Advertisement

Why ads?
Popular at KBB.com
  • 12 Best Family Cars of 2014
  • 10 Best Midsize SUVs
  • 10 Best SUVs Under $25,000
  • 10 Best AWD Cars & SUVs Under $25,000
Go

1996 Dodge Grand Caravan Passenger

Style:

Consumer Reviews & Ratings

Overall Rating
7.6
Out of 10

Based on 360 Ratings for the 1996 - 2000 models.

Review this car
more rating details
  • Value
    7.9/10
    Quality
    7.7/10
  • Reliability
    8.0/10
    Performance
    8.0/10
  • Comfort
    8.4/10
    Styling
    8.1/10
Sort Reviews by: 
Per Page:  5 | 10 | 25
Previous | 1 2 3 ... 72 | Next

Great Rig!! LOVE THIS VAN!

By on Wednesday, February 04, 2015

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 174,000

10 8.0
overall rating 8 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
8/10
Value
8/10
Reliability
9/10
Quality
9/10
Performance
7/10
Styling
9/10
Comfort
9/10

Pros: "Reliable, Spacious, Comfortable, Easy parts access"

Cons: "transmission"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"I have the grand caravan with the 3.8, First off the power this thing puts out is impressive. the acceleration by far is better then any other mini i have driving, and it even handles well when you put the pedal down. The torque is pretty impressive as well. i pull a 4x8 utility trailer with about 1100 pounds of garbage in it, with no problem at all. As i don't have any children yet i rarely have the back seats in my van, this makes for a compact cargo van with the comforts of driving a sedan. Besides the known transmission problems, there is nothing about this van i would change. I hope this might have helped for anyone debating purchasing one of these butes."

2 people out of 2 found this review helpful

It's been a great car for out family

By on Sunday, February 01, 2015

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 180,000

10 9.0
overall rating 9 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
9/10
Value
8/10
Reliability
9/10
Quality
9/10
Performance
8/10
Styling
8/10
Comfort
9/10

Pros: "Lots of room"

Cons: "Rear lift gate latch is still flakey"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 9

"I wasn't sold on a minivan, but my wife was correct, it has been a great vehicle for us. I really like that our current caravan (we're on our third!) has the Sport suspension option."

Poor service

By on Friday, January 30, 2015

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 90,000

10 1.0
overall rating 1 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
1/10
Value
1/10
Reliability
1/10
Quality
4/10
Performance
8/10
Styling
8/10
Comfort
8/10

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 1

"Great van for 14 years. It was great while it ran. Currently at a dealership service dept. for 90 plus days with PCM problem and confusing diagnosis and service. I will never purchase a Chrysler product again."

Very good value, still running like a dream

By on Tuesday, January 06, 2015

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 110,000

10 6.0
overall rating 6 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
6/10
Value
7/10
Reliability
4/10
Quality
5/10
Performance
8/10
Styling
8/10
Comfort
8/10

Pros: "great value, dependable overall, drives nicely"

Cons: "Poor reliability (typical American car)"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 5

"We bought this car new in April 2000, and although its reliability was as is typical of Dodge and other American cars [e.g. needed minor transmission work a few times during its life, needed a new transmission at about 7 years (56k miles), needed more frequent brake pad replacement than normal (front), etc.], its overall value was unsurpassed. We paid about 21k for it, and when it was about 5 years old it started to cost (maintenance and repairs) about $100 monthly overall. When it got a few years older it started to average about $150, and that's about where it has remained thru today. This average cost includes the rebuilding of the transmission, brake jobs once every 1.5 - 2 years, oil changes, tire replacements, everything. So we got a great value, and the car runs nicer than many new cars today, smooth, supple, quiet, responsive, etc."

The best vehicle I have ever owned.

By on Thursday, December 04, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 370,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
9/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
8/10
Comfort
10/10

Pros: "Longevity of life with regular oil changes."

Cons: "Cup holders in front of A/C and heat controls"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"I bought this van brand new. My first new car ever. It has been a great car with VERY LITTLE mechanical issues. I have only had 1 major repair and that was while it was under warrantee. I got between 20-24MPG, but the comfort and space was worth it. I am would definitely buy a new van with the same features."

6 people out of 6 found this review helpful

Sort Reviews by: 
Per Page:  5 | 10 | 25
Previous | 1 2 3 ... 72 | Next
Find Deals Near You vehicles for sale matching Dodge Grand Caravan Passenger near Honolulu. See local deals