Advertisement

Why ads?
Popular at KBB.com
  • 12 Best Family Cars of 2014
  • 10 Best Midsize SUVs
  • 10 Best SUVs Under $25,000
  • 10 Best AWD Cars & SUVs Under $25,000
Go

2001 Dodge Grand Caravan Passenger

Style:

Consumer Reviews & Ratings

Overall Rating
7.6
Out of 10

Based on 767 Ratings for the 2001 - 2007 models.

Review this car
more rating details
  • Value
    7.9/10
    Quality
    7.8/10
  • Reliability
    8.0/10
    Performance
    8.0/10
  • Comfort
    8.5/10
    Styling
    8.3/10
Sort Reviews by: 
Per Page:  5 | 10 | 25
Previous | 1 2 3 ... 31 | Next

This thing wont give me a reason to buy a Cadillac

By on Thursday, May 29, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 170,000

10 9.0
overall rating 9 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
9/10
Value
9/10
Reliability
9/10
Quality
9/10
Performance
6/10
Styling
8/10
Comfort
9/10

Pros: "Durability and cost of upkeep."

Cons: "Loss of street cred driving a van as a single Dad"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 9

"Bought in 2006. Negatives: Brakes go bad quickly and poor power steering. I am jealous of stow and go as my 2003 doesn't have them. Engine and trans are fine....never a problem. I remember thinking 3 years ago..."just last two more years" as I get out of debt. Every year I keep saying "just last 2 more years". the thing keeps running Positives: No door dents in the Camaro parked next to this in garage from kids (thank you sliding doors). I am at the point now with the attitude of "don't fix it until it breaks." I don't wanna put money into it then the engine blows. That being said, my front end is shot.....but it keeps going. Even through 7 Northern MN winters. I am at the point of thinking ,"Am I gonna give this to my 10 year old in 6 years for her car?" I will continue to drive the "Swagger Wagon" or "loser cruiser" until she sleeps."

2 people out of 4 found this review helpful

dont buy

By on Saturday, May 24, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 119,000

10 1.0
overall rating 1 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
1/10
Value
1/10
Reliability
1/10
Quality
1/10
Performance
1/10
Styling
2/10
Comfort
3/10

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 1

"this van is a junk. this is the second one I owned at 75000 things start going wrong power steering. then starts knocking at 100000 miles. both cars well maintained both with exactly the same problem dodge says nothing they can do."

1 person out of 1 found this review helpful

no brainer for the family

By on Tuesday, May 13, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 92,000

10 8.0
overall rating 8 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
8/10
Value
9/10
Reliability
8/10
Quality
7/10
Performance
8/10
Styling
9/10
Comfort
9/10

Pros: "great price, reliable, good on gas, great family v"

Cons: "make sure you keep you transmission serviced."

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 9

"I bought my 2005 dodge grand caravan used, with about 89,000 on it at a super buy, and a one owner to boot. I would not have bought most vehicles with this mileage, but after reading several reviews of people not wanted to give them up, I guess that is why so many have high mileage. they tend on average to go 300,000 or 400,000 miles. they are a good buy for the money used or new, compared to Honda and Toyota vans. remember they are the founding father, of what we know as the mini van."

4 people out of 4 found this review helpful

great vehicle

By on Wednesday, May 07, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 100,500

10 9.0
overall rating 9 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
9/10
Value
9/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
9/10
Performance
9/10
Styling
8/10
Comfort
9/10

Pros: "dependability, comfort, great everyday driver"

Cons: "no stow-n-go seating"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"I bought this vehicle used and its never given me any problem. Aside from routine maintenance it has cost me nothing. It drives like a car and has capabilities of a truck. If it wasn't old I'd keep it, but its time to replace it. I bought another grand caravan."

5 people out of 6 found this review helpful

Stow N Go great. Sliding door & lift gate trouble

By on Tuesday, April 29, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 76,000

10 7.0
overall rating 7 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
7/10
Value
8/10
Reliability
8/10
Quality
6/10
Performance
7/10
Styling
8/10
Comfort
8/10

Pros: "Easiest vehicle I've ever changed oil on."

Cons: "Sliding doors and lift gate repairs first year."

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 8

"Starts and runs well. Smoothe on the road. Expensive repairs on sliding door and lift gate. Burns a quart of oil every 2000. I use Mobile One. Great DVD and stereo system. I get 18 MPG around town. 23-26 MPG hiway. Great heat and A/C. Good in the snow. Never been stuck in 6 MN winters! Overall I am pleased. Bought used with 19000 in 2008."

4 people out of 5 found this review helpful

solid vehicle

By on Wednesday, April 23, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 184,000

10 8.0
overall rating 8 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
8/10
Value
9/10
Reliability
8/10
Quality
7/10
Performance
7/10
Styling
8/10
Comfort
9/10

Pros: "great price for the reliability and usefulness"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 8

"184000 miles on a 2005 model and engine and transmission are still running really smoothly. have had bad egr, replaced radiator and water pump, compressor went bad, and sometimes the power locks don't work, brakes don't ever last long."

2 people out of 2 found this review helpful

This is the longest I've ever kept a car..13 yrs.

By on Tuesday, April 22, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 166,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

Pros: "I really got my money's worth out of this vehicle."

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"I've owned a Chrysler brand mini-van ever since they came out in the 80's. They are GREAT for road trips with kids. I just LOVE the cargo carrier in the rear."

2 people out of 2 found this review helpful

Excellent minivan

By on Sunday, April 20, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 54,700

10 8.0
overall rating 8 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
8/10
Value
8/10
Reliability
9/10
Quality
8/10
Performance
9/10
Styling
9/10
Comfort
9/10

Pros: "Roomy Comfortable, Versitile, Economical"

Cons: "The speedo only goes up to 120."

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 9

Great looking car, always in style.

"I purchased this vehicle new. It is a great car. Smooth ride powerful yet very economical 3.8 L v6 Engine has great power for passing and is silky smooth and quiet at cruise. I regularly travel to the southern USA and cruise at 75 to 80 mph speeds fully loaded with ease. My SXT has 4 wheel disk brakes and the responsive handling and strong brakes saved me from a serious collision, when another car cut across the road right in front of me! I do keep the car hand washed and waxed, the original paint is 10 years old and still looks beautiful. The seats are very comfortable and the interior can perform a multitude of functions, Hauling kids, or dogs, or cargo or any combination is a snap!"

8 people out of 8 found this review helpful

Great looking car, always in style.

Best vehicle I've ever owned.

By on Sunday, April 13, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 216,500

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

Pros: "Reliability, room, features, driveability"

Cons: "Extended warranty was worthless -- not needed."

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

One of many family vacations in the Caravan

"Bought my 2004 Grand Caravan SXT Anniversary Edition brand new over ten years ago. Never ever any mechanical problems. All the electrical (DVD/CD changer etc)works great. Have had to fix the power doors twice -- easy fix -- one now needs a new wiring harness. Has had ten years of hard use and never left us stranded. Plenty or room, drives great - best car I've ever owned."

4 people out of 5 found this review helpful

One of many family vacations in the Caravan

Best vehicle I've ever owned.

By on Sunday, April 13, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 216,500

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

Pros: "Reliability, room, features, driveability"

Cons: "Extended warranty was worthless -- not needed."

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

One of many family vacations in the Caravan

"Bought my 2004 Grand Caravan SXT Anniversary Edition brand new over ten years ago. Never ever any mechanical problems. All the electrical (DVD/CD changer etc)works great. Have had to fix the power doors twice -- easy fix -- one now needs a new wiring harness. Has had ten years of hard use and never left us stranded. Plenty or room, drives great - best car I've ever owned."

1 person out of 1 found this review helpful

One of many family vacations in the Caravan

Best vehicle I've ever owned.

By on Sunday, April 13, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 216,500

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

Pros: "Reliability, room, features, driveability"

Cons: "Extended warranty was worthless -- not needed."

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

One of many family vacations in the Caravan

"Bought my 2004 Grand Caravan SXT Anniversary Edition brand new over ten years ago. Never ever any mechanical problems. All the electrical (DVD/CD changer etc)works great. Have had to fix the power doors twice -- easy fix -- one now needs a new wiring harness. Has had ten years of hard use and never left us stranded. Plenty or room, drives great - best car I've ever owned."

1 person out of 1 found this review helpful

One of many family vacations in the Caravan

Best vehicle I've ever owned.

By on Sunday, April 13, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 216,500

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

Pros: "Reliability, room, features, driveability"

Cons: "Extended warranty was worthless -- not needed."

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

One of many family vacations in the Caravan

"Bought my 2004 Grand Caravan SXT Anniversary Edition brand new over ten years ago. Never ever any mechanical problems. All the electrical (DVD/CD changer etc)works great. Have had to fix the power doors twice -- easy fix -- one now needs a new wiring harness. Has had ten years of hard use and never left us stranded. Plenty or room, drives great - best car I've ever owned."

One of many family vacations in the Caravan

Best vehicle I've ever owned.

By on Sunday, April 13, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 216,500

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

Pros: "Reliability, room, features, driveability"

Cons: "Extended warranty was worthless -- not needed."

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

One of many family vacations in the Caravan

"Bought my 2004 Grand Caravan SXT Anniversary Edition brand new over ten years ago. Never ever any mechanical problems. All the electrical (DVD/CD changer etc)works great. Have had to fix the power doors twice -- easy fix -- one now needs a new wiring harness. Has had ten years of hard use and never left us stranded. Plenty or room, drives great - best car I've ever owned."

1 person out of 3 found this review helpful

One of many family vacations in the Caravan

I love this vechile it has a lot of room.

By on Tuesday, March 25, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 72,200

10 9.0
overall rating 9 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
9/10
Value
8/10
Reliability
8/10
Quality
7/10
Performance
9/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

Pros: "Good for gas"

Cons: "Problems with electric problems."

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 9

"I love this vehicle. Bought it used the only bad thing is you do need a extended warranty for the electricity problems. Hopefully we can keep it for a long time. We have a family of five people. I read up where some customers got up to 900,000 miles on it. Hopefully my vehicle can last very long. With high miles what do you do to keep your van running smooth. Please let me known so this can help me. On the high way good mileage. Gas is very high. A lot of room for long trips. The van is pretty like a sporty car."

2 people out of 3 found this review helpful

Will buy another one!

By on Sunday, March 23, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 895,000

10 9.0
overall rating 9 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
9/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
9/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
8/10

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"Great van!! I never want it to wear out. The second and third row seats could be more comfortable though. When you put in an AUTOMATIC way to stow the seats it will be perfect! I like the style of the '05 better than the '14."

1 person out of 2 found this review helpful

Great, solid vehicle.

By on Saturday, March 22, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 92,000

10 8.0
overall rating 8 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
8/10
Value
9/10
Reliability
9/10
Quality
8/10
Performance
8/10
Styling
8/10
Comfort
9/10

Pros: "Comfortable/ dependable vehicle."

Cons: "No stow and go seats."

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 7

"I like everything about this van, except I bought it before stow and go seats were available in dodge vans. Very solid and dependable van with good gas mileage."

2 people out of 2 found this review helpful

Been a great van

By on Wednesday, March 19, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 116,000

10 8.0
overall rating 8 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
8/10
Value
8/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
6/10
Performance
8/10
Styling
8/10
Comfort
9/10

Pros: "Comfortable"

Cons: "rust and it only 6 yrs old"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 8

"very happy with the van"

See complete review

By on Tuesday, March 18, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 186,000

10 9.0
overall rating 9 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
9/10
Value
9/10
Reliability
9/10
Quality
9/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
9/10
Comfort
10/10

Pros: "Great family fun, shopping etc. driving is a joy!"

Cons: "It is now developing some rust."

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 8

"We purchased this vehicle at one year old with 25000 miles on it and have,over the years, taken at least 3 different trips to Vermont, another trip to Maine several to S Carolina and numerous trips from Mansfield Ohio to Cleveland and Columbus Ohio. as you can see by the number of miles there has been a lot of road miles! Because we live in the country we do not do much driving in the city. We have found that this vehicle handles very nicely and is the most comfortable we have ever had. We have never had any major problems with anything inside or out. It also had more than adequate space for our travel needs, with or without additional passengers other than my husband and myself. I really have enjoyed this car and now it will probably make someone a good extra run around vehicle or maybe even a few more trips could be added."

3 people out of 4 found this review helpful

Excellent 'living room' for 11 years.

By on Tuesday, March 04, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 91,000

10 9.0
overall rating 9 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
9/10
Value
9/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
9/10
Performance
8/10
Styling
9/10
Comfort
9/10

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 8

"91,000 miles. California car (no rust). I bought it with 19k miles on it from Enterprise in November, 2003. The only long drive I've taken was in 2010, from LA to Indiana. 2400mi one way. Drove it back a few months later. Ran perfectly. I use it to commute to work (3mi) to swim (3mi) and home. I've had it over 10 years and have put 72k mi on it. A little over 7000/yr. Just had the air conditioner replaced. Everything works perfectly except the turn signal. You have to manually turn it off. it's pretty clean; I'm going to detail it. Someone could probably buy it from me if they had a good price."

1 person out of 1 found this review helpful

EX model. Nice used vehicle

By on Friday, February 21, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 62,800

10 8.0
overall rating 8 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
8/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
8/10
Quality
8/10
Performance
9/10
Styling
9/10
Comfort
8/10

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 9

"Bought this used. Is a nice, roomy automobile."

poor mans luxury

By on Wednesday, February 19, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 90,000

10 8.0
overall rating 8 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
8/10
Value
8/10
Reliability
7/10
Quality
7/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

Pros: "great price for features ride and handling,"

Cons: "needs constant attention, loss of oil"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 7

"this vehicle is like driving your couch, extremely comfortable,convenient and spacious. Unfortuately I have replaced just about everything and now am experiencing rust everywhere. Gas mileage could be better, but a 3.8 motor is big and powerful and will run for a long time, yet I am disappointed that it loses oil. Overall I love my car, it is a great overall, a great used buy"

1 person out of 2 found this review helpful

Best vehicle I've driven in 45 years

By on Wednesday, February 19, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 125,000

10 8.0
overall rating 8 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
8/10
Value
8/10
Reliability
8/10
Quality
8/10
Performance
8/10
Styling
8/10
Comfort
8/10

Pros: "everything about vehicle is great"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"this is a keyless entry and gives me at least 21-22 mpg. I have rarely had to use the warranty the heating system is nearly new and everything in it works including the backup sensor. I have taken real good care of this vehicle."

Best vehicle I have ever owned.

By on Monday, February 17, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 335,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
9/10
Reliability
9/10
Quality
7/10
Performance
7/10
Styling
8/10
Comfort
6/10

Pros: "economical, dependable, and makes a great camper!"

Cons: "replaced power window motors 3 times total."

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"I'm getting ready to sell this for a newer model. 335,000 miles, and still runs like new. Never touched engine or transmission, except for normal maintenance. I kept maintenance records on this Van, and my cost to own, counting everything , including Sales tax and license plates, trailer hitch install..... and even car washes! (not counting insurance) is 21.3 cents per mile. My 4th Grand Caravan, and I'm buying a Town & Country this time."

4 people out of 4 found this review helpful

Cannot not go without it

By on Tuesday, January 21, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 189,000

10 8.0
overall rating 8 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
8/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
9/10
Performance
6/10
Styling
7/10
Comfort
10/10

Pros: "versitility"

Cons: "cheap interior"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"I love the van the stow n go is by far the best around! You never know when you will need it but all seats fold into the floor so it will not be a problem. I do feel the interior is cheap I had cup holders fall off and trim come loose. It does have a problem with rust on back door and the power sliding doors electric pieces are junk and if you have kids you will need to replace them a few times. I did once and than they went down again so I just slide them open my self now. I would by this van again even though it drives like a boat. I got a dog and 3 kids and it works perfect for us."

4 people out of 5 found this review helpful

Great Car

By on Thursday, January 16, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 133,500

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

Pros: "Reliable"

Cons: "Needs to be washed occasionally"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"We are looking to purchase our sixth Dodge/Chrysler minivan. Our fourth one now belongs to a friend and has over 200000 miles on it and is still going strong. Our current Grand Caravan has given us over a hundred thousand miles of great transportation, and we are looking forward to getting a newer model. Love this series."

Sort Reviews by: 
Per Page:  5 | 10 | 25
Previous | 1 2 3 ... 31 | Next
Find Deals Near You vehicles for sale matching Dodge Grand Caravan Passenger near Honolulu. See local deals