Advertisement

Why ads?
Popular at KBB.com
  • 15 Best Family Cars of 2015
  • 10 Best Midsize SUVs
  • 10 Best SUVs Under $25,000
  • 10 Best AWD Cars & SUVs Under $25,000
Go

1996 Dodge Grand Caravan Passenger

Style:

Consumer Reviews & Ratings

Overall Rating
7.6
Out of 10

Based on 366 Ratings for the 1996 - 2000 models.

Review this car
more rating details
  • Value
    7.9/10
    Quality
    7.7/10
  • Reliability
    8.0/10
    Performance
    8.0/10
  • Comfort
    8.4/10
    Styling
    8.2/10
Sort Reviews by: 
Per Page:  5 | 10 | 25
Previous | 1 2 3 ... 15 | Next

I like my caravan, it's a very comfortable car

By on Thursday, September 20, 2012

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 196,000

10 8.0
overall rating 8 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
8/10
Value
7/10
Reliability
7/10
Quality
9/10
Performance
8/10
Styling
9/10
Comfort
9/10

Pros: "It is very comfortable"

Cons: "The cup holders could be a little deeper."

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 8

"There is enough room when I need to drive my grandchildren somewhere, and they like it , because it's just like mommy's car, only a different color.(And mommy's is newer)"

1 person out of 1 found this review helpful

Love it. Getting a 2009 next week.

By on Wednesday, March 28, 2012

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 106,000

10 9.0
overall rating 9 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
9/10
Value
8/10
Reliability
9/10
Quality
9/10
Performance
9/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

Pros: "inherited it from my father in law. and love it."

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"Got a '99. Inherited it from father in law when he passed away. Our first minivan and we just can't live without one. So handy and convenient. A young driver turned in front of me and totaled it. So we are now we are getting a 2009 Town and Country loaded. Basically same as GG but with a few more bells and whistles. They cost, but boy are they worth it. Love everything about them. And I was one of those guys that said "I'll never have a minivan. We also have a Ford explorer. Like it but it can't compare to a Caravan or T"

1 person out of 1 found this review helpful

Vehicle has only needed routine maintenance.

By on Tuesday, February 21, 2012

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 254,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

Pros: "Paid off and no extra unusual cost for maintence"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"Just recently needed to replace the body control module and tranmission computer. $1300.00 for a 13 year old car."

1 person out of 1 found this review helpful

Nobody builds a mini-van like Chrysler

By on Friday, January 27, 2012

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 242,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
9/10
Styling
9/10
Comfort
9/10

Pros: "Reliable, great family vehicle."

Cons: "Not going to get you noticed, purely utilitarian."

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"We needed cheap, dependable transportation when we bought our '99 Grand Caravan three and a half years ago. It already had been well-used with 160,000 miles on it. We have put another 82,000 miles on it with very few repairs, mostly maintenance items. We have taken family trips all over the midwest, and two trips to the deep south in that time... all in reasonable comfort with 21-25 mpg fuel economy. I would drive this old van anywhere with complete confidence. In my opinion, few other vehicles deliver such value. Thanks to our rough winters, rust is now beginning to take its toll but, we will miss her when its time to sell it off."

1 person out of 1 found this review helpful

Great minivan!

By on Wednesday, January 25, 2012

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 171,000

10 9.0
overall rating 9 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
9/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
5/10
Styling
6/10
Comfort
8/10

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"We have owned our 1998 Dodge Caravan since it was new and it has never let us down. We use it for everything from taking the kids to sports events or as a work van (with seats removed). If you are looking for a quality used vehicle I would greatly recommend this model year."

1 person out of 1 found this review helpful

Best car ever!!

By on Monday, December 05, 2011

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 185,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

Pros: "AWD, comfortable, roomy, everything!!"

Cons: "only one: Serpentine belt can be annoying"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"I Love it!!! I wish to find another one almost the same but newer!!The AWD is awesome for Colorado barely any problems, reliable and great for trips, plemty of room and comfortable. Just AWESOME!!!"

1 person out of 1 found this review helpful

Great family car

By on Thursday, December 01, 2011

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 135,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

Pros: "All of the features it has we both enjoyed'"

Cons: "No cons, great and comfortable to drive."

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"This van was just perfect for my handicapped wife. Easy to get in and carry her wheelchair. Plenty of room to carry friends and great for shopping."

1 person out of 1 found this review helpful

One of the best all around vans we have ever owned

By on Wednesday, November 09, 2011

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 165,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
9/10
Comfort
9/10

Pros: "Greeat value for the price"

Cons: "Not many"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"We have driven this car in town and high way, long trips - short trips and after 165,000 mile it still gets 24mpg on the highway and 20 in town. Normal maintenance."

1 person out of 1 found this review helpful

I Love this Brand of vehicle

By on Tuesday, October 18, 2011

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 200,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

Pros: "stands the test of time"

Cons: "the 3.0 engine is not a good choice high cost"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

when we bought it

"I've had the 1990 version of this van and loved it so much I went and bought this 2000 Grand Caravan, Love everything about it. It holds up well and still gets great mileage about 23mpg, I use it for delivering newspapers 6 days a week for over 3 years now and it's just a great van. I will buy another one in a few weeks, i will be keeping this for my work."

1 person out of 1 found this review helpful

when we bought it

smooth ride

By on Wednesday, October 12, 2011

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 124,000

10 7.0
overall rating 7 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
7/10
Value
8/10
Reliability
7/10
Quality
7/10
Performance
9/10
Styling
9/10
Comfort
9/10

Pros: "comfort"

Cons: "gas milage"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"good to be high up when driving. If I were to buy another...it would be new and not used. With a used van, you may be taking on someone elses trouble. With a new van, you know what has been done to it."

1 person out of 1 found this review helpful

Love it!

By on Tuesday, October 11, 2011

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 200,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"This is the best vehicle I've ever owned. Great transportation and hauling capabilities. Other than normal repairs due to use, it's been very reliable."

1 person out of 1 found this review helpful

One of the best vehicles I've owned

By on Monday, September 12, 2011

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 193,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
9/10
Styling
9/10
Comfort
10/10

Pros: "Pricing is affordable, very comfortable, plenty of space!"

Cons: "Could get a little better gas mileage, easier movement of rear seats."

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"We bought our minivan when it had 164,000 miles on it. We have never had any major problems with this vehicle. Just regular maintenance. Usually gets about 17 or 18 hwy mpg. It is by far the most comfortable of any minivan I've ever been in-Honda, Toyota, Ford, or Chevy(we are big people!). Though a minivan is not my preferred choice of vehicle, I'll stick with another one when this one lays down. Plenty of space, seats are removable (though a little heavy for me to take in and out myself), smooth ride, and has always been dependable. I love my Caravan!"

1 person out of 1 found this review helpful

NICE VAN

By on Friday, April 22, 2011

10 8.0
overall rating 8 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
8/10
Value
8/10
Reliability
9/10
Quality
9/10
Performance
8/10
Styling
8/10
Comfort
9/10

"GOT THE 99 IN NOV OF LAST 09, BREAKS, OIL AND WIPERS REPLACED ONLY SO FAR"

1 person out of 1 found this review helpful

Have loved this van

By on Sunday, April 17, 2011

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

"We drove this car for several years, sold it to our daughter and her husband and it is still going strong. No engine or transmission replaced or anything. A little bit of work here and there but nothing major. We've had it in the family 11 years. Regular oil changes and if anything even looked like it could wear out we took care of it. (belts, etc.) Solid ride to this day."

1 person out of 1 found this review helpful

New to me

By on Wednesday, February 09, 2011

10 8.0
overall rating 8 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
8/10
Value
8/10
Reliability
9/10
Quality
8/10
Performance
9/10
Styling
8/10
Comfort
9/10

"I just bought this vehicle today and I'm very happy with the look and omg so much room. Smooth ride .I'm now a mini van mom."

1 person out of 1 found this review helpful

Nice

By on Tuesday, February 08, 2011

10 7.0
overall rating 7 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
7/10
Value
7/10
Reliability
8/10
Quality
8/10
Performance
8/10
Styling
8/10
Comfort
8/10

"Ive had my van since march of 2005 aside from the usual wear and tear parts like , tires and brakes Its been super reliable . I travel constantly to take my daughter to her doctor appointments each round trip is 220 miles , over 140,000 miles on it .Ive never broke down or had any problems in all the years Ive owned it , However the windsheild is huge so it gets more than averge of the dings and cracks from plows in the winter and in the summer its a bug magnet . as for rusting for the age and the use of the grand caravan its quite well , mostly around the back wheel wells is where I noticed most vans same age have it . The space is great plenty of room for shopping , squipment ect. All in all I give the my dodge grand caravan 4 out of 5 ."

1 person out of 1 found this review helpful

Solid Vehicle

By on Sunday, January 30, 2011

10 9.0
overall rating 9 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
9/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
9/10
Quality
9/10
Performance
9/10
Styling
9/10
Comfort
10/10

"I was happy with this vehicle.. I have a favorable impression of Dodge because of it. They seemed to have fixed previous defects of earlier versions of this van."

1 person out of 1 found this review helpful

Minivan by Timex

By on Saturday, January 22, 2011

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
9/10
Comfort
9/10

"My 2000 Grand Caravan has taken a lickin' but just kept tickin'!! I bought the van new and have driven over 250,000 miles. Transmission just finally went, but I can't complain. The brakes were never real good.. Sustained substantial front-end damage a couple times, but I think replacing the radiator about once every 75,000 miles may have made it last longer.. lol Just bought an '05 T&C and I hope it's as reliable!"

1 person out of 1 found this review helpful

Very Happy (knock on wood)

By on Friday, October 22, 2010

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

"I bought my '98 Dodge Grand Caravan used exactly 4 years ago with 74k miles on it, and it's been great. Now have 103k miles on it. The only thing that broke the whole time we've had it has been the serpentine belt system and the radiator. The total to replace those was about $800 total. Not bad for 48 months -- that's less than $20 per month for repairs. Other than that, nothing but routine maintenace and wear-and-tear. Great vehicle. Only downside is the gas mileage, but what do you expect? It's a minivan, lol!"

1 person out of 1 found this review helpful

Most reliable vehicle ever owned

By on Thursday, May 06, 2010

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
8/10
Comfort
10/10

"I absolutely love this vehicle. Bought it from private original owner with 50K mi., and have only had to buy new tires for it. Small investment compared to big return! Very dependable, roomy, good mileage; super comfortable. Roomy interior. Our kids love it, too!"

1 person out of 1 found this review helpful

Solid Performer

By on Wednesday, May 05, 2010

10 9.0
overall rating 9 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
9/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
9/10
Performance
9/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

"A very good vehicle for the family that hauls kids to sports or on regular trips..."

1 person out of 1 found this review helpful

Great, reliable vehicle

By on Thursday, February 04, 2010

10 7.0
overall rating 7 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
7/10
Value
8/10
Reliability
8/10
Quality
8/10
Performance
8/10
Styling
8/10
Comfort
8/10

"We bought this van used when it had 56K miles on it. It now has 217,000 miles on the odometer. Yes, we've had to replace the alternator and the gas pump, and there have been a few other expensive repairs. But prorated over the long service we've received from this car, those repairs have been relatively negligible. It's been a very faithful vehicle for us. We paid $6500, and the Kelley Blue Book value for it is currently over $2000. What a deal!"

1 person out of 1 found this review helpful

Nice Confortable Ride

By on Sunday, January 24, 2010

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
9/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

"I purchased this van with a blown 3.3 engine. Luckily I had an engine in another Caravan that I bought with a bad transmission. My wife drives this Caravan daily and "loves" it! We drove it about 3000 miles to Utah and back and it was extremely comfortable and reliable. I have to say that the gas mileage isn't that great but it's not awful. We average 19 or 20 city and sometimes 25 highway. It has a beautiful ride and handles great. We had a 1995 Caravan before this and it made it to almost 300000 miles before blowing the engine. I'd recommend a Caravan to anyone who needs room for kids and "stuff"."

1 person out of 1 found this review helpful

97 Dodge Grand Caravan LE 3.3L V6

By on Thursday, October 22, 2009

10 9.0
overall rating 9 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
9/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
9/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
9/10
Comfort
9/10

"I purchased this from my parents (who bought it new) about 3 yrs ago. It's been a great van & great on gas. Drives smooth and has held up well with my 3 boys which is amazing! I'm selling it now because I just purchased a 2005 Chrysler T&C Touring with all the bells/whistles. Would recommend for anyone wanting a mini-van that drives like a mid-size car."

1 person out of 1 found this review helpful

By on Friday, October 16, 2009

10 7.0
overall rating 7 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
7/10
Value
9/10
Reliability
8/10
Quality
7/10
Performance
7/10
Styling
7/10
Comfort
8/10

This customer did not provide a text review.

1 person out of 1 found this review helpful

Sort Reviews by: 
Per Page:  5 | 10 | 25
Previous | 1 2 3 ... 15 | Next
Find Deals Near You vehicles for sale matching Dodge Grand Caravan Passenger near Honolulu. See local deals