Advertisement

Why ads?
Popular at KBB.com
  • 12 Best Family Cars of 2014
  • 10 Best Midsize SUVs
  • 10 Best SUVs Under $25,000
  • 10 Best AWD Cars & SUVs Under $25,000
Go

2003 Dodge Grand Caravan Passenger

Style:

Consumer Reviews & Ratings

Overall Rating
7.5
Out of 10

Based on 764 Ratings for the 2001 - 2007 models.

Review this car
more rating details
  • Value
    7.9/10
    Quality
    7.8/10
  • Reliability
    8.0/10
    Performance
    8.0/10
  • Comfort
    8.5/10
    Styling
    8.3/10
Sort Reviews by: 
Per Page:  5 | 10 | 25
Previous | 1 2 3 ... 31 | Next

Excellent condition

By on Monday, November 24, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 136,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"The reason for wanting to trade is because I want to buy a small car for my wife."

Quality, reliable transportation

By on Wednesday, November 19, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 148,000

10 9.0
overall rating 9 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
9/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
9/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
9/10
Comfort
9/10

Pros: "MPG, comfort, DVD System, inexpensive to repair"

Cons: "none to speak of"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"Bought this van with 80xxx miles and now selling it with 148xxx. Have done brakes, tires, water pump, radiator and basic tune up items. That is about it. Has been very reliable. Has taken us recently on a 5,000 mile cross country vacation. I was tempted to look for another one in this same year range based on reviews of newer models. I believe it would have ran another 100K if you kept up with maintenance. Very impressed."

2 people out of 2 found this review helpful

Excellent reliable van - same mechanic for years

By on Friday, October 31, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 121,000

10 8.0
overall rating 8 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
8/10
Value
9/10
Reliability
9/10
Quality
8/10
Performance
9/10
Styling
7/10
Comfort
10/10

Pros: "Great price and reliable"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 9

"After driving cars for many years and suffering with lower back pain; it was so refreshing to drive this van. My back did not hurt so much. I did not get shaken up when I drove in ruts on the road. This van has lasted much longer than folks told me it would and still drives 80 miles/hr on highways. It served my family and friends, who borrowed it for long distance vacations, well !"

3 people out of 6 found this review helpful

nice

By on Wednesday, October 29, 2014

I want this car

10 8.0
overall rating 8 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
8/10
Value
6/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
8/10
Comfort
10/10

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 9

"good shape"

1 person out of 1 found this review helpful

great minivan

By on Thursday, October 23, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 190,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

Pros: "easy to drive great sound system."

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"This is my second Grand Caravan. The first one was an early model, all kinds of problems. This one is a Sport model. 4 captain style seats and a 3rd row bench. Got it from a friend so I knew it ran good and was well maintained. It now has close to 190,000 miles and it runs great and the seat is the most comfortable I ever had on any vehicle. Plenty of power, does 90 mph with no problem. no leaks, never needs oil added between changes. Replaced the radiator, starter and new 800 cca battery, more reserve power than I'll ever need. At 2K, it was a steal. I absolutely love my van. The guy I got it from offered me $500 cash Plus a same year Honda accord ex to buy it back. I turned it down."

6 people out of 10 found this review helpful

Good car, excellent value

By on Friday, October 10, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 64,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
9/10

Pros: "Tough, reliable car if well cared for"

Cons: "Comfort is a bit harsh, not plush"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"Traded in a 2003 Grand Caravan for the 2005 after a year and half (9K miles) because of the Stow-n-go feature. Got tired of seats in the house. Disappointed in the $$ given for the trade, but my thinking is that I'll keep the 2005 for 20+ years and beat them at their own game. Have serviced the car at the prescribed intervals, and it performs as new. Beware cars that have not been serviced regularly, as the engines have a bad rap. Talked with my service advisor when it went in for its first service, and was told that the ones with engine problems have not been serviced regularly. I have 64K miles on this one and expect that it will reach 300K with no problem with proper service. The only problems encountered since I bought it: both front power seats were replaced, the driver's window motor failed, and the left rear window motor also failed. I'm expecting the CV joints to need replacing sometime in the near future, which will be an expense, but overall this car meets all my requiremments (hauling people and also building materials) and has been an excellent, reliable transportation vehicle."

3 people out of 3 found this review helpful

great for long trips with or without the family.

By on Wednesday, October 01, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 187,445

10 7.0
overall rating 7 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
7/10
Value
8/10
Reliability
7/10
Quality
6/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
9/10
Comfort
9/10

Pros: "price, durability of interior, ease and comfort dr"

Cons: "body rust, front end"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 8

"Vehicle drives nice and can go a long way for a family. Rust in the body and undercarriage is a issue. DVD and stereo is suffecient for long trips and when I arrive my back and hips do not hurt. Plenty of room in the rear and can throw a "Hurricane Bag" on the roof for even more storage. Carried up to 3 (yes three) Kayaks on the roof dozens of times for hundreds of miles and no issues ever!"

3 people out of 6 found this review helpful

best vehicle ever..going to buy a new one

By on Friday, September 26, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 106,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

Pros: "great on gas"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"There are many added extras to this van...folding table and ice bin for the trunk, removable console for the front for extra storage space and a place to hold your cell phone/charge your cell phone, rain guards, mud flaps, and an electrical hitch."

4 people out of 6 found this review helpful

Great vehicle

By on Saturday, September 13, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 50,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
9/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

Pros: "It is actually fun to drive this vehicle."

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"I purchased this van new in 2004. It has been very dependable and comfortable. We have only replaced batteries, tires and one door motor which was covered by warranty. I cannot say anything negative about this mini van. If you need a 7 passenger, this is the one. We have the 2 bucket seats in the back and we love it."

6 people out of 8 found this review helpful

No van better

By on Friday, September 05, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 83,500

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
9/10
Quality
9/10
Performance
6/10
Styling
8/10
Comfort
9/10

Pros: "Great price, great ride, reliable,"

Cons: "Gas mileage"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"This is my second Grand Caravan. My first one was in a accident. Have has absoutly no issues with it. I would say my drving style is spirted. The only thing i wish they would have done better with is the gas mileage, I average 20 mpg. Love my Caravan, its the only brand I will ever buy. Great ride, reliabe, cheap and easy to work on. Best van hands down, no competion from any other brand!!!!"

4 people out of 5 found this review helpful

Great van for passengers and cargo.

By on Thursday, September 04, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 84,000

10 9.0
overall rating 9 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
9/10
Value
8/10
Reliability
8/10
Quality
9/10
Performance
8/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
9/10

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 8

"I would recommend buying this van. It is very family friendly and comfortable to drive. / The van came with a 3-year, 30,000 mile bumper to bumper warranty. This was helpful because the rear air conditioner (compressor) failed at about 20,000 miles. This would have cost $600 + to repair. The dealership replaced it for free. / The middle and back seats go inside the floor. This is what is called 'Stow & Go' seating. This is very useful because the cargo area is 4 feet wide x 8 feet long (enough to haul a 4 x 8 sheet of dry wall)."

4 people out of 5 found this review helpful

I love this vehicle. Third one we have owned.

By on Thursday, September 04, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 150,000

10 9.0
overall rating 9 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
9/10
Value
9/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
9/10
Performance
8/10
Styling
8/10
Comfort
9/10

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"We love our van. We have now outgrown it but for 5 years it has served my family of 7 very well. We do several long trips a year and it has never let us down. Keep it serviced and it will do well. Only issue really was with one of the sliding side doors. Overall, great vehicle. We have owned 2 Dodge vans prior. This one had 50k on it when we bought it and it how has over 150k. I would defintely buy another one."

3 people out of 4 found this review helpful

One of the best vehicheles I have ever own.

By on Thursday, September 04, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 87,814

10 8.0
overall rating 8 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
8/10
Value
8/10
Reliability
8/10
Quality
8/10
Performance
8/10
Styling
8/10
Comfort
8/10

Pros: "love the room in it and the height whem driving it"

Cons: "no cup holders in second row of seats"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 8

"I think The van is the way to go."

1 person out of 1 found this review helpful

It is a very reliable car and rides very nice

By on Friday, August 15, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 105,000

10 3.0
overall rating 3 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
3/10
Value
7/10
Reliability
9/10
Quality
6/10
Performance
5/10
Styling
5/10
Comfort
8/10

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 9

"I have been driving this car for 105,000 miles and it still rides like it did when it was new."

2 people out of 4 found this review helpful

Will never buy this car again

By on Tuesday, August 12, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 110,000

10 3.0
overall rating 3 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
3/10
Value
2/10
Reliability
2/10
Quality
2/10
Performance
5/10
Styling
8/10
Comfort
8/10

Cons: "Low Quality"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 1

"If you are looking to spend $1000-$2000 a year on repairs, then this is the right car for you. I have replaced the steering rack twice ($700 repair), the alternator, the rear A/C, some sensors, etc. A total piece of junk."

4 people out of 4 found this review helpful

Excellent driving vehicle.

By on Wednesday, June 25, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 130,000

10 9.0
overall rating 9 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
9/10
Value
9/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
8/10
Performance
8/10
Styling
9/10
Comfort
10/10

Pros: "Comfortable driving van."

Cons: "Power door sometimes acts up."

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 9

"Bought it second hand at 35K miles. Has been a pleasure to drive. Very little maintenance problems with it. Great on long trips and carrying cargo. Excellent all around vehicle."

13 people out of 17 found this review helpful

Purchased New had 3 miles on it. one owner

By on Monday, June 23, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 200,405

10 8.0
overall rating 8 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
8/10
Value
5/10
Reliability
7/10
Quality
7/10
Performance
8/10
Styling
7/10
Comfort
6/10

Pros: "FAIR PRICE FOR THIS VEHICLE"

Cons: "HAS LITTLE RUST, A KNOCK IN THE FRONT."

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 8

"Good Vehicle to get around, nice second car, very little rust, everything works,nice A/C Has 10" alpine drop down DVD/entertainment center beautiful picture with remote and wireless headphones. deep tint window for privacy. maintain well, newer tires, did brakes three months ago, new pads,rotors,calipers,and wheel cylinders just did oil change and 21 point inspection on it,One year old battery with an 5 yrs warranty a knock in the front end might need struts."

3 people out of 5 found this review helpful

VERSATILE, COMFORTABLE, UTILITY AND RELIABILITY

By on Monday, June 23, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 115,000

10 9.0
overall rating 9 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
9/10
Value
9/10
Reliability
9/10
Quality
9/10
Performance
9/10
Styling
8/10
Comfort
10/10

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 8

"BEST FEATURES- STOW AND GO SEATS, MAXIMUM STORAGE, COMFORTABLE RIDE, LIGHTING FEATURES, STRONG ENDINE AND EASE OF DRIVING."

2 people out of 3 found this review helpful

Extremely Comfortable, bad radiator & trans.

By on Thursday, June 19, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 129,500

10 3.0
overall rating 3 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
3/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
4/10
Quality
5/10
Performance
6/10
Styling
6/10
Comfort
8/10

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 2

"Extremely Comfortable to ride and drive. we bought it used in 2010 with ~69K mi. Within 9 months, the a/c went. Then, a few months later, some electrical issues in dashboard, and rear bulbs kept burning out. Within a year after, the radiator started acting up, and finally went in 2013, needed replacement. Not too long after that, the gearshift started slowly slipping, speed sensors were blamed and replaced, fast forward to May 2014, the slippage became what I termed the intermittent "bucking bronco" and finally the Caravan refused to leave the safety of 1st gear and I was then told by the mechanic candidly:'to be honest with you sir, Caravans keep us in business.' Oh yeah, and they don't do transmissions, but the can recommend a place."

5 people out of 5 found this review helpful

Love it, wouldn't trade or sell

By on Wednesday, June 18, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 82,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
Not Rated
Reliability
Not Rated
Quality
Not Rated
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"Plan on driving another 100,000 miles due to easy upkeep"

2 people out of 4 found this review helpful

A good vehicle

By on Tuesday, June 17, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 90,000

10 8.0
overall rating 8 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
8/10
Value
9/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
8/10
Performance
9/10
Styling
6/10
Comfort
9/10

Pros: "very comfortable and the price is great"

Cons: "No rear view camera but easy to install."

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"When I got this vehicle the condition was poor. I had to replace the transmission, new water pump, new gaskets for oil cover and intake manifold. After spending $4000 + this vehicle is a pleasure to drive. It is very smooth and handles well on the road. It is the ideal family vehicle with lots of storage, folding seats, and a DVD player to entertain the kids. The seats are very roomy so if you are larger than a runway model this is great. Lots of cup holders and outlets for charging phones and other electronics. Each section has its own vents for efficient cooling. You can also adjust the temperature in the front and the rear independently. It also has satellite radio."

4 people out of 5 found this review helpful

2005 Grand Coravan XLT

By on Tuesday, June 10, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 126,000

10 9.0
overall rating 9 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
9/10
Value
9/10
Reliability
8/10
Quality
9/10
Performance
9/10
Styling
9/10
Comfort
9/10

Pros: "lots of space, stow-n-go, top cargo rack"

Cons: "door locks have short."

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 9

"Just bought it in June, 2014 as a second vehicle do chaffier kids to their sports activities. That is with 126,000 miles. So far so good. Drives well, just few problems. Little bit of door rust above one rear tire. Also, passenger door lucks don't always work( I have to manfully pull/close to open/close locks). Otherwise so far so good. Kids love it, I don't have to listen to them "he/she is touching me" each other. One in second raw, second in third raw; and still plenty of room for baseball, and swimming gear."

This thing wont give me a reason to buy a Cadillac

By on Thursday, May 29, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 170,000

10 9.0
overall rating 9 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
9/10
Value
9/10
Reliability
9/10
Quality
9/10
Performance
6/10
Styling
8/10
Comfort
9/10

Pros: "Durability and cost of upkeep."

Cons: "Loss of street cred driving a van as a single Dad"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 9

"Bought in 2006. Negatives: Brakes go bad quickly and poor power steering. I am jealous of stow and go as my 2003 doesn't have them. Engine and trans are fine....never a problem. I remember thinking 3 years ago..."just last two more years" as I get out of debt. Every year I keep saying "just last 2 more years". the thing keeps running Positives: No door dents in the Camaro parked next to this in garage from kids (thank you sliding doors). I am at the point now with the attitude of "don't fix it until it breaks." I don't wanna put money into it then the engine blows. That being said, my front end is shot.....but it keeps going. Even through 7 Northern MN winters. I am at the point of thinking ,"Am I gonna give this to my 10 year old in 6 years for her car?" I will continue to drive the "Swagger Wagon" or "loser cruiser" until she sleeps."

2 people out of 4 found this review helpful

dont buy

By on Saturday, May 24, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 119,000

10 1.0
overall rating 1 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
1/10
Value
1/10
Reliability
1/10
Quality
1/10
Performance
1/10
Styling
2/10
Comfort
3/10

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 1

"this van is a junk. this is the second one I owned at 75000 things start going wrong power steering. then starts knocking at 100000 miles. both cars well maintained both with exactly the same problem dodge says nothing they can do."

1 person out of 1 found this review helpful

no brainer for the family

By on Tuesday, May 13, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 92,000

10 8.0
overall rating 8 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
8/10
Value
9/10
Reliability
8/10
Quality
7/10
Performance
8/10
Styling
9/10
Comfort
9/10

Pros: "great price, reliable, good on gas, great family v"

Cons: "make sure you keep you transmission serviced."

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 9

"I bought my 2005 dodge grand caravan used, with about 89,000 on it at a super buy, and a one owner to boot. I would not have bought most vehicles with this mileage, but after reading several reviews of people not wanted to give them up, I guess that is why so many have high mileage. they tend on average to go 300,000 or 400,000 miles. they are a good buy for the money used or new, compared to Honda and Toyota vans. remember they are the founding father, of what we know as the mini van."

4 people out of 4 found this review helpful

Sort Reviews by: 
Per Page:  5 | 10 | 25
Previous | 1 2 3 ... 31 | Next
Find Deals Near You vehicles for sale matching Dodge Grand Caravan Passenger near Honolulu. See local deals