Advertisement

Why ads?
Popular at KBB.com
  • 12 Best Family Cars of 2014
  • 10 Best Midsize SUVs
  • 10 Best SUVs Under $25,000
  • 10 Best AWD Cars & SUVs Under $25,000
Go

1996 Dodge Grand Caravan Passenger

Style:

Consumer Reviews & Ratings

Overall Rating
7.5
Out of 10

Based on 344 Ratings for the 1996 - 2000 models.

Review this car
more rating details
  • Value
    7.9/10
    Quality
    7.7/10
  • Reliability
    8.0/10
    Performance
    8.0/10
  • Comfort
    8.4/10
    Styling
    8.1/10
Sort Reviews by: 
Reviews Displayed:  5 | 10 | 25
Previous | 1 2 3 ... 35 | Next

Proved to be a reliable vehicle with the tow pkg~

By on Saturday, January 04, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 154,000

10 9.0
overall rating 9 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
9/10
Value
9/10
Reliability
9/10
Quality
9/10
Performance
8/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
9/10

Pros: "Good looking for its age...paint, interior! Great!"

Cons: "Burns a litte oil...needs engine seals."

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 9

"After Dodge fixed their tranny problems, we bought this vehicle new in 1999 and had very few issues with it...just a few expected things. The tow package made for a very reliable engine and transmission. My wife thought we'd own it for 10 or 12 years, and here we are, 15 years later, selling it. It should be a good find for someone looking for an older, yet still reliable family vehicle."

7 people out of 8 found this review helpful

14 YEARS OF GOOD TIMES

By on Tuesday, November 26, 2013

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 173,256

10 9.0
overall rating 9 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
9/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
9/10
Quality
9/10
Performance
9/10
Styling
9/10
Comfort
10/10

Pros: "Great utility vehicle ie can load 4 x 8 drywall"

Cons: "Headlights are dull"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"1998 Grand Caravan SE Our kids are now teenagers. They grew up in this car, camping, family trips, built an addition on the house by hauling everything in it. Can load a 10 foot piece of lumber. Time to get a new one, sure will miss the old. The most comfortable traveling car I have ever driven. Still running like a top. Leaking some oil, but thats it. Transmission replaced at 60k."

1 person out of 2 found this review helpful

Love my caravan

By on Sunday, November 24, 2013

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 191,000

10 9.0
overall rating 9 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
9/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
6/10
Performance
8/10
Styling
7/10
Comfort
5/10

Pros: "easy to drive, has built in booster seats,"

Cons: "not as convient as the newer ones"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"being that it is an older caravan this 7 passanger has been the BEST vechicle I have ever had. VERY reliable and never had major problems with it. As long as you keep up with maintenience it will last for a long time!!"

1 person out of 1 found this review helpful

It's been a good one!

By on Tuesday, October 08, 2013

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 168,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
9/10
Reliability
9/10
Quality
9/10
Performance
9/10
Styling
8/10
Comfort
9/10

Pros: "great family vehicle"

Cons: "Can't think of any."

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"Hope I can drive it another 168k!"

so dependable-awesome to drive

By on Monday, September 09, 2013

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 150,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

Pros: "all"

Cons: "none"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"bought this used- only let us down once, and we do alot of driving!"

1 person out of 1 found this review helpful

Amazing Longevity!

By on Tuesday, August 27, 2013

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 259,000

10 9.0
overall rating 9 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
9/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
9/10
Performance
8/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
8/10

Pros: "Great price, great reliability, parts easy to get"

Cons: "boring, some body rust, weak A/C"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"I bought my Grand Caravan while on a trip to southwestern Minnesota. The thing had 220,000 miles on it, but I took a chance anyway for $800. I've now had it more than three years and it's still running. It has not needed any major repairs, maybe just brakes once. I also use it for my painting and outdoor services business, and it often tows a trailer. I really, really did not expect it to last this long."

6 people out of 6 found this review helpful

best van we have owed so far

By on Sunday, August 18, 2013

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 177,000

10 9.0
overall rating 9 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
9/10
Value
9/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
9/10
Performance
9/10
Styling
9/10
Comfort
8/10

Pros: "runs and drives great, excellent in snow"

Cons: "no sto and go seating, gas milage"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 8

"love the van looks sporty, handles good, kids love the space"

Versatile hauler with surprisingly good mileage

By on Saturday, August 17, 2013

I owned and sold this car

10 8.0
overall rating 8 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
8/10
Value
9/10
Reliability
8/10
Quality
8/10
Performance
7/10
Styling
9/10
Comfort
8/10

Pros: "Versatile, great traction, surprisingly good mpg"

Cons: "Terrible headlights, some repairs can be expensive"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"I drove my 1998 Grand Caravan (AWD, 3.8L) until it was destroyed in an accident at 180,000 miles. I love the versatility of this vehicle. It has great traction (with good tires), and enough clearance to handle deep snow and moderately rough gravel roads. The rear seats can be removed to carry cargo. In my case, I removed the middle seat and created a huge dog bed for my golden retriever. I generally got 15 mpg in the winter (10% ethanol gas, lots of idling, city driving), 18 mpg city in the summer, and 22 mpg highway. My biggest gripe is the wimpy headlights which throw more light into the sky than onto the road. Major repairs: transmission rebuild at 120K miles ($2500, most Caravans need this sometime between 90K-40K miles), BOC rebuild at 160K ($3000), 2 alternators replaced. The BOC is a clutch in the AWD system; after my nightmare I'd suggest replacement rather than repair. The gauges stopped working at about 140K miles--it's a very common problem with a cold solder joint where a cable connects to the circuit board; my mechanic re-soldered it for free. My general impression in talking to other owners is that 1998 was a particularly good year reliability-wise, sandwiched between several poor years."

My best Vechile Purchase Ever

By on Thursday, July 04, 2013

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 190,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
9/10
Performance
9/10
Styling
9/10
Comfort
10/10

Pros: "reliablity, value"

Cons: "None"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"The reason I'm on here looking is I was involved in an accendent, it was not my fault, and they will probably total my van. I love this thing. I have owned many cars in my life, and this van has by far been the best most reliable vechile I've ever owned. I hope they fix it, and I don't have to go car shoping, because I don't want to."

4 people out of 4 found this review helpful

My best Vechile Purchase Ever

By on Thursday, July 04, 2013

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 190,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
9/10
Performance
9/10
Styling
9/10
Comfort
10/10

Pros: "reliablity, value"

Cons: "None"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"The reason I'm on here looking is I was involved in an accendent, it was not my fault, and they will probably total my van. I love this thing. I have owned many cars in my life, and this van has by far been the best most reliable vechile I've ever owned. I hope they fix it, and I don't have to go car shoping, because I don't want to."

1 person out of 1 found this review helpful

Sort Reviews by: 
Reviews Displayed:  5 | 10 | 25
Previous | 1 2 3 ... 35 | Next
Find Deals Near You vehicles for sale matching Dodge Grand Caravan Passenger near Honolulu. See local deals