Advertisement

Why ads?
Popular at KBB.com
  • 12 Best Family Cars of 2014
  • 10 Best Midsize SUVs
  • 10 Best SUVs Under $25,000
  • 10 Best AWD Cars & SUVs Under $25,000
Go

1996 Dodge Caravan Passenger

Style:

Consumer Reviews & Ratings

Overall Rating
7.5
Out of 10

Based on 226 Ratings for the 1996 - 2000 models.

Review this car
more rating details
  • Value
    8.0/10
    Quality
    7.9/10
  • Reliability
    8.1/10
    Performance
    8.0/10
  • Comfort
    8.4/10
    Styling
    7.8/10
Sort Reviews by: 
Per Page:  5 | 10 | 25
Previous | 1 2 3 ... 46 | Next

What a Great VAN to travel in.

By on Thursday, September 25, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 127,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
8/10
Styling
5/10
Comfort
6/10

Pros: "great freeway mileage for those long trips."

Cons: "need a bit more head room and leg room"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"I have hauled, pulled, slept and sat many a day in my Dodge Caravan. I have recently traveled to Pocatello, Idaho and to Green River, Wyoming. I am really impressed with the mileage I got going with the wind turbulence. When I seen that I was getting 572 miles per the tank on the freeway oh how could I not be impressed. That is 35.75 MPG. This is the best van yet for long distance loaded going with the wind. It took only 1 full and two half fill ups to get to Pocatello,ID and from there not even a full tank to go farther on to Green River, WY. The only thing I had recently done before I left Port Orchard, WA was to buy two new tires on the rear (the front had two new tires from in June) and change the oil. I added turbo charge at each fill up. It did not overheat or burn any oil on this trip. I have owned this vehicle for three years I have yet to change the plugs now after a trip like this I should do that as well as change the wires and oil again. Way to go Dodge what a great thing you have done to the way people drive..now lets talk about rolling on..."

3 people out of 4 found this review helpful

has brand new transmission

By on Saturday, August 02, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 160

10 5.0
overall rating 5 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
5/10
Value
2/10
Reliability
2/10
Quality
5/10
Performance
5/10
Styling
2/10
Comfort
9/10

Pros: "everything else good for a 1999"

Cons: "needs brakes, radiator ,a/c repair"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 5

"this van needs brakes, radiator, a/c repair everything good for a 1999"

2 people out of 4 found this review helpful

old dependable

By on Friday, June 13, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 200,000

10 7.0
overall rating 7 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
7/10
Value
Not Rated
Reliability
Not Rated
Quality
Not Rated
Performance
Not Rated
Styling
Not Rated
Comfort
Not Rated

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 9

"This is one of the best cars we have ever owned! Reliable, comfortable to drive, good turning base, no major problems!"

4 people out of 4 found this review helpful

Best car I have ever owned.

By on Monday, May 26, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 150,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
9/10
Reliability
9/10
Quality
8/10
Performance
5/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

Pros: "Hauls 7 people !"

Cons: "Front brakes wear out fast"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"I bought this caravan new in 2000. Its a shorty with a 2.4l engine mated to a 3 speed automatic. Absolute base model with roll up windows and a manual sliding door on the right side. The durability has been surprising. Lots of front brakes have been changed, they wear out fast. I never changed the timing belt, so the van decided it would be changed at 148k . No damage done to the internals. While the shop had it opened up I had all the belts and hoses replaced, plugs and wires, and the bearings went on the alternator shortly after. The van works very well if it is "used but not abused" . I expect to drive this for another 150k."

2 people out of 3 found this review helpful

Has never let me down

By on Monday, August 19, 2013

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 190,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

Pros: "Parts are affordable and easy to get (Auto Zone)"

Cons: "The transmission will need to be replaced soon."

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"My 99 Dodge caravan (Mini pearl)has been nothing but dependable. She was the first family vehicle that we bought when my first son was born; and now, she will be his first car. Unfortunately she doesn't have the cool factor, but he is honored that she will be his."

5 people out of 7 found this review helpful

Sort Reviews by: 
Per Page:  5 | 10 | 25
Previous | 1 2 3 ... 46 | Next
Find Deals Near You vehicles for sale matching Dodge Caravan Passenger near Honolulu. See local deals