Advertisement

Why ads?
Go

2000 Dodge Grand Caravan Passenger

Style:

Consumer Reviews & Ratings

Overall Rating
7.6
Out of 10

Based on 366 Ratings for the 1996 - 2000 models.

Review this car
more rating details
  • Value
    7.9/10
    Quality
    7.7/10
  • Reliability
    8.0/10
    Performance
    8.0/10
  • Comfort
    8.4/10
    Styling
    8.2/10
Sort Reviews by: 
Per Page:  5 | 10 | 25
Previous | 1 2 3 ... 15 | Next

One of the best all around vans we have ever owned

By on Wednesday, November 09, 2011

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 165,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
9/10
Comfort
9/10

Pros: "Greeat value for the price"

Cons: "Not many"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"We have driven this car in town and high way, long trips - short trips and after 165,000 mile it still gets 24mpg on the highway and 20 in town. Normal maintenance."

1 person out of 1 found this review helpful

I Love this Brand of vehicle

By on Tuesday, October 18, 2011

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 200,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

Pros: "stands the test of time"

Cons: "the 3.0 engine is not a good choice high cost"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

when we bought it

"I've had the 1990 version of this van and loved it so much I went and bought this 2000 Grand Caravan, Love everything about it. It holds up well and still gets great mileage about 23mpg, I use it for delivering newspapers 6 days a week for over 3 years now and it's just a great van. I will buy another one in a few weeks, i will be keeping this for my work."

1 person out of 1 found this review helpful

when we bought it

smooth ride

By on Wednesday, October 12, 2011

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 124,000

10 7.0
overall rating 7 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
7/10
Value
8/10
Reliability
7/10
Quality
7/10
Performance
9/10
Styling
9/10
Comfort
9/10

Pros: "comfort"

Cons: "gas milage"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"good to be high up when driving. If I were to buy another...it would be new and not used. With a used van, you may be taking on someone elses trouble. With a new van, you know what has been done to it."

1 person out of 1 found this review helpful

Love it!

By on Tuesday, October 11, 2011

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 200,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"This is the best vehicle I've ever owned. Great transportation and hauling capabilities. Other than normal repairs due to use, it's been very reliable."

1 person out of 1 found this review helpful

One of the best vehicles I've owned

By on Monday, September 12, 2011

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 193,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
9/10
Styling
9/10
Comfort
10/10

Pros: "Pricing is affordable, very comfortable, plenty of space!"

Cons: "Could get a little better gas mileage, easier movement of rear seats."

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"We bought our minivan when it had 164,000 miles on it. We have never had any major problems with this vehicle. Just regular maintenance. Usually gets about 17 or 18 hwy mpg. It is by far the most comfortable of any minivan I've ever been in-Honda, Toyota, Ford, or Chevy(we are big people!). Though a minivan is not my preferred choice of vehicle, I'll stick with another one when this one lays down. Plenty of space, seats are removable (though a little heavy for me to take in and out myself), smooth ride, and has always been dependable. I love my Caravan!"

1 person out of 1 found this review helpful

NICE VAN

By on Friday, April 22, 2011

10 8.0
overall rating 8 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
8/10
Value
8/10
Reliability
9/10
Quality
9/10
Performance
8/10
Styling
8/10
Comfort
9/10

"GOT THE 99 IN NOV OF LAST 09, BREAKS, OIL AND WIPERS REPLACED ONLY SO FAR"

1 person out of 1 found this review helpful

Have loved this van

By on Sunday, April 17, 2011

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

"We drove this car for several years, sold it to our daughter and her husband and it is still going strong. No engine or transmission replaced or anything. A little bit of work here and there but nothing major. We've had it in the family 11 years. Regular oil changes and if anything even looked like it could wear out we took care of it. (belts, etc.) Solid ride to this day."

1 person out of 1 found this review helpful

New to me

By on Wednesday, February 09, 2011

10 8.0
overall rating 8 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
8/10
Value
8/10
Reliability
9/10
Quality
8/10
Performance
9/10
Styling
8/10
Comfort
9/10

"I just bought this vehicle today and I'm very happy with the look and omg so much room. Smooth ride .I'm now a mini van mom."

1 person out of 1 found this review helpful

Nice

By on Tuesday, February 08, 2011

10 7.0
overall rating 7 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
7/10
Value
7/10
Reliability
8/10
Quality
8/10
Performance
8/10
Styling
8/10
Comfort
8/10

"Ive had my van since march of 2005 aside from the usual wear and tear parts like , tires and brakes Its been super reliable . I travel constantly to take my daughter to her doctor appointments each round trip is 220 miles , over 140,000 miles on it .Ive never broke down or had any problems in all the years Ive owned it , However the windsheild is huge so it gets more than averge of the dings and cracks from plows in the winter and in the summer its a bug magnet . as for rusting for the age and the use of the grand caravan its quite well , mostly around the back wheel wells is where I noticed most vans same age have it . The space is great plenty of room for shopping , squipment ect. All in all I give the my dodge grand caravan 4 out of 5 ."

1 person out of 1 found this review helpful

Solid Vehicle

By on Sunday, January 30, 2011

10 9.0
overall rating 9 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
9/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
9/10
Quality
9/10
Performance
9/10
Styling
9/10
Comfort
10/10

"I was happy with this vehicle.. I have a favorable impression of Dodge because of it. They seemed to have fixed previous defects of earlier versions of this van."

1 person out of 1 found this review helpful

Minivan by Timex

By on Saturday, January 22, 2011

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
9/10
Comfort
9/10

"My 2000 Grand Caravan has taken a lickin' but just kept tickin'!! I bought the van new and have driven over 250,000 miles. Transmission just finally went, but I can't complain. The brakes were never real good.. Sustained substantial front-end damage a couple times, but I think replacing the radiator about once every 75,000 miles may have made it last longer.. lol Just bought an '05 T&C and I hope it's as reliable!"

1 person out of 1 found this review helpful

Very Happy (knock on wood)

By on Friday, October 22, 2010

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

"I bought my '98 Dodge Grand Caravan used exactly 4 years ago with 74k miles on it, and it's been great. Now have 103k miles on it. The only thing that broke the whole time we've had it has been the serpentine belt system and the radiator. The total to replace those was about $800 total. Not bad for 48 months -- that's less than $20 per month for repairs. Other than that, nothing but routine maintenace and wear-and-tear. Great vehicle. Only downside is the gas mileage, but what do you expect? It's a minivan, lol!"

1 person out of 1 found this review helpful

Most reliable vehicle ever owned

By on Thursday, May 06, 2010

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
8/10
Comfort
10/10

"I absolutely love this vehicle. Bought it from private original owner with 50K mi., and have only had to buy new tires for it. Small investment compared to big return! Very dependable, roomy, good mileage; super comfortable. Roomy interior. Our kids love it, too!"

1 person out of 1 found this review helpful

Solid Performer

By on Wednesday, May 05, 2010

10 9.0
overall rating 9 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
9/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
9/10
Performance
9/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

"A very good vehicle for the family that hauls kids to sports or on regular trips..."

1 person out of 1 found this review helpful

Great, reliable vehicle

By on Thursday, February 04, 2010

10 7.0
overall rating 7 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
7/10
Value
8/10
Reliability
8/10
Quality
8/10
Performance
8/10
Styling
8/10
Comfort
8/10

"We bought this van used when it had 56K miles on it. It now has 217,000 miles on the odometer. Yes, we've had to replace the alternator and the gas pump, and there have been a few other expensive repairs. But prorated over the long service we've received from this car, those repairs have been relatively negligible. It's been a very faithful vehicle for us. We paid $6500, and the Kelley Blue Book value for it is currently over $2000. What a deal!"

1 person out of 1 found this review helpful

Nice Confortable Ride

By on Sunday, January 24, 2010

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
9/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

"I purchased this van with a blown 3.3 engine. Luckily I had an engine in another Caravan that I bought with a bad transmission. My wife drives this Caravan daily and "loves" it! We drove it about 3000 miles to Utah and back and it was extremely comfortable and reliable. I have to say that the gas mileage isn't that great but it's not awful. We average 19 or 20 city and sometimes 25 highway. It has a beautiful ride and handles great. We had a 1995 Caravan before this and it made it to almost 300000 miles before blowing the engine. I'd recommend a Caravan to anyone who needs room for kids and "stuff"."

1 person out of 1 found this review helpful

97 Dodge Grand Caravan LE 3.3L V6

By on Thursday, October 22, 2009

10 9.0
overall rating 9 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
9/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
9/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
9/10
Comfort
9/10

"I purchased this from my parents (who bought it new) about 3 yrs ago. It's been a great van & great on gas. Drives smooth and has held up well with my 3 boys which is amazing! I'm selling it now because I just purchased a 2005 Chrysler T&C Touring with all the bells/whistles. Would recommend for anyone wanting a mini-van that drives like a mid-size car."

1 person out of 1 found this review helpful

By on Friday, October 16, 2009

10 7.0
overall rating 7 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
7/10
Value
9/10
Reliability
8/10
Quality
7/10
Performance
7/10
Styling
7/10
Comfort
8/10

This customer did not provide a text review.

1 person out of 1 found this review helpful

built like a warthog a10

By on Sunday, October 04, 2009

10 7.0
overall rating 7 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
7/10
Value
7/10
Reliability
8/10
Quality
7/10
Performance
8/10
Styling
9/10
Comfort
9/10

"it takes a licking, just use there trans fluid Dodge or you have problems"

1 person out of 1 found this review helpful

By on Saturday, August 15, 2009

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

This customer did not provide a text review.

1 person out of 1 found this review helpful

great family vehicle

By on Wednesday, August 12, 2009

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
9/10
Comfort
10/10

"I have been sceptical but this van has been a blessing to us. We have 214,000 miles and it still looks brand new. our only prob with it is the fading of the paint job on the top and front. otheriwse this van runs excellent. and gets about 27 miles per gallon. we keep it tuned up and use cenpeco oil to keep the engine runing in tip top shape. i recommend any car with engine prob with xtra wear and tear to use cenpeco."

1 person out of 1 found this review helpful

By on Sunday, August 02, 2009

10 7.0
overall rating 7 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
7/10
Value
8/10
Reliability
8/10
Quality
7/10
Performance
8/10
Styling
8/10
Comfort
9/10

"This is the most comfortable, ergonomic vehicle I have. (the other 2 are a Toyota sedan and a Honda coupe). I love the Quad seating, the 3rd rear bench seat and multiple cup holders. It's a great carpool van with ample room for the kids' stuff... even their knees if they get stuck in the last seat! Just adjust it backwards into the extended back end. Things that haven't been fun are the transmission. I'm on #4. But I like this van so much that we always end up rebuilding it. At least once it was under warranty. At 225,000 miles, I guess that's not the worst that can happen. When I became disabled one year after buying the van, my Bruno lift fit nicely into the rear with my Pride Scooter. The kids in the 3rd seat lost some leg room, but what other vehicle could have accommodated a large scooter and kept seating for 7? Overall, if you can put up with the tranny issues on the 1996 Grand Caravan, you will be pleased with the perks in the cabin."

1 person out of 1 found this review helpful

By on Tuesday, June 30, 2009

10 7.0
overall rating 7 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
7/10
Value
8/10
Reliability
8/10
Quality
7/10
Performance
8/10
Styling
7/10
Comfort
8/10

This customer did not provide a text review.

1 person out of 1 found this review helpful

a workhorse

By on Tuesday, June 09, 2009

10 8.0
overall rating 8 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
8/10
Value
8/10
Reliability
9/10
Quality
8/10
Performance
8/10
Styling
9/10
Comfort
9/10

"We bought our 98 grand caravan new in late 97 and it has been a wonderful family vehicle. We have had some issues, namely a new tranny in 2003 and now a 2nd new computer which we will replace and put the vehicle up for sale. Overall we have loved this car...it is the quintessential family van."

1 person out of 1 found this review helpful

GRAND CARAVAN

By on Wednesday, November 26, 2008

10 7.0
overall rating 7 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
7/10
Value
7/10
Reliability
8/10
Quality
8/10
Performance
9/10
Styling
9/10
Comfort
9/10

"VERY GOOD MILEAGE OVERDRIVE AUTO MATIC TRANS WITH FACTORY MAGS AND THE OPTIONAL TALLER TIRES, CARRIES A LOT O STUFF CONFORTABLE GOOD PICK UP IN TRAFFIC SOUND SYSTEM IS GOOD AIR CONDITIONING WORKS WELL, EXPENSIVE TO FIX, NOT SOMETHING THAT MOST PEOPLE COULD WORK ON THEMSEVES, PAINT IS HOLDING UP WELL. AT 165600 MILES JUST PUT IN THE THE THIRD TANSMISSION WHAT ISN"T"

1 person out of 1 found this review helpful

Sort Reviews by: 
Per Page:  5 | 10 | 25
Previous | 1 2 3 ... 15 | Next
Find Deals Near You vehicles for sale matching Dodge Grand Caravan Passenger near Honolulu. See local deals