Advertisement

Why ads?
Popular at KBB.com
  • Pickup Truck Buyer's Guide
  • 15 Best Family Cars of 2015
  • Class of 2015: New Vehicles Ready to Roll
  • Kelley Blue Book Best Buys of 2015: Pickup Truck
Go

2010 Dodge Dakota Extended Cab

Style:

Consumer Reviews & Ratings

Overall Rating
8.0
Out of 10

Based on 538 Ratings for the 2005 - 2010 models.

Review this car
more rating details
  • Value
    8.2/10
    Quality
    8.2/10
  • Reliability
    8.6/10
    Performance
    8.2/10
  • Comfort
    8.3/10
    Styling
    8.4/10
Sort Reviews by: 
Per Page:  5 | 10 | 25

dependable clean truck

By on Monday, April 27, 2015

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 42,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
7/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
9/10
Performance
9/10
Styling
7/10
Comfort
8/10

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"Bought in South Carolina 2006.Brought north and stored indoors since 2012 to present."

Great truck

By on Friday, April 24, 2015

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 120,000

10 9.0
overall rating 9 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
9/10
Value
9/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
9/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
9/10

Pros: "fun to drive"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 9

"My first car was toyota corolla happy with it ,change to toyota 1990 pick up and i was so disappointed parts really expensive and was braking all the time ,I always wanted to get a dakota but financial issues were on the way well i finally got it, it was 2006 17,000 miles got it on april of 2008 now after 7 years of use and 118,000 miles later i haven't have any issues with it and beleive i use it alot from trimming trees to moving bricks for some costructions sites, I am so happy and I keep it as nices I can i ad some stickers on the side to make it looks sporty, every body thinks is new, no mecanical issues at all, the only parts that i changed were the battery and break pad other then that oil change every 3 months wetter is 3000 mile or not i just really love .Next year im planning on buying another one for my son he love this one too.Over all i definily recomend this vehicle also bigger then other small size trucks ."

1 person out of 1 found this review helpful

Great little nice truck that will haul a trailer.

By on Saturday, April 18, 2015

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 48,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"This is a beautiful little truck that has many years and miles in it. It has been kept covered area, the oil in the engine, trans. and power steering all changed every 3 mo. or 3000 miles."

1 person out of 2 found this review helpful

Replacing parts at 160k

By on Saturday, March 28, 2015

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 179,600

10 9.0
overall rating 9 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
9/10
Value
9/10
Reliability
9/10
Quality
8/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
8/10
Comfort
10/10

Pros: "Comfortable, deep center console, 2cup holders fwd"

Cons: "cloth interior stains easy, no lock on glovebox"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 8

"Got truck used with 66k on engine & GETTRAG 6sp tranny V6 engine. Great on gasoline - still get 20mpg on highway. Had 4wd fluids flushed at 95k. 100k did tune up, spark plugs, knock sensor. This is my 2nd Dodge Dakota, I just had to get another one with manual tranny. This has been an excellent running truck til it hit 160k. Then throwout bearing went and I had a new clutch & flywheel installed to save labor cost of doing it later. replaced ball joints, tie rods, and bushings. still has a lot of original parts in it. body is holding up well - minimal rust down by rear wheel wells. The oil & filter changes done every 10k miles. I have reports from Blackstone labs - oil is still good at 10k, 5w-30 Quaker State brand. I drive a lot so I'm hoping to keep this truck going for another 12k miles without too much expense. the Dakota Service manual has a whole bunch of stuff that gets replaced at 192k and I'll need to save up for that service. I plan to keep it for a few more years & looking fwd to getting another 160k out of it."

7 people out of 12 found this review helpful

Like new, great 4wd truck with Jensen stereo.

By on Saturday, March 07, 2015

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 47,000

10 6.0
overall rating 6 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
6/10
Value
5/10
Reliability
5/10
Quality
6/10
Performance
6/10
Styling
5/10
Comfort
10/10

Pros: "Great truck, no longer made."

Cons: "a little top heavy."

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"Great dodge dakota truck. Everything is like new. Great Jensen stereo system with GPS, Sirrus XM"

1 person out of 2 found this review helpful

azq

By on Tuesday, January 13, 2015

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 82,000

10 9.0
overall rating 9 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
9/10
Value
8/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
8/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
7/10
Comfort
7/10

Pros: "price 10,000 smooth driving"

Cons: "3 cup holders and compart for dvds and paper work"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 8

"also comes with heated seats and extra glove console fits 5 person great for camping also has a soft cover tanatue cover easy to remove if you like and bed liner with option of tool box for the bed maintained very well new tires calaibers and brakes great in snow and all weather condition"

13 people out of 23 found this review helpful

2008 Dakota Sport an Excellent Mid Sized Truck

By on Sunday, December 28, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 64,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

Pros: "Longevity, Size, Towing Capacity, 4x4 with a V-8"

Cons: "Discontinued, hard to find a good used one!"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"This is our second Dodge Dakota, our first one was a 1994 Dakota Sport with the Magnum V-8 that we lovingly named Mabeline. When I first bought Mabeline for our cabin my wife was not a fan of both "her" and trucks, but that quickly changed. Mabeline was excellent at towing the toys (boat, seadoo, snowmobiles, utility trailer and more)! Yes, she did have some rust, nothing that 100 MPH tape couldn't take care of. Yes, I did duct tape Mabeline together, but did I mention she was a $500.00 purchase? I bought her from a neighbor who purchased her new, and didn't need a four wheel drive truck any more. For four years she performed flawlessly! With over 140,000 miles on her, my wife suggested we get a replacement and that is when we found "Scarlett". Scarlett is a red 2008 Dakota Sport Quad Cab 4x4 also with a V-8. We purchased her last June and she had 63,000 miles on her. So far "Scarlett" too has performed flawlessly as expected. Not only does she haul the toys, but with four doors does a great job of being a people hauler too. We are looking forward in keeping "Scarlett" for many years because since Dodge, I mean Ram discountinued the Dakota and finding a good used one is getting harder. Mabeline is still in the family and is still running well, even with a new "coat" of duct tape to cover the bottom of the rusted doors. My niece is now her newest owner, and looks forward to driving her for many more years. Mabeline is running well after 21 years! So, Scarlett has big tires to fill, but we are confident with preventative maintaince she will have a long life as well. I whole heartedly recommend the Dodge Dakota based on our experiences."

15 people out of 19 found this review helpful

GREAT TRUCK

By on Monday, December 08, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 37,000

10 9.0
overall rating 9 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
9/10
Value
9/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
9/10
Performance
9/10
Styling
8/10
Comfort
10/10

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 9

"Bought this truck new in feb 2007 have never had not one problem great truck all the way around, gas mileage is a little rough but has gotten better sense its reached the thirty thousand mile range also has the ho v8 which caused the gas mileage i would think,16mpg in town 22hwy other than that a all around great truck and if they still made them i would buy another."

8 people out of 10 found this review helpful

ONE OF MY BETTER DECISIONS

By on Saturday, November 15, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 32,000

10 9.0
overall rating 9 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
9/10
Value
9/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
9/10
Performance
8/10
Styling
8/10
Comfort
8/10

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 9

"USED AS A TRUCK.....DROVE LIKE A TRUCK.....WORKED LIKE A TRUCK"

8 people out of 12 found this review helpful

This is the ultimate truck! Best ever!

By on Monday, November 03, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 147,860

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

Pros: "Fun to drive. All around versatile truck"

Cons: "Can't think of any"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

The best truck EVER!

"This truck is incredible. It has handled everything we've thrown at it from transporting people and animals across the country to hauling landscaping and remodeling materials. We've had both a cap and a soft tonneau cover on it. It is an all around versatile vehicle. And for all the beefiness of this truck, it rides like a car. Total package! I truly can't think of anything negative to say about it."

11 people out of 19 found this review helpful

The best truck EVER!

Great vehicle

By on Monday, October 20, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 114,000

10 9.0
overall rating 9 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
9/10
Value
8/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
7/10
Styling
8/10
Comfort
8/10

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"I am disappointed they discontinued the Dakota. It's the perfect size. With 114000 miles I've had zero mechanical issues. It even has the original brakes and battery. The rear wheel wells rusted through."

17 people out of 29 found this review helpful

2006 Had it for 6 years

By on Monday, October 06, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 115,000

10 9.0
overall rating 9 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
9/10
Value
8/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
7/10
Performance
6/10
Styling
7/10
Comfort
4/10

Pros: "Dependable, looks"

Cons: "Rides rough"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 8

"Very dependable and not much in the way of repairs. from 18k to 115k, one brake job, one water pump and 2 batteries. Always had the fluids changed. Oil, trans, coolant, etc. No major mech failures. The creature comforts are not great. It rides rough and the seats could use some more padding. Other than that, Its been a very very good truck!"

8 people out of 17 found this review helpful

I VE OWENED 4 DAKOTAS AND FOR THE MONEY THE ARE GR

By on Saturday, October 04, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 60,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
8/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
9/10
Performance
9/10
Styling
9/10
Comfort
9/10

Pros: "VERY GOOD TRUCK"

Cons: "NO RUNNING LIGHTS"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 9

"GREAT 4 WHEEL DRIVE- GOT ME OUT OF MUD AND SNOW!"

1 person out of 1 found this review helpful

Best buy I ever made!

By on Tuesday, September 23, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 100,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
8/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

Pros: "Reliable and comfortable."

Cons: "none I can n think of."

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"This truck has hauled every thing I have thrown in it, including twin girls from infants through 9 years. Nothing exct oil changes every 5000 miles and new tires after over 50000."

8 people out of 12 found this review helpful

good for the price

By on Friday, September 19, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 83,000

10 7.0
overall rating 7 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
7/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
4/10
Quality
4/10
Performance
5/10
Styling
8/10
Comfort
10/10

Pros: "great price"

Cons: "brake and rust issues"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 5

"Its to bad dodge didnt do a better quality job, I really liked this truck. Its was a nice truck for the price, but gas miles were poor I cant get better than 14, I have had huge problems with front brakes(cant get more than 5000 miles and have replaced every inch of the system from booster,lines,master,rotors,calipers and still have problems) then the rust on rear bed around the wheel wells shouldnt be their I take great care ,I wash truck 3-4 times a week, and wax 4-5 times a year,I bought it with 50k and now has 82000 miles. other than that I like how it looks,I like the ride,I think I would by another if they still made it."

5 people out of 9 found this review helpful

good looking reliable and always ready all purpose

By on Wednesday, September 03, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 126,000

10 9.0
overall rating 9 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
9/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
8/10
Performance
8/10
Styling
8/10
Comfort
7/10

Pros: "size, handling, serviceability, affordable"

Cons: "lacks fav opts, elec wndws,tilt whl,mnrf"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 9

"fun fun fun"

6 people out of 10 found this review helpful

Excellent truck for 8 years..

By on Monday, August 04, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 91,400

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
9/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
9/10
Performance
9/10
Styling
8/10
Comfort
9/10

Pros: "Reliability. Value."

Cons: "None."

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 9

"Purchased truck new. Owned for 8 years. This truck has been reliable. Other than expected service (oil, filters, and one set of plugs) this truck has required no repairs. Exterior paint still shines like new. Interior fabric still looks very good. No squeaks or rattles."

11 people out of 19 found this review helpful

HORRIBLE FUEL ECONOMY

By on Friday, July 25, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 48,000

10 4.0
overall rating 4 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
4/10
Value
5/10
Reliability
5/10
Quality
5/10
Performance
7/10
Styling
7/10
Comfort
8/10

Pros: "Drives well. That's about it."

Cons: "HORRIBLE gas mileage. Cramped interior."

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 2

"I have owned this truck for about 5 months now. The best I have been able to get is 12.7 combined MPG. Horrible. I traded in my 2007 F-150 V8 4x4 for this hoping for better mileage. Worst decision of my life. My F-150 was getting 16 combined MPG. I will be going back to Ford as soon as I can afford to trade back in."

4 people out of 12 found this review helpful

I love my truck!

By on Tuesday, July 15, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 109,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
8/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 9

"I get many compliments on my truck. It has held up well esthetically and it runs awesome. The only gripes that I have is it is not sure footed in the winter and it sucks gas."

4 people out of 7 found this review helpful

OK for a small truck

By on Monday, July 14, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 110,000

10 8.0
overall rating 8 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
8/10
Value
9/10
Reliability
9/10
Quality
9/10
Performance
5/10
Styling
5/10
Comfort
2/10

Pros: "Dependable"

Cons: "ride"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 5

"No major issues at 110k - rides rough, but mech its been great."

2 people out of 4 found this review helpful

my 2nd dakota best hardest workin trucks there is

By on Thursday, July 10, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 126,954

10 9.0
overall rating 9 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
9/10
Value
8/10
Reliability
9/10
Quality
9/10
Performance
8/10
Styling
9/10
Comfort
7/10

Pros: "good power n decent fuel economy. also handles goo"

Cons: "they dont make em anymore"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"Buy one if ya need a lil truck that dont know its a lil truck"

Best reliable truck I have owned

By on Friday, June 27, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 185,000

10 9.0
overall rating 9 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
9/10
Value
9/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
9/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
9/10

Pros: "Very sound and good looking truck. (blk/grey int.)"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 8

"The tires are Nitto Terra Grabbers with less than 500 miles on them. Dual exhaust with 3" chrome tips. Interior is custom made leather and carpet is new 14 months ago. Local Dodge dealer replaced brakes, rotors, and drums. also new upper/lower front ball joints with new struts. Truck has a 3" lift kit. Also has Dodge chrome side bars. Mileage is high due to going to Louisiana monthly while my dad was ill. Truck has never been stuck or off road driven except for logging roads to deer hunt. Need to down size auto number."

7 people out of 10 found this review helpful

Ipurchased NEW & put all miles on it. I want a car

By on Saturday, June 14, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 35,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
Not Rated
Reliability
Not Rated
Quality
Not Rated
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

Pros: "Very comfortable, easy driving and reliable Truck!"

Cons: "I should have got PWR locks & windows!"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 8

"Truck is in Excellant Condition, in one minor accident (less than 5MPH) replaced parts with NEW, R/F fender, Grill, & hood. Less than 5 mile per hour impact, did not deploy airbags. I have 8 80% tread tires, 4 street n alloy wheels, & 4 mud & snow on steel wheels. There is a fiberglass ASE Canopy with a lined & carpetted Bed, a Trailer Towing Package, Stainless Rolled Foot Rails. All miles were 5 cross country trips fron Seattle, Wa. to Johnson City, Tn. area. The best riding vehicle I have owned. Not the best mileage with 15 city & 18 highway."

6 people out of 10 found this review helpful

A great, reliable, beautiful truck

By on Friday, June 06, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 110,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
9/10
Comfort
10/10

Pros: "body style, size, comfort, reliability"

Cons: "gas mileage"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"This truck is extremely comfortable and reliable. The 4.7 liter V8 has lots of power, and the truck steers very well. The body is very sturdy yet beautiful. I would buy it again in a heartbeat. The only downside is the gas mileage, about 18 miles per gallon all around."

1 person out of 3 found this review helpful

excellent truck for the money

By on Sunday, May 04, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 113,000

10 9.0
overall rating 9 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
9/10
Value
9/10
Reliability
9/10
Quality
9/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
9/10
Comfort
9/10

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"My Dakota quad-cab is the best truck I've ever owned. Very reliable and with 113000 miles, still very solid. No squeaks or rattles. Even on non-surfaced roads!"

6 people out of 9 found this review helpful

Sort Reviews by: 
Per Page:  5 | 10 | 25
Find Deals Near You vehicles for sale matching Dodge Dakota Extended Cab near Honolulu. See local deals