Go

2002 Dodge Durango

Style:

Consumer Reviews & Ratings

Overall Rating
8.1
Out of 10

Based on 976 Ratings for the 1998 - 2003 models.

Review this car
more rating details
  • Value
    8.2/10
    Quality
    8.4/10
  • Reliability
    8.5/10
    Performance
    8.5/10
  • Comfort
    8.7/10
    Styling
    8.7/10
Sort Reviews by: 
Per Page:  5 | 10 | 25
Previous | 1 2 3 ... 40 | Next

By on Friday, February 15, 2008

10 8.0
overall rating 8 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
8/10
Value
8/10
Reliability
8/10
Quality
9/10
Performance
9/10
Styling
9/10
Comfort
7/10

"'03 bought new to tow 25' travel trrailer, 4.7 v8 w/ low tourque had all the power needed, now it tows my boat in and out of steep boat launches, no problems. love the performance and power. Complaints: 15 MPG, and the back seat is uncomfortable for adults on trips and on 2nd set of brakes and rotors in less than 40k"

4 people out of 4 found this review helpful

Solid performer

By on Tuesday, January 22, 2008

10 8.0
overall rating 8 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
8/10
Value
8/10
Reliability
9/10
Quality
8/10
Performance
9/10
Styling
9/10
Comfort
7/10

"We have the R/T level in Flame Red. There's no missing this vehicle. Great towing platform, solid, takes a beating and comes out on top. Pure example of Detroit muscle. Not refined, but it works hard and gets the job done. Interior has held up well to two kids (and their friends), a large dog, and everything we've stuffed in, from pillows on the road trips to trees from the nursery."

4 people out of 4 found this review helpful

One tough Suv

By on Thursday, January 17, 2008

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
9/10
Comfort
10/10

"load the kids up, all your stuff, and pull the boat with power left to pass.. I would highly recommend this little truck. i have the 4x4 with the 5.9. and the third row seat really comes in handy. easy to maintain parts are cheap. i cannot believe how well this truck has held up it still looks and drives like when i bought it. very happy consumer."

4 people out of 4 found this review helpful

Solid Vehicle

By on Thursday, October 11, 2007

10 7.0
overall rating 7 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
7/10
Value
8/10
Reliability
8/10
Quality
7/10
Performance
8/10
Styling
9/10
Comfort
8/10

"Engine and Tansmission have been very reliable. The brakes work fine but are undersized for the vehicle's weight, so stopping distance is longer than desireable. Paint and hardware have stayed up fine, but are showing signs of rust after 9 winters in the Northeast and a seaside garage. The parts that have been replaced would be the normal suspects: bearings, bushings and ball joints. After 150K miles it still runs great."

4 people out of 4 found this review helpful

Dependable

By on Saturday, July 14, 2007

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

"Purchased my 2001 Durango from the dealer and had 8,000 miles on it. Manager had been driving it. In the 6 years I've had it, only spent $1400 in repairs, plus normal oil changes and routine maintenance work. MPG has remained consistent the entire time I've owned it. It's a keeper and it comes highly recommended by me."

4 people out of 4 found this review helpful

good drivingi

By on Monday, August 25, 2014

I want this car

10 7.0
overall rating 7 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
7/10
Value
4/10
Reliability
7/10
Quality
7/10
Performance
5/10
Styling
6/10
Comfort
6/10

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 8

"Is a very reliable and comfortable riding vehecle"

3 people out of 3 found this review helpful

It might be an older vehicle but it is sturdy

By on Wednesday, June 18, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 180,000

10 9.0
overall rating 9 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
9/10
Value
7/10
Reliability
9/10
Quality
9/10
Performance
9/10
Styling
8/10
Comfort
10/10

Pros: "V8 Magnum says it all"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 9

"I am the second owner of this vehicle, it has been an amazing purchase. Every now and then it has a minor breakdown but nothing serious. This vehicle has stood the test of time and is still going. I love my Mean Bean!!!"

3 people out of 3 found this review helpful

GREAT VEHICLE

By on Tuesday, February 18, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 156,212

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
8/10
Reliability
9/10
Quality
8/10
Performance
9/10
Styling
9/10
Comfort
8/10

Pros: "ENJOYED MY RIDE"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"BOUGHT USED WAS A GREAT BUY ENJOYED LOOKS AND STYLE ,OVERALL I ENJOYED MY DURANGO VERY MUCH AND WOULD RECOMMEND IT TO ANYONE"

3 people out of 3 found this review helpful

if gas is not a problem buy a durango 98-03 5.9

By on Tuesday, January 28, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 191,427

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
Not Rated
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
5/10
Comfort
8/10

Pros: "great car, very reliable, seat 8,6 comfortable"

Cons: "drinks gas like an alcoholic"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"my first car i bought was 2000 dodge durango 5.9 didn't wont to because its not that flashy but it they will last forever if you ask me. driven 100,000 mile with no major problems, I've only spent under 1000 in D.I.Y repairs and maintenance. I've owned the car for just over 2 years, and its fills good to say i own a durango instead of have a used car that at 100,000 miles you would've already replace engine or transmission. So like i said if its no problem buying gas buy a durango 5.9 98-03 trust me you wont regret it."

3 people out of 3 found this review helpful

Served us well over the last 10 years..tired now

By on Thursday, July 25, 2013

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 275,000

10 7.0
overall rating 7 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
7/10
Value
7/10
Reliability
9/10
Quality
7/10
Performance
6/10
Styling
7/10
Comfort
9/10

Pros: "Plenty of room, great in snow, solid machine"

Cons: "gas eater, not a lot of power"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 6

"Truck was not the beast that our 1998 was as it was on a smaller frame and smaller engine but served us well for 10 years with minor issues until the last year..Its tired now and needs to be put to rest."

3 people out of 3 found this review helpful

I love the vehicle.It meets all of my needs .

By on Monday, March 25, 2013

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 143,250

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
8/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
8/10
Comfort
10/10

Pros: "It is fun to drive and very reliable."

Cons: "I wish the mileage was better."

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"I love the vehicle.It meets all of my needs and expectations.I would highly recommend to a family member or friend. My Durango is very reliable."

3 people out of 3 found this review helpful

I love my Durango!

By on Wednesday, March 21, 2012

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 115,000

10 8.0
overall rating 8 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
8/10
Value
7/10
Reliability
7/10
Quality
9/10
Performance
8/10
Styling
9/10
Comfort
9/10

Pros: "Comfortable, handles well, responsive, reliable"

Cons: "Gas mileage"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 8

"I own a 2002 Durango with 115,000 miles and although my husband says I should probably get a newer vehicle, I really don't need to or want to! This vehicle is still very reliable; I hardly ever take it to the shop. It's comfortable; I love the way the seats hug my body. It drives great and handles well. It's the perfect size; I don't feel like I'm driving a tank but yet it's roomy enough to fit anything I need to put in it. My only complaint is the gas mileage. You will definitely have a higher gas bill driving this thing. I typically get 13-15 mpg."

3 people out of 3 found this review helpful

Best Vehicle ever - Separation Anixety

By on Saturday, November 26, 2011

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 186,125

10 9.0
overall rating 9 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
9/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
9/10
Styling
8/10
Comfort
8/10

Pros: "performance, price, dependability"

Cons: "gas mileage,"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"I purchased my durango '99 (with hips) for my bday in 1999 new with 11 miles on it. Today we have 186,125 expensive miles. She has performed extremely well in the Northeast inclement weather, open road travel, and sporting (hurting and fishing)trips. Seating and load capacity were favorable. Only problem, she loves to drink, and with gas prices in America. I'm having separation anixeties now since my wife thinks its time to put her to rest."

3 people out of 3 found this review helpful

A very dependable car. great gas mileage

By on Wednesday, November 16, 2011

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 171,000

10 8.0
overall rating 8 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
8/10
Value
8/10
Reliability
9/10
Quality
9/10
Performance
9/10
Styling
9/10
Comfort
9/10

Pros: "gas mileage is great, drive smoothly, dependable"

Cons: "None that I can think of"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"I have kept up on all of the maintance. I have never had any issues with this vehicle. I love the interior it's leather, it's very comfortable. I have had great mileage with it a V-8 engine and has some get up and go power as well. I have had many people tell me they loved the ride it gives, and I also agree it is a very smooth, safe and comfortable car."

3 people out of 3 found this review helpful

Wish they still had this body style

By on Monday, August 30, 2010

10 7.0
overall rating 7 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
7/10
Value
8/10
Reliability
8/10
Quality
8/10
Performance
9/10
Styling
8/10
Comfort
8/10

"I love my durango it has a 184000 miles on it and she is still running strong. Only had to replace wheel hubs and ball joints. Just keep up on the preventive maintenace and your good."

3 people out of 3 found this review helpful

2002 Durango - bought brand new

By on Wednesday, May 26, 2010

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
9/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

"I bought my 2002 "Dingo" in the fall of 2001. After I got done test driving her, she had a whopping 10 miles on her. LOVED IT! Hit a monster buck in it before the first payment - let me tell you - I did not feel a thing - although I did have to put her in the shop. My kids (in the backseat) and I were perfectly safe! "She" now has 170,000 miles, starts everytime I crank her over. No sputtering, no problems. The only work I've done - standard oil/air filter changes, brakes, tires, new rotors (I'm old I'm hard on brakes :).). That's it. She just keeps going. Fantastically comfortable on trips. I LOVE MY DINGO."

3 people out of 3 found this review helpful

By on Thursday, February 4, 2010

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
9/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

"This vehicle has been wonderful to me I travel a lot with my 3 year old and have not had a problem with this SUV in 4 yrs. Just recently the heater and air are giving me difficulty but considering the vehicle was used when i purchased it and has not had anyother problems i'm blessed to have purchased a Dodge Durango."

3 people out of 3 found this review helpful

2003 Durango

By on Thursday, October 29, 2009

10 8.0
overall rating 8 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
8/10
Value
9/10
Reliability
9/10
Quality
8/10
Performance
7/10
Styling
7/10
Comfort
8/10

"I bought this 2003 5.9L SLT Durango new at the end of 2003, after the newer model came out. Haven't been sorry. Virtually maintenance free (one incident, ABS failed at about 40000 miles. Was covered by warranty and quickly returned to service.) No oil leaks at all, say the oil change people. Very comfortable vehicle, with leather seats, pleasant on long trips. I paid $32,900, which was about 5-10% cheaper than Tahoe, or Jeep Cherokee at the time, which I was also looking at. I took the 5.9 engine, due to boat hauling needs. Gets 15 mpg on the hwy; around 11 in town. At 55,000 miles just finishing the original tires, which do quite well in the snow (these tires were an additional item in the purchase package, slightly bigger than base tires.) Love the full-time four-wheel drive in this trim-level. Thank my lucky stars for buying this vehicle. Things I wish it had: Better window seals; GPS; better mileage; integrated phone."

3 people out of 3 found this review helpful

By on Sunday, August 2, 2009

10 8.0
overall rating 8 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
8/10
Value
8/10
Reliability
9/10
Quality
8/10
Performance
8/10
Styling
8/10
Comfort
8/10

"This vehicle is create for hauling. I have 190,000 and havent had any major problems with the vehicle just regular maintenance. There is plenty of room to carry the whole family on vacations."

3 people out of 3 found this review helpful

Nicest SUV

By on Saturday, November 29, 2008

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
9/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
9/10

"This vehicle met and exceeded our expectations for an SUV. Strong enough to fight the snow and keep going. Gas sipper at 60MPH. In town driving consumes way to much gas. Comfortable enough for trips but with the Chrysler road noise to remind you it is a truck based vehicle."

3 people out of 3 found this review helpful

nice suv

By on Friday, January 11, 2008

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
9/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

"owned it for 2 years, no problems and it runs awsome. keep your foot out of the gas and fuel is decent. but note, put your foot in the gas and it will go. roomy and looks like new."

3 people out of 3 found this review helpful

A Big Red Horse

By on Monday, December 31, 2007

10 7.0
overall rating 7 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
7/10
Value
8/10
Reliability
9/10
Quality
7/10
Performance
7/10
Styling
7/10
Comfort
7/10

"This vehicle does everything I have asked of it, except to pass a fueling station. I only put on 5-6,000 miles per year so it is not a big factor. It takes me hunting and fishing anywhere and everywhere and pulls anything I want to pull without complaint. It has been much more reliable than predicted by CR, which is a relief."

3 people out of 3 found this review helpful

Great SUV

By on Saturday, August 25, 2007

10 7.0
overall rating 7 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
7/10
Value
8/10
Reliability
8/10
Quality
8/10
Performance
9/10
Styling
8/10
Comfort
9/10

"I bought my Durango used 3.5 years ago and have put over 75000 miles on it. Only work I have had to do was replace the water pump and the fuel pump. It still performs beautifully. My only complaint is the gas mileage (11 in town/16 highway)."

3 people out of 3 found this review helpful

very good family vehicle

By on Saturday, August 18, 2007

10 9.0
overall rating 9 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
9/10
Value
9/10
Reliability
9/10
Quality
9/10
Performance
9/10
Styling
9/10
Comfort
9/10

"it has plenty of room, enough for seven people. It has enough power to get out of someones way when need be. It is a overall good vehicle all around."

3 people out of 3 found this review helpful

By on Monday, July 9, 2007

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

"I bought my Durango used, and it is one of the best vehicles I have ever owned. I would highly recommend a Durango to anybody!"

3 people out of 3 found this review helpful

Sort Reviews by: 
Per Page:  5 | 10 | 25
Previous | 1 2 3 ... 40 | Next
Find Deals Near You vehicles for sale matching Dodge Durango near Honolulu. See local deals
Advertisement