Advertisement

Why ads?
Popular at KBB.com
  • 10 Best SUVs Under $25,000
  • 12 Best Family Cars of 2014
  • 10 Best Midsize SUVs
  • 10 Best AWD Cars & SUVs Under $25,000
Go

1998 Dodge Durango

Style:

Consumer Reviews & Ratings

Overall Rating
8.1
Out of 10

Based on 939 Ratings for the 1998 - 2003 models.

Review this car
more rating details
  • Value
    8.2/10
    Quality
    8.4/10
  • Reliability
    8.5/10
    Performance
    8.5/10
  • Comfort
    8.7/10
    Styling
    8.7/10
Sort Reviews by: 
Per Page:  5 | 10 | 25
Previous | 1 2 3 ... 94 | Next

Absolute Monster, one of Chrysler's best suv's!!!

By on Monday, June 16, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 151,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

Pros: "That 5.9 engine sound, and outstanding reliability"

Cons: "Nothing!"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"I'm the owner of a 2001 Durango R/T 5.9 and let me tell you this truck is a monster! I bought it 3 yrs ago with 142k and all I've done to it is brakes, and oil change in those two yrs nothing major at all. In these harsh Chicago winters it turned on smooth every -0 day or night and went thru snow like nothing thanks to its powerful 5.9 and AWD. Since then I put a exhaust system on this bad boy and let me tell y'all.....This beast sounds like it has a 454 big block under the hood!!! It just roars like a lion when you hit on that gas, this truck is an absolute rebel! In all reality, the spec rated 250 hp I think is really underrated by the way this beast roars on idle and on pick up. I think it has atleast 290 or 300 hp. I've seen 2013's and 14's with catback exhaust systems and they just don't even come close to sounding like this 1st gen Durango. I change the oil with pennzoil Ultra and let me tell you, this thing runs as smooth as a 2014 no lie, it loves this synthetic. Anyways if anyone is thinking about buying one....GET IT, you will not be dissapointed. Its super reliable, dependable, fun to drive, and just plain nasty!!!"

4 people out of 5 found this review helpful

I love this truck! Best vehicle I've ever owned!

By on Friday, May 30, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 130,900

10 9.0
overall rating 9 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
9/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

Pros: "extremely reliable. outstanding 4wd performance."

Cons: "uneven temperature. frightening low gas mileage."

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"I bought my 2003 Durango used in 2005, only one previous owner. This is the best vehicle I've ever owned. Always feel safe driving it in any weather or road conditions. This truck is a beast. I've had tons of people ask me to come get them or to drive them somewhere during snowstorms. I've even had male co-workers ask me for rides home after terrible snowstorms because my truck is better in snow than anything anyone else owns lol. I love the power it has, it's a fast truck. I'm sad that this was the last year for this body style. If they still made them in this design I'd buy another in a second. Only downsides are low fuel mileage but it is a v8. And the temperature is always uneven, heat and a/c. The driver side is colder than the passenger and there's not really a perfect setting to use so you're always adjusting it as you go. But they're minor compared to how great this truck is :)"

7 people out of 8 found this review helpful

This vehicle is a dark purple metalic. Needs tlc

By on Tuesday, May 27, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 188,000

10 6.0
overall rating 6 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
6/10
Value
5/10
Reliability
5/10
Quality
1/10
Performance
4/10
Styling
4/10
Comfort
9/10

Pros: "lots of room, comfortable"

Cons: "not good on gas"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 2

"great vehicle."

i have owned this vehicle for 2 years

By on Saturday, April 26, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 160,000

10 9.0
overall rating 9 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
9/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
9/10
Styling
8/10
Comfort
10/10

Pros: "great ride. comforable to driv long distances"

Cons: "really bad on gas"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"I bought this vehicle from my dad 2 years ago for 1200. it currently has 202000 miles. original engine and transmission numbers matching. no engine light or any other lights on in the dash board. no major work has been done to it. go right through mud and snow."

9 people out of 11 found this review helpful

good reliable vehicle, drives good

By on Friday, April 25, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 146,000

10 9.0
overall rating 9 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
9/10
Value
8/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
8/10
Performance
9/10
Styling
9/10
Comfort
9/10

Pros: "runs good, reliable, third row seating"

Cons: "no mirror on the passanger side"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 9

"Good vehicle, Drives good, good if you havev a family. Has third row seating."

2 people out of 3 found this review helpful

Too many repairs since purchasing .

By on Sunday, March 30, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 243,000

10 5.0
overall rating 5 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
5/10
Value
5/10
Reliability
4/10
Quality
3/10
Performance
5/10
Styling
5/10
Comfort
5/10

Pros: "It drives well"

Cons: "Too many repairs as of late"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 4

"It was a good running vehicle , lots of repairs have been made but it seems every time I fix one thing something else goes wrong . At the moment the Truck is sitting in my Garage , it still runs but when I drove it last time the entire front end was shaking quite badly , so it sits there . I'm still trying to decide if it's worth repairing or should I just junk it ?"

7 people out of 13 found this review helpful

Thumbs up on this vehicle !

By on Saturday, March 22, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 149,999

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
5/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
9/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

Pros: "Very peppy for a largish sports utility vehicle ."

Cons: "Nothing bad to write about this thing at all ."

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"This is my second durango and i was happy with my first . Learned with my first that they like gasoline quite a bit so quite simply i recommend a K&N cold air kit because it IS worth the money and a set of as equal length as you can find for headers . The ones i found on ebay are not tuned but are equal length and the filter gained me 1.5 and the headers closer to 2 mpg but in the end i only get maybe high 12's city but for the power gain it is well worth it . It is a 5.2 and at times i see close to 14.5 but those time are few and i only use shell fuel . Yes it is four wheel drive and in snow i see high 10.? ."

3 people out of 5 found this review helpful

Great old school SUV

By on Sunday, March 16, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 145,000

10 9.0
overall rating 9 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
9/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
8/10
Quality
8/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
9/10

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"I bought it 2 years ago with 129K. I have had a few problems with the A/C, front axle, brakes and radiator. Nothing expensive has failed. The R/T version of the 5.9 is rock solid dependable as is the transmission. Performance is very good, but economy isn't. In town is about 10 mpg. I use it for towing where my daily vehicles are not suitable. Works very well in this capacity."

4 people out of 5 found this review helpful

Bought it brand new! No regrets at all!

By on Wednesday, March 05, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 167,000

10 9.0
overall rating 9 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
9/10
Value
9/10
Reliability
9/10
Quality
9/10
Performance
9/10
Styling
9/10
Comfort
9/10

Pros: "Fun to drive"

Cons: "None."

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 9

"Like body style, drivability. Will keep it forever!"

1 person out of 1 found this review helpful

rebuilt moter&trans

By on Tuesday, March 04, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 120,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
9/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
9/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
9/10
Comfort
10/10

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 9

"nice suv ready for anything cross country arownd town good milage"

Sort Reviews by: 
Per Page:  5 | 10 | 25
Previous | 1 2 3 ... 94 | Next
Find Deals Near You vehicles for sale matching Dodge Durango near Honolulu. See local deals