Advertisement

Why ads?
Popular at KBB.com
  • 12 Best Family Cars of 2014
  • 10 Best Midsize SUVs
  • 10 Best SUVs Under $25,000
  • 10 Best AWD Cars & SUVs Under $25,000
Go

1998 Dodge Grand Caravan Passenger

Style:

Consumer Reviews & Ratings

Overall Rating
7.5
Out of 10

Based on 352 Ratings for the 1996 - 2000 models.

Review this car
more rating details
  • Value
    7.9/10
    Quality
    7.7/10
  • Reliability
    8.0/10
    Performance
    8.0/10
  • Comfort
    8.4/10
    Styling
    8.1/10
Sort Reviews by: 
Per Page:  5 | 10 | 25
Previous | 1 ... 13 14 15 | Next

functional

By on Tuesday, August 21, 2007

10 6.0
overall rating 6 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
6/10
Value
7/10
Reliability
8/10
Quality
7/10
Performance
7/10
Styling
8/10
Comfort
8/10

"Great family-snow car. Good mileage. Comfortable. Very good dual HVAC. Mitsubishi designded 3.8L V6 a real gem. AWD system also a Mitsubishi design, I have been informed. Great cargo capacity."

2 people out of 2 found this review helpful

Reliable

By on Monday, August 20, 2007

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
9/10
Comfort
10/10

"very reliable, great family car."

1 person out of 3 found this review helpful

By on Monday, August 20, 2007

10 3.0
overall rating 3 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
3/10
Value
4/10
Reliability
2/10
Quality
2/10
Performance
2/10
Styling
6/10
Comfort
6/10

This customer did not provide a text review.

Worst transmission reliability

By on Friday, August 17, 2007

10 3.0
overall rating 3 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
3/10
Value
1/10
Reliability
5/10
Quality
3/10
Performance
6/10
Styling
6/10
Comfort
6/10

"The reliability of this vehicle from the perspective of the transmission is dismal. Even without a transmission issue, these vehicles are very hard to sell in the used market. I am very surprised to see the KBB Values so high as they are not based on true market conditions."

3 people out of 4 found this review helpful

By on Saturday, August 11, 2007

10 6.0
overall rating 6 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
6/10
Value
7/10
Reliability
8/10
Quality
8/10
Performance
7/10
Styling
7/10
Comfort
7/10

This customer did not provide a text review.

1 person out of 2 found this review helpful

Solid Machine

By on Sunday, August 05, 2007

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

"This is our second Caravan and I'm looking forward to owning a third. It's super reliable, economical, comfortable, versatile and a joy to drive or ride in. We've used it on long road-trips and it's perfect for that as well. I'd recommend it to anyone. Pull out the back seats and you have a covered pickup truck or a camper. Buy one if you get the chance! Our current one has over 275,000 miles and it's still going strong."

11 people out of 11 found this review helpful

Good Van

By on Sunday, August 05, 2007

10 8.0
overall rating 8 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
8/10
Value
9/10
Reliability
8/10
Quality
8/10
Performance
9/10
Styling
9/10
Comfort
9/10

"Bought 2000 Dodge GC Van 2nd hand 4 years ago and it has been a fairly dependable ride. AWD is good in snow with good tires. Good power. Great for skis/snowboards and kids to get in and out off quickly. The only trouble I had with this van was the transmission/computer went haywire at about 92k miles. The shop I took it too said that a lot of the transmission problems associated with this type of van (Chysler/Dodge) were from the wrong fluid or the computer. Anyway the fix did cost me about $750 ($400 was for the part only) and I did have them flush the tranny with new fluid too. Has been good since."

7 people out of 8 found this review helpful

No wonder is the #1 best seller

By on Saturday, August 04, 2007

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
9/10

"My 2005 Grand Caravan SXT just turned 68,000 miles. This vehicle has been 100% reliable and I've only had to perform routine maintenance. The only warranty work performed was a recent recall to replace the secondary air bag sensors. Fuel mileage exceeds EPA ratings. I get 19-20MPG city and have hit as high as 28MPG highway with 6 adults onboard. All on 87 octance regular gas since the 3.8L V6 doesn't require mid or premium grade fuel like some of the foreign competition. Considering the severe duty mine gets, the fuel mileage, performance and reliability are amazing. While the horsepower and torque ratings aren't as high as some, I can't imagine anyone being disappointed in the performance. This thing is more than decent off the line and the power seems to come on strong in the mid-range and beyond. Accelerating from 50 MPH up to 80-90 MPH is quick. You'll surprise alot of sport sedan drivers in how well you can keep up, to 110MPH if you'd like. Passing is absolutely no hassle. It delivers 20 MPG cruising at 80 MPH. Handling is suprisingly good for a minivan. Extremely stable, solid cornering, and decent brakes. Once I got rid of the Bridgestone Turanza tires at 47,000 miles that came with it new and repalced them with Michelin HydroEdges the handling improved dramatically. While styling is a subjective thing, I think the Dodge/Chrysler minivans that were redesigned back in 2001 are the best looking on the road. Mines loaded with everything from dual power sliders to a power liftgate, rear seat DVD video, rear A/C & heat, park sense backup systems, etc. I'm thankful my power sliders haven't failed like the ones on my co-workers Honda Odyssey nor do the Dodge Caravans have the catastrophic transmission failures like the Hondas do. The Stow'N'Go seating is fantastic. You can fold the second and third row seats in minutes and have a completely flat load floor, something none of the competitors can do. The second row seats can be uncomfortable for adults on longer trips but kids don't seem to notice."

5 people out of 5 found this review helpful

Great satisfaction

By on Friday, August 03, 2007

10 7.0
overall rating 7 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
7/10
Value
8/10
Reliability
7/10
Quality
8/10
Performance
8/10
Styling
9/10
Comfort
8/10

"Great van to own. Problems wuth belt tensioner and water pump. Radiator failed. The later were at about 90,ooo miles, The belt tensoiner at 32,000, 64.000 miles and at about 100, 000 miles, one would expect a modification, as chats with otherowners at filling stations report similar hassles. Dealer fairly good, but changed hands three times."

2 people out of 2 found this review helpful

By on Wednesday, August 01, 2007

10 7.0
overall rating 7 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
7/10
Value
8/10
Reliability
8/10
Quality
8/10
Performance
8/10
Styling
8/10
Comfort
8/10

This customer did not provide a text review.

Great Vehicle

By on Friday, July 27, 2007

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

"This is and has been a very reliable vehicle. I have the sport model. I've done scheduled upkeep. I just gave it its first tune up at 130,000 miles. It hasn't been necessary. It is very comfortable and for a 9 year old with 130,000 miles on it, in great shape. I've run synthetic oil in it since 35,000 miles. No engine or transmission problems. The 3.3 engine is a great engine. Seats & fabric have held up."

4 people out of 4 found this review helpful

By on Friday, July 27, 2007

10 8.0
overall rating 8 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
8/10
Value
8/10
Reliability
8/10
Quality
9/10
Performance
9/10
Styling
7/10
Comfort
8/10

This customer did not provide a text review.

By on Thursday, July 26, 2007

10 4.0
overall rating 4 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
4/10
Value
5/10
Reliability
5/10
Quality
5/10
Performance
6/10
Styling
5/10
Comfort
6/10

"good condition"

By on Wednesday, July 25, 2007

10 8.0
overall rating 8 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
8/10
Value
8/10
Reliability
9/10
Quality
9/10
Performance
9/10
Styling
7/10
Comfort
7/10

"I hate driving mini vans but this one has been very good and dependable."

1 person out of 1 found this review helpful

I like my minivan

By on Wednesday, July 25, 2007

10 9.0
overall rating 9 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
9/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
9/10
Quality
9/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
9/10

"When you need room, like visibility, and value the minivan is great. In 1997 I test drove all available at that time. I liked the dodge the best. It fits 4'x8' pieces of anything flat in the back, like nothing else. I love the allweel drive. Bring it back Dodge, please! It's just starting to get a little rattlely now."

1 person out of 1 found this review helpful

GREAT FOR TRAVEL

By on Tuesday, July 24, 2007

10 9.0
overall rating 9 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
9/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
9/10
Quality
9/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
9/10
Comfort
9/10

"THIS VAN HOLDS ALOT OF STUFF. GREAT FOR ALONG TRIP. I BOUGHT MINE FROM THE ORIGINAL OWNER. THE TRANSMISSION HAD SOME PROBLEMS(expensive to fix) Drove it to Florida. Only got about 18 mpg. but I was driving 80+mph alot of the time. A/C works great and it handles wonderfully. It isn't the sportiest vehicle in the world, but it is VERY versatile. Holds alot of people and alot of cargo. Love how it is well lit inside. Can't beat it for a family vehicle or for traveling in comfort."

2 people out of 2 found this review helpful

gas mileage

By on Tuesday, July 24, 2007

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
9/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

"i drove 450 miles to a tank and it only cost me $250 to drive1600 miles at $3.00 a gallon thats awesome for a van"

2 people out of 2 found this review helpful

Bad Engine

By on Monday, July 23, 2007

10 4.0
overall rating 4 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
4/10
Value
4/10
Reliability
4/10
Quality
5/10
Performance
6/10
Styling
6/10
Comfort
6/10

"I really thought I had a good car till the engine blew at 132000. Not alot of miles considering some other brands warranty till 100K. No warning signs, nothing...... then one day the engine just blows??? makes me really think hard about buying another ... at least not another 3.8L engine."

2 people out of 2 found this review helpful

A van you'll fall in like with.

By on Monday, July 23, 2007

10 5.0
overall rating 5 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
5/10
Value
7/10
Reliability
7/10
Quality
6/10
Performance
5/10
Styling
6/10
Comfort
6/10

"Nothing to love but not much to hate. It holds a ton, 3rd row seat weighs a ton, plactics are durable and the car is relatively rattle-free. Goes, turns and stops OK - its a van. Gets 22 MPG. Transmissions are suspect but mine seems fine, brakes and parts are cheap, but it is starting to rust which suprises me since cars don't do that like the used to."

2 people out of 2 found this review helpful

Great Van

By on Thursday, July 19, 2007

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
9/10
Comfort
10/10

"options package is nice , the extras are great addition ,rides smooth no problems"

2 people out of 2 found this review helpful

By on Wednesday, July 18, 2007

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

This customer did not provide a text review.

By on Tuesday, July 17, 2007

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

This customer did not provide a text review.

van happy

By on Saturday, July 14, 2007

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
9/10
Comfort
8/10

"I have had my van since nov 98 and have not had any problems with it. The gas mileage has always held wonderful. My van currently has over 120k miles and is still running excellent. The only thing that I could complain is on long trips the front seats are not the most comfortable. I did not have power seats and that may make a difference. My van has been worth it."

7 people out of 7 found this review helpful

By on Monday, July 09, 2007

10 8.0
overall rating 8 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
8/10
Value
8/10
Reliability
9/10
Quality
9/10
Performance
9/10
Styling
8/10
Comfort
8/10

This customer did not provide a text review.

By on Wednesday, July 04, 2007

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
9/10
Comfort
10/10

This customer did not provide a text review.

Sort Reviews by: 
Per Page:  5 | 10 | 25
Previous | 1 ... 13 14 15 | Next
Find Deals Near You vehicles for sale matching Dodge Grand Caravan Passenger near Honolulu. See local deals