Advertisement

Why ads?
Popular at KBB.com
  • Midsize Sedan Buyer's Guide
  • 10 Best Sedans Under $25,000
  • Compact Car Buyer's Guide
  • 10 Best Luxury Cars Under $35,000
Go

2006 Dodge Charger

Style:

Consumer Reviews & Ratings

Overall Rating
9.0
Out of 10

Based on 785 Ratings for the 2006 - 2011 models.

Review this car
more rating details
  • Value
    9.0/10
    Quality
    9.1/10
  • Reliability
    9.3/10
    Performance
    9.3/10
  • Comfort
    9.3/10
    Styling
    9.4/10
Sort Reviews by: 
Per Page:  5 | 10 | 25
Previous | 1 2 3 ... 32 | Next

This car is a money pit.

By on Tuesday, April 28, 2015

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 150,000

10 1.0
overall rating 1 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
1/10
Value
3/10
Reliability
1/10
Quality
1/10
Performance
1/10
Styling
6/10
Comfort
1/10

Pros: "Styling"

Cons: "Poor design and materials."

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 1

"I bought this car because of its styling. However, its styling does not make up for the great expense of maintenance so I can keep it on the road. I pay to fix the same problems over and over again. I put in a new engine, new water pump, new pins in the front end. Tie rod gave out while driving."

Performance meets luxury

By on Saturday, March 28, 2015

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 89,500

10 9.0
overall rating 9 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
9/10
Value
8/10
Reliability
8/10
Quality
7/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

Pros: "A pleasure to drive"

Cons: "Front end will need frequent repairs"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 8

"I love my Charger, regardless of some mechanical issues. Front end is notoriously weak in this car; be prepared to put some $$ into it. Beautiful car, comfortable ride and a pleasure to drive. Gas mileage with the hemi less than desirable 22mpg on the highway....about 15mpg around town :( but love the power and purr of engine. I will never forget the first time I got pulled over for speeding. The state trooper leaned into the car to check it out and said, "hey, does this have a hemi?" Luckily I got off with just warning. Other issues? Lug nuts for this car are garbage; I've replaced them 4 times. Drives fine in the snow but this heavy car does not stop on a dime on a slick road."

5 people out of 7 found this review helpful

not what i expected

By on Sunday, March 08, 2015

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 80,000

10 4.0
overall rating 4 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
4/10
Value
5/10
Reliability
4/10
Quality
2/10
Performance
4/10
Styling
8/10
Comfort
4/10

Pros: "good looking with plenty of attention"

Cons: "oil eater"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 3

"I brought this car about 4years ago. At first I was in love with the car until I notice how much oil it consumes. Engine ticks when first started the dealers says that normal. So overall it's good looking and that's about it."

1 person out of 5 found this review helpful

Great 4 door sport sedan

By on Friday, March 06, 2015

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 110,000

10 9.0
overall rating 9 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
9/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
8/10
Performance
9/10
Styling
8/10
Comfort
7/10

Cons: "Mid grade gas recommended for 3.5L V6."

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"My car has the sport handling package and the 3.5L V6. It's a great combination. The sport handling package allows you to charge corners without over-driving them. 10 MPH over the recommended corner speed does NOT induce panic by passengers. The V6 is peppy and eager to run hard while sipping gas. The only downside: mid-grade gas is recommended by Dodge and makes a dramatic difference in mileage if you use regular. It has a roomy interior, almost too big for a 5' 8" 200 lb driver."

3 people out of 4 found this review helpful

Best family size sedan i have ever driven

By on Saturday, January 31, 2015

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 25,000

10 9.0
overall rating 9 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
9/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
9/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
9/10
Comfort
8/10

Pros: "Very smooth riding Extremely good on fuel"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 9

"Very powerful for V-6 yet extremely good on fuel . 30 highway with 4 adults at 70 mph. Corners very well . Dodge has built a very good product !!"

11 people out of 16 found this review helpful

Love this car

By on Tuesday, December 30, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 142,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
9/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
9/10
Comfort
10/10

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"I would buy another Charger as my next car."

5 people out of 8 found this review helpful

Very nice car.

By on Saturday, December 13, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 112,000

10 9.0
overall rating 9 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
9/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
9/10
Performance
9/10
Styling
8/10
Comfort
9/10

Pros: "Fun to drive"

Cons: "Winter weather, get the right tires"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

2006 Dodge Charger rt

"Very nice car! Cheàp to upgrade performance. Nice sound from the engine when you hammer the accelerator. Car can be very tricky driving in snow, not talking inches or feet I'm talking a half inch or less. It can get tricky."

8 people out of 10 found this review helpful

2006 Dodge Charger rt

new custom paint job

By on Monday, December 08, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 111,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
9/10
Reliability
9/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

Pros: "a eye catcher for only $7500 everything workl"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 9

"only 30000 miles on new factory engine,have supporting paper work, plus four new tires and rims, have 20" chrome rim with new tires, chrome trim all the way around, two tone custom paint job, clean inside and out"

2 people out of 3 found this review helpful

I love the handling and the power !

By on Monday, November 17, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 16,000

10 9.0
overall rating 9 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
9/10
Value
6/10
Reliability
6/10
Quality
8/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

Pros: "comfertable for me6'4" 300 lbs and refined driving"

Cons: "a lot of little issues they will not answer ."

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 9

"I love everything about this car except when I check pricing on here the SRT8 charger is worth more money than the numbered Super Bee SRT8 ? I also have a 2012 2ss camaro convertible, that has the 6.2l, and paddle shift , but this SRT8 is way more power to the road ,and handling is at least twice as refined . the problems like power door locks and windows seem to be the norm with these cars . They also did not paint everything on em (like nuts and bolts still in primer ,I also have a heart beat and static,that comes from the factory stereo kicker box that they say on both accounts (paint less spots,and stereo getting static and heart beat)is not a problem . But on forum they seem to think it is ?"

15 people out of 25 found this review helpful

Reliable, fast, efficient

By on Wednesday, November 12, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 65,000

10 9.0
overall rating 9 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
9/10
Value
9/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
9/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
8/10
Comfort
8/10

Pros: "fast, efficient, great reliability, great to drive"

Cons: "to unlock the cars true potential must modify"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 9

"i bought this car pre-owned with factory warranty still on it, i have modified it a lot, this thing is great for modifications, its easy and affordable too, i highly recommend the predator tuner, it will show you how the car can really drive, the ONLY costly thing about this car is the brakes and tires will require replacement every 20-30k depending on how you drive, which are also inexpensive, even basic sound is great, you can always add more speakers with the ports they leave you, this car is like a giant lego, just keep building onto it."

9 people out of 16 found this review helpful

Good, Not Great...

By on Monday, November 10, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 130,000

10 8.0
overall rating 8 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
8/10
Value
6/10
Reliability
7/10
Quality
8/10
Performance
9/10
Styling
8/10
Comfort
9/10

Pros: "Muscle design, quick response, performance, fun"

Cons: "Gas mileage, limited design technology."

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 5

"I have owned my 2008 since 2009. If you're looking for a muscle car with room for the family, this is definitely the right car for you. The 5.7 provides plenty of power but even with the variable valve shutdown you're still not going to be economical with this machine. When I bought it, I liked that it had all of the options like navigation and a hard drive for my music but now I would have much rather had no navigation and the ability to stream bluetooth from my IPod of Phone. The handsfree phone feature is nice but it takes some getting used to. Its hard to believe that this type of technology has come this far in 6+ years but it definitely has. In the end, I don't regret buying this car but if I had to do it over again I'm not sure that it was the right car for me."

6 people out of 16 found this review helpful

This car is a true Performance Sedan

By on Tuesday, October 21, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 98,000

10 8.0
overall rating 8 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
8/10
Value
8/10
Reliability
8/10
Quality
8/10
Performance
9/10
Styling
9/10
Comfort
9/10

Pros: "Very fun to drive Gets looks"

Cons: "Hard to keep your foot out of it."

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"For the price you can not beat the style and comfort this car offers up. Performance wise,from the factory amazing. Add a few bolt-on aftermarket performance features and this is a true race car."

11 people out of 23 found this review helpful

Charger SRT-8, After Owning for 7 Years

By on Tuesday, October 07, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 55,000

10 9.0
overall rating 9 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
9/10
Value
9/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
9/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

Pros: "Performance, styling, convenience, quality."

Cons: "Unresolved front rattle issue, cheap lug nuts."

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

Last one from the dealer's lot.

"I purchased my SRT-8 Charger new in September of '06. I chose the SRT-8 Charger for it's power, styling, and convenience (i.e. 4 dr.). It's got a Hemi. I drive it for what it was built for. To date, I have had NO mechanical problems with the car, save one- a periodic rattle in the front end on bumpy roads. Various Mopar forums indicate this is a widespread problem with this model, but no one has pinned down the exact problem. It is more of a nuisance issue than anything. The only other issue I have had with the car is the cheap lug nuts used by the manufacturer. They have some sort of decorative cover that causes them to be difficult to remove over time. These are the reason for the "9/10" quality rating. Everything else about the car is nothing short of awesome. The fit and finish is excellent, and with an annual wax-job with a quality carnauba wax, the paint (Inferno Red) still garners compliments. Performance and handling are excellent by any standards. For a 4,000+ lb. sedan, the engineers must have put in some serious overtime working their magic. Driver and passenger comfort are noteworthy because of the ample headroom for tall people, and there is REAL legroom for adult back seat passengers. The capacious trunk is designed for easy access of cargo. There have been no nuisance problems (i.e. faulty wiring, leaky windows, etc.). The two recalls by Dodge were promptly taken care of. I won't even mention fuel mileage. If you buy an SRT-8, anything, MPG is the last thing on your mind. The first thing is- when do I get to drive it again."

7 people out of 11 found this review helpful

Last one from the dealer's lot.

best ever! still love driving it 7 yrs later!!!!

By on Wednesday, October 01, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 82,000

10 9.0
overall rating 9 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
9/10
Value
8/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
9/10
Styling
9/10
Comfort
10/10

Cons: "blind spot due to mirrors."

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"This car has been pure pleasure since the day I bought it with 4 miles on it. The only thing that has ever gone bad it the shifter on the console, there is a part that the chargers are known to have go out due to wear and tear putting car in drive and park after a while. Mine had to be replaced at about 60k. No other issues at all. extremely happy with it."

7 people out of 9 found this review helpful

For an Ex-Sheriff's car, RUNS GREAT!

By on Sunday, September 28, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 175,000

10 9.0
overall rating 9 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
9/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
9/10
Quality
9/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
9/10
Comfort
9/10

Pros: "Handling,comfort, gas mileage 19-23MPG, FAST!"

Cons: "Speakers like to blow or get crackle sound."

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 9

"This "Police Car" RWD version is unlike the rest of the Chargers and leans towards the performance of the SRT8. It has the SRT8 suspension and brakes with the 5.7L (R/T) engine. It has the plain Jane interior and exterior of the SE. It's kind of a kluge but it works well. I get a range of 19-23MPG depending on city/highway driving mix. It's had Mobil 1 oil since day one and still gets it from me as well. If you maintain the 5.7L yourself, be sure to put 7 quarts of oil in the motor, not 6 quarts and use of a FRAM PH-8A oil filter instead of the stock PH-16 oil filter will extend engine life with 40% more filter for your oil. I HIGHLY recommend using ONLY FULL SYNTHETIC oil in this vehicle. I liked it so much, I went back to the county auction this year and bought a second one! Real head turner and traffic slows down by me all the time, wonder why...lol?!"

3 people out of 4 found this review helpful

One of my favorite cars to drive. It is very fast.

By on Tuesday, September 16, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 81,000

10 9.0
overall rating 9 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
9/10
Value
9/10
Reliability
9/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
9/10
Comfort
8/10

Pros: "Holds it value and is a head turner."

Cons: "Position of gauges could be better."

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"I have driven muscle cars since the early 60's. My Charger has headers and Flow Masters, and the K&N induction system as many of the others had. The styling has an intimidating look and the performance backs up the look. It is a blast to drive and the sound that it makes is like music to my ears."

3 people out of 6 found this review helpful

I like how it handles on the road

By on Sunday, August 31, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 96,000

10 8.0
overall rating 8 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
8/10
Value
Not Rated
Reliability
Not Rated
Quality
Not Rated
Performance
Not Rated
Styling
Not Rated
Comfort
Not Rated

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 9

"everything about the car I like and it even has adjustable gas and brake peddles."

1 person out of 1 found this review helpful

Best car I have ever owned! (Out of 14 cars total)

By on Saturday, August 30, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 125,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

Pros: "Power, comfort, stylish, head turner."

Cons: "No rear Cup holders"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"Absolutely love every aspect of this car. 10 Points to Dodge."

2 people out of 2 found this review helpful

Lots of room

By on Tuesday, August 26, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 160,000

10 9.0
overall rating 9 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
9/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
7/10
Styling
9/10
Comfort
10/10

Pros: "LOVE my charger"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 9

"Love my Charger.My son is very tall and can ride very comfortably in my car. Nicely detailed. In keeping up with the regular maintenance with my car, I have not had any problems with it. The only problem that I did have was my own issue. I have always driven front wheel drive and was not use to rear wheel drive. Was difficult learning to drive a rear wheel in the midwest during winter time."

Zoom Zoom

By on Wednesday, August 13, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 30,100

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
9/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
9/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

Pros: "smooth ride and roomy"

Cons: "MPG"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 9

"I love my 2010 Charger R/T smooth ride and the ECO mode is great if I use cruise control I get 22 MPG and if I don't use cruise 19 .. The only draw back is that you have to use the higher octane and if you don't keep it above 1/2 full of gas it gets pretty pricey"

3 people out of 4 found this review helpful

i love this car!

By on Tuesday, August 05, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 54,600

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"very comfortable and has lots of power( i have the srt-8 425HP)"

3 people out of 5 found this review helpful

Awesome and amazing car, I love it!!

By on Sunday, July 13, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 17,500

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

Pros: "fantastic handling, smooth ride, super fun"

Cons: "emergency brake has no hand release handle"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"I owned an S-class 500 Mercedes before this car and drove it for 8 years and comparing the two cars I would definitely say the charger is the better car."

7 people out of 11 found this review helpful

good looks great comments from public

By on Sunday, June 22, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 71,000

10 9.0
overall rating 9 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
9/10
Value
9/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
9/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
9/10
Comfort
9/10

Cons: "3'5 L HO engine should have duel exhaust"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 9

"Dodge gave lifetime warranty on drivetrain in 08 to orig owner"

1 person out of 2 found this review helpful

This is the greatest car I have ever owned!

By on Thursday, June 19, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 245,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

Pros: "Great car, great motor, fun to drive, great MPG"

Cons: "do not like position of cruse control"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"Bought this car new and have had almost no repairs. Very comfortable, lots of power and gets great gas mileage for the size of the motor. This is the best car I have ever had and have bought another Charger 2013."

3 people out of 3 found this review helpful

Love this car

By on Tuesday, June 17, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 131,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

Pros: "Spacious, fun to drive, great in snow, great value"

Cons: "moderate gas mileage, weak key design"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"I'm not typically one to volunteer product reviews. But, I've been driving my AWD for about a year-and-a-half now, and I owe it to the car to tout its greatness. I stand 6'4, and this is the first vehicle I've ever owned where I even considered sliding the seat forward of the full-back position. Add to that the fact that I have a wife who stands 5'11 and two boys in car seats, and we can all fit COMFORTABLY in this vehicle. Now, that is quite an accomplishment! I've driven this vehicle with 4 full-grown men in it, and no one was cramped. As far as capability goes, we had well over 100" of snow this past winter in West Michigan. But, this all wheel drive wonder never so much as batted an eye. And, on dry pavement, she'll put you back in your seat without a sweat. The only problems I've had were a split battery terminal (battery in the spare tire well in the trunk) and a bad center bearing (to rear drive shaft). And, the latter of those was probably due to plowing through snow at the end of the driveway that was above the wheel hubs. The design of the key leaves a bit do be desired, as the blade can break through the side of the housing. Gas mileage 19 mpg average is a little lower than I'd like. But, for the fun of driving it, I'll pay the extra."

2 people out of 3 found this review helpful

Sort Reviews by: 
Per Page:  5 | 10 | 25
Previous | 1 2 3 ... 32 | Next
Find Deals Near You vehicles for sale matching Dodge Charger near Honolulu. See local deals