Advertisement

Why ads?
Popular at KBB.com
  • Midsize SUV Buyer's Guide
  • 15 Best Family Cars of 2015
  • Compact SUV Buyer's Guide
  • 10 Most Fuel-Efficient SUVs
Go

2001 Dodge Durango

Style:

Consumer Reviews & Ratings

Overall Rating
8.1
Out of 10

Based on 954 Ratings for the 1998 - 2003 models.

Review this car
more rating details
  • Value
    8.2/10
    Quality
    8.4/10
  • Reliability
    8.5/10
    Performance
    8.5/10
  • Comfort
    8.7/10
    Styling
    8.7/10
Sort Reviews by: 
Per Page:  5 | 10 | 25
Previous | 1 2 3 ... 39 | Next

Driving for 13 years Engine has been a champ!

By on Thursday, April 16, 2015

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 123,000

10 7.0
overall rating 7 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
7/10
Value
8/10
Reliability
9/10
Quality
6/10
Performance
7/10
Styling
6/10
Comfort
7/10

Pros: "Engine runs strong at 123000"

Cons: "Gas GUZZLER"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 9

"I have had this truck for 13 years, I purchased this 2 years old with just about 15,000 miles on it. Other then you normal everyday repairs and maintenance, it has been a champ. I did have the transmission rebuilt about 10 years ago, my fault completely the damage done. Last year was a bit more with a new power steering box and new brake lines all around. This truck was driven pretty roughly the first 5-6 years we owned it, in and out of the woods hunting through mud and muck. Through all, the motor has had nothing but tunes ups and oil changes. Cant beat not having a car payment for 10 years!"

best truck ever

By on Monday, April 13, 2015

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 150,000

10 8.0
overall rating 8 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
8/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
8/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

Pros: "comfortable, drives great, handles great,"

Cons: "small cargo space"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"i love this truck, ive had it for over 5 years and its never failed me. we have driven from wa state to ca twice and from wa to oklahoma as well, never a single problem."

1 person out of 1 found this review helpful

Great SUV

By on Thursday, April 02, 2015

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 150,000

10 9.0
overall rating 9 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
9/10
Value
9/10
Reliability
9/10
Quality
9/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
9/10

Pros: "Quality Build, The Design Is Classic"

Cons: "Poor Fuel Milage"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"This is a Rock Solid SUV"

Unblievably high utility vehicle

By on Wednesday, April 01, 2015

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 150,000

10 8.0
overall rating 8 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
8/10
Value
9/10
Reliability
8/10
Quality
8/10
Performance
9/10
Styling
8/10
Comfort
10/10

Cons: "Wish it got better mileage on long trips."

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 7

"If you need to pull something, this is your ride. If you don't ever want to get stuck, this is your ride. If you need to take several passengers, and either of the above, this is your ride. You can't get a better tower. When I take my family of six anywhere, this is our ride. It is very comfortable, reliable, and unstoppable. Roof rack, cargo compartment, and towing package make it a great "expedition" type vehicle. Height gives it good visibility and 4 wheel ABS make it very safe."

5 people out of 6 found this review helpful

Worried it has a salvaged title

By on Tuesday, March 24, 2015

I want this car

10 1.0
overall rating 1 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
1/10
Value
Not Rated
Reliability
Not Rated
Quality
Not Rated
Performance
Not Rated
Styling
Not Rated
Comfort
Not Rated

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 1

"It has a salvage title. Been totaled and fixed."

Great Medium size SUV

By on Tuesday, March 10, 2015

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 52,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

Pros: "Great Medium size SUV"

Cons: "None"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 9

"Owned this SUV from New. Never let me down. Tow double axle u haul trailers fully loaded occasionally with out any problem. Shipped it twice to England for a thought round Europe. It is even registered in UK for permanent use in the Europe."

not one major problem ever.

By on Saturday, March 07, 2015

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 133,000

10 9.0
overall rating 9 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
9/10
Value
9/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
8/10
Styling
8/10
Comfort
9/10

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"r&r battery-brakes-starter-misc.lights-tires-tune-up"

Best vehicle I've ever owned

By on Wednesday, February 11, 2015

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 220,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
8/10
Styling
8/10
Comfort
8/10

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"I bought this SUV new in 2002 and have had no major mechanical problems. The power seat had a problem that cost $800 at the dealership to fix, that's the only problem I've had. It's never left me stranded on the side of the road. Dodge gets a bad rap but I love mine."

4 people out of 5 found this review helpful

Love this vehicle!!!!! The original model!

By on Tuesday, December 16, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 127,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
9/10
Quality
9/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

Pros: "Comfortable drive, great look, roomy, fun to drive"

Cons: "Gas mileage, tranny issues mimic need 4tune up"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"I love this vehicle! I would recommend it to anyone who wants an SUV. It's not good on gas mileage and can have transmission problems that can mimic the need for a tune-up, however it is a great vehicle. Mine handles excellently in ice and snow. During a blizzard when monster trucks and other 4wheel drive vehicles were getting stuck and immobilized, my green "beast" powered through without a problem. The original body style is unmatched and having the third row doesn't take away from the aesthetic. It's a comfortable drive with that monster power noise upon starting that says "this is a truck"! It's a large roomy truck but easy to see the road and surrounding in (I'm a short person and I have a less obstructed view in my truck than in a car). It's worth the value."

7 people out of 11 found this review helpful

Great durango, especially with 360c.u.

By on Tuesday, December 09, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 153,000

10 9.0
overall rating 9 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
9/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
8/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
9/10
Comfort
9/10

Pros: "Great torque, comfortable, great traveling vehicle"

Cons: "transmissions can be quirky"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 9

"Bought this suv from a family member, its now on its 3rd transmission, had a new bumper put in, new hoses, lines, ect. I drive 150 miles with it weekly and never skips a beat, (knock on wood). 5.9 has amazing power for size of vehicle, never downshifts going up hills, and going 75 I'm still only at 1,800 RPM. Power seat, all speakers work, everything works! Transmissions can be a bit quirky but when you know the shift points, its great. She really pulls. Great traveling vehicle, steering is great, (nice and tight, unlike other rams)."

4 people out of 8 found this review helpful

I will never buy a Dodge agian

By on Saturday, November 29, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 130,000

10 3.0
overall rating 3 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
3/10
Value
Not Rated
Reliability
8/10
Quality
2/10
Performance
1/10
Styling
8/10
Comfort
1/10

Pros: "Looks nice"

Cons: "See above"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 1

"Control module went out. 3 days at a dealer yielded no repair. All indications was that they wanted to sell me a new vehicle. Test unit for testing the control module costs $2,500. Cannot trust dealer to fix it."

7 people out of 14 found this review helpful

03 durango - It gets the job done.

By on Wednesday, November 19, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 112,000

10 9.0
overall rating 9 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
9/10
Value
8/10
Reliability
9/10
Quality
8/10
Performance
8/10
Styling
7/10
Comfort
9/10

Pros: "Comfortable interior, smooth ride, great 4x4"

Cons: "Low mpg"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"Ive just about had my durango for a year now and have put about 11k miles on it. So far, no serious problems have occurred. My check engine light has been on since i bought the car with a P0440 gas leak detected (small) but to my knowledge this is a common problem with durangos and dakotas of the time. A few things to look out for especially in places where it snows is rust. As long as there is no serious frame rot you should be fine with a little rust underneath it. But before you commit to buying one, take a look underneath at the shocks and frame, my rear shocks had holes rusted in them the size of oranges but they still worked fine. Transmission pan rust is a common problem with these trucks and mine has just started to rust. It needs to be replaced but its pretty cheap to get a new pan and gasket, just around $35. If you are looking for a truck to haul yourself, your wife, and your 6 kids in the back, this is the vehicle for you. Its a grade A grocery getter. If you are looking for something to work on yourself this is a great choice. lots of space in the engine bay for an air intake kit once you remove the stock air cleaner assembly. Roaring exhaust with a Borla cat back."

6 people out of 11 found this review helpful

Highly satisfied with this car. very dependable

By on Sunday, November 02, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 165,500

10 9.0
overall rating 9 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
9/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
9/10
Performance
8/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
9/10

Pros: "Sturdy, dependable, powerful"

Cons: "gas mileage"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"Original owner, well maintained"

1 person out of 2 found this review helpful

Great SUV, but POOR GAS MILEAGE

By on Saturday, November 01, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 140,000

10 8.0
overall rating 8 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
8/10
Value
8/10
Reliability
8/10
Quality
7/10
Performance
5/10
Styling
7/10
Comfort
8/10

Pros: "Spacious, Smooth Ride, Comfort, Rear Ac. Powerful"

Cons: "GAs Mileage Poor, Power WiD,"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 6

"My Family Bought this S.U.V as a certified pre-owned in 2004 (had around 30k miles on it). To Us It has been a good car. Great car for us at the time, I was too young to drive and it carried all the family really comfortably. I am now driving it daily. Its a good car for around the town comfort and if you need to haul or tow small trailers. However it has some downsides. 1st off is the POOR GAS MILEAGE!!! I get about 10-14 city and 14-17hwy depending on traffic and things. Secondly is many of the luxury features will break with time( mainly things, Stereo speakers, and POWER WINDOW REGULATORS, Power seats).Also Alot of dodge vehicles are known to have transmission issues or differential issues. (IDK why but many people i have talked to have had their transmissions in dodge vehicles redone or replaced. However its has been reliable to us thus far (knocking on wood here). Personally I would Like to get something else with today's gas prices hovering between 3-4$/Gal But If your a Mother or someone that needs to haul people or things its a good car. I just don't really need these things being a 21 year old with no kids atm. Overall My family has been happy with the Durango and I Will continue to use it until I can afford a car payment."

8 people out of 10 found this review helpful

I love this car best vehicle ever have

By on Friday, October 31, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 182,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"Excellent car"

2 people out of 3 found this review helpful

Awesome 4x4

By on Tuesday, October 07, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 100,580

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
9/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
9/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

Pros: "Reliability, towing capacity, and comfort."

Cons: "fuel milage, it's a 4x4 AWD what do you expect."

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"I'm the second owner and I bought this 2002 Dodge Durango RT w/ 56,000 miles on it in 2011, since then I've only have had to replace the spark plug wires and the plugs and rotor and distributor. This is the most comfortable vehicle that I've ever owned w/ all of the bells and whistles. Its been extremely reliable and fun to drive. Gas mileage is not it's forte but the ability to get around in the winter and up and down hills in the winter on snow or ice is an excellent trade off. Also the towining capacity is outstanding as I have pulled everything from a pop up tent trailer to a 26' rv all without any problems. I LOVE This SUV!!! I had never owned a Dodge before but I'm sold on them now and plan on being a life long customer."

11 people out of 20 found this review helpful

I LOVE my Durango!

By on Wednesday, September 24, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 257,125

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

Pros: "Good condition in and out. 4WD runs perfect."

Cons: "High mileage. All local miles."

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"We have driven this vehicle for 10 years. Oil changed like clockwork, new tires occassionally and fill it up. Runs great and still looks good. Only wear on the leather interior is on the drivers side seat from sliding out. Been the best vehicle I've owned! Retireing, relocating and downsizing or I'd keep it forever."

10 people out of 13 found this review helpful

Very disappointing!

By on Thursday, September 18, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 156,000

10 4.0
overall rating 4 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
4/10
Value
5/10
Reliability
3/10
Quality
4/10
Performance
5/10
Styling
7/10
Comfort
6/10

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 1

"Have always taken good care of my vehicle as I paid over $30k for it. I expected some body issues as I live in Minnesota and we have a lot of salt on the roads in the winter. However, the engine has failed me terribly. There is not much in there that we did not replace or fix and the tranny is terrible. Now the fan is going, the AC has not worked in 2 years, because I don't feel like throwing even more money at it. For a 14 year old car with only 150,000 miles on it I could not be more disappointed in it's performance. I will NEVER buy a Dodge again nor will I ever suggest someone buy one!"

3 people out of 6 found this review helpful

good drivingi

By on Monday, August 25, 2014

I want this car

10 7.0
overall rating 7 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
7/10
Value
4/10
Reliability
7/10
Quality
7/10
Performance
5/10
Styling
6/10
Comfort
6/10

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 8

"Is a very reliable and comfortable riding vehecle"

3 people out of 3 found this review helpful

Bullet Proof

By on Tuesday, August 19, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 193,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
9/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
9/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

Pros: "Very strong."

Cons: "Rear lift gate rusty."

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 8

"The 1999 Durango we own as the only owner has been a great purchase for us. Very little has been done in 15 years."

3 people out of 4 found this review helpful

Great SUV

By on Tuesday, August 05, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 170,000

10 9.0
overall rating 9 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
9/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
8/10
Performance
9/10
Styling
9/10
Comfort
9/10

Pros: "reliable, and strong engine"

Cons: "rust prone"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"No major problems with this SUV. Has been very reliable and I love the power of the V8. 4x4 can parallel park in a 2' snow drift! Can haul anything too! Great for family outings and getting projects done around the house!"

3 people out of 4 found this review helpful

The best suv ever

By on Saturday, July 26, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 128,500

10 9.0
overall rating 9 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
9/10
Value
9/10
Reliability
9/10
Quality
9/10
Performance
9/10
Styling
9/10
Comfort
9/10

Pros: "plenty of power,fun to drive,looks great"

Cons: "poor gas mileage"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"I have to say this is a well built machine for on road and off road, comfortable, reliable and fun to drive. The 5.9 magnum is a real treat. This Durango is in great condition inside and out with small dent on hatch back. I hate that I have to sell it."

5 people out of 7 found this review helpful

Love my Durango

By on Saturday, July 19, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 112,000

10 9.0
overall rating 9 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
9/10
Value
8/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
9/10
Performance
9/10
Styling
9/10
Comfort
10/10

Pros: "great in the snow and lots of room."

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"Purchased my Durango in October of 2001 and proceeded to drive from Alaska to Texas. We were caught in a blizzard in the Yukon Territory. The Durango plowed through the snow where no snowplow had yet been. This has been the BEST snow vehicle ever. It is also very spacious. With the third row and back seats down, there is plenty of room to haul stuff. It also worked as a terrific "kennel" for our 3 big dogs when we drove cross country and took the Alaska State Ferry on a 4 day trip from Washington to Haines Alaska. The rear seat air/heat option was my mom's idea, since she rode in the back of a different vehicle on a trip to visit us. It is a great option. The third row seat doesn't get used much, but came in handy when we had extra "guests" to drive home after attending a New Year's Eve party one year. It is also great for driving large groups of visiting friends and family around the town for site-seeing. Our Durango has been and still is an awesome vehicle. We love it."

8 people out of 9 found this review helpful

Great performance, looks good inside, and out!

By on Wednesday, July 16, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 180,000

10 9.0
overall rating 9 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
9/10
Value
7/10
Reliability
9/10
Quality
9/10
Performance
9/10
Styling
9/10
Comfort
8/10

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 9

"Overall very good suv!"

2 people out of 3 found this review helpful

It might be an older vehicle but it is sturdy

By on Wednesday, June 18, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 180,000

10 9.0
overall rating 9 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
9/10
Value
7/10
Reliability
9/10
Quality
9/10
Performance
9/10
Styling
8/10
Comfort
10/10

Pros: "V8 Magnum says it all"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 9

"I am the second owner of this vehicle, it has been an amazing purchase. Every now and then it has a minor breakdown but nothing serious. This vehicle has stood the test of time and is still going. I love my Mean Bean!!!"

3 people out of 3 found this review helpful

Sort Reviews by: 
Per Page:  5 | 10 | 25
Previous | 1 2 3 ... 39 | Next
Find Deals Near You vehicles for sale matching Dodge Durango near Honolulu. See local deals