Advertisement

Why ads?
Popular at KBB.com
  • Midsize Sedan Buyer's Guide
  • 10 Best Sedans Under $25,000
  • Compact Car Buyer's Guide
  • 10 Best Luxury Cars Under $35,000
Go

2009 Dodge Avenger

Style:

Consumer Reviews & Ratings

Overall Rating
8.0
Out of 10

Based on 415 Ratings for the 2008 - 2014 models.

Review this car
more rating details
  • Value
    8.1/10
    Quality
    8.1/10
  • Reliability
    8.5/10
    Performance
    8.2/10
  • Comfort
    8.3/10
    Styling
    8.6/10
Sort Reviews by: 
Per Page:  5 | 10 | 25
Previous | 1 2 3 ... 17 | Next

A few glitches

By on Tuesday, December 11, 2007

10 7.0
overall rating 7 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
7/10
Value
9/10
Reliability
7/10
Quality
7/10
Performance
8/10
Styling
9/10
Comfort
9/10

"I bought my Avenger last march. I get fairly good milage (for city traffic). A few minor electronic glitches, however... I have a super sensative "check engine" light that has brought me back to the dealership a few times, and my "brake" alert light activates whenever I am on a forward incline. The leather interior still looks great."

2 people out of 2 found this review helpful

Best Vehicle In Years

By on Wednesday, October 10, 2007

10 8.0
overall rating 8 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
8/10
Value
8/10
Reliability
8/10
Quality
8/10
Performance
9/10
Styling
9/10
Comfort
9/10

"Having driven this vehicle for only 2 months, I may have over rated it, but for handling, performance, dependability, and overall quality, it has exceeded my expectations."

2 people out of 2 found this review helpful

Great Car

By on Friday, September 14, 2007

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
9/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

"I purchased an Avenger sxt like 2 months ago, I love it, looks "mean," it's a head turner! There are so many things I like about the Avenger, the handling is great, the power is great for the size of the engine. I love the seats and the interior. GREAT CAR! The only thing I dislike is the wheels slip a little when you really get on it!"

2 people out of 2 found this review helpful

Love this car !!!!!!!!!!!

By on Sunday, May 31, 2015

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 43,000

10 9.0
overall rating 9 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
9/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
9/10
Comfort
10/10

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 9

"The only thing I find wrong with this car is not being able to see good when I am backing out of a parking space. Could be because I am short but more likely because of the design. This is the only reason it didn't get 10 out of 10 on everything. Drove it out west and averaged 30-33 mph on the interstate. You won't get that in the city but loved in on the highway :)"

1 person out of 1 found this review helpful

Favorite car I have ever owned.

By on Friday, May 29, 2015

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 58,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

Pros: "Fun to drive. Sporty looking Sedan."

Cons: "none"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"I get compliments every week on my Dodge Avenger. It is just a great looking car & everyone notices it. Not to mention how great this car handles & drives."

1 person out of 1 found this review helpful

Very reliable and stylish

By on Tuesday, April 21, 2015

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 92,000

10 9.0
overall rating 9 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
9/10
Value
8/10
Reliability
9/10
Quality
8/10
Performance
9/10
Styling
9/10
Comfort
8/10

Pros: "Reliable, attractive"

Cons: "Needs larher tires, some small interrior convenien"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 8

"The car has never been in the shop! Good gas mileage. Looks sharp and almost a muscle car."

1 person out of 1 found this review helpful

Loud on Certain days!

By on Sunday, November 10, 2013

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 10,500

10 5.0
overall rating 5 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
5/10
Value
4/10
Reliability
5/10
Quality
5/10
Performance
2/10
Styling
6/10
Comfort
5/10

Pros: "Looks ok"

Cons: "Loud, loud, loud"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 1

"I'm not the only Avenger owner that thinks their car sounds like a lawn mower, but only on certain days! Hate It!"

1 person out of 1 found this review helpful

wonderful car

By on Tuesday, November 05, 2013

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 91,000

10 9.0
overall rating 9 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
9/10
Value
7/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
9/10
Performance
9/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 9

"i love this car it has great driving smooth and easy to handle blind spots are minimal. i do wish that i had the 6 speed.it has a long nose but i hardly notice it when i am driving :)"

1 person out of 1 found this review helpful

I am my own worst enemy

By on Sunday, September 22, 2013

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 40,000

10 3.0
overall rating 3 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
3/10
Value
5/10
Reliability
Not Rated
Quality
2/10
Performance
6/10
Styling
4/10
Comfort
3/10

Pros: "It looks nice."

Cons: "Looks aren't everything."

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 1

"Perhaps buying this car at a dealer that was not Dodge was not bright, but I had no idea that the trunk would leak and that this is a recurring problem from YEARS back through other posts I've seen. Neither Dodge nor the dealer I purchased from were willing to be helpful in the matter. I bought the car as it was bigger than the one I had, space is vital to me while remaining in something less than an SUV, and I am used to working on Dodge vehicles, hence my interest in it. The interior is nothing to rave about in the least, the stability gets shaky while driving average highway speeds, the center console slides out in a manner that blocks the parking brake, the trunk leaking REALLY irritates me as I typically have work equipment in the car on a normal basis that should not get wet, and the check oil reminder goes off whether the oil was just changed or not. I'm also not thrilled with the 'plastic' side mirrors that can not be pulled in to avoid damage, especially with the amount of city driving/parking I do. I'm not even interested in dumping any money into this car to boost my interest level. I've had this car for around 5 months and at this point am trying to pay down enough to make it slightly worth a trade in on something else that will fit my life/work style. I did buy this car from a non-Dodge dealer, so it was not certified and it was a used car purchase, so perhaps some of the blame lies on previous ownership and certainly myself for not picking every detail before getting this car, but at this point, I do dearly miss my 2001 (totaled or I'd still have it) Dodge and will not purchase another made after that year."

1 person out of 1 found this review helpful

AVENGER R/T & V/6 WITH 412 GEARS=0 to 60 in 6 SEC

By on Monday, July 08, 2013

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 6,500

10 9.0
overall rating 9 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
9/10
Value
8/10
Reliability
9/10
Quality
9/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
9/10

Pros: "EXCEL V/6,EXCEL INTERIOR,EXCEL RIDE & QUITE"

Cons: "SLIGHT TORQUE STEER DURING HARD ACCELERATION"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 8

"I OWN A 2012 DODGE AVENGER R/T 3.6 V6.CAR WEIGHTS 3600 LBS.GEARS ARE 4.12s AND IS 6 SPEED AUTO.THE COMBINATION OF 4.12 GEARS AND 283 HP MAKE THIS CAR A SOLID 6 SECOND MECHINE GOING FROM 0 TO 60 MPH.ENTERIOR QUALITY ON THE R/T IS EXCELLENT.SUSPENSION ON THE R/T HAS BEEN GREATLY IMPROVED IN 2011 THUS THE LABEL R/T.CORNERING IS FANTASTIC DOUBLE INSULATION PREVENTS ROAD NOISE.TRANSMISSION SHIFTS AT 6000 RPM.DODGE HASNT ADVERTISED THE R/T.THE PUBLIC DOESNT KNOW ABOUT THE R/T. IF THEY WOULD ADVERTISE THIS R/T,MORE PEOPLE WOULD BY IT!!"

1 person out of 1 found this review helpful

I love this car.

By on Tuesday, May 14, 2013

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 14,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
7/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

Pros: "sharp style, good quality for the price."

Cons: "only the lightness of the front end when passing."

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"Front end a little too light. When taking off to pass front end lifts up some and causes car to go to left and back to right. Need to keep control with steering wheel when this happens. The car is great overall. Just this one thing I believe needs to be changed."

1 person out of 1 found this review helpful

Most for the money

By on Friday, January 25, 2013

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 10

10 9.0
overall rating 9 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
9/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
Not Rated
Quality
9/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
9/10

Pros: "V6 w/283hp, great looking car, nice interior too"

Cons: "none found yet"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"Purchased 2013 Avenger this week and this car is by far the best value for the money - Ford and GM don't even have a car in this class with this kind of power (283hp)! Great value for the money and it is a nice sporty vehicle the kids are proud to drive as well. Great job on design and price! With incentives at $3,000 right now and the best V6 on the market it was a deal I couldn't pass up! Looking forward to having this car for years, looks great and moves fast for under $20K!"

1 person out of 1 found this review helpful

I love my 2010 R/T! Give the car a chance!

By on Monday, December 03, 2012

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 40,950

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
9/10
Quality
9/10
Performance
9/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

Pros: "Sporty, Great MPG, drives and looks great"

Cons: "MAYBE the transmission can be a little smoother"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"I absolutely love my 2010 Avenger R/T 2.4l! I used to drive a 01 Durango 4.7 and the transition to this car is very different but in a great way! The gas mileage is great, it looks and drives great and it is just very sporty for a 4 door sedan! Dodge did a great job! People need to take it from the owners, its a great car!"

1 person out of 1 found this review helpful

Good gas mileage, fun to drive

By on Friday, March 23, 2012

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 71,000

10 9.0
overall rating 9 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
9/10
Value
9/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
9/10
Performance
9/10
Styling
9/10
Comfort
8/10

Pros: "Good vehicle"

Cons: "Replacement parts expensive"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 8

"Bought vehicle 2009 from enterprise rental with 43000 miles. Changed oil every 3000miles. Never has failed to start, got 31 mpg on trips to Indiana (600 miles each way). Handles different road conditions very well."

1 person out of 1 found this review helpful

Great vehicle! Very reliable!

By on Wednesday, January 18, 2012

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 95,000

10 9.0
overall rating 9 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
9/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
9/10
Performance
9/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

Pros: "Gas mileage, comfort, appearance"

Cons: "Price"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"Most surprising thing about this vehicle is the great gas mileage. At 95,000 miles, I average almost 30mpg on the highway, and that's with the V6 3.5L. It still drives as if it's brand new."

1 person out of 1 found this review helpful

I love my car <3

By on Sunday, January 15, 2012

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 54,000

10 8.0
overall rating 8 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
8/10
Value
8/10
Reliability
8/10
Quality
9/10
Performance
9/10
Styling
9/10
Comfort
9/10

Pros: "easy to drive, love the cup cooler/warmer"

Cons: "should be 2 cup cooler/warmers, not just one,"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"This car is comfortable to be in and a smooth ride. It has a few little quirks, but overall, I love it. One thing I don't like is the trunk design. When you open up the trunk, the water (from rain) will flow into the trunk space if you go to quickly."

1 person out of 1 found this review helpful

Excellent car!!

By on Tuesday, December 27, 2011

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 93,000

10 9.0
overall rating 9 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
9/10
Value
9/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
9/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

Pros: "reliable"

Cons: "noisy steering"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"Bought used with 40,000 miles. I commute 100 miles a day and this car has been great (over 93,000). No mechanical issues at all. The confort is incredible and I really love the MP3 system; I've downloaded 300 songs !!. The CD player is a little tempermental though."

1 person out of 1 found this review helpful

This is my second one!

By on Monday, December 26, 2011

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 17,500

10 9.0
overall rating 9 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
9/10
Value
9/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
9/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

Pros: "heated seats, 6 speakers, sporty"

Cons: "None."

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"I had a used 2008 with 11k miles. Had it for two years, it was just great in every way! Replaced it with a new 2010 Express model! Even better, everything was upgraded on the inside. I'm soon to get a new 2012 model.."

1 person out of 1 found this review helpful

Great Car!

By on Monday, December 12, 2011

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 50,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"I have a 2008 SXT and has about 50,000 miles. It is very dependable and I have not had any issues with it."

1 person out of 1 found this review helpful

This vehicle looks great and handles well.

By on Monday, November 21, 2011

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 12,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"I have owned a 2010 Avenger R/T 3.5 liter V6 with 6 speed transmition for 6 months and I love it. Love the heated seats, moonroof, navigation, and uconnect telephone!"

1 person out of 1 found this review helpful

Looks like a little Charger,

By on Monday, November 21, 2011

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 25,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

Pros: "looks perfermance"

Cons: "should get better then the 30 MPG highyway"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"This is a daily driver and I have also raced it at Mopar At The Strip in Las Vegas 2 years in a row. runner up and fastest ET in the sport compact class, this is a non melested car. it is still the way I get her off the show room floor. New. Now the new 3.6 motor wow.. but my 2008 is staying with me for life.. she has a bumper to bumper life time warranty too... :)"

1 person out of 1 found this review helpful

Great and economical.

By on Friday, October 28, 2011

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 4,015

10 9.0
overall rating 9 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
9/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
9/10
Performance
9/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
9/10

Pros: "Nice lines, great options."

Cons: "Would like more add-ons."

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

Out for an evening drive.

"So this is the second Avenger we have owned, the first being a 2009 SXT. I was happy with the 2.7L V6 in that car, and it gave good value. When the new Avenger came out, I was impressed with the modifications. There are some items I would have liked, power passenger seats, rear AC, but again, fully loaded, the 2011 Avenger was less than $27k. The biggest selling point was the larger and more powerful 3.6L engine. Much more power and responsive. The 6 speed transmission can cause some rough shifting but you get used to that. When you push down for power from a stand still and the streering pulls to the right, but that's due to it being front wheel drive. Not bad, just something to be prepared for. All in all really enjoy the car, like the ride, much quiter and again, an overall great value. Compared to the Ford Fusion, which fully loaded is nearly $10k more, we were happy with this purchase. On top of the enginer, we have found that the Nav and other bells and whistles are also nice and make an even more pleasurable vehicle to own. This isn't the right car for everyone. It's a smaller, sporty sedan that gets 25MPG with a 280hp engine, it's great around town and makes for a particle family car. I can see that many will opt of the Honda or Toyota, but this is more fun to drive."

1 person out of 1 found this review helpful

Out for an evening drive.

best vehicle for the money

By on Wednesday, October 26, 2011

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 70,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

Pros: "best value"

Cons: "can't find anything"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"bought the car with 19,000 miles"

1 person out of 1 found this review helpful

This car rocks!!

By on Wednesday, October 19, 2011

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 68,600

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

Pros: "luxurious definitely upscale for an affordable car"

Cons: "motor for the fluid quit spraying"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"This is the best buy I have made on a vehicle. I bought this for 10k and 2 years later it is still worth 8.5k. The drive is smooth and comfortable. My kids fit perfectly. The interior is luxurious definitely upscale for an affordable car. No engine problems, the only problem I have had with this are the windshield wiper fluid stopped working. Well the motor for the fluid quit spraying. I need to replace the motor I believe but I could be wrong... I love LOVE LOVE this car."

1 person out of 1 found this review helpful

LOVE LOVE LOVE My Avenger!

By on Wednesday, October 19, 2011

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 34,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

Pros: "Fun to drive, comfortable, reliable."

Cons: "Water drips into trunk when opened if wet."

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"I love this car! I have the Mango Tango orange R/T, and it has it ALL! I have never had any problems with it- just regular maintenance keeps this car running great. It's super stylish, a car that people turn their heads to get a better look as you drive by. It's comfortable and fun to drive, and the console/control layout is nice. I definitely recommend this car!"

1 person out of 1 found this review helpful

Sort Reviews by: 
Per Page:  5 | 10 | 25
Previous | 1 2 3 ... 17 | Next
Find Deals Near You vehicles for sale matching Dodge Avenger near Honolulu. See local deals