Advertisement

Why ads?
Popular at KBB.com
  • Midsize SUV Buyer's Guide
  • 15 Best Family Cars of 2015
  • Compact SUV Buyer's Guide
  • 10 Most Fuel-Efficient SUVs
Go

2002 Dodge Durango

Style:

Consumer Reviews & Ratings

Overall Rating
8.1
Out of 10

Based on 956 Ratings for the 1998 - 2003 models.

Review this car
more rating details
  • Value
    8.2/10
    Quality
    8.4/10
  • Reliability
    8.5/10
    Performance
    8.5/10
  • Comfort
    8.7/10
    Styling
    8.7/10
Sort Reviews by: 
Per Page:  5 | 10 | 25
Previous | 1 2 3 ... 39 | Next

By on Sunday, August 02, 2009

10 8.0
overall rating 8 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
8/10
Value
8/10
Reliability
9/10
Quality
8/10
Performance
8/10
Styling
8/10
Comfort
8/10

"This vehicle is create for hauling. I have 190,000 and havent had any major problems with the vehicle just regular maintenance. There is plenty of room to carry the whole family on vacations."

3 people out of 3 found this review helpful

Nicest SUV

By on Saturday, November 29, 2008

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
9/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
9/10

"This vehicle met and exceeded our expectations for an SUV. Strong enough to fight the snow and keep going. Gas sipper at 60MPH. In town driving consumes way to much gas. Comfortable enough for trips but with the Chrysler road noise to remind you it is a truck based vehicle."

3 people out of 3 found this review helpful

Solid performer

By on Tuesday, January 22, 2008

10 8.0
overall rating 8 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
8/10
Value
8/10
Reliability
9/10
Quality
8/10
Performance
9/10
Styling
9/10
Comfort
7/10

"We have the R/T level in Flame Red. There's no missing this vehicle. Great towing platform, solid, takes a beating and comes out on top. Pure example of Detroit muscle. Not refined, but it works hard and gets the job done. Interior has held up well to two kids (and their friends), a large dog, and everything we've stuffed in, from pillows on the road trips to trees from the nursery."

3 people out of 3 found this review helpful

nice suv

By on Friday, January 11, 2008

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
9/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

"owned it for 2 years, no problems and it runs awsome. keep your foot out of the gas and fuel is decent. but note, put your foot in the gas and it will go. roomy and looks like new."

3 people out of 3 found this review helpful

Great SUV

By on Saturday, August 25, 2007

10 7.0
overall rating 7 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
7/10
Value
8/10
Reliability
8/10
Quality
8/10
Performance
9/10
Styling
8/10
Comfort
9/10

"I bought my Durango used 3.5 years ago and have put over 75000 miles on it. Only work I have had to do was replace the water pump and the fuel pump. It still performs beautifully. My only complaint is the gas mileage (11 in town/16 highway)."

3 people out of 3 found this review helpful

very good family vehicle

By on Saturday, August 18, 2007

10 9.0
overall rating 9 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
9/10
Value
9/10
Reliability
9/10
Quality
9/10
Performance
9/10
Styling
9/10
Comfort
9/10

"it has plenty of room, enough for seven people. It has enough power to get out of someones way when need be. It is a overall good vehicle all around."

3 people out of 3 found this review helpful

By on Monday, July 09, 2007

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

"I bought my Durango used, and it is one of the best vehicles I have ever owned. I would highly recommend a Durango to anybody!"

3 people out of 3 found this review helpful

I absolutly love my Durango it runs great

By on Thursday, April 25, 2013

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 205,138

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

Pros: "Love Driving my Durango"

Cons: "They rest out very quickly"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"I would recomend anyone looking for a mid sized SUV to look into buying and purchasing a new Durango they handle great runs great and are almost unstopable"

2 people out of 2 found this review helpful

I had one stolen and bought another

By on Tuesday, April 03, 2012

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 170,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
9/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"I love my Durango. It is the best vehicle I have ever owned. I have never been dissapointed by my Durango. It always does what I ask it to do."

2 people out of 2 found this review helpful

awesome

By on Monday, April 02, 2012

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 178,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

Pros: "takes a beating"

Cons: "bad on gas"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"love it"

2 people out of 2 found this review helpful

Strong, reliable and safe

By on Thursday, March 15, 2012

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 100,000

10 9.0
overall rating 9 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
9/10
Value
9/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
8/10
Performance
5/10
Styling
6/10
Comfort
8/10

Pros: "Fun, sounds great, it can tow anything with ease"

Cons: "plastic dash interiors(easy to clean) poor mpg"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"The vehicle still looks sharp. The flame red really stands out and the sound that's uttered as the 5.9L (tried and true Mopar 360) goes by is nothing short of musical. Though it's not great on economy, it does well on regular octane and has been as reliable as anything I've EVER owned. And I've had Nissan, Honda(wasn't anything at all like expected), GM and Ford."

2 people out of 2 found this review helpful

verry good in crash saved us all

By on Monday, March 12, 2012

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 75,000

10 9.0
overall rating 9 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
9/10
Value
8/10
Reliability
9/10
Quality
8/10
Performance
8/10
Styling
7/10
Comfort
8/10

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 9

"verry well made t-boned in crash heald up verry well"

2 people out of 2 found this review helpful

has never let me down

By on Friday, February 10, 2012

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 101,000

10 8.0
overall rating 8 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
8/10
Value
7/10
Reliability
9/10
Quality
8/10
Performance
9/10
Styling
8/10
Comfort
9/10

Pros: "very stable, great towing capacity, heats up quick"

Cons: "A/C is under powered"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"In spite of only two wheel it handles well in snow and has run higher than rated mpg."

2 people out of 2 found this review helpful

LOVE IT!!!

By on Sunday, December 04, 2011

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 191,500

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

Pros: "Lots of room, pulls a heavy load, handles great!"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"Bought the car when it was practically new. 191500 miles on it now and has been a very dependable car. Very few repairs, water pump, general maintenance items. Leaks a little bit of oil. Has 3rd row seating, so plenty of room for a family. Pulls an 18 foot travel trailer with ease and with the 3rd row down, can haul lots of stuff! I love the way it drives, corners, and general handling I give it 5 stars!!!"

2 people out of 2 found this review helpful

Seven years later and I still love my Durango

By on Sunday, November 27, 2011

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 72,000

10 8.0
overall rating 8 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
8/10
Value
9/10
Reliability
9/10
Quality
9/10
Performance
9/10
Styling
9/10
Comfort
9/10

Pros: "Very reliable, comfortable and fun to drive."

Cons: "mileage 11-13 in town up to 19 highway"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"I have owned many vehicles in my time on the road, hands down my favorite the 2003 Dodge Durango. Comfortable seating for five and additional not so comfortable for two more way in the back, this durango is great for long trips. Sure footed in the snow in 2wd and an absolute tank in 4wd I have never been stuck!"

2 people out of 2 found this review helpful

Great SUV!

By on Sunday, November 27, 2011

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 95,000

10 9.0
overall rating 9 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
9/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
9/10
Performance
9/10
Styling
9/10
Comfort
10/10

Pros: "Size, Performance, Reliability"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"I have owned over thirty vehicles in my 16 years of driving. The list extends from sports cars to SUV's and everything in between. The Durango is a small yet big vehicle, that is very well suited for an all around family. If you have a boat, it will tow it. If you go for long extended drives, they are super comfortable. I owned a 1999 and a 2003. The 99' had a 5.9 which in my opinion is not nearly as reliable and gets horrid gas mileage (I used to get 12-13 always). With the current 4.7 I get 16-17, and on the highway it gets 19 . I am in several different off road groups for which most members drive Jeeps. They always tell me how they cannot believe I am able to go with them to most places! Overall this has been one of the best vehicles for versatility for me."

2 people out of 2 found this review helpful

bought this vehicle new.

By on Friday, November 25, 2011

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 92,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"bought this vehicle new and has been one of the most reliable cars I have ever owned not the greatest on gas milage but has more power and towing capacity then you will ever need.Not to mention able to carry 7 passengers.I have actually towed a 30 ft ski boat and couldnt hardly tell it was there. love it.Only issue was the water pump.If ever replaced make the mechanic us sealer and a gasket the factoy only uses sealer the third time the dealer had to reseal it I made them use a gasket and sealer and been 60000 miles and hasnt leaked since."

2 people out of 2 found this review helpful

SO RELIABLE

By on Monday, November 14, 2011

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 165,500

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
9/10
Comfort
9/10

Pros: "Incredible pick up - especially in the mountains.."

Cons: "replaced 3 electric windows - EXPENSIVE."

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"Living in the mountains a fabulous transmission and pick up in a vehicle is imperative. This Dodge has incredible pick up and an overdrive kick that always makes it fun to drive. I seem to be the one to drive no matter where we go as my car (Durango) is always the most reliable and most comfortable. Just terrific - I do want another one..."

2 people out of 2 found this review helpful

Love It!!!

By on Saturday, October 22, 2011

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 57,000

10 8.0
overall rating 8 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
8/10
Value
9/10
Reliability
9/10
Quality
9/10
Performance
9/10
Styling
9/10
Comfort
9/10

Pros: "Just look at eveyones odomiter milage stated."

Cons: "Gas milage, but its a large V8 for crying out loud"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"Owned a 2001 SLT Plus w/ a 4.7, just bought a 2002 R/T w/ 57,000 miles and a 5.9, got a great price. I dont understand why everone talks about bad gas mileage (it a V8 and to be expected). The interior is sublime and the outside has the rugged Dodge look. Plenty of room and great seating although I would never subject three full grown people to the third row seat. Plenty of power to get going and runs nicer the any other vehical ive owned."

2 people out of 2 found this review helpful

Great overall vehicle - reliable and versitile

By on Thursday, October 13, 2011

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 180,000

10 9.0
overall rating 9 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
9/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
9/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
9/10
Comfort
9/10

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"I am the original owner of a 2000 Dodge Durango with the 4.7L 4WD powertrain. I just rolled 180,000 miles and it shows no signs of slowing down. With the exception of expected minor repairs (water pump, alternator, shocks and ball joints) I've had no issues with this car. I bought this car to haul my family and a 5000 lb boat and it does both of those things very well. It still drives almost like new. The fuel economy isn't great, but if you need to tow it's worth it. I average around 15mpg most tanks."

2 people out of 2 found this review helpful

Wonderful family vehicle with a good drive

By on Tuesday, October 11, 2011

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 124,000

10 9.0
overall rating 9 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
9/10
Value
9/10
Reliability
9/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

Pros: "good value, enough power, towing, space"

Cons: "gas needy, some road noise"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"Second owner since 32k and now 3 kids. Good road trip vehicle. Held up very well, especially the inside with kids."

2 people out of 2 found this review helpful

Good safe vehicle

By on Saturday, September 03, 2011

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 150,000

10 7.0
overall rating 7 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
7/10
Value
8/10
Reliability
8/10
Quality
8/10
Performance
8/10
Styling
9/10
Comfort
9/10

Pros: "Spacious, comfortable, safe"

Cons: "gas guzzler"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"I own a silver colored one and I love this vehicle. Comfortable family SUV. I feel safe whenever I am driving my Durango. The only change I would make to this model and year if I could would be gas mileage. I go through gas like water but I still love this vehicle."

2 people out of 2 found this review helpful

Excellent Family Car

By on Saturday, December 04, 2010

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
9/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

"We love our Durango. We bought it new in 2002 and it has been great. We are over 100,000 miles now and only need minimul maintenance each year. We wouldn't be able to afford this vehicle new today, so we are very glad that it has held up so well. I only gave it a 4 out of 5 on performance because I wish the gas mileage was higher; but it is comperable to other V8s."

2 people out of 2 found this review helpful

THE MOST SAFE & RELIABLE VEHICLE

By on Saturday, June 26, 2010

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

"I LOVE MY DODGE DURANGO! I HAVE A 2003 DODGE DURANGO AND IT IS THE MOST RELIABLE AND SAFE VEHICLE I HAVE EVER OWNED. IT HAS BEEN IN TWO MINOR ACCIDENTS AND YOU WOULD NEVER KNOW IT! THE BODY AND FRAME HOLDS UP LIKE A DREAM AND EVERYONE WAS STRAPPED IN A KEPT SAFE! I HAVE OWNED THE VEHICLE FOR 7 YEARS NOW AND HAVE NEVER HAD TO DO ANY MAJOR REPAIRS OTHER THAN REGULAR MAINTENANCE. IT IS VERY ROOMY AND COMFORTABLE WITH 3 ROWS OF LUXURIOUS LEATHER SEATS! EVEN WITH THE 4.7L ENGINE...IT IS POWERFUL ENOUGH TO PULL A FULL SIZE TRUCK ( I KNOW FROM EXPERIENCE) AND PULL A LOADED DOWN TRAILER. THE FOUR WHEEL DRIVE IS WONDERFUL TO HAVE...WE LIVE IN OHIO AND THE WINTERS GET PRETTY HARSH. GAS MILEAGE COULD BE BETTER BUT FOR SUCH A POWERFUL SUV, I THINK THE GAS MILEAGE WOULD BE CONSIDERED GOOD FOR A 25 GALLON TANK! OVERALL, THIS IS BY FAR THE BEST VEHICLE I HAVE EVER OWNED AND I JUST LOVE IT!"

2 people out of 2 found this review helpful

Best Vehicle Ever

By on Tuesday, June 15, 2010

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

"My son bought a Durango in '01 and I liked it so much I bought one in '02. I have had all kinds of troubles with cars thru my lifetime. But this Dodge Durango is the best. I have had no major fixes or problems (knock on wood). Excellent radio, cruise control on steering wheel. Have changed oil every 3-6 mos. Did change to synthetic."

2 people out of 2 found this review helpful

Sort Reviews by: 
Per Page:  5 | 10 | 25
Previous | 1 2 3 ... 39 | Next
Find Deals Near You vehicles for sale matching Dodge Durango near Honolulu. See local deals