Advertisement

Why ads?
Popular at KBB.com
  • 12 Best Family Cars of 2014
  • 10 Best Midsize SUVs
  • 10 Best SUVs Under $25,000
  • 10 Best AWD Cars & SUVs Under $25,000
Go

1996 Dodge Grand Caravan Passenger

Style:

Consumer Reviews & Ratings

Overall Rating
7.6
Out of 10

Based on 364 Ratings for the 1996 - 2000 models.

Review this car
more rating details
  • Value
    7.9/10
    Quality
    7.7/10
  • Reliability
    8.0/10
    Performance
    8.0/10
  • Comfort
    8.4/10
    Styling
    8.2/10
Sort Reviews by: 
Per Page:  5 | 10 | 25
Previous | 1 2 3 ... 73 | Next

Solid Machine

By on Sunday, August 05, 2007

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

"This is our second Caravan and I'm looking forward to owning a third. It's super reliable, economical, comfortable, versatile and a joy to drive or ride in. We've used it on long road-trips and it's perfect for that as well. I'd recommend it to anyone. Pull out the back seats and you have a covered pickup truck or a camper. Buy one if you get the chance! Our current one has over 275,000 miles and it's still going strong."

13 people out of 13 found this review helpful

Comfortable workhorse

By on Monday, September 17, 2007

10 9.0
overall rating 9 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
9/10
Value
9/10
Reliability
9/10
Quality
9/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
9/10
Comfort
10/10

"I have loved this car for the 7 seven years I have owned it. It is like an old friend - low maintenance and dependable. Only recently has it started costing a few bucks to repair as it now has 136,000 miles on it. Engine shows no signs of wear or of giving up any time soon and it runs smoothly and quietly. We have traveled extensively in this vehicle, most recently on college tours driving over 3,000 miles in a month - all of them comfortable and worry-free. Had replaced both the condenser and the compressor in the AC unit and recently had a leak in that system fixed for short money. But other than that it has been routine maintenance. Wish I still needed a minivan, but I'm reluctantly trading into a hybrid for the mileage. It has still been cheaper to run this car at 18.4 MPG (onboard computer not reset in several months) with it's cheap insurance and no car payments, than to buy a new car. I'm still struggling with trading it in and might just keep it for an extra vehicle - it's been that much fun and that reliable."

9 people out of 9 found this review helpful

The best vehicle I have ever owned.

By on Thursday, December 04, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 370,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
9/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
8/10
Comfort
10/10

Pros: "Longevity of life with regular oil changes."

Cons: "Cup holders in front of A/C and heat controls"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"I bought this van brand new. My first new car ever. It has been a great car with VERY LITTLE mechanical issues. I have only had 1 major repair and that was while it was under warrantee. I got between 20-24MPG, but the comfort and space was worth it. I am would definitely buy a new van with the same features."

7 people out of 7 found this review helpful

van happy

By on Saturday, July 14, 2007

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
9/10
Comfort
8/10

"I have had my van since nov 98 and have not had any problems with it. The gas mileage has always held wonderful. My van currently has over 120k miles and is still running excellent. The only thing that I could complain is on long trips the front seats are not the most comfortable. I did not have power seats and that may make a difference. My van has been worth it."

7 people out of 7 found this review helpful

Amazing Longevity!

By on Tuesday, August 27, 2013

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 259,000

10 9.0
overall rating 9 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
9/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
9/10
Performance
8/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
8/10

Pros: "Great price, great reliability, parts easy to get"

Cons: "boring, some body rust, weak A/C"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"I bought my Grand Caravan while on a trip to southwestern Minnesota. The thing had 220,000 miles on it, but I took a chance anyway for $800. I've now had it more than three years and it's still running. It has not needed any major repairs, maybe just brakes once. I also use it for my painting and outdoor services business, and it often tows a trailer. I really, really did not expect it to last this long."

6 people out of 6 found this review helpful

Sort Reviews by: 
Per Page:  5 | 10 | 25
Previous | 1 2 3 ... 73 | Next
Find Deals Near You vehicles for sale matching Dodge Grand Caravan Passenger near Honolulu. See local deals