Advertisement

Why ads?
Popular at KBB.com
  • 2014 Pickup Truck Buyer's Guide
  • 10 Best AWD Cars & SUVs Under $25,000
  • 10 Best Midsize SUVs
  • Class of 2015: New Vehicles Ready to Roll
Go

1996 Dodge Dakota Club Cab

Style:

Consumer Reviews & Ratings

Overall Rating
8.3
Out of 10

Based on 336 Ratings for the 1987 - 1996 models.

Review this car
more rating details
  • Value
    8.7/10
    Quality
    8.6/10
  • Reliability
    8.8/10
    Performance
    8.6/10
  • Comfort
    8.4/10
    Styling
    8.3/10
Sort Reviews by: 
Per Page:  5 | 10 | 25
Previous | 1 2 3 ... 68 | Next

Most dependable vehicle I've ever owned

By on Saturday, September 27, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 270,000

10 9.0
overall rating 9 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
9/10
Value
9/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
9/10
Performance
7/10
Styling
7/10
Comfort
7/10

Pros: "club cab provides extra room"

Cons: "headlight covers yellow badly without recourse"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"I bought this truck 5 years ago from a small independent dealer. It wasn't the prettiest one there but for my budget the best option. I thought to myself I'd be surprised if I get 6 months use out of it. Despite the fact that this truck sat under water for an undetermined amount of time as you could see the water line with the red clay residue under the hood and the fact this truck is so easy to work on that I replaced the water pump myself and had some help removing the bed so I could replace fuel pump (I am female), this truck turned out to be an outstanding value and quite pleased I've had it 5 years and it's still running like a champ. I drive a newer truck these days but I don't think I could ever part from my Dakota, it really held up for me in the most trying situations. It has become almost sentimental to me"

1 person out of 2 found this review helpful

love my little truck!

By on Friday, August 29, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 152,000

10 9.0
overall rating 9 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
9/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
7/10
Comfort
8/10

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"Great little reliable truck. I get ok gas mileage for the v6 magnum with plenty of power.I use mine to commute to and from work and only problems I have ever had is a flat tire and it doesn't do great in deep snow/ice. only reason I am getting rid of mine is growing family need more room."

In Excellent mechanical shape, needs paint job...

By on Tuesday, July 29, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 116,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
9/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
9/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
9/10
Comfort
10/10

Pros: "Reliable, handy, powerful, and fun to drive"

Cons: "Needs paint job"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 8

"Bought truck new in NC in Feb 1996, lived in MD, FL, and back to MD. Excellent mechanical shape, good for hauling, fun to drive. Truck shows well, runs well, and is very handy."

Have had 12 years, Little repairs, good hauler,

By on Thursday, May 29, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 140,000

10 9.0
overall rating 9 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
9/10
Value
9/10
Reliability
9/10
Quality
8/10
Performance
8/10
Styling
8/10
Comfort
9/10

Pros: "trouble free, little cost to maintain"

Cons: "V-6 underpowered, rust has been a problem"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 9

"V-6 underpowered at times, always reliable, good 4wd system, can carry a heavy load without wandering, I use the 4wd often have done better in bad weather than many full size pick-ups I have had. Starter, water pump have been only repairs other than brakes in 12 years."

1 person out of 2 found this review helpful

The Best small truck made during this time!

By on Sunday, April 27, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 121,000

10 9.0
overall rating 9 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
9/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
9/10
Styling
9/10
Comfort
9/10

Pros: "Efficiency, comfort, durability"

Cons: "weird overdrive button"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"I had just got a 1993 Dodge Dakota 3.9L V6, automatic, ext. cab. Very well taken care of. No rust, since it was in SD for most of it's life. For a first vehicle, fuel efficiency is key. The efficiency is great. I am a Ford fan, but when it comes to early 90's small trucks, the Dakota blows them all out of the water. My dad had the same truck, but from '92 and with a stick shift. He ran his to 289,000 miles. Still ran and drove fine, but the body was shot from the winters."

3 people out of 4 found this review helpful

Sort Reviews by: 
Per Page:  5 | 10 | 25
Previous | 1 2 3 ... 68 | Next
Find Deals Near You vehicles for sale matching Dodge Dakota Club Cab near Honolulu. See local deals