Go

1992 Dodge Dakota Regular Cab

Style:

Consumer Reviews & Ratings

Overall Rating
8.3
Out of 10

Based on 351 Ratings for the 1992 - 1996 models.

Review this car
more rating details
  • Value
    8.7/10
    Quality
    8.6/10
  • Reliability
    8.9/10
    Performance
    8.6/10
  • Comfort
    8.3/10
    Styling
    8.3/10
Sort Reviews by: 
Per Page:  5 | 10 | 25
Previous | 1 2 3 ... 71 | Next

Excellent when you don't need a monster truck

By on Thursday, April 18, 2013

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 156,335

10 8.0
overall rating 8 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
8/10
Value
9/10
Reliability
9/10
Quality
8/10
Performance
8/10
Styling
8/10
Comfort
9/10

Pros: "Sturdy, reliable, predictable to drive, no worries"

Cons: "Gas mileage fair, original paint not good"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 8

"I regularly service this truck per the manual, and have had very little problems with it except for normal wear and tear. I'm on the 4th set of tires, third battery, replaced the main shaft oil seal twice, re-done the brakes twice, painted it once, replaced the plastic headlight lenses once, and re-did the driver's seat upholstery. It doesn't leak or burn oil, passes emissions easily, gets the same mileage (17-18/23-25), doesn't rattle, and all the electronics and lights work. No recalls, either. I'm a big guy but don't need a full-size pickup, and can't fit in the small ones. The Dakota has been ideal for me."

9 people out of 9 found this review helpful

No complaints

By on Saturday, July 7, 2007

10 9.0
overall rating 9 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
9/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
9/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
9/10
Comfort
9/10

"This is really a good truck, Mine has the 5.2L which is the best motor avaliable in my opinion. It may use some gas but it has power, performance, and reliablity like few others. Everytime i turn the key it starts, everytime i need to pass someone it goes, and evertime i need to haul anything that fits in the bed it does with no problem. I really like the idea of a 1/2 ton small truck, it makes it easier to drive and easier on the pocket compared to the Dodge Ram. I think its rated to haul about 1500lbs give or take. Also my truck is the mark III version with all the options (except leather) and for a truck it is pretty comfortable. I was suprised i could relativily comfortably have 4 adults ride around in it. (club cab) And these trucks can take some abuse, they are true american quality. Now the only complaint i have is how thin the sheet metal on it is, once you give it a little bang it always leaves a dent. It cant all be great. I would highly recomend this vehicle to anyone. Its always nice to have a truck, and this is a good one to have."

6 people out of 6 found this review helpful

Good dependable truck

By on Monday, November 1, 2010

10 8.0
overall rating 8 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
8/10
Value
9/10
Reliability
9/10
Quality
9/10
Performance
8/10
Styling
8/10
Comfort
8/10

"We bought the truck new in 1994. It has always ran well and never broke down. The only negative is the turning radius. Other than that can't complain. Has been a daily driver and we just maintained it. No major repairs have been needed in 152000 miles."

5 people out of 5 found this review helpful

Overall good truck

By on Thursday, September 9, 2010

10 6.0
overall rating 6 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
6/10
Value
7/10
Reliability
7/10
Quality
7/10
Performance
7/10
Styling
5/10
Comfort
7/10

"these trucks are great trucks. General mechanical issues over the years. Dokotas generally have some sort of transmission issue when in the high milage due to that Overdrive feature on the automatic transmission. Some are also known for minor electrical issues. But the engines are solid. Its the dodge 318 block essentially just missing 2cyl to make it the v6. So a very goo work truck"

4 people out of 4 found this review helpful

In Excellent mechanical shape, needs paint job...

By on Tuesday, July 29, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 116,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
9/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
9/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
9/10
Comfort
10/10

Pros: "Reliable, handy, powerful, and fun to drive"

Cons: "Needs paint job"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 8

"Bought truck new in NC in Feb 1996, lived in MD, FL, and back to MD. Excellent mechanical shape, good for hauling, fun to drive. Truck shows well, runs well, and is very handy."

3 people out of 3 found this review helpful

Sort Reviews by: 
Per Page:  5 | 10 | 25
Previous | 1 2 3 ... 71 | Next
Find Deals Near You vehicles for sale matching Dodge Dakota Regular Cab near Honolulu. See local deals
Advertisement