Advertisement

Why ads?
Go

2000 Dodge Caravan Passenger

Style:

Consumer Reviews & Ratings

Overall Rating
7.5
Out of 10

Based on 234 Ratings for the 1996 - 2000 models.

Review this car
more rating details
  • Value
    7.9/10
    Quality
    7.9/10
  • Reliability
    8.1/10
    Performance
    8.0/10
  • Comfort
    8.4/10
    Styling
    7.8/10
Sort Reviews by: 
Per Page:  5 | 10 | 25
Previous | 1 2 3 ... 47 | Next

Biggest problem with these cars is rusting.

By on Wednesday, February 18, 2015

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 196,000

10 7.0
overall rating 7 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
7/10
Value
6/10
Reliability
8/10
Quality
5/10
Performance
5/10
Styling
6/10
Comfort
7/10

Pros: "Great people hauler"

Cons: "Too prone to severe rusting"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 6

"The biggest problem with these vans is rusting. They all seem to rust in the same areas; rear rocker panels, sliding doors, rear wheel wells and strut towers. The only major repair I have had to do to this van was overhauling the transmission. If you can find one that is rust free, buy it. Try to find models with the Stow 'N Go seating, they make great vacation transportation."

11 people out of 11 found this review helpful

never wanted a minivan....

By on Saturday, July 07, 2007

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
8/10
Comfort
10/10

"I got this minivan when my mom past away several years ago. Because I didn't really want a van, I have roade this van hard. We have a 2003 Cadilac and a 2000 Lincoln towncar and we always take the van! She always goes and has not gave us a single problem! Two things about these vans are: The brakes have to be replaced frequently.(my husband says because I drive too fast) and secondly, we lost our hubcaps early on and I refuse to pay mopar 120$ a piece for a plastic cover! Cheap caps don't work and I have even had the guy put them on at the store for me! other than that it runs great and the air is way way cold!"

9 people out of 9 found this review helpful

Really Great Van

By on Thursday, January 10, 2013

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 198,900

10 9.0
overall rating 9 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
9/10
Value
9/10
Reliability
9/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
9/10
Styling
8/10
Comfort
9/10

Pros: "easy drive, lots of room"

Cons: "3rd row has little leg room, very litte trunk spac"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 9

"I love this van. The owner before me took immaculate car of it. I have had no issues with this van other then the Multifunction switch which controls the blinkers and the windshield wipers malfunctioning and the blinkers only working some of the time. Replaced it and the new switch went out after about 5wks also... I do recommend this van HIGHLY especially when you have kids and kids in carseats. One suggestion is to get a security system of some sort like lojack, because this is a VERY VERY common vehicle to steal(#2 in Michigan!! out of the top 10 list, 8 are dodge caravans!!!). The only reason I don't have mine anymore is because it was stolen! The back seats come out so it is a common choice for thieves. 198900mi and it was still going amazingly. Drive was smooth, turning was awesome and it was still awesome at accelerating and handled fantasticly on the highway!"

7 people out of 7 found this review helpful

3 BAD TRANSMISSIONS

By on Sunday, November 25, 2007

10 2.0
overall rating 2 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
2/10
Value
5/10
Reliability
1/10
Quality
1/10
Performance
3/10
Styling
6/10
Comfort
6/10

"Just had 3rd transmission give out. Electrical problems. Dodge knows the transmission is bad in these until 2000 when chrysler actually began building there own transmission. Just ask any towing service about pre 2000 caravans and there transmissioins."

6 people out of 6 found this review helpful

this van has been so reliable

By on Sunday, November 06, 2011

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 200,000

10 8.0
overall rating 8 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
8/10
Value
9/10
Reliability
9/10
Quality
8/10
Performance
8/10
Styling
5/10
Comfort
9/10

Pros: "just a great car ,can pack alot of peopl in it too"

Cons: "keep having issues with the horn had it fixed twic"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"this van was bought on the spare of the moment when my son was in the hospital .I bought it used to get him home .did not pre drive it .it has been the best purchase i have ever made .just turned over 200.000 and still runs great no leaks no noises no problems ,just had the oil changed and transmission fluid changed I will keep it until it desides to leave me .cant see that being anytime soon"

4 people out of 4 found this review helpful

Sort Reviews by: 
Per Page:  5 | 10 | 25
Previous | 1 2 3 ... 47 | Next
Find Deals Near You vehicles for sale matching Dodge Caravan Passenger near Honolulu. See local deals