Advertisement

Why ads?
Popular at KBB.com
  • 10 Best SUVs Under $25,000
  • 12 Best Family Cars of 2014
  • 10 Best Midsize SUVs
  • 10 Best AWD Cars & SUVs Under $25,000
Go

2002 Dodge Durango

Style:

Consumer Reviews & Ratings

Overall Rating
8.1
Out of 10

Based on 936 Ratings for the 1998 - 2003 models.

Review this car
more rating details
  • Value
    8.2/10
    Quality
    8.4/10
  • Reliability
    8.5/10
    Performance
    8.5/10
  • Comfort
    8.7/10
    Styling
    8.7/10
Sort Reviews by: 
Per Page:  5 | 10 | 25
Previous | 1 2 3 ... 38 | Next

good drivingi

By on Monday, August 25, 2014

I want this car

10 7.0
overall rating 7 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
7/10
Value
4/10
Reliability
7/10
Quality
7/10
Performance
5/10
Styling
6/10
Comfort
6/10

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 8

"Is a very reliable and comfortable riding vehecle"

3 people out of 3 found this review helpful

Bullet Proof

By on Tuesday, August 19, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 193,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
9/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
9/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

Pros: "Very strong."

Cons: "Rear lift gate rusty."

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 8

"The 1999 Durango we own as the only owner has been a great purchase for us. Very little has been done in 15 years."

2 people out of 3 found this review helpful

Great SUV

By on Tuesday, August 05, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 170,000

10 9.0
overall rating 9 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
9/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
8/10
Performance
9/10
Styling
9/10
Comfort
9/10

Pros: "reliable, and strong engine"

Cons: "rust prone"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"No major problems with this SUV. Has been very reliable and I love the power of the V8. 4x4 can parallel park in a 2' snow drift! Can haul anything too! Great for family outings and getting projects done around the house!"

3 people out of 3 found this review helpful

The best suv ever

By on Saturday, July 26, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 128,500

10 9.0
overall rating 9 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
9/10
Value
9/10
Reliability
9/10
Quality
9/10
Performance
9/10
Styling
9/10
Comfort
9/10

Pros: "plenty of power,fun to drive,looks great"

Cons: "poor gas mileage"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"I have to say this is a well built machine for on road and off road, comfortable, reliable and fun to drive. The 5.9 magnum is a real treat. This Durango is in great condition inside and out with small dent on hatch back. I hate that I have to sell it."

4 people out of 6 found this review helpful

Love my Durango

By on Saturday, July 19, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 112,000

10 9.0
overall rating 9 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
9/10
Value
8/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
9/10
Performance
9/10
Styling
9/10
Comfort
10/10

Pros: "great in the snow and lots of room."

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"Purchased my Durango in October of 2001 and proceeded to drive from Alaska to Texas. We were caught in a blizzard in the Yukon Territory. The Durango plowed through the snow where no snowplow had yet been. This has been the BEST snow vehicle ever. It is also very spacious. With the third row and back seats down, there is plenty of room to haul stuff. It also worked as a terrific "kennel" for our 3 big dogs when we drove cross country and took the Alaska State Ferry on a 4 day trip from Washington to Haines Alaska. The rear seat air/heat option was my mom's idea, since she rode in the back of a different vehicle on a trip to visit us. It is a great option. The third row seat doesn't get used much, but came in handy when we had extra "guests" to drive home after attending a New Year's Eve party one year. It is also great for driving large groups of visiting friends and family around the town for site-seeing. Our Durango has been and still is an awesome vehicle. We love it."

4 people out of 5 found this review helpful

Great performance, looks good inside, and out!

By on Wednesday, July 16, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 180,000

10 9.0
overall rating 9 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
9/10
Value
7/10
Reliability
9/10
Quality
9/10
Performance
9/10
Styling
9/10
Comfort
8/10

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 9

"Overall very good suv!"

It might be an older vehicle but it is sturdy

By on Wednesday, June 18, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 180,000

10 9.0
overall rating 9 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
9/10
Value
7/10
Reliability
9/10
Quality
9/10
Performance
9/10
Styling
8/10
Comfort
10/10

Pros: "V8 Magnum says it all"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 9

"I am the second owner of this vehicle, it has been an amazing purchase. Every now and then it has a minor breakdown but nothing serious. This vehicle has stood the test of time and is still going. I love my Mean Bean!!!"

3 people out of 3 found this review helpful

Absolute Monster, one of Chrysler's best suv's!!!

By on Monday, June 16, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 151,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

Pros: "That 5.9 engine sound, and outstanding reliability"

Cons: "Nothing!"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"I'm the owner of a 2001 Durango R/T 5.9 and let me tell you this truck is a monster! I bought it 3 yrs ago with 142k and all I've done to it is brakes, and oil change in those two yrs nothing major at all. In these harsh Chicago winters it turned on smooth every -0 day or night and went thru snow like nothing thanks to its powerful 5.9 and AWD. Since then I put a exhaust system on this bad boy and let me tell y'all.....This beast sounds like it has a 454 big block under the hood!!! It just roars like a lion when you hit on that gas, this truck is an absolute rebel! In all reality, the spec rated 250 hp I think is really underrated by the way this beast roars on idle and on pick up. I think it has atleast 290 or 300 hp. I've seen 2013's and 14's with catback exhaust systems and they just don't even come close to sounding like this 1st gen Durango. I change the oil with pennzoil Ultra and let me tell you, this thing runs as smooth as a 2014 no lie, it loves this synthetic. Anyways if anyone is thinking about buying one....GET IT, you will not be dissapointed. Its super reliable, dependable, fun to drive, and just plain nasty!!!"

3 people out of 4 found this review helpful

I love this truck! Best vehicle I've ever owned!

By on Friday, May 30, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 130,900

10 9.0
overall rating 9 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
9/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

Pros: "extremely reliable. outstanding 4wd performance."

Cons: "uneven temperature. frightening low gas mileage."

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"I bought my 2003 Durango used in 2005, only one previous owner. This is the best vehicle I've ever owned. Always feel safe driving it in any weather or road conditions. This truck is a beast. I've had tons of people ask me to come get them or to drive them somewhere during snowstorms. I've even had male co-workers ask me for rides home after terrible snowstorms because my truck is better in snow than anything anyone else owns lol. I love the power it has, it's a fast truck. I'm sad that this was the last year for this body style. If they still made them in this design I'd buy another in a second. Only downsides are low fuel mileage but it is a v8. And the temperature is always uneven, heat and a/c. The driver side is colder than the passenger and there's not really a perfect setting to use so you're always adjusting it as you go. But they're minor compared to how great this truck is :)"

7 people out of 8 found this review helpful

This vehicle is a dark purple metalic. Needs tlc

By on Tuesday, May 27, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 188,000

10 6.0
overall rating 6 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
6/10
Value
5/10
Reliability
5/10
Quality
1/10
Performance
4/10
Styling
4/10
Comfort
9/10

Pros: "lots of room, comfortable"

Cons: "not good on gas"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 2

"great vehicle."

i have owned this vehicle for 2 years

By on Saturday, April 26, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 160,000

10 9.0
overall rating 9 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
9/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
9/10
Styling
8/10
Comfort
10/10

Pros: "great ride. comforable to driv long distances"

Cons: "really bad on gas"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"I bought this vehicle from my dad 2 years ago for 1200. it currently has 202000 miles. original engine and transmission numbers matching. no engine light or any other lights on in the dash board. no major work has been done to it. go right through mud and snow."

9 people out of 11 found this review helpful

good reliable vehicle, drives good

By on Friday, April 25, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 146,000

10 9.0
overall rating 9 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
9/10
Value
8/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
8/10
Performance
9/10
Styling
9/10
Comfort
9/10

Pros: "runs good, reliable, third row seating"

Cons: "no mirror on the passanger side"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 9

"Good vehicle, Drives good, good if you havev a family. Has third row seating."

2 people out of 3 found this review helpful

Too many repairs since purchasing .

By on Sunday, March 30, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 243,000

10 5.0
overall rating 5 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
5/10
Value
5/10
Reliability
4/10
Quality
3/10
Performance
5/10
Styling
5/10
Comfort
5/10

Pros: "It drives well"

Cons: "Too many repairs as of late"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 4

"It was a good running vehicle , lots of repairs have been made but it seems every time I fix one thing something else goes wrong . At the moment the Truck is sitting in my Garage , it still runs but when I drove it last time the entire front end was shaking quite badly , so it sits there . I'm still trying to decide if it's worth repairing or should I just junk it ?"

7 people out of 13 found this review helpful

Thumbs up on this vehicle !

By on Saturday, March 22, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 149,999

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
5/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
9/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

Pros: "Very peppy for a largish sports utility vehicle ."

Cons: "Nothing bad to write about this thing at all ."

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"This is my second durango and i was happy with my first . Learned with my first that they like gasoline quite a bit so quite simply i recommend a K&N cold air kit because it IS worth the money and a set of as equal length as you can find for headers . The ones i found on ebay are not tuned but are equal length and the filter gained me 1.5 and the headers closer to 2 mpg but in the end i only get maybe high 12's city but for the power gain it is well worth it . It is a 5.2 and at times i see close to 14.5 but those time are few and i only use shell fuel . Yes it is four wheel drive and in snow i see high 10.? ."

3 people out of 5 found this review helpful

Great old school SUV

By on Sunday, March 16, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 145,000

10 9.0
overall rating 9 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
9/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
8/10
Quality
8/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
9/10

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"I bought it 2 years ago with 129K. I have had a few problems with the A/C, front axle, brakes and radiator. Nothing expensive has failed. The R/T version of the 5.9 is rock solid dependable as is the transmission. Performance is very good, but economy isn't. In town is about 10 mpg. I use it for towing where my daily vehicles are not suitable. Works very well in this capacity."

4 people out of 5 found this review helpful

Bought it brand new! No regrets at all!

By on Wednesday, March 05, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 167,000

10 9.0
overall rating 9 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
9/10
Value
9/10
Reliability
9/10
Quality
9/10
Performance
9/10
Styling
9/10
Comfort
9/10

Pros: "Fun to drive"

Cons: "None."

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 9

"Like body style, drivability. Will keep it forever!"

1 person out of 1 found this review helpful

rebuilt moter&trans

By on Tuesday, March 04, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 120,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
9/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
9/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
9/10
Comfort
10/10

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 9

"nice suv ready for anything cross country arownd town good milage"

dependable,solid,impressive.

By on Thursday, February 20, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 171,000

10 9.0
overall rating 9 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
9/10
Value
8/10
Reliability
8/10
Quality
8/10
Performance
8/10
Styling
8/10
Comfort
8/10

Pros: "durabilty"

Cons: "gas"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 9

"this is an all year truck. good for a family or work. i may buy a second."

1 person out of 1 found this review helpful

GREAT VEHICLE

By on Tuesday, February 18, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 156,212

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
8/10
Reliability
9/10
Quality
8/10
Performance
9/10
Styling
9/10
Comfort
8/10

Pros: "ENJOYED MY RIDE"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"BOUGHT USED WAS A GREAT BUY ENJOYED LOOKS AND STYLE ,OVERALL I ENJOYED MY DURANGO VERY MUCH AND WOULD RECOMMEND IT TO ANYONE"

3 people out of 3 found this review helpful

I bought it new!

By on Saturday, February 08, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 100,000

10 9.0
overall rating 9 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
9/10
Value
9/10
Reliability
9/10
Quality
9/10
Performance
9/10
Styling
9/10
Comfort
9/10

Pros: "Dependable in all weather"

Cons: "17 MPG highway or 14 towing a boat"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

Not photshopped

"After all these years, I still have a hard time letting go of my car. It is still as dependable as when I bought it. Q- Did anything brake down? A- Not the engine. I did have to replace the transmission and converter. However, everything that I put into the car was factory stock or better. I would buy another in a heart beat but my lifestyle has changed and I cannot use this ride anymore."

6 people out of 6 found this review helpful

Not photshopped

Repair expenses up the wazoo.

By on Saturday, February 08, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 108,000

10 3.0
overall rating 3 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
3/10
Value
4/10
Reliability
3/10
Quality
3/10
Performance
7/10
Styling
5/10
Comfort
6/10

Pros: "Plenty of power in and out of traffic."

Cons: "Repair expenses forever."

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 2

"I'll never buy another Chrysler product. The repairs on this thing have been outrageous."

1 person out of 1 found this review helpful

I love this Durango, very dependable.

By on Thursday, February 06, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 130,000

10 9.0
overall rating 9 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
9/10
Value
8/10
Reliability
8/10
Quality
9/10
Performance
9/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"Never had any mechanical problems, just a great vehicle!"

2 people out of 2 found this review helpful

Great SUV

By on Sunday, February 02, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 158,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
9/10
Reliability
9/10
Quality
9/10
Performance
9/10
Styling
9/10
Comfort
9/10

Pros: "Strong, roomy, comfortable, easy to park"

Cons: "fuel mileage"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"I bought my 2002 Durango used over a year ago. We bought it because we needed a 7 passenger vehicle and didn't want a mini van. Yes fuel mileage is low but you don't buy an SUV for fuel economy. With 5 kids me and my wife would have to take 2 cars if we wanted to go anywhere. So fuel economy wise it was cheaper to take the Durango. We went on 600 mile trip with all the kids fully loaded with camping gear and 2 huge roof top carriers. The 4.7 pulled nice and we averaged 16 mpg going 70mph try that in a minivan or ecnobox car. Just love this car, comfortable, powerful and not to big, easy to park. Make sure you replace the upper radiator hose as soon as you can and check the radiator for cracks after 10 years all plastic on any car starts to break down"

9 people out of 9 found this review helpful

if gas is not a problem buy a durango 98-03 5.9

By on Tuesday, January 28, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 191,427

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
Not Rated
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
5/10
Comfort
8/10

Pros: "great car, very reliable, seat 8,6 comfortable"

Cons: "drinks gas like an alcoholic"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"my first car i bought was 2000 dodge durango 5.9 didn't wont to because its not that flashy but it they will last forever if you ask me. driven 100,000 mile with no major problems, I've only spent under 1000 in D.I.Y repairs and maintenance. I've owned the car for just over 2 years, and its fills good to say i own a durango instead of have a used car that at 100,000 miles you would've already replace engine or transmission. So like i said if its no problem buying gas buy a durango 5.9 98-03 trust me you wont regret it."

3 people out of 3 found this review helpful

Beyond expectations

By on Thursday, January 16, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 95,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

Pros: "Solid feel and drive. Can fit so much inside"

Cons: "Only con, plan on extra gas money. 10-14mpg"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"This car drives like it's brand new. No rust, no oil drips. And this particular car was well taken care of, and looks almost new inside and out. very safe feeling when operating. I was recently blindsided by a vehicle that ran a stop sign. her car is visible totaled, like a giant can opener got to work on it. The durango had minimal damage and saved three people in the car from serious physical injuries. Waiting to see if the car will be a complete loss or not. Only because it is a 2001. But i would not hesitate to buy another if needed."

3 people out of 4 found this review helpful

Sort Reviews by: 
Per Page:  5 | 10 | 25
Previous | 1 2 3 ... 38 | Next
Find Deals Near You vehicles for sale matching Dodge Durango near Honolulu. See local deals