Advertisement

Why ads?
Popular at KBB.com
  • 10 Best Sedans Under $25,000
  • 10 Most Affordable Cars of 2014
  • The 40 MPG Cars of 2014
  • Class of 2015: New Vehicles Ready to Roll
Go

1999 Dodge Avenger

Style:

Consumer Reviews & Ratings

Overall Rating
7.7
Out of 10

Based on 143 Ratings for the 1995 - 2000 models.

Review this car
more rating details
  • Value
    8.2/10
    Quality
    8.0/10
  • Reliability
    8.2/10
    Performance
    8.1/10
  • Comfort
    8.2/10
    Styling
    8.6/10
Sort Reviews by: 
Per Page:  5 | 10 | 25
Previous | 1 2 3 ... 6 | Next

Love this car! Amazing V6

By on Monday, August 26, 2013

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 160,000

10 9.0
overall rating 9 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
9/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
8/10
Performance
9/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
8/10

Pros: "Amazing car, little maintenance"

Cons: "drinks oil, pinch welds"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"My dad got this car for free around 8or9 years ago. He loved it then gave it to me, and I see why he praises this car. I have the es v6 20 mpg city sometimes more. It doesn't have a whole lot of power but i can beat a new avenger no problem. The turn circle isn't the best but it hugs the road at speed so i was surprised when i heard that my car was actually flipped. Besides the front bumper and some dents it looks great. sound is beautiful. but my power steering pump makes a grinding when idling so you cant hear the engine purr. everyone loves the shape of this car it looks elegant yet aggressive. I did need to replace control arms and ball joints and a radiator but hey it was rolled and it keeps on going no problem. I am tough on this car and it loves it. Got him when I was 17 I'm 19 now so 2 years of total abuse so far and mechanic says my car could last for another 2."

1 person out of 1 found this review helpful

Has been a very reliable vehicle for its price.

By on Monday, April 29, 2013

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 177,000

10 9.0
overall rating 9 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
9/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
9/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

Pros: "Reliable, Fun to Drive"

Cons: "One cup holder, steep driveways hard on front end"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"I purchased a 2000 Dodge Avenger as my first car at the age of 16 with 132,000 miles on it. I am no 22 and am just now feeling the need to search for a new vehicle. At it's purchase price for me of $4,000 this car has been a great investment. It handled great in almost every situation, was fun to drive, and definitely will be hard to part with."

Sporty 1996 Avenger

By on Wednesday, March 20, 2013

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 160,000

10 9.0
overall rating 9 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
9/10
Value
9/10
Reliability
9/10
Quality
9/10
Performance
8/10
Styling
8/10
Comfort
8/10

Pros: "Economical and fun to drive."

Cons: "Hard to find some parts."

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 8

"Bought this car used 2 1/2 years ago, had 120,000 miles on it. I have put 30,000 on it and it gets 25 MPG combined hwy/city. Replacement of spark plugs is a pain have to remove head to access some plugs. Had to put a new transmission in it last Oct. Biggest complaint was they only made that transmission in 96 and took 4 weeks to find a factory rebuilt that would fit. Now in shop for a air/fuel sensor issue. But prior to October this has been a very reliable and economical car to drive. My adult children all want to drive my car when they visit, say it is sporty, fast and fun to drive."

2 people out of 2 found this review helpful

Best car i have ever owned and most fun to drive!

By on Thursday, August 16, 2012

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 190,000

10 9.0
overall rating 9 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
9/10
Value
9/10
Reliability
9/10
Quality
9/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
9/10
Comfort
9/10

Pros: "Great handling and very fun to drive!"

Cons: "Plastic door handles break easily"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 9

Right after the f150 rammed into her.. I was sooo mad!!!

"I bought this car used in February 2006. It had 83k miles on it. I drove this car for 6 years and put 110k miles on it. Very reliable vehicle. minimum mechanical issues. The car is now waiting on engine and transmission maintenance and overhaul. i refuse to get rid of it. It was wrecked when a ford f150 back into its left side door and rear quarter panel so it is going to need some body work. My Betsy looked just like the one in the picture above when she was purchased in 06. I want to have her restored to that same condition and is my goal. Never has a car entered my heart like this one. I have owned many cars and this is the first one I cannot let go. I LOVE MY AVENGER!"

6 people out of 7 found this review helpful

Right after the f150 rammed into her.. I was sooo mad!!!

Loved it

By on Saturday, July 14, 2012

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 116,000

10 8.0
overall rating 8 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
8/10
Value
9/10
Reliability
5/10
Quality
7/10
Performance
8/10
Styling
9/10
Comfort
9/10

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 6

"Great car but it had some problems. It refused to start occasionally, and I would have to wait until it was in the mood. It took me a year to finally figure out that it was the distributor causing the problem. The heat didnt always work. This car is also difficult to work on. Other than that though, it was awesome. Never left me stranded somewhere. Worked well in the snow. The 2.5L engine is very powerful, while still getting reasonable gas mileage. It has a nice viper like style. It was my first car, the price was unbeatable. I eventually hit a tree with it at 55 mph, the car took the hit so well that I actually backed it up and drove it home. I badly wanted to repair it but I didnt have the money. It cost me so little to begin with that it wasnt a huge loss, although I do miss it."

2 people out of 3 found this review helpful

2000 Dodge Avenger

By on Monday, July 02, 2012

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 162,000

10 6.0
overall rating 6 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
6/10
Value
Not Rated
Reliability
Not Rated
Quality
Not Rated
Performance
Not Rated
Styling
Not Rated
Comfort
Not Rated

Pros: "looks great, picks up speed nicely"

Cons: "low power, wide turning, terrible car quality"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 3

"This was my first car. I still own it and want to get rid of it. It became a huge money pit for me. On my Dorthy's (my car)side, I bought her at a local car auction for $1600 after all the fees. I then had $1400 worth of repairs to make her street legal. I bought her at 150k miles so the price was "slightly" reasonable. I have had her for a year now and the issues keep coming up. She stalls at low rpm's, tries to stall pulling out from places, rusts easily, and more problems keep arising. I'm looking at another $1600 to pass inspections for this year."

12 years old, dependable, comfortable, good lookin

By on Saturday, April 28, 2012

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 93,000

10 9.0
overall rating 9 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
9/10
Value
9/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
9/10
Performance
8/10
Styling
9/10
Comfort
10/10

Pros: "lots of bells and whistles! Comfortable."

Cons: "Very wide turning radius!"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 9

"I bought this car used and have owned it for ten years. It has never disappointed me, and is still going strong! I have two objections: 1) an exceptionally wide turning radius, and 2) a few peculiarities with (I believe) wiring and probably due to age: i.e., driver's door tends to lock when slammed; can't use a remote - it sets off the alarm; occasionally the windows won't open until the car warms up. City-driving mileage is mediocre (18/20). Open road on cruise control is about 30 (not bad for an old lady!)."

3 people out of 4 found this review helpful

wow

By on Thursday, April 05, 2012

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 126,000

10 8.0
overall rating 8 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
8/10
Value
8/10
Reliability
8/10
Quality
9/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
7/10
Comfort
8/10

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 9

"quickest v6 i've driven responsive nimble fun"

Okay Car

By on Monday, March 26, 2012

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 122,222

10 7.0
overall rating 7 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
7/10
Value
8/10
Reliability
6/10
Quality
7/10
Performance
8/10
Styling
6/10
Comfort
6/10

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 5

"Bought it with 119xxx was good at first then two weeks after i bought it the check engine light came on. Still cant figure out what it is and its been to multiple places. Also sprung an oil pan leak and also engine mount went bad. THIS WAS ALL AT THE SAME TIME TO. So its an okay car."

awesome ride quick and comfortable

By on Sunday, March 25, 2012

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 125,261

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
9/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
9/10
Comfort
9/10

Pros: "fun to drive, stlye,"

Cons: "no longer available as coupe"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"took over this vehicle from my wife. she received a crossover when children came into the picture. the vehicle has had no major issues, and still turns the tuners heads when I drive by. Vehicle is fast and descent on fuel economy. plan to drive until it gives up, or my son turns of age to modify. the 4 door avengers just dont match up to the coupe."

2 people out of 2 found this review helpful

Decent car but....

By on Thursday, December 15, 2011

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 160,000

10 7.0
overall rating 7 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
7/10
Value
7/10
Reliability
9/10
Quality
8/10
Performance
7/10
Styling
8/10
Comfort
7/10

Pros: "Fast is about it. Big trunk."

Cons: "Rocker panels rust easy. Smokey headlights."

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"I like it but its made for a younger person obviously. Its very low to the ground but rusts in front of the back tires pretty bad. Handles well in the snow but its very long. Mine has the 2.5 liter with 24 valves so its not very good on gas in town. its is a faster car tho with the 4 speed auto which i think is probably the best transmission dodge makes. I was quite upset when i bought it from a dealership for 2500 its a 97 mind you. 150xxx about six thousand miles after i had to replace a wheel bearing and at 160xxx needed new brakes but its all in how you drive it. but now im not sure if its a balljoint going bad or a strut bushing going bad up front but it clacks. But all in all its a nice car and if you want one make sure you look around a bit."

3 people out of 3 found this review helpful

best first car for your kid

By on Friday, December 09, 2011

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 190,000

10 9.0
overall rating 9 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
9/10
Value
9/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
9/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

Pros: "cheap sports car"

Cons: "not the best handling"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"This is the best car i have ever drove! it is very reliable and the other thing that has ever went wrong is the heating and i fixed that for 100 dollars! great car i love it!"

2 people out of 2 found this review helpful

Love my car and the great 42 miles per gallon

By on Wednesday, November 16, 2011

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 191

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

Pros: "fun to drive"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"Mity car blew a belt in oct. of 2005 and I refused to give it away Every year for Chrisrmas my husband would ask what I wanted for Christmas and I would tell him I wanted my car fixed. Well this year we had the motor rebuilt and replaced in it and the windsheild was replaced and I have been driving it now for the past 3 weeks and I am enjoying it as much as when I got it brand new with only 17 miles on it when I bought it in 2005. My granddaughter loves Maw Maws car and has asked if she can drive it. She is only 4 years old. If I still have it will probably teach the grand kids (4) to drive with it. LOVE IT"

it feels like a full on sports car.

By on Sunday, November 06, 2011

I own this car

10 8.0
overall rating 8 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
8/10
Value
8/10
Reliability
9/10
Quality
9/10
Performance
9/10
Styling
8/10
Comfort
8/10

Pros: "fast,sexy,fun,handles great."

Cons: "tight driver side,but it is a sports car right"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"i like the power it has on take off.i took a rounded off ramp at 76mph an never sliped once.i'm going to keep it till it's an classic,but it wont stay stock looking to put a turbo on it. as for the in side its great but i'm 5'9 an my legs hit the steering wheel getting in an out but that is the only thing semi bad, but i can live with that."

1 person out of 2 found this review helpful

great car to have

By on Friday, October 07, 2011

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 106,000

10 9.0
overall rating 9 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
9/10
Value
9/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
9/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
9/10
Comfort
9/10

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"great on fuel on the street concidering you can punch it and it gets up and go smooth trans shifting great confort and looks good"

Good sports car.

By on Sunday, September 25, 2011

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 113,000

10 6.0
overall rating 6 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
6/10
Value
8/10
Reliability
5/10
Quality
7/10
Performance
8/10
Styling
8/10
Comfort
8/10

Pros: "bette than the civic, good for racing."

Cons: "Bad on gas."

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"It's a nice sports car to have, just like the eclips and prelude. It's gat a good take off and handles corners well."

3 people out of 3 found this review helpful

Good car

By on Tuesday, September 20, 2011

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 128,000

10 5.0
overall rating 5 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
5/10
Value
6/10
Reliability
6/10
Quality
6/10
Performance
6/10
Styling
7/10
Comfort
6/10

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"ride very smooth and good gas mileage"

nice clean car

By on Monday, September 19, 2011

I don't own this car

10 9.0
overall rating 9 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
9/10
Value
8/10
Reliability
9/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

Pros: "good driving, comfortable"

Cons: "slight damage undercarriage"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"the car is clean, straight,inside and out, runs perfect"

great car!

By on Friday, August 19, 2011

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 154,000

10 8.0
overall rating 8 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
8/10
Value
9/10
Reliability
8/10
Quality
9/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
9/10
Comfort
9/10

Pros: "good power and fun to drive"

Cons: "gets a little price to get fixed on the v6"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"The v6 model is great! It handles well on corners and is able to real get up and go when punch the gas pedal. The power of the can be changed if you look around. Better plugs gives more power. Down side is that the tires will cost around 700 bucks w rated tires. But I love it with all the add ons put on it makes for a great car."

3 people out of 3 found this review helpful

Good Car

By on Thursday, April 28, 2011

10 8.0
overall rating 8 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
8/10
Value
9/10
Reliability
8/10
Quality
8/10
Performance
8/10
Styling
9/10
Comfort
8/10

"Hi all, Just thought I would review what I thought to be a good car. I have owned my 96 dodge avenger for 9 years now. Bought it with 56,000 miles on it and now have about 140,000. I have had no major problems with the motor, tranny, or wheel assembly other than the usual wear and tear. The car is a very reliable piece of machinery and I am sad to be letting mine go due to the 2 door not being condusive to a new baby. The only other drawback to it is it sits very low to the ground. Gets hard on the back after a while."

9 people out of 9 found this review helpful

By on Wednesday, April 27, 2011

10 7.0
overall rating 7 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
7/10
Value
8/10
Reliability
8/10
Quality
8/10
Performance
9/10
Styling
8/10
Comfort
8/10

This customer did not provide a text review.

good car for the price

By on Wednesday, March 23, 2011

10 7.0
overall rating 7 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
7/10
Value
8/10
Reliability
9/10
Quality
7/10
Performance
8/10
Styling
8/10
Comfort
9/10

"the only thing i see that the exhoust system is very expensive buy having 2 catalitic converters in it if you were to fix the entire system you looking at $ 2000 dollars"

2 people out of 2 found this review helpful

By on Tuesday, March 22, 2011

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
9/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

"This car is great for all four seasons!"

Good Looks, Good Value

By on Friday, March 18, 2011

10 6.0
overall rating 6 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
6/10
Value
7/10
Reliability
8/10
Quality
7/10
Performance
7/10
Styling
9/10
Comfort
8/10

"I bought a '98 Avenger ES with 40.000 miles in '03. I was drawn to the price and the style was more appealing than other mid-sized and small cars. I rate it average for quality after a few rough starts and consequently having the fuel pump replaced. A friend with a 1999 model had the same fault. The sway bars were recalled and covered by Dodge. The paint deteriorated beneath the external coat, so it looked blotchy on the roof but was smooth to touch and did not tarnish the metal. A basic level paint job from a national company made it look like new. Otherwise, I received compliments on the style, the ride, and the view. The slope of the windshield offers the front seat a good view up and lets in light. Road noise is comparable to other sport sedans or entry level cars. The back seat is roomy for a coupe - my friends over six foot have more knee room in the back than in the front with the low glove box. The ES sound system had a good amp, and I enjoyed the other ES options: sliding sunroof, spoiler, cruise control, and fog lamps. The trunk has adequate space. The suspension helps prevent roll, and handling in a few inches of snow was better than expected."

2 people out of 2 found this review helpful

By on Wednesday, March 16, 2011

10 9.0
overall rating 9 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
9/10
Value
9/10
Reliability
9/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
9/10
Comfort
9/10

This customer did not provide a text review.

1 person out of 1 found this review helpful

Sort Reviews by: 
Per Page:  5 | 10 | 25
Previous | 1 2 3 ... 6 | Next
Find Deals Near You vehicles for sale matching Dodge Avenger near Honolulu. See local deals