all the bells and whistles!

By on Tuesday, November 1, 2011

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 48,000

10 9.0
overall rating 9 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
9/10
Value
9/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
9/10
Performance
9/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
9/10

Pros: "Almost everything!"

Cons: "Rattles"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"Great power very comfortable for a family of five excellent reliabilty and sporty look makes you think your not in a typical van! The only down sides are the handling is typical of a van and the overhead console with the two dvd screens has a tendency to rattle and im OCD so it drives me crazy others may not mind. Great van we have been many places and are planning a trip out west next year in it! Highly recommended:)"

1 person out of 3 found this review helpful

Love to drive this vehicle on road trips

By on Wednesday, August 17, 2011

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 46,000

10 8.0
overall rating 8 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
8/10
Value
8/10
Reliability
9/10
Quality
8/10
Performance
9/10
Styling
9/10
Comfort
8/10

Pros: "Mileage"

Cons: "Rattles here and there"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"Have owned several Dodge caravans and find them great people and item haulers"

1 person out of 3 found this review helpful

By on Friday, March 12, 2010

10 4.0
overall rating 4 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
4/10
Value
4/10
Reliability
6/10
Quality
2/10
Performance
5/10
Styling
5/10
Comfort
6/10

This customer did not provide a text review.

1 person out of 3 found this review helpful

LEMON

By on Tuesday, September 9, 2008

10 5.0
overall rating 5 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
5/10
Value
6/10
Reliability
6/10
Quality
3/10
Performance
6/10
Styling
7/10
Comfort
8/10

"Problems: brakes rotors sliding doors front end noise gear shifter bumper trim seats"

1 person out of 3 found this review helpful

Do not waste your time and money on this car

By on Tuesday, June 9, 2015

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 90,000

10 1.0
overall rating 1 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
1/10
Value
1/10
Reliability
1/10
Quality
1/10
Performance
1/10
Styling
1/10
Comfort
1/10

Pros: "Lots of room"

Cons: "Not worth the cost or headache in reliability"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 1

"If I could give it a zero i would. Just Google complaints and watch the screen light up with electrical, transmission and brake problems with this car. Make sure you read the warranty really well because there are several loopholes that they will use every time to get out pf paying for the repair. The money I have sunk into this vehicle is astronomical, even for small repairs. The performance of the car is poor and there are better models out there. Cheap and not very well made."

3 people out of 11 found this review helpful

ok

By on Tuesday, October 21, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 74,000

10 5.0
overall rating 5 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
5/10
Value
2/10
Reliability
2/10
Quality
2/10
Performance
5/10
Styling
5/10
Comfort
5/10

Pros: "lots of room to haul stuff"

Cons: "replacement parts are way to expensive"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 4

"it was ok untill I had to replace a y hose and I could not buy just the hose you have to buy the hose and a pipe and you do not need the pipe it was so stupid. I need a reliable car and this is not it."

3 people out of 11 found this review helpful

Sort Reviews by: 
Per Page:  5 | 10 | 25
Previous | 1 ... 10 11 12 13 | Next
Find Deals Near You vehicles for sale matching Dodge Grand Caravan Passenger near Honolulu. See local deals
Advertisement