Advertisement

Why ads?
Popular at KBB.com
  • 10 Best SUVs Under $25,000
  • 12 Best Family Cars of 2014
  • 10 Best Midsize SUVs
  • 10 Best AWD Cars & SUVs Under $25,000
Go

1999 Dodge Durango

Style:

Consumer Reviews & Ratings

Overall Rating
8.1
Out of 10

Based on 937 Ratings for the 1998 - 2003 models.

Review this car
more rating details
  • Value
    8.2/10
    Quality
    8.4/10
  • Reliability
    8.5/10
    Performance
    8.5/10
  • Comfort
    8.7/10
    Styling
    8.7/10
Sort Reviews by: 
Per Page:  5 | 10 | 25
Previous | 1 2 3 ... 94 | Next

I bought it new!

By on Saturday, February 08, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 100,000

10 9.0
overall rating 9 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
9/10
Value
9/10
Reliability
9/10
Quality
9/10
Performance
9/10
Styling
9/10
Comfort
9/10

Pros: "Dependable in all weather"

Cons: "17 MPG highway or 14 towing a boat"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

Not photshopped

"After all these years, I still have a hard time letting go of my car. It is still as dependable as when I bought it. Q- Did anything brake down? A- Not the engine. I did have to replace the transmission and converter. However, everything that I put into the car was factory stock or better. I would buy another in a heart beat but my lifestyle has changed and I cannot use this ride anymore."

6 people out of 6 found this review helpful

Not photshopped

Repair expenses up the wazoo.

By on Saturday, February 08, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 108,000

10 3.0
overall rating 3 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
3/10
Value
4/10
Reliability
3/10
Quality
3/10
Performance
7/10
Styling
5/10
Comfort
6/10

Pros: "Plenty of power in and out of traffic."

Cons: "Repair expenses forever."

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 2

"I'll never buy another Chrysler product. The repairs on this thing have been outrageous."

1 person out of 1 found this review helpful

I love this Durango, very dependable.

By on Thursday, February 06, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 130,000

10 9.0
overall rating 9 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
9/10
Value
8/10
Reliability
8/10
Quality
9/10
Performance
9/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"Never had any mechanical problems, just a great vehicle!"

2 people out of 2 found this review helpful

Great SUV

By on Sunday, February 02, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 158,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
9/10
Reliability
9/10
Quality
9/10
Performance
9/10
Styling
9/10
Comfort
9/10

Pros: "Strong, roomy, comfortable, easy to park"

Cons: "fuel mileage"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"I bought my 2002 Durango used over a year ago. We bought it because we needed a 7 passenger vehicle and didn't want a mini van. Yes fuel mileage is low but you don't buy an SUV for fuel economy. With 5 kids me and my wife would have to take 2 cars if we wanted to go anywhere. So fuel economy wise it was cheaper to take the Durango. We went on 600 mile trip with all the kids fully loaded with camping gear and 2 huge roof top carriers. The 4.7 pulled nice and we averaged 16 mpg going 70mph try that in a minivan or ecnobox car. Just love this car, comfortable, powerful and not to big, easy to park. Make sure you replace the upper radiator hose as soon as you can and check the radiator for cracks after 10 years all plastic on any car starts to break down"

9 people out of 9 found this review helpful

if gas is not a problem buy a durango 98-03 5.9

By on Tuesday, January 28, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 191,427

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
Not Rated
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
5/10
Comfort
8/10

Pros: "great car, very reliable, seat 8,6 comfortable"

Cons: "drinks gas like an alcoholic"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"my first car i bought was 2000 dodge durango 5.9 didn't wont to because its not that flashy but it they will last forever if you ask me. driven 100,000 mile with no major problems, I've only spent under 1000 in D.I.Y repairs and maintenance. I've owned the car for just over 2 years, and its fills good to say i own a durango instead of have a used car that at 100,000 miles you would've already replace engine or transmission. So like i said if its no problem buying gas buy a durango 5.9 98-03 trust me you wont regret it."

3 people out of 3 found this review helpful

Beyond expectations

By on Thursday, January 16, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 95,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

Pros: "Solid feel and drive. Can fit so much inside"

Cons: "Only con, plan on extra gas money. 10-14mpg"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"This car drives like it's brand new. No rust, no oil drips. And this particular car was well taken care of, and looks almost new inside and out. very safe feeling when operating. I was recently blindsided by a vehicle that ran a stop sign. her car is visible totaled, like a giant can opener got to work on it. The durango had minimal damage and saved three people in the car from serious physical injuries. Waiting to see if the car will be a complete loss or not. Only because it is a 2001. But i would not hesitate to buy another if needed."

3 people out of 4 found this review helpful

1998 Durango*****

By on Friday, January 03, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 216,000

10 9.0
overall rating 9 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
9/10
Value
7/10
Reliability
9/10
Quality
9/10
Performance
6/10
Styling
8/10
Comfort
8/10

Pros: "love the car"

Cons: "I think resale is underrated."

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 9

"We bought this car new in 1998, and have driven it over 216m miles as you can see. We had regular service and have had no problems outside of tires and battery. I did have to replace the water pump at about 198M Lots of highway miles. Driven in hill country and snow. I have never been sorry I bought this car."

6 people out of 6 found this review helpful

Great 4X4

By on Tuesday, December 10, 2013

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 111,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

Pros: "Reliable, Great tow rig, good MPG."

Cons: "Could use a little more leg room in the 3rd row."

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"I use my Durango SLT Plus 4.7 mostly as a car hauler and it is amazing for its size. I replaced a Ford F150 4X4 extended cab pickup with the Durango and the Durango's towing ability is night and day better than the F150. I get 18+ MPG on the highway empty and 12+ towing 5000+ pounds. My F150 with the 302 and 5 speed never got better than 14 empty and 10 towing. In 111K miles the Durango has needed nothing but brakes and oil changes plus one fan clutch. It is the SLT plus so has all the options and is a very comfortable traveling rig. When it is cold (below 0) it starts just like it is warm outside so no mater the weather I know the Durango will start and take me where I need to go."

9 people out of 11 found this review helpful

A wonderful family rig with tons of power!

By on Thursday, December 05, 2013

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 171,000

10 9.0
overall rating 9 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
9/10
Value
9/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
9/10
Comfort
9/10

Pros: "This is a tank that drives like a sports car."

Cons: "child size third row seats"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"Very nice suv I love it 2000 with full time 4wd also 4 hi and 4 lo with the 5.9l excellent truck."

My all-time favorite!

By on Wednesday, December 04, 2013

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 142,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
6/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
7/10

Pros: "Great pulling power, few repairs."

Cons: "Only the front seats are comfy for on a long haul."

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"This brute has the very potent 5.9. I have pulled travel trailers and car trailers cross-continent. I've pulled small equipment and livestock locally. This SUV is a truck and has done it all. The leather has held up great and the vehicle still looks top notch. With 142K miles it has required no engine work. The tranny acts like it needs a new O2 sensor. The biggest expense has been replacing the heater core twice. I've been very pleased with this all purpose vehicle."

8 people out of 8 found this review helpful

Sort Reviews by: 
Per Page:  5 | 10 | 25
Previous | 1 2 3 ... 94 | Next
Find Deals Near You vehicles for sale matching Dodge Durango near Honolulu. See local deals