Advertisement

Why ads?
Popular at KBB.com
  • 2014 Pickup Truck Buyer's Guide
  • 10 Best AWD Cars & SUVs Under $25,000
  • 10 Best Midsize SUVs
  • Class of 2015: New Vehicles Ready to Roll
Go

2009 Dodge Dakota Extended Cab

Style:

Consumer Reviews & Ratings

Overall Rating
7.9
Out of 10

Based on 522 Ratings for the 2005 - 2010 models.

Review this car
more rating details
  • Value
    8.2/10
    Quality
    8.2/10
  • Reliability
    8.6/10
    Performance
    8.2/10
  • Comfort
    8.3/10
    Styling
    8.4/10
Sort Reviews by: 
Per Page:  5 | 10 | 25
Previous | 1 2 3 ... 21 | Next

Excellent truck for 8 years..

By on Monday, August 04, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 91,400

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
9/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
9/10
Performance
9/10
Styling
8/10
Comfort
9/10

Pros: "Reliability. Value."

Cons: "None."

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 9

"Purchased truck new. Owned for 8 years. This truck has been reliable. Other than expected service (oil, filters, and one set of plugs) this truck has required no repairs. Exterior paint still shines like new. Interior fabric still looks very good. No squeaks or rattles."

6 people out of 13 found this review helpful

HORRIBLE FUEL ECONOMY

By on Friday, July 25, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 48,000

10 4.0
overall rating 4 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
4/10
Value
5/10
Reliability
5/10
Quality
5/10
Performance
7/10
Styling
7/10
Comfort
8/10

Pros: "Drives well. That's about it."

Cons: "HORRIBLE gas mileage. Cramped interior."

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 2

"I have owned this truck for about 5 months now. The best I have been able to get is 12.7 combined MPG. Horrible. I traded in my 2007 F-150 V8 4x4 for this hoping for better mileage. Worst decision of my life. My F-150 was getting 16 combined MPG. I will be going back to Ford as soon as I can afford to trade back in."

2 people out of 7 found this review helpful

I love my truck!

By on Tuesday, July 15, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 109,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
8/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 9

"I get many compliments on my truck. It has held up well esthetically and it runs awesome. The only gripes that I have is it is not sure footed in the winter and it sucks gas."

4 people out of 6 found this review helpful

OK for a small truck

By on Monday, July 14, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 110,000

10 8.0
overall rating 8 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
8/10
Value
9/10
Reliability
9/10
Quality
9/10
Performance
5/10
Styling
5/10
Comfort
2/10

Pros: "Dependable"

Cons: "ride"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 5

"No major issues at 110k - rides rough, but mech its been great."

2 people out of 4 found this review helpful

my 2nd dakota best hardest workin trucks there is

By on Thursday, July 10, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 126,954

10 9.0
overall rating 9 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
9/10
Value
8/10
Reliability
9/10
Quality
9/10
Performance
8/10
Styling
9/10
Comfort
7/10

Pros: "good power n decent fuel economy. also handles goo"

Cons: "they dont make em anymore"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"Buy one if ya need a lil truck that dont know its a lil truck"

Best reliable truck I have owned

By on Friday, June 27, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 185,000

10 9.0
overall rating 9 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
9/10
Value
9/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
9/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
9/10

Pros: "Very sound and good looking truck. (blk/grey int.)"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 8

"The tires are Nitto Terra Grabbers with less than 500 miles on them. Dual exhaust with 3" chrome tips. Interior is custom made leather and carpet is new 14 months ago. Local Dodge dealer replaced brakes, rotors, and drums. also new upper/lower front ball joints with new struts. Truck has a 3" lift kit. Also has Dodge chrome side bars. Mileage is high due to going to Louisiana monthly while my dad was ill. Truck has never been stuck or off road driven except for logging roads to deer hunt. Need to down size auto number."

7 people out of 10 found this review helpful

Ipurchased NEW & put all miles on it. I want a car

By on Saturday, June 14, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 35,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
Not Rated
Reliability
Not Rated
Quality
Not Rated
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

Pros: "Very comfortable, easy driving and reliable Truck!"

Cons: "I should have got PWR locks & windows!"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 8

"Truck is in Excellant Condition, in one minor accident (less than 5MPH) replaced parts with NEW, R/F fender, Grill, & hood. Less than 5 mile per hour impact, did not deploy airbags. I have 8 80% tread tires, 4 street n alloy wheels, & 4 mud & snow on steel wheels. There is a fiberglass ASE Canopy with a lined & carpetted Bed, a Trailer Towing Package, Stainless Rolled Foot Rails. All miles were 5 cross country trips fron Seattle, Wa. to Johnson City, Tn. area. The best riding vehicle I have owned. Not the best mileage with 15 city & 18 highway."

5 people out of 9 found this review helpful

A great, reliable, beautiful truck

By on Friday, June 06, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 110,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
9/10
Comfort
10/10

Pros: "body style, size, comfort, reliability"

Cons: "gas mileage"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"This truck is extremely comfortable and reliable. The 4.7 liter V8 has lots of power, and the truck steers very well. The body is very sturdy yet beautiful. I would buy it again in a heartbeat. The only downside is the gas mileage, about 18 miles per gallon all around."

excellent truck for the money

By on Sunday, May 04, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 113,000

10 9.0
overall rating 9 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
9/10
Value
9/10
Reliability
9/10
Quality
9/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
9/10
Comfort
9/10

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"My Dakota quad-cab is the best truck I've ever owned. Very reliable and with 113000 miles, still very solid. No squeaks or rattles. Even on non-surfaced roads!"

6 people out of 9 found this review helpful

best truck I ever owned

By on Tuesday, April 29, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 75,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

Pros: "great value,"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"I have had over 30 cars and trucks, and I really like this truck, it has been very easy to work on, inexpensive for parts, plenty of power and tried to get stuck in the snow and couldnt. Its really to bad they dont make these anymore I would buy another."

7 people out of 11 found this review helpful

Excellent on or offroad use.

By on Thursday, April 24, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 65,000

10 8.0
overall rating 8 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
8/10
Value
Not Rated
Reliability
Not Rated
Quality
Not Rated
Performance
7/10
Styling
7/10
Comfort
8/10

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 8

"Excellent vehicle runs like new, very well maintained through its life. Cleaned everyweek, garaged every night."

Truck has been perfect since new a problem.

By on Sunday, March 30, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 59,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
Not Rated
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
7/10
Comfort
9/10

Pros: "Great heavy duty truck in a little smaller size."

Cons: "Navagation updates aretnt worth the money."

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"Best vehicle I have ever owned."

4 people out of 9 found this review helpful

Been one of best vehicles I have owned, love it!

By on Sunday, March 30, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 97,500

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
8/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
8/10

Pros: "Very high quality, great features"

Cons: "Headlight lens show age, thats the only "Con""

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"I have owned trucks of all makes, over 20 in my lifetime and I can honestly say this Dodge Dakota has been the best. Very few problems and those I took care of myself, even changing the computer when it went out was very easy and saved hundreds of dollars. Just replaced tie-rod ends and did an alignment on it and it rides like a dream. Without a doubt this is my wife's favorite vehicle to drive."

2 people out of 4 found this review helpful

Need to sale now!!!

By on Thursday, March 27, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 82,126

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
7/10
Reliability
9/10
Quality
9/10
Performance
9/10
Styling
9/10
Comfort
9/10

Pros: "Nice reliable vechicle for pleasure & vacations."

Cons: "Don' have any."

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"This was my husband's truck. He passed away recently. Was only used for errands and short vacation trips. Never had any problems, except for 1 battery replacement and regular tune-ups. Has been taken good care of, and is in excellent condition. The color of this truck is, Red."

7 people out of 8 found this review helpful

Great Truck!

By on Monday, March 17, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 105,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
9/10
Quality
9/10
Performance
8/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
9/10

Pros: "Great price, Comfort, Leg room, Design, Ease"

Cons: "Gas"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 9

"This was my first Pick-up, older and used but still the best vehicle I've owned. The 4.7 V8 has more than enough power to tow over 6,000 LB, the "half-ton" bed was more than able to carry over 1,200 lbs without a sweat. The gas mileage for this mid-sized truck is poor though from 16.4 MPG in AZ to 12.5 in PA. The ride hide is nice, the options are nicer than a lot of other trucks. This truck doesn't have that cheap, work truck feel to it. I actually just wish Ram would come out with a newer one! Lastly the back seat has more room than the bigger RAM 1500!"

1 person out of 1 found this review helpful

Excellent condition for a 7 yr vehicle

By on Saturday, March 15, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 110,000

10 9.0
overall rating 9 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
9/10
Value
9/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
9/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

Pros: "Snow, field and stream ready"

Cons: "15-18 miles per gallon"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"Black sparkle exterior. Grey leather interior. 4w. Heated power seats & power windows. Sports package. Towing package. Multi-player CD. Turtle bed liner. Leather role bed cover."

2005 Dakota Quad Cab in closr to Excellent Cond.

By on Wednesday, March 12, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 151,000

10 9.0
overall rating 9 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
9/10
Value
8/10
Reliability
9/10
Quality
9/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
8/10
Comfort
7/10

Pros: "Great smooth ride"

Cons: "I have neve taken it offroad to test it out."

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

Sideview

"This 2005 Dodge Dakota has a 4.7 Liter Powerful engine that is great when the 4WD is needed. It has dark tinted windows, with a solid red strips of lights across the back beneathe the tailgate and clear side lights when shutting off the truck for safety and to easily find the keyhole. The interior is cloth and is in absolute complete condition. The exterior has one tiny bump where I knicked it with a shovel, that has been primered and coated the color of the truck. Otherwisr the exterior is in excellent condition. The truck has oversized alloy tires the are very new. You must see this Truck to understand why I am asking $7400 for it,"

1 person out of 1 found this review helpful

Sideview

dependable

By on Sunday, March 09, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 69,900

10 8.0
overall rating 8 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
8/10
Value
8/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
7/10
Performance
8/10
Styling
9/10
Comfort
9/10

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 7

"shifting in passing gear is very rough"

this is the most dependable and comfortable truck

By on Tuesday, March 04, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 51,000

10 9.0
overall rating 9 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
9/10
Value
8/10
Reliability
9/10
Quality
9/10
Performance
8/10
Styling
9/10
Comfort
10/10

Pros: "hard working on the ranch, and fun to drive"

Cons: "wish it could pull a little more weight."

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 9

"I wish they still made Dakota trucks."

1 person out of 2 found this review helpful

VERY GOOD TRUCK! 9-10 RATING.

By on Sunday, March 02, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 142,000

10 9.0
overall rating 9 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
9/10
Value
9/10
Reliability
9/10
Quality
9/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
9/10
Comfort
9/10

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 9

"DOES WHATEVER I ASK OF IT. RUNS VERY GOOD WITH THE 4.7 ENGINE, GETS 16.5 MPG CITY & OVER 18 HIGHWAY. TOWS MY TOYS GOOD, COULD USE A LITTLE MORE BOTTOM END POWER. REAR DOORS OPEN WIDE FOR EASY ENTRY. BED IS JUST BIG ENOUGH. 9-10 WHAT MORE CAN I SAY."

Very capable Mid Size Truck

By on Friday, February 14, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 125,000

10 8.0
overall rating 8 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
8/10
Value
7/10
Reliability
9/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
9/10
Styling
8/10
Comfort
10/10

Pros: "Great Truck for Long Distance Travel"

Cons: "Gas Mileage only fair."

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 9

"Great Truck, V8 Power, Great Towing, Comfortable"

Very under powered but extremly reliable

By on Saturday, February 08, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 80,000

10 5.0
overall rating 5 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
5/10
Value
2/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
5/10
Performance
3/10
Styling
8/10
Comfort
9/10

Pros: "Very comfortably, very reliable"

Cons: "3.7 liter is very underpowered."

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 5

"The previous owner of this truck never changed the oil for over a year. When we repossessed it from him, I flushed the engine with diesel fuel, refilled the oil and changed the filter. The 3.7 liter V6 does not burn oil, leak or anything. It runs like a dream. It gets 20 mpg on the highway which is much higher than its rated for. Its comfortable and handles almost like a luxury sedan with highway tires on it. It's smooth riding and corners like a car. My only complaint is the horse power. The 3.7 liter V6 is very underpowered for a midsized pickup. If you buy one make sure you get the 4.7 liter V8. It has the same mpg rating with much more power."

4 people out of 4 found this review helpful

It has really been a good one

By on Thursday, February 06, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 101,000

10 8.0
overall rating 8 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
8/10
Value
8/10
Reliability
8/10
Quality
8/10
Performance
7/10
Styling
8/10
Comfort
8/10

Pros: "Power, mileage, design"

Cons: "wish I had hands free for the cel phone"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 9

"I have been very happy with this truck. I ordered it from The dealer in Branson, MO and it has been coast to coast without the slightest problem. It still gets very good milage and has never been stuck in weather or any 4 wheeling. I pulled a new Explorer out 2 weeks ago in a foot of snow."

1 person out of 1 found this review helpful

Comfort, Economy, Powered, Nice to driving

By on Monday, January 13, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 80,000

10 8.0
overall rating 8 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
8/10
Value
8/10
Reliability
8/10
Quality
8/10
Performance
9/10
Styling
7/10
Comfort
9/10

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 8

"Comfort, Economy, Powered, Nice to driving"

3 people out of 3 found this review helpful

Excellent blend of truck and comfort features.

By on Tuesday, December 31, 2013

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 42,000

10 8.0
overall rating 8 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
8/10
Value
9/10
Reliability
7/10
Quality
9/10
Performance
9/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

Pros: "Economical, versatile, comfortable"

Cons: "Since it has a stick I was short one cup holder."

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 9

"Reasonably economical with the v6 engine and 6 speed manual. 22 on the highway and 18 around town. I love the sliding sunroof and 6 cd player with premium speakers. Plus it will hold six people with the armrest folded up. I installed a backup camera which is great. I had to replace some unexpected parts (tie rod ends, fan clutch) so I would rate reliability at 7. Overall, It is great."

2 people out of 2 found this review helpful

Sort Reviews by: 
Per Page:  5 | 10 | 25
Previous | 1 2 3 ... 21 | Next
Find Deals Near You vehicles for sale matching Dodge Dakota Extended Cab near Honolulu. See local deals