Advertisement

Why ads?
Popular at KBB.com
  • 10 Best Sedans Under $25,000
  • 12 Best Family Cars of 2014
  • 10 Most Affordable Cars of 2014
  • 10 Best Luxury Cars Under $40,000
Go

2009 Dodge Avenger

Style:

Consumer Reviews & Ratings

Overall Rating
7.9
Out of 10

Based on 394 Ratings for the 2008 - 2014 models.

Review this car
more rating details
  • Value
    8.0/10
    Quality
    8.0/10
  • Reliability
    8.5/10
    Performance
    8.2/10
  • Comfort
    8.3/10
    Styling
    8.6/10
Sort Reviews by: 
Per Page:  5 | 10 | 25
Previous | 1 2 3 ... 16 | Next

Great & fun car to drive

By on Sunday, October 05, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 48,000

10 8.0
overall rating 8 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
8/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
7/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
8/10

Pros: "Looks differnt then you everyday car, love the Nav"

Cons: "Leather a little cheap"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"Have had my Avenger R/T for 66 months and have enjoyed it very much. Not your every day looking car, great size for my needs, and the best part is I have a life time warrenty. I like this car so much I got my kids a 2013 model and they just love it too. I have even drag raced my car at the Las Vegas RaceWay at the Morpar at the strip, and was shocked at how fast it is."

2 people out of 3 found this review helpful

Love my car

By on Friday, September 19, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 8,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

Pros: "Love the color, fun to drive"

Cons: "none yet"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"I bought this car new. Its a 2014 with a V6, test drove the 4 cylinder and found it too sluggish. Gas mileage is good. Blind spots are entertaining, but not unexpected. I have a son who is 6'1" and he rides comfortably with lots of leg room, even in the back. Have recommended Avenger to family and friends!"

3 people out of 8 found this review helpful

Dislike car

By on Friday, September 12, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 100,300

10 3.0
overall rating 3 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
3/10
Value
4/10
Reliability
3/10
Quality
3/10
Performance
3/10
Styling
3/10
Comfort
3/10

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 1

"Have had the car for 4 years. Not satisfied. Brakes have squeeked the entire 4 years. Bad blind spot on the right of the car. There have been times the radio will just not play or the car will not start. Truly dissatisfied with product."

4 people out of 8 found this review helpful

Good Value

By on Thursday, September 04, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 117,500

10 9.0
overall rating 9 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
9/10
Value
9/10
Reliability
9/10
Quality
9/10
Performance
7/10
Styling
7/10
Comfort
9/10

Pros: "very good value for the money, great stereo system"

Cons: "Not as easy handling as some cars."

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 9

"I have had my Avenger since 2008. I am the first owner of the car and I am very pleased with it's performance. After a few kinks in the first two years( recalls) the overall performance of the vehicle has been very good. The value has also been very good. I am quite pleased with the car and I would buy another Avenger. My car has 117,000 miles on it and has not had any mechanical problems, except to replace the master cylinder within the warranty period. Otherwise I have not had any extra repairs on the vehicle at all, just regular maintenance. It has performed very well,has plenty of power for the normal driver, and gets pretty good gas mileage, too. Overall I am very pleased with the car's performance."

7 people out of 10 found this review helpful

The Best Car Anyone could find.

By on Thursday, August 28, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 9,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

Pros: "Drives great will sell it."

Cons: "their no cons about this car."

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"I drove this car off the lot new it has set under porch not in sun, It has a sun roof that does not leak its lite gray an runs great just inspected. I selling it cause I have two cars besides it dodge is a great car , thanks"

1 person out of 2 found this review helpful

great car for the money.

By on Thursday, August 28, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 49,550

10 9.0
overall rating 9 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
9/10
Value
9/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
8/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
7/10
Comfort
7/10

Pros: "CAR FEELS LIKE IT WILL LAST A LONG TIME"

Cons: "HAVE NONE"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 9

"REALLY GLAD THE DEALER IN HANOVER PA. WORKED OUT A GREAT DEAL SO I COULD OWN A CAR THEY FELT WOULD FIT MY BILL.MOST OF MY CARS ARE PAST THRU THE CHILDREN AND AVG. 150000 MI. OR MORE."

1 person out of 2 found this review helpful

Liked this Avenger. Just dont have no resale value

By on Saturday, August 23, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 32,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
8/10
Styling
8/10
Comfort
8/10

Cons: "Hold no resale value"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 6

"Excellent Vehicle never had a problem. Only problem is Trading it in the drop so much in value. $26000 window sticker a year later they want to give me $12000 Typical Chrysler. Going with Toyota"

4 people out of 5 found this review helpful

Looks amazing, guzzles the gas

By on Thursday, August 07, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 32,000

10 8.0
overall rating 8 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
8/10
Value
7/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
8/10
Performance
8/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
9/10

Pros: "beautiful ext. design, convenient int. design"

Cons: "gas mileage"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"Every time I fill out this field it kicks out my review."

7 people out of 15 found this review helpful

Good car.

By on Thursday, August 07, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 18,000

10 9.0
overall rating 9 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
9/10
Value
9/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
9/10
Performance
9/10
Styling
9/10
Comfort
9/10

Pros: "Lifetime powertrain warranty"

Cons: "could use a turbo"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 9

"I purchased new my 2008 avenger sxt with 2.7 v6 and auto. I have 18000 miles now and even still have the original battery after 6 yrs.I get 30+ miles per gal on highway and around 25 in town.Not the fastest car but it did come with the lifetime powertrain warranty so its a keeper for me.It rated low with the car mags but mine has been fab."

1 person out of 2 found this review helpful

love this car!

By on Sunday, August 03, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 29,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

Pros: "love the look!"

Cons: "not a powerful get up and go car"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"Only flaw .a blind spot or two"

1 person out of 1 found this review helpful

Has been a great vehicle.

By on Thursday, July 24, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 120,000

10 9.0
overall rating 9 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
9/10
Value
9/10
Reliability
9/10
Quality
8/10
Performance
8/10
Styling
8/10
Comfort
9/10

Pros: "Almost no issues after 7 years."

Cons: "Original breaks were inferior."

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 9

"Great car. The only issue I have had with this vehicle is the brakes, which I had to replace at 13k. Other than that is has been excellent."

6 people out of 10 found this review helpful

Excellent car, comfortable,sporty, great handling

By on Sunday, July 06, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 15,000

10 9.0
overall rating 9 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
9/10
Value
9/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
9/10
Performance
9/10
Styling
8/10
Comfort
8/10

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 9

"Love thee cars, this is the second one I have bought."

4 people out of 7 found this review helpful

2012 AVENGER SXT PLUS

By on Tuesday, July 01, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 28,650

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

Pros: "GREAT OVERALL VEHICLE/ SUBSTANTIAL FEEL TO IT!"

Cons: "NONE"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"A GREAT CAR A GREAT VALUE FUN TO DRIVE EXTREMELY POWERFUL! U CONNECT SYSTEM WORKS AWESOME! A TOUGH LOOKING CAR IN A WORLD OF BUBBLES THIS VEHICLE LOOKS MEAN AND LEAN!"

3 people out of 7 found this review helpful

Very Comfortable, Excellent power and MPG

By on Sunday, June 15, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 23,000

10 9.0
overall rating 9 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
9/10
Value
8/10
Reliability
9/10
Quality
9/10
Performance
8/10
Styling
9/10
Comfort
9/10

Pros: "Power, Gas MPG, Comfort"

Cons: "After 3 years owning I have none."

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 9

"I averaged about 23 MPG and got up to 37MPG. This with a V6 was incredible. I did not take many long trips but had 5 of us in the car for over an hour once and all of us were 250lbs+. Everyone agreed it was comfortable. The trunk is very large, 2 sets of clubs were not a problem. The power was great except in the snow, then I had some issues at first but soon figured out how to drive her just fine."

12 people out of 20 found this review helpful

Engine Excellent, New Battery,MinorExteriorPaint

By on Wednesday, May 28, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 73,000

10 8.0
overall rating 8 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
8/10
Value
8/10
Reliability
8/10
Quality
8/10
Performance
8/10
Styling
7/10
Comfort
7/10

Pros: "Low Mileage and Excellent Engine"

Cons: "Spare Tire and Cracked Bumper"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 8

"The car has three new tires and one spare (Had blow-out on front passenger side 2 wks ago)Right side bumper cracked."

6 people out of 10 found this review helpful

Abominable vehicle

By on Monday, May 19, 2014

I don't own this car

10 1.0
overall rating 1 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
1/10
Value
1/10
Reliability
Not Rated
Quality
1/10
Performance
2/10
Styling
1/10
Comfort
1/10

Pros: "None to speak of"

Cons: "Annoying dinging entire time driver's door open"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 1

"I would NEVER own this vehicle. I rented one for a week and found it to be the most uncomfortable car I've ever driven. The continuous dinging from the time the driver's door opened until it was closed was most annoying. It was very difficult to get in and out of even with the steering wheel up as far as it would go, in spite of my being only 5'3" and my legs are not very long. It was also difficult for my passengers to get in and out. It was quite sluggish getting away from a stop and I certainly would not rent this car again for any reason."

5 people out of 22 found this review helpful

comfortable, handles well, could have more power

By on Thursday, May 15, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 50,000

10 9.0
overall rating 9 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
9/10
Value
9/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
8/10
Performance
7/10
Styling
9/10
Comfort
8/10

Pros: "fits in garage well, like the AUTOMATIC"

Cons: "corners poorly, needs more dash storage."

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 8

"i would have given car more power, but then the gas mileage would be less. for the power i do have, the mileage should be more."

4 people out of 7 found this review helpful

pleasantly surprised

By on Friday, May 09, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 54,460

10 9.0
overall rating 9 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
9/10
Value
9/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
9/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
9/10
Comfort
9/10

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"I enjoy driving this car. I like that it doesn't look like everything else. Plenty of power with 3.6 v6. great hwy mileage,wish city was a little better. Very comfortable ride.The interior is nice and not too busy. Controls are easy to use."

4 people out of 5 found this review helpful

Great, Reliable Vehicle

By on Saturday, May 03, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 110,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
9/10
Comfort
10/10

Pros: "Low price, reliable, comfortable, roomy, GREAT CAR"

Cons: "blind spot"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"I love this car. This is the first car I ever went out and paid for myself. I would recommend this car to anyone! It is a great vehicle! It was a rental before I bought it. It had higher miles than I would have liked but it has been absolutely reliable. No questions asked there. The only thing I don't like about the car is there is a bad blind spot in the back because of the way it was designed. Other than that though, if you're thinking about it, DO IT!"

6 people out of 7 found this review helpful

great looks

By on Tuesday, April 29, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 26,977

10 7.0
overall rating 7 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
7/10
Value
6/10
Reliability
9/10
Quality
6/10
Performance
9/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

Pros: "good looks,gets attention"

Cons: "oiss poor service from dealer"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 8

"great car,fun to drive,very good gas milage."

3 people out of 4 found this review helpful

Fuel Efficiency and Great Midsize Car

By on Thursday, March 27, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 24,152

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

Pros: "Gas mileage, good handling, value, ride"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"love the handling of car. Its a great vehicle being more sporty and reasonably best in performance with having a V6 engine. Features are outstanding the resale value is excellent on car gives me good gas mileage plenty of room rides smooth. Looks more of a top of the line coupe with taillights and factory R/T wheels. The Avenger is comfortable available with heated seats, UCONNECT navigation, blue tooth and USB/iPod interface include a great sound system. It drives absolutely best more quiet great smooth ride and gas mileage is overall excellent on Avenger. I love this car on lots of good features in its class from more sporty looks and steering controls are outstanding."

16 people out of 21 found this review helpful

Good car if you don't expect much.

By on Tuesday, March 25, 2014

I owned and sold this car
Reason: cheap quality

10 3.0
overall rating 3 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
3/10
Value
4/10
Reliability
3/10
Quality
2/10
Performance
1/10
Styling
2/10
Comfort
6/10

Pros: "Attractive body style, good mileage"

Cons: "cheap workmanship, poor quality interior."

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 2

"I bought a 2008 Avenger with only about 100 miles on it. I loved the look of the car and the ride was very comfortable on the test drive. The dealer gave me a really great deal (too good to turn down... should have been my first clue). The first few weeks it was a really sweet ride, so we went back and got a matching one for my husband. I noticed his car drove a lot more 'tight'. Didn't sway as much as mine did. Mine felt like it was always windy out and was a little more 'loose' than his in the steering. His was the top of the line, all the bells and whistles, whereas mine was the plain jane, low end model. So I chalked it up to that. One thing we both had in common though, was the very first week of ownership, our air vents broke when we tried to flip them up to redirect the air flow. About a month after getting it, we took mine out on the interstate on our first long distance trip, I noticed it had a lot of road noise. Almost sounded like a plane was overhead at times. The feeling of being windy out was again very noticeable. We took mine in several times to the dealer for 'small things' like the interior door trim falling off, door not fitting right, etc. My husband's had leather seats which cracked and looked worn before the first year was up. We both had several recalls on our cars in the first 2-3 years (at least 4 apiece). Both cars had the shifter break, leaving us having to take apart the shifter area in order to get the car into gear. It was one of the recalls. After the 2nd year, his car started using oil. Around year 3 for his and year 4 for mine (but the same amount of miles), they both developed transmission problems and started slipping between first and second gears. Mine developed some type of 'air lock' in the 4th year. When I'd drive down the interstate, it'd act like it had air bubbles in the gas. It'd spit and sputter when you'd step on the gas. The mechanic could never find anything wrong. The cars both had very cheap interiors that fell apart, fairly quickly. The molding strips on the bottom of mine fell off when I drove through heavy snow one winter. All of a sudden they were gone and thats the only thing we remember doing. Mine developed 'bubbling' of the paint on the nose of the hood. When a battery needed changed, we found out you have to remove the driver's side wheel and take apart the wheel well to get the battery out. Based on our experience with the two 2008's that we purchased, I will NEVER purchase another Dodge car."

6 people out of 12 found this review helpful

Great American car

By on Tuesday, March 25, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 27,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

Pros: "Great performance and yet good economy"

Cons: "Traction control is a nuisance."

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"I'm early 60s and have owned a lot of cars. When looking for a new one, I wanted: performance, style ( this car has a great muscle car style ) all the latest do- dads, and economy. I've owned it now for a couple years and still look forward to getting behind the wheel, especially at stop lights. I am sorry to see it go away. Goodbye to a great American car."

2 people out of 2 found this review helpful

Had as a rental for a month

By on Monday, March 10, 2014

I don't own this car

10 7.0
overall rating 7 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
7/10
Value
Not Rated
Reliability
Not Rated
Quality
Not Rated
Performance
10/10
Styling
5/10
Comfort
6/10

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 7

"So my vehicle was stolen and I got this rental from my insurance company. Being used to an old 99 with poor HP, I spit rocks as I pulled out of the driveway!! I felt like a millionaire, until I checked my blind spots... to look over your shoulder, it is really hard to see out the back window (Im a short 5'2" woman) and the small side windows in the back might as well not even have been there!! The body was also really wide between the back door and the rear windshield, making for a huge blind spot which nearly costed me several accidents. Its not a big deal in rural areas, but I live in a metro, so I need to be able to navigate in a split second, something that is hard to do when you need to look at 2 mirriors and look back, and then check your mirriors again. Now granted, I know that is how you are supposed to drive anyway, but anyone who drives in heavy traffic full of people texting and driving, putting on make up while they speed to work, etc knows that often times will CAUSE you an accident. The car was fairly comfy, but my rump was a bit sore after taking it for an hour and half ride, something I didnt have an issue with in my 99 Malibu. The body style is pretty sleek, a nice look that both the man and woman will love. The interior is pretty spacious, not overly, but 5 adults can ride in it so it could be alot worse, and though it doesnt look it, the trunk is HUGE. IDK about service, it never had issues in teh month I had it, the gas mileage was actually not that bad at all for such a powerful engine (comparable to my smaller 99 Malibu), but it was pretty good highway miles. And I did kinda romp on it a little, its an awesome car, and a loaner so I wasnt babying it thats for sure!! Only think i didnt like about it was that blind spot."

5 people out of 7 found this review helpful

Very good car. No troubles

By on Sunday, February 23, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 88,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
1/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
7/10
Comfort
Not Rated

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 9

"I really enjoyed my avenger when I had it. It was reliable, great gas mileage and good looking. The down side to these cars are that they just don't retain any kind of value. There is no trade in value at all with these vehicles. I paid almost $20,000 for the car 6 years ago and now it is worth 5000.00. You do the math."

5 people out of 7 found this review helpful

Sort Reviews by: 
Per Page:  5 | 10 | 25
Previous | 1 2 3 ... 16 | Next
Find Deals Near You vehicles for sale matching Dodge Avenger near Honolulu. See local deals