Advertisement

Why ads?
Popular at KBB.com
  • 10 Best SUVs Under $25,000
  • 12 Best Family Cars of 2014
  • 10 Best Midsize SUVs
  • 10 Best AWD Cars & SUVs Under $25,000
Go

1998 Dodge Durango

Style:

Consumer Reviews & Ratings

Overall Rating
8.1
Out of 10

Based on 924 Ratings for the 1998 - 2003 models.

Review this car
more rating details
  • Value
    8.2/10
    Quality
    8.4/10
  • Reliability
    8.5/10
    Performance
    8.5/10
  • Comfort
    8.7/10
    Styling
    8.7/10
Sort Reviews by: 
Reviews Displayed:  5 | 10 | 25
Previous | 1 2 3 ... 37 | Next

Too many repairs since purchasing .

By on Sunday, March 30, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 243,000

10 5.0
overall rating 5 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
5/10
Value
5/10
Reliability
4/10
Quality
3/10
Performance
5/10
Styling
5/10
Comfort
5/10

Pros: "It drives well"

Cons: "Too many repairs as of late"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 4

"It was a good running vehicle , lots of repairs have been made but it seems every time I fix one thing something else goes wrong . At the moment the Truck is sitting in my Garage , it still runs but when I drove it last time the entire front end was shaking quite badly , so it sits there . I'm still trying to decide if it's worth repairing or should I just junk it ?"

3 people out of 4 found this review helpful

Thumbs up on this vehicle !

By on Saturday, March 22, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 149,999

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
5/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
9/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

Pros: "Very peppy for a largish sports utility vehicle ."

Cons: "Nothing bad to write about this thing at all ."

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"This is my second durango and i was happy with my first . Learned with my first that they like gasoline quite a bit so quite simply i recommend a K&N cold air kit because it IS worth the money and a set of as equal length as you can find for headers . The ones i found on ebay are not tuned but are equal length and the filter gained me 1.5 and the headers closer to 2 mpg but in the end i only get maybe high 12's city but for the power gain it is well worth it . It is a 5.2 and at times i see close to 14.5 but those time are few and i only use shell fuel . Yes it is four wheel drive and in snow i see high 10.? ."

2 people out of 4 found this review helpful

Great old school SUV

By on Sunday, March 16, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 145,000

10 9.0
overall rating 9 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
9/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
8/10
Quality
8/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
9/10

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"I bought it 2 years ago with 129K. I have had a few problems with the A/C, front axle, brakes and radiator. Nothing expensive has failed. The R/T version of the 5.9 is rock solid dependable as is the transmission. Performance is very good, but economy isn't. In town is about 10 mpg. I use it for towing where my daily vehicles are not suitable. Works very well in this capacity."

3 people out of 3 found this review helpful

Bought it brand new! No regrets at all!

By on Wednesday, March 05, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 167,000

10 9.0
overall rating 9 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
9/10
Value
9/10
Reliability
9/10
Quality
9/10
Performance
9/10
Styling
9/10
Comfort
9/10

Pros: "Fun to drive"

Cons: "None."

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 9

"Like body style, drivability. Will keep it forever!"

rebuilt moter&trans

By on Tuesday, March 04, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 120,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
9/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
9/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
9/10
Comfort
10/10

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 9

"nice suv ready for anything cross country arownd town good milage"

dependable,solid,impressive.

By on Thursday, February 20, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 171,000

10 9.0
overall rating 9 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
9/10
Value
8/10
Reliability
8/10
Quality
8/10
Performance
8/10
Styling
8/10
Comfort
8/10

Pros: "durabilty"

Cons: "gas"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 9

"this is an all year truck. good for a family or work. i may buy a second."

1 person out of 1 found this review helpful

GREAT VEHICLE

By on Tuesday, February 18, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 156,212

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
8/10
Reliability
9/10
Quality
8/10
Performance
9/10
Styling
9/10
Comfort
8/10

Pros: "ENJOYED MY RIDE"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"BOUGHT USED WAS A GREAT BUY ENJOYED LOOKS AND STYLE ,OVERALL I ENJOYED MY DURANGO VERY MUCH AND WOULD RECOMMEND IT TO ANYONE"

3 people out of 3 found this review helpful

I bought it new!

By on Saturday, February 08, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 100,000

10 9.0
overall rating 9 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
9/10
Value
9/10
Reliability
9/10
Quality
9/10
Performance
9/10
Styling
9/10
Comfort
9/10

Pros: "Dependable in all weather"

Cons: "17 MPG highway or 14 towing a boat"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

Not photshopped

"After all these years, I still have a hard time letting go of my car. It is still as dependable as when I bought it. Q- Did anything brake down? A- Not the engine. I did have to replace the transmission and converter. However, everything that I put into the car was factory stock or better. I would buy another in a heart beat but my lifestyle has changed and I cannot use this ride anymore."

3 people out of 3 found this review helpful

Not photshopped

Repair expenses up the wazoo.

By on Saturday, February 08, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 108,000

10 3.0
overall rating 3 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
3/10
Value
4/10
Reliability
3/10
Quality
3/10
Performance
7/10
Styling
5/10
Comfort
6/10

Pros: "Plenty of power in and out of traffic."

Cons: "Repair expenses forever."

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 2

"I'll never buy another Chrysler product. The repairs on this thing have been outrageous."

1 person out of 1 found this review helpful

I love this Durango, very dependable.

By on Thursday, February 06, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 130,000

10 9.0
overall rating 9 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
9/10
Value
8/10
Reliability
8/10
Quality
9/10
Performance
9/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"Never had any mechanical problems, just a great vehicle!"

2 people out of 2 found this review helpful

Great SUV

By on Sunday, February 02, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 158,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
9/10
Reliability
9/10
Quality
9/10
Performance
9/10
Styling
9/10
Comfort
9/10

Pros: "Strong, roomy, comfortable, easy to park"

Cons: "fuel mileage"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"I bought my 2002 Durango used over a year ago. We bought it because we needed a 7 passenger vehicle and didn't want a mini van. Yes fuel mileage is low but you don't buy an SUV for fuel economy. With 5 kids me and my wife would have to take 2 cars if we wanted to go anywhere. So fuel economy wise it was cheaper to take the Durango. We went on 600 mile trip with all the kids fully loaded with camping gear and 2 huge roof top carriers. The 4.7 pulled nice and we averaged 16 mpg going 70mph try that in a minivan or ecnobox car. Just love this car, comfortable, powerful and not to big, easy to park. Make sure you replace the upper radiator hose as soon as you can and check the radiator for cracks after 10 years all plastic on any car starts to break down"

8 people out of 8 found this review helpful

if gas is not a problem buy a durango 98-03 5.9

By on Tuesday, January 28, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 191,427

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
Not Rated
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
5/10
Comfort
8/10

Pros: "great car, very reliable, seat 8,6 comfortable"

Cons: "drinks gas like an alcoholic"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"my first car i bought was 2000 dodge durango 5.9 didn't wont to because its not that flashy but it they will last forever if you ask me. driven 100,000 mile with no major problems, I've only spent under 1000 in D.I.Y repairs and maintenance. I've owned the car for just over 2 years, and its fills good to say i own a durango instead of have a used car that at 100,000 miles you would've already replace engine or transmission. So like i said if its no problem buying gas buy a durango 5.9 98-03 trust me you wont regret it."

2 people out of 2 found this review helpful

Beyond expectations

By on Thursday, January 16, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 95,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

Pros: "Solid feel and drive. Can fit so much inside"

Cons: "Only con, plan on extra gas money. 10-14mpg"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"This car drives like it's brand new. No rust, no oil drips. And this particular car was well taken care of, and looks almost new inside and out. very safe feeling when operating. I was recently blindsided by a vehicle that ran a stop sign. her car is visible totaled, like a giant can opener got to work on it. The durango had minimal damage and saved three people in the car from serious physical injuries. Waiting to see if the car will be a complete loss or not. Only because it is a 2001. But i would not hesitate to buy another if needed."

3 people out of 4 found this review helpful

1998 Durango*****

By on Friday, January 03, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 216,000

10 9.0
overall rating 9 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
9/10
Value
7/10
Reliability
9/10
Quality
9/10
Performance
6/10
Styling
8/10
Comfort
8/10

Pros: "love the car"

Cons: "I think resale is underrated."

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 9

"We bought this car new in 1998, and have driven it over 216m miles as you can see. We had regular service and have had no problems outside of tires and battery. I did have to replace the water pump at about 198M Lots of highway miles. Driven in hill country and snow. I have never been sorry I bought this car."

4 people out of 4 found this review helpful

Great 4X4

By on Tuesday, December 10, 2013

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 111,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

Pros: "Reliable, Great tow rig, good MPG."

Cons: "Could use a little more leg room in the 3rd row."

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"I use my Durango SLT Plus 4.7 mostly as a car hauler and it is amazing for its size. I replaced a Ford F150 4X4 extended cab pickup with the Durango and the Durango's towing ability is night and day better than the F150. I get 18+ MPG on the highway empty and 12+ towing 5000+ pounds. My F150 with the 302 and 5 speed never got better than 14 empty and 10 towing. In 111K miles the Durango has needed nothing but brakes and oil changes plus one fan clutch. It is the SLT plus so has all the options and is a very comfortable traveling rig. When it is cold (below 0) it starts just like it is warm outside so no mater the weather I know the Durango will start and take me where I need to go."

6 people out of 8 found this review helpful

A wonderful family rig with tons of power!

By on Thursday, December 05, 2013

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 171,000

10 9.0
overall rating 9 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
9/10
Value
9/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
9/10
Comfort
9/10

Pros: "This is a tank that drives like a sports car."

Cons: "child size third row seats"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"Very nice suv I love it 2000 with full time 4wd also 4 hi and 4 lo with the 5.9l excellent truck."

My all-time favorite!

By on Wednesday, December 04, 2013

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 142,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
6/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
7/10

Pros: "Great pulling power, few repairs."

Cons: "Only the front seats are comfy for on a long haul."

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"This brute has the very potent 5.9. I have pulled travel trailers and car trailers cross-continent. I've pulled small equipment and livestock locally. This SUV is a truck and has done it all. The leather has held up great and the vehicle still looks top notch. With 142K miles it has required no engine work. The tranny acts like it needs a new O2 sensor. The biggest expense has been replacing the heater core twice. I've been very pleased with this all purpose vehicle."

7 people out of 7 found this review helpful

had since new, love it

By on Friday, November 08, 2013

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 117,000

10 9.0
overall rating 9 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
9/10
Value
9/10
Reliability
9/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
9/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 8

"Bought new right out of show room. Raised my kids in it.Taught all 3 kids to drive in it. Ihave owned many vehicles,love this the most.It is my baby.Looks almost new.Cannot bear to trade it in,only complaint is horrible gas mileage.May keep it longer or till it dies."

3 people out of 4 found this review helpful

My MPG is very good with the 4.7 . 18 city 25 hyw

By on Friday, October 25, 2013

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 175,000

10 8.0
overall rating 8 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
8/10
Value
7/10
Reliability
8/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
7/10
Styling
7/10
Comfort
10/10

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 7

"TUFF TRUCK and good MPG"

2 people out of 3 found this review helpful

Best SUV Ever Owned!!

By on Monday, September 30, 2013

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 186,000

10 9.0
overall rating 9 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
9/10
Value
8/10
Reliability
9/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
8/10
Styling
8/10
Comfort
10/10

Pros: "Powerful!!! Hauls anything with 3 row seat/laydown"

Cons: "With any large engine car, it takes gas."

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"After all of the SUV's and Trucks I have owned, I have enjoyed this particular SUV. I purchased this car used from the original owner at a dealership. Having driven other Durangos in test drives, I was fortunate to find one that was all leather and smooth riding. It is an awesome SUV to drive, especially in the winter and the bonus of pulling a boat and using in the snow has been tremendously helpful. It will pull just about anything."

8 people out of 9 found this review helpful

Fun to drive, but expensive to own

By on Wednesday, September 11, 2013

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 151,000

10 8.0
overall rating 8 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
8/10
Value
8/10
Reliability
7/10
Quality
7/10
Performance
9/10
Styling
9/10
Comfort
10/10

Pros: "Comfortable ride, plenty of power"

Cons: "Poor mileage, and expensive to maintain"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 6

"I've replaced every circuit board and electronic sensor except the Power Distribution Center, between 90,000 and 150,000 miles. I've replaced wheel bearings, the rack & pinion, and all the brake rotors (twice). The engine and tranny are hummin' along with nary a complaint, but I'm on my 4th Cam Position Sensor, my second Crankshaft Position Sensor, and I still get intermitted fault codes saying they're not functioning properly...Next time, I'll buy a Honda."

5 people out of 6 found this review helpful

256,456 miles and still running excellent

By on Sunday, August 11, 2013

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 169,633

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
7/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
Not Rated
Performance
7/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

Pros: "Looks, ride, and ride height, power"

Cons: "Gas mileage"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

Shes beautiful. Her nickname is reba......

"I own an Slt plus 4x4, the four wheel drive is excellent I have never gotten stuck, the ac is ice cold, i have only replaced shocks, struts, brakes, tires, wiper blades, drive belt, and one pulley.... My leather still looks brand new This is the best car ive ever owned"

12 people out of 13 found this review helpful

Shes beautiful. Her nickname is reba......

Great truck

By on Friday, August 09, 2013

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 200,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

Pros: "Fun to drive"

Cons: "Mpg"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"It is at 201,121 miles and still going through my abusive driving. A couple of issues come up but it it is still really good. With big 5.9 motor there is so much power. Ride is smooth and comfortable with plenty of room. Stronger than my Chevy silverado in terms of power."

3 people out of 3 found this review helpful

I am attached to my car!

By on Wednesday, August 07, 2013

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 130,000

10 8.0
overall rating 8 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
8/10
Value
Not Rated
Reliability
5/10
Quality
6/10
Performance
8/10
Styling
8/10
Comfort
8/10

Pros: "Strong engine and comfortable leather interior!"

Cons: "always repairing something each year"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 4

"I bought at 100,000 miles and it had many repairing required. But after a few fixes, it's been good to me and my family. I first had glycol leaks, coolant problems, battery replacement and now the air condition is out so as the heating knob on HIGH turns off. I am getting it fixed again for that reason plus check up on the transmission and on the alignment and power steering. It's the first time for a tune up with the actual dealer and they want my car for a trade in. Should I consider a trade or keep it?"

1 person out of 1 found this review helpful

GREAT FOR SHORT TRIPS

By on Tuesday, August 06, 2013

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 94,000

10 5.0
overall rating 5 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
5/10
Value
1/10
Reliability
1/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

Pros: "fast"

Cons: "gas"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 5

"I bought this car in around April and it was great i am a fire fighter so it was nice with the extra room for my gear the truck is very comfortable and nice to drive radio is always clear and the controls are easy....how ever i have to say mine with the 5.9 is a tank it is not an offroad vehicle it is wayyy to heavy and the air intake is in the fender so it will suck water the gas miliage sucks so bad i average around 9 miles city and 14 on the freeway the truck is very bad on gas so if you are a student looking for a nice good on gas suv do away its not your truck but if you dont mind putting 76 bucks per tank which only gives you 250 miles go for it"

2 people out of 2 found this review helpful

Sort Reviews by: 
Reviews Displayed:  5 | 10 | 25
Previous | 1 2 3 ... 37 | Next
Find Deals Near You vehicles for sale matching Dodge Durango near Honolulu. See local deals