Advertisement

Why ads?
Popular at KBB.com
  • 12 Best Family Cars of 2014
  • 10 Best Midsize SUVs
  • 10 Best SUVs Under $25,000
  • 10 Best AWD Cars & SUVs Under $25,000
Go

1995 Dodge Grand Caravan Passenger

Style:

Consumer Reviews & Ratings

Overall Rating
8.6
Out of 10

Based on 42 Ratings for the 1991 - 1995 models.

Review this car
more rating details
  • Value
    8.9/10
    Quality
    8.7/10
  • Reliability
    8.9/10
    Performance
    9.0/10
  • Comfort
    9.1/10
    Styling
    8.9/10
Sort Reviews by: 
Per Page:  5 | 10 | 25

The best auto I have ever had

By on Friday, August 17, 2012

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 205,000

10 9.0
overall rating 9 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
9/10
Value
Not Rated
Reliability
9/10
Quality
9/10
Performance
9/10
Styling
9/10
Comfort
9/10

Pros: "Comfortable and dependable!"

Cons: "transmissions go bad"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 9

"This is the second one I've owned. This one has only had two owners and we've both taken good care of her though! I had to replace the transmissions in both of them, so expect and plan on that if buying one (or verify it's already been done). Other than that I have no complaints. I've had this one for about eight years with only routine maintenance and a few basic repairs to be done. Has cost me far less in eight years than a car payment would have!! She is super comfortable and I'll probably have her another eight years."

5 people out of 9 found this review helpful

I've driven it for 18 years and it has been great.

By on Tuesday, March 27, 2012

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 137,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

Pros: "reliable and lots of room for hauling"

Cons: "rust after 18 years but the engine is still great"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"Now after 18 years I have only put 137,000 miles on it. I had hoped to drive it another 100,000 miles. I've had few repairs over the years, mainly routine maintenance. Rust is sadly the reason for its demise as I have not kept it garaged. The driver side door came unhinged on the bottom after the door was pulled out of my hand in high winds this month. The body shop manager says the rust on the hinges is too bad and it would not be worth it to repair it. Other than routine maintenance there was only one serious but inexpensive repair about 5 yrs ago. I believe it was some kind of O2 sensor needed replaced. The van would quickly decelerate and accelerate suddenly on its own (dropped from 40 to 10 and back up to 40 in a split second. It was an easy repair but frightening the few times it happened.It only had to be repaired once for that problem."

4 people out of 6 found this review helpful

The van in general is pretty reliable.

By on Thursday, February 23, 2012

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 147,000

10 9.0
overall rating 9 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
9/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
9/10
Quality
9/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

Pros: "nice size, handles good, cheap to maintian."

Cons: "hard to remove back bench seats"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"I've owned it for about 1 year now. I put x amount of money in to it. The previous owner didn't take care of it very well because of lake of funds for the repairs that had to be done to it. It had a major oil, and coolant leak in it. It also needed some work to the AC. Other than that, it is a pretty good van. I'm real satisfied with it, I'm also happy with how it handles in the bad weather conditions."

1 person out of 2 found this review helpful

This has been a great van so far...342,248 miles

By on Sunday, December 18, 2011

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 342,258

10 7.0
overall rating 7 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
7/10
Value
7/10
Reliability
8/10
Quality
7/10
Performance
9/10
Styling
8/10
Comfort
8/10

Pros: "Low maintenance. Reliable and Versatile."

Cons: "The transmission went at about 150,000 miles."

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"I bought this van when it had approx. 110,000 miles on it. I bought it used. It has a 3.8L V6. This van is strong and reliable. You can take the seats out and use it as a moving van if you had to. I've been pleased with it. Can you imagine the refinement and reliability of the new versions of this van?"

2 people out of 4 found this review helpful

Bought it new and now have 287000 miles on it.

By on Saturday, November 26, 2011

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 267,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
9/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

Pros: "Low maintenance and reliable and got fair milage"

Cons: "Transmition failed early"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"This caravan has been a great vehicle. We bout it new. At 120000 miles we had to put in a new transmition. The only other problem was a couple of water pumps which were easy to change and an a/c compressor. I was shooting for 300,000 but decided to trade it off."

2 people out of 3 found this review helpful

Best car I ever had...hate to sell it

By on Thursday, October 27, 2011

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 35,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

Pros: "great fun to drive, cheap to drive great car"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"This has been the best car I ever owned. Tops in every way. Great driving, pulled trailer with it, drove in snow, rain, high speeds. It was and is a pleasure to drive on curvy mountainous roads. Hate to sell it, but got to. When I purchase a new car, I hope to to be able to get one just like this one."

2 people out of 4 found this review helpful

The best DODGE GRAND CARAVAN ES in its class!!!

By on Wednesday, September 21, 2011

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 107,500

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

Pros: "minivan with 3.8L engine it's like sports van !!!!!"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"I bought this minivan brand new in 1994. After 17 years and 107K miles it's still running like a horse. So far I had no engine / transmission problem. Besides replacing AC compressor once all other parts are original - factory installed."

1 person out of 1 found this review helpful

worst vehicle ever

By on Wednesday, April 20, 2011

10 1.0
overall rating 1 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
1/10
Value
1/10
Reliability
1/10
Quality
1/10
Performance
1/10
Styling
5/10
Comfort
5/10

"Have taken it to the dealership multiple times to have it fixed and every time it comes out within 2 days it has a new problem. Wires fray because they use poor quality, computers fry easily, transmition has been replaced twice!!! Horrid!!!!!!!!!!"

Good Vehicle

By on Wednesday, March 16, 2011

10 9.0
overall rating 9 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
9/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
9/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
9/10
Comfort
10/10

"I have had it for nearly 3 years and in that time, I took it storm chasing, off roading, used it in a street/rally race, an impromptu demolition derby, and destroyed the transmission twice. However, I replaced everything on it which saved much $$ when I did it mostly myself, and at 267,000 miles it still can make it to 90+ MPH without hesitating. In one summer I put 21,000 miles on it (2010 severe storm chasing season) and if it can handle 3 months of 21000 miles, It was well worth the $1 i paid for it."

2 people out of 2 found this review helpful

not to bad

By on Tuesday, February 22, 2011

10 6.0
overall rating 6 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
6/10
Value
5/10
Reliability
7/10
Quality
7/10
Performance
7/10
Styling
7/10
Comfort
7/10

"i like ir. i will tell you in a couple monthes, only had it for a little while."

Had to put my 1990 down this week.

By on Friday, February 18, 2011

10 7.0
overall rating 7 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
7/10
Value
9/10
Reliability
8/10
Quality
7/10
Performance
9/10
Styling
8/10
Comfort
9/10

"After 16 years of driving this Grand Caravan, I've had to let go of it this week, at 213K miles. A pickup driver passing a school bus on a two lane road T-boned me as I turned left, putting the final insult to a car that I have found to be entirely comfortable and utilitarian. Originally a Budget Rent-a-Car, I purchased from a dealer after some other owner had set the milage up to 86K. My complaints are: Transmission rebuilt at 96K; When the overnight temp is below 40°, the tranni will flip into creep home mode until it warms and is shut off and re-started, which is why it was rebuilt in the first place.; The paint - Chrysler should have re-painted all these cars for free. I've left it as-is as a poster for the lousy decision to use latex primer back when.; Styling - it's a box! What styling! :-0 I certainly got my $3000 out of it over the years. Easy starter - same battery, reading of about 9 Volts, for the last 8 years yet it still started right away every time in less than 2 seconds."

Great ride

By on Thursday, February 17, 2011

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
9/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
9/10
Comfort
10/10

"I am 3rd owner and overall have been quite pleased with van. LOTS of passenger and hauling room. Versitle seating with removable rear buckets and bench seat. Most expensive repair to date was A/C system since it is dual and both had to be repaired. Rear A/C hose is 5+/- feet long and very hard to locate part. It was also expensive. Van now has more than 200K miles and still going strong."

Wonderful Vehicle

By on Friday, February 11, 2011

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

"Over 250,000 miles and going strong...this thing is like the Energizer Bunny, it just keeps going. One of the best vehicles I have ever purchased!"

its a dream to drive and own

By on Wednesday, May 05, 2010

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

"My parents bought the Caravan new in 1994 and it is loaded. They still have it with only 35,000. miles (they have two cars) but when they went on long trips they loaded it up and went worry free. They have only replaced the battery and changed the oil faithfully and because of its age nobody wants to give them any reasonable money for it. Too bad cause they love the vehicle and have had 2 other Chrysler vans and this is the king in their eyes."

Energizer Bunny of Vans

By on Wednesday, March 24, 2010

10 9.0
overall rating 9 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
9/10
Value
9/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
9/10
Performance
9/10
Styling
6/10
Comfort
8/10

"Bought the 1995 Dodge Grand Caravan used with 40k miles and have still have it 95k miles later... All I do is change the oil, rotate the tires, and put a new battery in it every few years. What's weird is it has great acceleration for a big old van, must be that 3.3L V-6!"

By on Saturday, March 13, 2010

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

This customer did not provide a text review.

Best Vehicle

By on Saturday, November 14, 2009

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
9/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

"Easy entry & exit, great reliability, teriffic ride, great gas mileage. Excellent styling. Great touring car and great for transporting a great variety of items. Grandkids love it."

By on Monday, September 21, 2009

10 8.0
overall rating 8 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
8/10
Value
8/10
Reliability
9/10
Quality
8/10
Performance
9/10
Styling
7/10
Comfort
9/10

This customer did not provide a text review.

Like the bunny... it keeps going!

By on Sunday, May 31, 2009

10 9.0
overall rating 9 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
9/10
Value
9/10
Reliability
9/10
Quality
9/10
Performance
9/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

"We bought this guy NEW in 1994 and it's pushing 200K. Other than the air conditioning, we've had no major trouble. Still has the original transmission! We've changed oil at 3000 (or close) miles since it was new. Paint job didn't last all that long, but the important stuff--interior and engine--are going strong!"

3 people out of 3 found this review helpful

By on Tuesday, April 28, 2009

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

This customer did not provide a text review.

works for us

By on Tuesday, February 17, 2009

10 6.0
overall rating 6 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
6/10
Value
8/10
Reliability
8/10
Quality
7/10
Performance
7/10
Styling
7/10
Comfort
7/10

"bought used with 67,000 miles-now has 295,000 miles. It has gone to Florida, South Carolina (twice), Missouri(a lot),California, and serveral trips to Wyoming(just got back). Never have touched motor but on 3rd transmission. For the money, it runs and runs."

1 person out of 1 found this review helpful

By on Wednesday, October 15, 2008

10 3.0
overall rating 3 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
3/10
Value
4/10
Reliability
4/10
Quality
4/10
Performance
4/10
Styling
4/10
Comfort
4/10

This customer did not provide a text review.

Decent Vehicle for money

By on Friday, October 10, 2008

10 9.0
overall rating 9 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
9/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
9/10
Quality
9/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
9/10
Comfort
10/10

"I purchased my van 8 years ago as a touring vehicle because I like to drive distances. I currently have 254,000 on the van and the very few mechanical issues."

4 people out of 4 found this review helpful

By on Thursday, September 18, 2008

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

This customer did not provide a text review.

A Great Minivan

By on Wednesday, September 03, 2008

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

"This has been a great family automobile. We've used it for trips, camping and moving any number of our friends from place to place. In the13 years I've owned it I've had to do little more than an oil change to keep it running."

3 people out of 3 found this review helpful

Sort Reviews by: 
Per Page:  5 | 10 | 25
Find Deals Near You vehicles for sale matching Dodge Grand Caravan Passenger near Honolulu. See local deals